Lacto
Ovo
Western
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Australian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Located on the main road of Jungut Batu. Offers vegan choices such as a tofu scramble and a burger with veganaise. Smoothies are coconut milk based. Almond milk is also available coffee drinks. Open Mon-Sun 8:00am-10:00pm. Hours subject to change.


Venue map for Kayu Lembongan
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by marlene_ste

laced888

Points +82

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

Feels very fancy

I had the Buddha burger and my partner had the yoga burger though we both cut them in half to share the taste. I enjoyed both very much and so did he. The patties are made from scratch with very whole food ingredients. I also recommend trying the karma smoothie here too as it’s such a good and delicious mix. However all that aside I’ve worked in hospitality for many years and I have to say the service was poor. We were greeted however after that felt like we were left to our own devices. Three ladies hanging about that weren’t attentive to the point I thought that maybe it’s not table service and it’s pay at the counter after awhile my partner finally got one of the ladies attention to come and serve us.

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-11

Pros: Quality of food , Selection of food, It’s a nice enclosed hidden nook

Cons: Not the best attentive service skills

Advertisement

HollyShellard

Points +581

Vegan
27 Dec 2023

Made my whole trip!

I stumbled upon this place one day looking for some lunch and I'm so glad that I did!

I'd had a few bad experiences on the island where I'd gone hoping for a vegan option and had been disappointed and had to make do with a fruit salad or something. So I just popped into Kayu to have a look at the menu but I had somewhere else in mind for lunch on this day.

Well, I needn't have worried because Kayu has several vegan options on both their breakfast and lunch/ dinner menus! I looked at the words 'Tofu Scramble' as if it were a vision of water in the vast dessert. I was overjoyed. It is also important to note that the tofu is a breakfast dish and I arrived at 1pm and they were still kind enough to make it for me!

I came back the following day for breakfast and had the magic mushrooms which were, again, incredible! The plating was beautiful on both occasions and you can tell that the team has put a lot of effort into creating dishes that both look and taste incredible!

I wish I'd found this place sooner because it would have saved me a lot of heartache and disappointment from other places. It seems to me that since COVID some places on the island have regressed in terms of their menu and are now offering fewer vegan options, but Kayu is the delightful exception. I would go back time and time again. (Just maybe a warning though if you're expecting Bali prices, on the island things are slightly more expensive, and both the tofu and mushrooms cost around 70-80k rupiah each, but that's pretty average for places in Nusa Lembongan)

Pros: Scrambled tofu/ Magic Mushrooms are a must!, Beautifully plated with care and attention, Kind and friendly staff

Cons: I didn't find it sooner :(

GaucHummusMaximus

Points +183

Vegan
14 Nov 2023

Average Vegan Food

I've tried both the Vegan burgers…

And they are just not up to par.

The quinoa burger just isn't flavoursome.

And the beet burger squishes out of the bun and drops to bits—it's not firm at all.

The Vegan mayo is tasteless.

And the chips are weird…

They don't taste like chips at all.

I've also tried the scrambled tofu breakfast.

The flavours were there…

Nevertheless.

It came out served on a SIDE PLATE.

Which is considerably smaller than the plate for the meat eaters mains.

*And as you can see from my picture.

The plate wasn't even full?!

I felt short-changed.

I appreciate the Vegan options.

Nevertheless.

It's not great Vegan food at all.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-18

Pros: Nice little restaurant

Cons: The food isn’t great

Kayulembongan

19 Dec 2023

Im sorry that your experience wasn't up to par at Kayu. Food is such a personal preference isn't it, as the review before you has raved about our burgers, but you didn't enjoy them.
In regards to the tofu scramble this is a breakfast dish so no it's not the same size as the main meal dishes we offer, you are correct.

We have just updated our menu to add even more vegan options on there so hopefully you give us another try when you are back on the island and we can meet your expectations. :-)

marshininamina

Points +680

Vegan
18 May 2023

Very nice burgers

We had the 2 vegan burgers, they were amazing (the beetroot chickpea patty is awesome) and the fries are reaaally good as well!!
The only thing is the portion of fries, it could have been bigger !

Kayulembongan

29 May 2023

Hi!
Thanks for coming to visit us. We are so glad you liked the vegan options we have. We will look into the serving size of the fries as well.

GabiBlue

Points +628

Vegan
05 Apr 2023

good smoothie bowls

locations is further down the road than on this map google maps has correct location. really tasty food good breakfast options especially the smoothie bowls always a good experience and yummy

Kayulembongan

29 May 2023

Thank you for letting us know. We have corrected the map location now so hopefully it is now the same as on Google maps. Hope you enjoy the rest of your time on the island

Chrisarnold

Points +246

Vegan
13 Jan 2023

Wrong direction

This app was sending us to a restaurant called Sukanusa. And the food there wasn't good.

Updated from previous review on 2023-01-13

Kayulembongan

29 May 2023

Hi Chris,
I am so sorry that the location was wrong on the map. We have now corrected it and hopefully it aligns with the Google map location

PenelopeF

Points +640

Vegan
21 Jun 2022

Good options and kind people.

The vegan and vegetarian options were top quality. We had a veggie burger and a mango bowl. Plus, the team were so caring! The gave us ice for my husband's ankle at no charge. He had injured it around the corner just before our arrival. Thank you for your kindness. 💕🙏🏼

Pros: Handy location , Good veg*n options , Kind people

JustBreathewithRac

Points +11

Mostly Veg
12 Jan 2022

Tastey, fresh, creative, stylish, friendly staff and owners.

Cant say enough good things about this cool cafe. Loved it!

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-12

AnnyNy

Points +749

Vegan
08 Nov 2019

Very nice place

I had a quinoa beans burger and kombucha and all was great. Very tasty vegan mayonnaise

Pros: Nice space, Sweet staff, Good food

stam

Points +1873

Vegan
06 Nov 2019

Lovely space with lots of vegan options

The smoothie bowls are vegan, as are a selection of cheese cakes and popsicles. Prices are reasonable compared to restaurants on the rest of the strip. The space is fantastic - really open and peaceful.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Peaceful space

Cons: Limited menu

NickMelhuish

Points +54

Vegan
27 Sep 2019

Delicious, calm and exactly what we needed!

We were In need of a filling and delicious vegan lunch after a long morning diving. It was exactly what we needed! Highly recommend!

Pros: Vegan choices were awesome, Relaxed vibe , Craft beer

Cons: Non

Liz_zie

Points +72

Vegan
27 Sep 2019

Many vegan options and great setting!

Was really happy to discover this restaurant! The vegan options are clearly marked on the menu with a V and there are many options (the menu is on their facebook page). I had the tofu scramble and it was delicious and very flavoursome. It is a really cute restuarant and I felt very relaxed being there. The staff are awesome as well.
You can refill your water bottle for Rp 5000 too (to prevent buying a plastic bottle). Wish I discovered this place earlier instead of on my last day here on the island as I would definitely go back.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, great ambience , delicious food

marlene_ste

Points +24

Vegan
27 Apr 2019

Leckeres Frühstück

Schönes Ambiente, sehr leckeres Tofu scramble mexikanische angehaucht, da es mit Tortillas serviert wurde.

Pros: Keine

Cons: Etwas teuer




This page has been viewed 2159 times.