Vegan Cafe and Bar Karons

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 9 reviews )

Find

3-18-3 Takaban, Meguroku, Tokyo, Japan

Vegan cafe and bar by Gakugei-Daigaku station. Menu includes falafel sandwich, vegetable curry, mushroom risotto with soy milk and brown rice, wine, sake and beer. Open Tue 9:00am-6:00pm, Wed-Thu 9:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 10:00am-9:00pm, Sun 10:00am-5:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Japanese, Western, Beer/Wine, Take-out

9 Reviews

First Review by paulkates

Charlotchan

Points +96

Vegan
01 Jul 2020

Amazing

Run by a friendly Japanese lady, the food is very very good, I had the spicy falafel sandwich and a side of carrots and extra hummus.
They also have beers and a small selection of other alcoholic beverages.
English menu and some photos of a few dishes are also available.

Pros: Super tasty, Friendly staff , Low cost

Cons: None

StacyL

Points +84

Vegan
23 May 2020

Great food!

Friendly staff, nice atmosphere, delicious falafel sandwich!

itravelforveganfood

Points +1814

Vegan
19 Jun 2019

Small Local Cafe, Warming Service 😍

Read the Vegan Tokyo Guide on https://itravelforveganfood.com/vegan-tokyo-guide/

Karons is a small local vegan cafe near Gakugei Daigaku station (4 stops away from Shibuya). Two very nice ladies take care of the cafe and the kitchen. The menu has a rather large selection and the food is pretty good.

The Szechuan sesame noodle set includes a bowl of noodles, a big spring roll, a small bowl of pickled vegetable, a small bowl of ‘tiramisu’ which is more like a creamy pudding. I also added a plate of gyozas and brown rice tea. The prices are pretty good for Tokyo.

The spring roll was the best dish out of the meal. The soup of the sesame noodles is also nice with tahini and miso flavors, but the soup is thick and the noodles are too soft so I ended up eating the noodles with a spoon. But overall everything tastes good and you can feel the food is made with care.

Pros: Great vegan food, Warming and welcoming service, Cozy environment

Advertisement

deeeeee

Points +47

Mostly Veg
12 May 2019

The best!!

I love this place so much! The food is fantastic, the owner is charming and they sell booze!! I am addicted to the sesame pho noodle soup. Dreamy.

Pros: Friendly space , Food is always on point , Lots of options

Cons: Sometimes closed when I visit

VegVidya

Points +268

Vegan
21 Jun 2018

Cozy and Tasty!!

The restaurant is run by a very kind and friendly lady. If you would like, you can easily chat with her, which is something I always appreciate. She is not perfectly fluent in English, but can speak quite well! I found that it was easy to carry a conversation together and an English menu is available. The space is small yet appropriately sized, as it is a cafe and not a restaurant. There were a few tables and a bar-like seating area with several stools. I went there two nights in a row because I like the both the food (delicious!) and the shopowner (so friendly!) so much. The first night I ordered a meal set for 1000 yen, a very good price in my opinion-- (Szehuan sesame hot pho noodle with a spring roll, pickled vegetable, and tiramisu). The second night I got the spicy falafel sandwich, (in my opinion it was not actually spicy, but of course peoples' spice tolerances vary- it tasted great nonetheless), and an amazake smoothie. I liked the amazake smoothie, it had a thicker consistency and a simple taste, however I don't know if everyone would enjoy it. ~~ Karons sell a variety of different meal/meal sets, a few baked goods, smoothies, and drinks. ~~ The food was absolutely delicious and I would definitely come back here again!!

Pros: appropriately priced, friendly staff, English menu & English speaking staff

Ineya

Points +22

Vegan
07 Apr 2018

Best find near Gakugeidaigaku!

What a cute and cozy cafe, run by a super friendly lady. She also speaks a little English and an English menu is available. Everything is very delicious and quite affordable. I recommend the tofu tiramisu and the falafel sandwich. Depending on the season she offers different dishes as well.

Pros: Vegan, Friendly staff, Good portion and cheap

TeddyWilkins

Points +35

Vegetarian
10 Dec 2017

Best Vegan Food in Gakudai! Delishhh

Super friendly staff, kind lady runs da spot! Tastes as good as a homecooked meal! Cute little spot with good vibes! Definately recommend! If I lived here still I would go atleast once a week for sure! Make sure to drop by if youre in the hood of gakudai :)

RosieHernon

Points +39

Vegan
27 Oct 2017

Love this small, friendly place!

All vegan cafe with good falafel plates plus seasonal specials. Always really friendly and will top you up with spicy harrisa if you like it hot! Haven't come for the evening but they do wine and other bottles too.

Pros: reasonable, good atmosphere, small but never full,

Cons: slightly hidden off the main street

paulkates

Points +1699

Vegan
08 Dec 2016

A Great Unexpected Find!

A small, cozy cafe/bar located just a short walk away from Gakugei-daigaku station on the Tokyu-Toyoko line (8min from Shibuya). Serves a selection of middle-eastern/Mediterranean inspired cuisine as well as a variety of beverages, including alcoholic. Friendly staff and menus available in both Japanese and English (both with photos). In fact, the owner, Kanoko Nozaki, can speak English and is a very pleasant host. I had the falafel plate and a Shibuya Beer. Really good overall and would definitely go back!

Pros: Great food, Great drinks, Great service

Cons: Location (a bit off the beaten path but in a nice

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Tokyo Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Vegan Cafe and Bar Karons closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3463 times.