Lacto
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Fish and chips shop offering a separate vegan menu that includes burgers, wraps, loaded chips, seitan kebabs, pulled bbq jackfruit and corn dogs. Also offers sides like sweet potato and home made slaw. Vegan/gluten free desserts, ice creams and smoothies available. BYO beers, wines and spirits. Open Mon-Fri 11:30-22:00, Sat 12:00-21:00. Closed Sun.


Venue map for Kingfisher
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by REVOLT

rors

Points +20

Vegan
14 Oct 2022

Sensational

The vegan fish was sensational! Even my non vegan friend said he preferred it over actual cod. Really friendly customer service. Would give 5 stars if I had the option to, Will be returning!

Updated from previous review on 2022-10-13

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly customer service

Advertisement

Shelby00

Points +462

Vegan
16 Jul 2022

Best vegan fish & chips!

I wish I could give this place 5 stars (can only be given to all-vegan places) but the vegan fish & chips is amazing! The owner was lovely and so friendly. Half the menu is vegan. It's not in a touristy area but is only about a 2-minute walk from the Homerton Overground station and worth the trip!

Pros: Amazing vegan fish & chips!

TylerZios

Points +16

Vegan
26 Mar 2022

Would give 5 stars if I could!

Genuinely the greatest vegan fast food I have EVER TASTED! My boyfriend is Japanese and loves fish he has liked no other vegan fish except this one and orders it every time we go. The entire menu is made in ways you'd never expect the flavours are truly something to be tried.

Pros: Lots of Vegan options, Reasonably priced, Great staff

EmineMustafa

18 Jun 2022

Hi thanks for your 4 star review and kind comments. I think i know who you are.. It's always a pleasure to serve you.. And have our little chats. 😊

GarrrliCat

Points +1650

Vegan
15 Mar 2022

Proper chippy with separate vegan menu

More places like this in UK please. Very lovely owner with understanding of what veganism is. Love the atmosphere of real chip shop, no hipster fancy wanna be cool bistro

Pros: separate vegan menu, price, atmosphere

Cons: still serves meat tho

EmineMustafa

18 Jun 2022

Hi thanks for your 3 stars and kind comments. We have been a traditional fish and chips shop since 1971, serving fish, chicken, sausages since then.
Over the past few years, there has been a change in customer needs and i am trying to cater for those needs. I have had a lot of fun and exitement putting a 'different from usual' menu together, and have learnt a great deal in the process.
I thank you for your custom and appreciate your comments.

hdgale

Points +252

Vegan
16 Jun 2020

Brilliant vegan menu

Fish and Chips was at a level only surpassed by the real thing a handful of times in my life and the best as I've had as a vegan.
Bit too much BBQ sauce in my cousins Jackfruit wrap and the veg inside is uncooked, just a heads up.
For £7.80 I was very well fed and would have again. I'm going to give the loaded fries a go after the pub next door reopens

Pros: Great selection, Friendly staff, Local (to me!)

Cons: Cash only, Tad pricey but I'm happy to pay it once in a while

SineadCobbe

Points +13

Vegetarian
26 Jan 2020

best of old and new worlds

This place is so surprising and impressive. It's really cool yet totally unpretentious - as in not an obviously trendy space, with overcharging prices to match. This is a traditional retro chippie complete with the original formica and classic meat/fish options AND it boasts a proper extensive vegan menu too! An incredible amount of care to genuinely not only cater for vegans (one can rest assured that the owner has done her research, into micro ingredients/E numbers and all) but to fill them up, and with a generous array of choice as well as portion sizes. I had a delicious chicken style burger, which came with lovely homemade coleslaw, and chunky chips that were so fresh and ungreasy they almost masqueraded as healthy for (cooked separately of course) deep fat fried! It was all good quality and all so satisfying. I had very nice, friendly sit down service too. I shall be back. A local establishment/institution to be proud of/example of East London nailing it.

EllaLetang

Points +16

Vegan
25 Jan 2020

Amazing !

The vegan menu is really amazing. Proper, hearty, traditional chippy food but without the animal products. Taste is honestly delicious, portions are very generous, price very reasonable. Such an authentic place. Lady who runs it is lovely, friendly and passionate. A must-try for any vegans in East London who don't want to miss out on proper grub!!

REVOLT

Points +31

Vegan
30 Nov 2019

A great friendly local !!!!!

A really lovely unpretentious friendly local fish & chips, all home and freshly made, super friendly staff, nice variety of choice from real vegan classics to less known stuff....highly enjoyable experience all around, we will be returning soon!!!




This page has been viewed 3618 times.