Vegan
Thai
Asian

Vegan Thai food. Dishes include red curry, green curry, green papaya salad, panang curry and crispy sliced daikon with tamarind sauce. Open Tue-Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm.


Venue map for Khu Khu
© OpenStreetMap contributors

50 Reviews

First Review by GlobeTrotter18

Gaynor1

Points +397

Vegan
01 Jan 2024

Delicious

We loved visiting this place. The food was good, attentive staff and super busy - which is always a good sign!
Our food came out super quick and we loved the fat noodles and Panang curry.
Great at asking for spice levels and brought additional chilli to add.
We found that the ingredients for the drinks didn’t match the quality of the food.
The papaya salad was too sweet without the fresh herbs and chunks of chilli to help balance it.

Updated from previous review on 2024-01-01

Pros: Great selection- everything is vegan! , Staff were friendly and attentive, Delicious food

Cons: Drinks were average

Advertisement

albertina

Points +77

Vegan
28 Dec 2023

Everything you wish for 🤩

Cozy location, too many tasty options on the menu, and lovely staff: what else do you want?
I had the fresh rolls (for the vitamins) but it’s such a beautiful dish 😍
And the green curry: as a curry should be 🤩 #Veganuary

Pros: Great menu, Atmosphere, Esthetics

LC70PZJ70

Points +561

Vegan
10 Dec 2023

One of the best!

Delicious food that is well priced. Great flavour and variety. Desserts are good too.

citizenInsane

Points +1397

Vegan
20 Aug 2023

Always delicious

I have been quite a few times here and the dishes are always delicious and very flavourful. Full points for satisfying my non-vegan friends, great promo for plant-based food!

Make sure to book ahead.

thegoose

Points +20

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Excellent Food

Food was amazing and we were warm despite sitting outside. We went when they were doing the pride month platter which was great value for a good cause. excellent selection of wines and cocktails/mocktails too. excited to go again

phynal

Points +164

Vegan
18 May 2023

Terrific thai

Good vibe, busy on a tuesday night, when we went. Very popular.
Smallish menu but good selection.
However lost a point for having non vegan spirits on their shelf.

mrssmootchie

Points +56

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Good but better before...

Tastes delicious but really not a fan of the new plating. They’re trying to make it fancy which is fine but it truly feels like it’s taking away from the dish, and that the portions are smaller but for the same price.

Updated from previous review on 2021-02-01

Pros: Lots of good options

ChunkyWombat

Points +972

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Khu khu my heart ❤️

Oh so tasty! A week ago my girlfriend went here and she has been back everyday since she loves it so much! Especially the tasty pad Thai

wasabipea

Points +966

Vegan
24 Apr 2023

Absolutely Amazing

We had the earth day platter for 2 which came with a crunchy delish daikon starter, tasty pad Thai and Tom yum duck soup finished with a coconut cake 🍰 would 2000000% return as everything on the menu looked incredible

Monica.S

Points +752

Vegan
16 Apr 2023

Delicious banquet

We ordered the banquet for two and it was amazing! The portion sizes are decent, the variety of food impressive and the service attentive. There are some creative options on the menu.

Pros: Fully vegan, Creative options, Good service

Will_K

Points +584

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

My favorite!!

Khu Khu always shows up with their delicious and beautifully presented dishes, and friendly atmosphere. My partner and I are always blown away by the flavor and overall quality of the food. The owner and staff are also the best, such kind people.

vimamas

Points +60

Vegan
02 Mar 2023

Love this place

Always really fresh and flavourful food. Nice Ambiente and friendly service.

deadendjob

Points +1825

Vegan
14 Feb 2023

Good food and Service

Despite intending to go here, I've only ever been once briefly and tried some starters. At the time, I thought they were OK, but coming back for Valentine's Day I was really impressed.

Food was prompt (speed can be an issue in New Zealand), well presented, staff were friendly, attentive and most of all the food was great.
The only thing I wasn't that impressed with was the novelty desert, but I'll let the slide.
Happy it lived up to the score and occasion.

ThomGabites

Points +20

Vegan
14 Feb 2023

Favourite place!!

This place just keeps getting better and better. If you’re in Auckland vegan or not you don’t wanna miss out eating here.
My partner and I have been loyal customers since they opened and we keep going back whenever we can.

The service amazing!!
Michael the owner, so genuine and caring.
The food is always being developed and delicious.

Can’t recommend it enough 🙌🏼

Pros: All vegan , Amazing owner, Delicious food

vegansoul88

Points +646

Vegan
14 Feb 2023

Delicious vegan asian fusian cuisine

Khukhu offers fantastic hospitality, the owner himself as well as his service staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. Next to their great food they make sure that you have everything that you need. Their menu offers a lot of meals with meat alternative such as vegan duck or even pork belly.

Pros: Lovely flavors, Beautifully presented plates, Authentic meals

Cons: Rice is an extra cost, is not included with curry

ilikevegg

Points +341

Vegan
15 Jan 2023

Pretty expensive for what you get

I think they’re very overpriced which is a shame as it’s great to have an all vegan place in the area. The food is decent but the high price sets very high expectations that they don’t meet. I hope they work on the food though!

Cons: Price

owenk

Points +44

Vegan
14 Jan 2023

Just chasing the $$$ now :-(

We had our starters, mains and drinks delivered within 5 mins . Not a relaxing experience

Pros: All vegan

Cons: Very expensive, Very rushed

yumchadong

Points +4909

Vegan
05 Jan 2023

Too sweet

I did not enjoy our dinner here due to excess amount of sugar used by this restaurant. I didn’t even taste the spices of the massaman curry as the potatoes and the curry were so insanely sweet. For me it was inedible.

ausvegan

Points +399

Vegan
31 Dec 2022

Best Thai I’ve very had!

The Massaman curry was epic. Everything was beautifully presented and reasonably priced for a top end restaurant.

Pros: All vegan!, Authentic food , Lovely staff

pkkellow

Points +189

Vegan
18 Dec 2022

SO GOOD

Fastest food ever and so cheap i love this place!

Pros: half the menu vegan

Cons: nothing wrong with this place

TejD

Points +534

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Best vegan tiramisu EVER **drool**

Pad thai on point. Was half price on a tuesday which is a bonus. Lovely, friendly staff. Cannot recommend the tiramisu enough - it was DIVINE.

MarcelVis

Points +50

Vegan
29 Sep 2022

Great!

We ate here twice in the three days we spent in Auckland and it was awesome. Too bad we couldn't taste the whole menu.

Pros: All vegan, baby.

MusukoZipang

Points +202

Vegan
06 Aug 2022

Best vegan chicken


The sweet and sour sauce didn’t taste like the typical sweet and sour but even better. Really nice texture too.
Good portion size rice

Pros: Really delicious vegan chicken

MariaZeballos

Points +39

Vegan
18 May 2022

Vegan

Really good service and food 🫶🏾💚

Pros: Full vegan !

Christmas11

Points +132

Vegan
12 May 2022

So good!!!

Everything we ordered was delicious. The duck drunken noodles were our favorite

Pros: All vegan

Cons: Not many tables. We sat outside they had blAnkets

pikelloww

Points +52

Vegan
20 Apr 2022

Tasty

So much flavor! this place is a hit!

Boater

Points +81

Vegan
19 Apr 2022

Recommended

Great night out

Pros: All vegan, Great choice , Nice food and good service




This page has been viewed 8569 times.