Khun Churn

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 42 reviews )
Contact
0818813032
Find

J-Imboon Bldng, Patun Muangi (at rear of Kamtieng Flower Market), Chiang Mai, Thailand, 50300

Offers breakfast and lunch buffet with beverages included (coffee, black organic tea, lemonade). Previously at JJ Market, Asadathorn Rd, change of address reported Feb 2017. Open Tue-Sun 10:30am-3:00pm, 5:00pm-8:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Lacto, Ovo, Thai, Buffet, Salad bar, Take-out

42 Reviews

First Review by gratefulluke

A+ service - Edit

Like the reviews state, its a new location, but the map marking is correct. See the photos from 16-Feb-2017 for the new locations exterior view.
Large extensive menu, excellent iced tea with many flavors for just 30baht.
The place is worth a trip.

Watch the spice! I'm a mid level spice guy, and the soup I had was a notch or two above me. I had to just pick out the goods and leave the broth to waste.

Soup(good size) 90baht
Tea 30 baht
Spring Rolls 65 baht

Pros: everything was fresh , service!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good Thai food - Edit

Good and tasty Thai food , price reasonable and good quality

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Glad it's Re-Opened! - Edit

Really glad to see that it's rep-opened in a nice new spot behind the flower market. The menu still has some nice options with unique Northern Thai dishes and all the usual curries which all taste great and are always a generous serving. We're particularly glad to see that they're open in the evening as well although only until 8.
The buffet is also good value and very popular.
However, the old menu used to be huge with almost every Thai dish you could possibly dreamed of in it, so they're not what they used to be. They also used to sell international beers and delicious fruit shakes but the drinks in the new place are just limited to a few juices.
Eggs are sold in a few dishes so not completely vegan.
Glad they're open again but still reminiscing of the old place, which was gold.

Updated from previous review on 2016-01-11

Pros: Generous portions, Open until 8

Cons: Not entirely vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Change of location & hours - Edit

Khun Churn, the fabulous vegetarian restaurant has indeed, moved once again. It's new location is behind JJ market / the Kamtieng Market and behind the Flower market (I'm not sure if Kamtieng Market means the Flower market). It's smaller than it used to be, but marvelous as always. The hours have changed as well. The buffet is open now only on Saturday, Sundays & holidays, between 10:30am-3pm. It costs 179 Baht. On Tuesdays -Fridays its a la carte. It's closed every Monday.

Pros: great food, great selection, pleasant atmosphere

Cons: Location. Difficult to find, The road getting there is a dirt road, buffet only twice a week

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

restaurant fermé - Edit

le restaurant sera fermé du 7 novembre au 14 novembre 2016

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

stuffed! - Edit

179 Baht per person for the Buffet. 139 per child. Everything was really good. Ginger fried brown rice was excellent. A little pricey, but very fresh.

Pros: vegan / vegetarian choices , fresh , friendly staff

Cons: pricy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Glad this place is still around! - Edit

We visited this place a few times when it was down at the Old Thai Cultural Center. The new location is certainly smaller and the selection is not quite as good but the food is still great and the price is good (179B Buffet). There is a good offering of salad and fruits as well as brown rice and around six cooked veggie dishes. The noodle bar offers a good selection of toppings as well and herbal drinks, tea and coffee are included. The new location is not far before you reach Tesco Lotus on Atsadathon Rd as you head North-East out of the Old City (opp JJ Market). Double thumbs up!!

Pros: Good food quality, Good value, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Location a little hard to find, Smaller selection than their previous incarnation

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice vegetarian Buffet - Edit

My main reason to visit there was to eat the vegetarian Khao Soi.
When I had the soup, it was room temperature (I went there around noon) I havent had any Khao soi at other restaurant before, so I was not sure how khao soi should be like. (I found out that other restaurant I went to seved me HOT vegetarian khao soi)
I think the khao soi at Khun Churn was so so. Other food were good for the price.

Pros: lots of choices, free wifi

Cons: khao soi was not that good

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good and Tasty Thai food - Edit

There have very good lunch buffet at a very reasonable price. Do check with them as some dishes and noodles contains egg.

Pros: Reasonable Price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of our regular eateries! - Edit

This place was a great late discovery for us on our three week stay in Chiang Mai. The service here is fantastic and the food is even better. They have a huge range of great vego and vegan dishes, fruit, cereals, and a selection of teas. You can't go wrong for 170bht all you can eat! (:

Pros: great food, super clean, great service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best place to go for lunch - Edit

This is my type of place. I love well prepared buffets (available only for lunch, the restaurant was beautiful and the staff were friendly. My only complaint is that the older gentleman (perhaps owner) told me that everything was vegan although I noticed many buffet items contained egg. The location has changed so just ask tuktuk driver to take you to Chiang Mai cultural center and you can't miss it.

Pros: great food, friendly staff, nice restaurant

Cons: not everything is vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

LOVE the salad bar! - Edit

Been here twice for lunch. The salad bar is where it is at!! I love the spiralized pumpkin, beets and carrots! They refill the salad items faster than I have ever seen! They seem to be never out! There are a couple vegan dressings but they are pretty high in fat. The vegan peanut dressing is amazing nonetheless.

The cooked food is okay. Not much for me compared to the amazing salad bar. They have organic brown rice, curries, steamed veg, noodle dishes and a make your own soup station. It's not a full vegan buffet so make sure to check if there are eggs in any of the dishes.

The staff is extremely nice and attentive.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great salad bar - Edit

I visited Khun Churn in April 2014 and were delighted for the evening salad buffet. Other vegetarian buffets in Chiang Mai seem to have only cooked foods like curries so it was lovely to get to eat lots of salad.

The service was good which means that it was a little bit too formal for my taste (I like only relaxed atmosphere).

For tourists staying in the old city it is a good idea first visit this restaurant and then continue to Saturday night market, because Khun Churn is only a short walk from the southern end of the Saturday market street.

Pros: a big salad buffet, lots of variety

Cons: a bit formal service, more protein dishes would be nice

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food and service are fantastic! - Edit

I love this place. I've been to the old location several times and last week went to their new location twice. I just can't say enough good things about this place. The food is amazing, the price is very inexpensive and the service is outstanding. It's obvious that the staff are very happy to work there. The buffet is very diverse with soups, curries, stir fry, salads, fruits, desserts, a noodle station and a tea/coffee bar. Mostly vegan but some things have egg and milk is available. The new location is indoors in a beautiful artistic wooden building connected to the 'Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center'. The old location was very in a very nice outdoor garden but I actually prefer the new space. I hope this place is open forever!!! Seven thumbs up :)

Pros: Amazing veg Thai food, Attentive, friendly service, Extremely reasonably priced

Cons: Are you kidding? This place is perfect!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Same Wonderful Food Even Better in New Location - Edit

High quality, vegan food. We particularly like the lunch buffet with many Thai dishes, soups, real fruit drinks, grilled veggies, salad, and more all included in one price of !69 Baht. Or one can order off a menu. The setting is just lovely. Staff are wonderfully helpful. We have eaten at Khun Churn for 6 years, and now have followed this restaurant to its new location though not as convenient as before, but well worth the ride for their offerings.

Pros: Delicious Thai food, lovely atmosphere, kind staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great modern Thai vegetarian food! - Edit

Lunch buffet is an amazing deal for 129 thb. You get a full salad bar as well as many choices such as khal soi, deep fried mushrooms, assorted curries, Vegetables, and dessert.

The ala carte menu has a huge variety of delicious things! I really like the garlic fries and the pomelo dish.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Awesome Buffet, Unbeatable Price - Edit

No question, this is one of the best veg buffets in the universe. Fresh salad bar with not only leaves and other veg, but also goodies like corn, beans, and sweet potato chips. Fresh fruit, four juices, two fried snacks, five or more entrees, five or more soups, and dessert, all changed daily.

Fresh, beautiful, clean, tasty food - all you can eat for less than the price of a bottle of imported beer!

Suspended bike racks at the entrance for the cyclists out there.

Also worth mentioning that the whole Khun Churn empire (four restaurants so far) is family run. The father, an English teacher, had four kids and nicknamed them A, Bee, Cee, and Dee. D runs the Chiang Mai branch, his siblings run the other ones. Try them all!

Pros: Everything is fantastic, Family-owned chain, Amazing fried banana flowers

Cons: A little bit outside the old city

1 Response
Read More

Vegfox 12 Jul 2015 - I think the price is beatable, since you can eat for free at The Vegetarian Society ;) But what is the price actually?  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

well worth tracking down - Edit

Been here 4 years ago and now today. The lunchtime buffet is extraordinary. A wide variety of interesting healthy and tasty soups, salads. Evening time it is chilled out and the menu is outstanding. Very popular with locals, which is a good indication. Staff are gracious and helpful. Setting is tranquil. It's an effort to get out of town to find the place. Ranks as one of the best, for sure.
Updated from previous review on Tuesday September 03, 2013

Pros: quality, taste, price

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar

Delicious! - Edit

This restaurant is a beautiful place to relax and have some food. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The lunch buffet is pretty cool, but I think I prefer ordering off the regular menu. They have some lovely mushroom dishes, and you have got to try the betel leaf appetizer. It's so yummy and visually appealing too! I like that they have ginger brown rice. I would recommend everything I have ordered here. Great for vegans.

Pros: Yummy food, Beautiful setting, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

perfect. A MUST! - Edit

Best buffet in Thailand by far! Vegan or meat eater, you will not be disappointed. Go before 2:30 for the buffet for sure! Must go if you're veg or vegan

Pros: BUFFET!, good wait staff!!!, made with care :)

Cons: none

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great lunch buffet - Edit

The lunch buffet is more expensive than other vegetarian buffets in the area at 129bht. The have a decent salad bar, steamed veggies, vegetarian and vegan cooked dishes and soups, as well as tapioca and coconut syrup for dessert.
Updated from previous review on Saturday December 15, 2012

Pros: Good food, Beautiful setting, Variety

Cons: Egg is some dishes, Some dishes extremely spicey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious buffet - Edit

I tried almost every dish and soup and there wasn't a single one that I did not enjoy. It's also a nice outdoors setting.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Buffet - Edit

The quality is good but cold dish.don't wears shorts coz mosquito attack.

Pros: Quality, Service, Nice decoration

Cons: No label for vegan, Taste, Mosquito

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Lunch Buffet in Chang Mai - Edit

Wide and varied lunch buffet that changes daily. Salad bar (often the lettuce mix is organic), steamed veggies section, many different sauces and dressing, stir-fried dishes, noodles section, dessert and non-sugared iced teas (add your own cane syrup).

All the stir cooked veg dishes have sign tags in english so you know if theyve put egg in them. The only exception would be on the noodle bar where the yellow noodles are made with egg.

Pleasant courtyard setting and friendly staff.

***Directions***
A red truck should only cost 20 baht from anywhere in Chang Mai. If they quote a price or ask for more get another red truck until you find an honest one as everyone knows the price they are telling you a price in the begining because they are over charging you. Tell the driver "NEIMAN-HYMAN SOY 17" or make the 1 then 7 gesture with your hands if they dont speak english...


Updated from previous review on Monday November 28, 2011
Updated from previous review on Monday November 28, 2011

Pros: Delicious, Vast selection, good quality

Cons: egg in some dishes, egg noodles on buffet

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice salad bar - Edit

I was impressed by the many options at the salad bar and the helpful chef who pointed out anything with egg in it (some things weren't labelled to have egg in it so best to ask).

I tried a few of the cooked food dishes and it was way too spicy for me (I am a wimp though with spices)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Place - Edit

We've been going to Khun Churn for four years watching as it progressively moved from one location to another trying to grapple with its well deserved popularity. It has now settled in a great location in the middle of the art/entertainment section of Chiang Mai.

The lunch buffet is legendary for its quality and extremely reasonable price (note price is 129 baht as of September 2011). The ambiance is great and you'll find that the Thai diners far out number the farangs which is further testament to how good the food is.

What is often overlooked is an amazing menu selection that is provided for dinner or for those not wanting to stuff themselves at the buffet. Everything is made from top quality ingredients and off the menu can be spiced to taste. The buffet items are mildly spiced but Thais and the more seasoned diners can augment with as much chili as they can handle.

The staff is extremely efficient and need to mention something that happens to us that never found at any other restaurant. One of the chefs comes to us to let us know what special items is working on that day and let us know when he is bringing them to the buffet. He is deservedly proud of his food and wants to make sure it is enjoyed.

One final note on the buffet. It is constantly changing and you'll never see them serving the same dishes over and over again. It is always different and that keeps us coming back.


Updated from previous review on Sunday August 14, 2011

Pros: Food Quality, Variety, Staff

Cons: You Eat Too Much

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

My #1 in Chiang Mai - Edit

Been going to the lunch buffet routinely for over a year now. I like how another reviewer put it: "legendary". The chef who does the buffet is so friendly and really makes it a great experience. You can tell there's a lot of love in the food there. Don't know what I would do without Khun Churn.

Pros: incredible lunch buffet, great value, friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Chiang Mai Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Khun Churn closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 9903 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support