Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Raw
Mediterranean
Juice bar
European
Gluten-free
Breakfast

Est. Nov 2018. Vegetarian restaurant offering many vegan options. Utilizes local, seasonal and organic ingredients. Menu labels what is vegan and gluten-free. Example of choices include jackfruit tostada, breakfast tacos, smashed beans, fruit & walnut cakes. Reported all vegetarian May 2023. Open Mon-Fri 7:30am-3:30pm, Sat-Sun 8:00am-4:00pm. Kitchen closes 3:00 pm everyday.


Venue map for KIND
© OpenStreetMap contributors

18 Reviews

First Review by citizenInsane

manifesting.maddi

Points +543

Vegetarian
27 Feb 2024

Mushroom burger was epic!

So yummy, great options and mushroom chips were YUM!

Advertisement

SaraNorlin

Points +2869

Vegan
14 Jan 2024

Great for brunch

The pancakes were very very good. They have a lovely menu selection and a beautiful dining area. One of my new favorite restaurants

Christmas11

Points +123

Vegan
02 Jan 2024

Plentiful vegan options, worth a visit!

While frantically searching for a place for a plant based brunch, on the day after New Years Day, Kind seemed to be the only place in Auckland open. Kind was a brunch GEM, with amazing options for vegans! Would strongly recommend this cute vegetarian restaurant!

Pros: Vegan options

oliviasbrooke

Points +107

Vegan
30 Jun 2023

mostly vegan, lots of yum options

really nice cafe and a great menu, loved everything we tried

rpoulova

Points +1539

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

Fancy place for a brunch

It is a bit too posh for me but it's a café with beautiful design, lots of green plants, loads of seating both indoor and outdoor and menu which is plant-based by default (with egg and dairy add-ons). Great place for a weekend breakfast with friends if you want to treat yourself. Food both looks and tastes good. Beware, the portions are HUGE so make sure you arrive hungry.

VeganBLS

Points +57

Vegan
08 Feb 2023

nice vegan options and atmosphere

we liked the cherry and custard pancakes and side of roasted garlic portobello mushrooms on toast!

Pros: plant based options, lovely atmosphere in restaurant, great presentation and service

Cons: could have more savoury vegan options

HeatherHarrower

Points +279

Vegan
15 May 2022

Love this idea!

Nice Cafe with lots of vegan options. Fully plant based restaurant.

larahart

Points +186

Vegan
07 Feb 2022

Popular Brunch Venue

Nice setting with outdoor garden area. A few vegan options on menu, menu differed to what is on website but guess thats seasonal variation. Had avocado toast which was beautifully presented but small. Cabinet food had no vegan sweet options but several gluten free

Pros: Nice inviting decor, Fresh produce, Friendly staff

Cons: Few vegan options, Small portion

cathiec

31 May 2023

Kia ora Lara,
just letting you know that our sweet treats are, and have always been (coming up 5 years old now) Vegan. Every sweet treat inside our cabinet has also always been GF - a huge range. It has always had signage as such as well.
Kia atawhai.

larahart

31 May 2023

Not the day I went! As there are non vegan options on the menu its hard to tell.

Coco.of.Ulthar

Points +74

Vegan
28 Oct 2021

Yumm

Delicious food, kind staff and beautiful atmosphere. Love going there :)

CourtneyTyler

Points +70

Vegetarian
01 Aug 2021

Lush spot!

Beautiful eatery. The atmosphere was great, with beautiful decor, quick service and lovely food.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-01

Pros: Light and bright area, Beautiful decor, Friendly staff

Cons: Breakfast burrito was a little on the small side

xzadia

Points +186

Vegan
29 Jul 2021

YUM

Wanted to try somewhere new and this place was amazing. I had the vegan breakfast burrito and the potato hash from the cabinet and it was all amazing. The sauces in particular blew my mind. Oat milk flat white was great, and had a cheeky mimosa too! Would rate 5 stars if it was entirely vegan :)

ClaraChemin

Points +38

Vegan
25 Feb 2021

Beautiful place and delicious food

Amazing place with plants all around, kind staff and delicious fresh food, the apple cake was particularly delicious

Pros: Lots of vegan options, all cabinet food is vegan , Plants all over the space

Miss_xenia_

Points +775

Mostly Veg
17 Dec 2019

Veg & plant lady heaven!

The food was delicious! The service was great and I love the interior! They are mostly plant based and all vegetarian 🌱 all the desserts are plant based as well! Which is great because it’s hard to find vegan desserts in Auckland!
Recently moved in to the area and this is my new favorite place.

Pros: All vegetarian , Mostly plant based incl all dessert, Plant heaven

Cons: No vegan pancakes

TylerNehring

Points +43

Mostly Veg
09 Dec 2019

Amazing spot

Super cute little cafe. Lots of plants growing throughout the inside giving a great atmosphere to go with great food. The granola is amazing!

CarlyHitchcock

Points +256

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Nice food, nice atmosphere

Always super busy. Great food. Love the raw cakes, kombucha and savoury meals. The beautiful plants and outdoor seating really make it

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Lots of raw cakes, Local, community-grown veggies

Cons: Quite busy and loud, No vegan pancakes :(

katie_pai

Points +54

Vegan
21 Apr 2019

Beautiful and tasty

We had the bowl and the jackfruit tacos and loved it all. Presentation and flavours were great. On the expensive end but the experience is worth it.

CLRtraveller

Points +7925

Vegan
28 Mar 2019

Not for me

I was staying nearby, so decided to try this eatery, even though it’s only “vegan options.” I could argue with the “Kind” name, given that they serve eggs, cheeses and “free-range bacon”! When I visited, 2 pm on a Wednesday, they had no avocado left, so I couldn’t try the Avocado meal, which sounds intriguing, made with smoked chili peanut butter and dukkah. So I ordered the Kind Bowl to take away, and they substituted tomato for the avocado. (I declined the upsell offer to add tofu.) It arrived quickly, but I was a bit shocked at the small box - quite a small serving, for a bowl meal at $16. It is made with iceberg lettuce, the least expensive and least nutritious kind of salad green, something I haven’t seen used in health-food-style eateries. Kitchen is closed 3-5 pm.

Pros: vegan options in a non-vegan eatery

Cons: small servings, runs out of avocado early in the day

citizenInsane

Points +1397

Vegan
25 Nov 2018

Running-in period - delicious, but very small portions

We went to test the place for dinner, just days after it had opened.
First amazed by the menu, with a LOT of vegan options and prices that seemed reasonable for a dinner. The plates were delicious but really small. They had a 50% discount that night, as they were opening, so we ordered more stuff.
I tried the vegan bits from our order, and beyond the size, my comments are:

- zucchini noodles: delicious, although no "n-meat-balls" as suggested on the menu
- jackfruit tostadas: very tasty, nice play with textures
- roasted cauliflower with miso, edamame, and hazelnuts - my favorite! subtle flavors and nice crunch from the toasted hazelnuts

After dinner you can hop for an ice-cream at Crave, next doors (same owners), plenty of vegan options. I tried dark chocolate and orange sorbet, apple cider, and PB-chocolate, and they were all really nice.

Easy access, just next to the Morningside train station, and plenty of bus routes on New North Road.





Updated from previous review on 2018-11-24




This page has been viewed 2369 times.