4
  • Kenji Sushi

  • (7)
    11
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Ovo
Japanese
Raw
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Offers a wide range of vegan and vegetarian sushi, noodle dishes and starters. Has avocado and kapa maki. Rolls may contain egg, please check. Cash only. Open Tue-Thu 17:00-22:30, Fri 12:00-23:00, Sat-Sun 13:00-23:00. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Kenji Sushi
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by caw

NiamhC41

Points +1143

Vegan
13 Sep 2021

Favourite Japanese restaurant

This place is such good value for money. I’ve always found staff to be knowledgeable on what is and isn’t vegan. Generous portions.

Advertisement

surface_area

Points +46

Vegan
14 Aug 2021

Good value with separate vegan menu

I regularly order from Kenji as it’s near my house. They’ve got plenty of vegan options, the prices are great and the food is usually always good. Much better value and Wagamama and often tastier in a lot of scenarios.

samharper

Points +373

Vegan
11 Jun 2021

Good service and tasty veggie options

An inexpensive Japanese restaurant with at least one veggie option under each of it’s subheadings. Starters include options like miso soup, seaweed salad, edamame and gyozas, and sushi is of the avocado/ cucumber/ spicy tofu variety. They also offer a couple of veg noodle and rice dishes.

If you’re vegan, like another review stated, make sure you ask that what you’re ordering doesn’t contains egg because it does stipulate on its menu that veggie options may contain egg!

Updated from previous review on 2021-05-11

Pros: Great service, Made to order sushi, Inexpensive (comparably)

Cons: May contain egg

caw

Points +2367

Vegan
19 Jul 2019

Good variety

A few nice more unusual rolls, sweet tofu roll is great (their tempura contains egg so ask for without) and veggie gyoza.

Pros: much cheaper than other Edinburgh sushi, authentic

Cons: very slow in house service

katy.graham95

Points +162

Vegan
03 Apr 2019

Delicious

Love eating here the food is insanely good

Umeko

Points +364

Vegan
27 Feb 2019

Given non vegan food for over a year

We used to go here a lot until we learned that they were giving us egg in dishes. We told them we were vegan and could have egg or dairy and they would confirm what we could and couldn’t have. It wasn’t until our last visit that that waitress told us we couldn’t have what we normally ordered as it contained egg. I asked if the recipe had changed and she said no. For over a year we thought our upset stomach after eating there was due to greed (the food is really good) but it turned out we were being fed food that we can’t eat.

It’s such a shame to leave this review but I can’t not say this in case someone else goes and ends up seriously sick due to their disregard for dietary requirements.

caw

24 Mar 2019

Can you tell us which dishes please? I eat here all the time and have asked about their tempura containing eggs and was told it doesn't but now I'm very wary! x

gffWillie

Points +126

Vegan
04 Nov 2018

Very tasty

Only been here once but the food is really good and prices very reasonable especially for Stockbridge. Portions are very generous as well. I would say a lot of the vegan options are probably “accidentally” vegan anyway.

Pros: Great taste, Generous portions, Reasonable prices

Cons: Cash only




This page has been viewed 1917 times.