Karamel

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 32 reviews )
Contact
+44-2088298989
Find

4 Coburg Rd, Wood Green, North London, England, N22 6UJ

Makes vegan meals with world influences: wraps, glamorgan sausages, thali, mezze, flat-bread pizza, salads, organic cakes. Sunday roast served 1-9pm. Bar offers vegan organic beers. Changed of management Dec 2017, formerly Kabaret at Karamel. Open Mon-Wed 8:00am-6:00pm, Thu 8:00am-12:00am, Fri 8:00am-1:00am, Sat 10:00am-1:00am, Sun 11:00am-10:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Organic, Beer/Wine, British

32 Reviews

First Review by LisaPeterson

Excellent Buffet - Edit

I enjoyed the buffet at Karamel. The stand outs included the soup and the "soy balls". The owner is very kind and helpful, and this is a great place for lunch.

Pros: Excellent buffet

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great atmosphere - Edit

Just came back from an Italian-themed valentine’s dinner with my non-vegan husband. We both enjoyed our pasta meals: wholesome and hearty on a cold rainy evening. Great to discover a fully vegan restaurant right on my doorstep. Dog-friendly, child-friendly, lots of fun events, Sunday roasts... and really nice staff :)

Pros: fully vegan, super friendly

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Buffet nice and staff friendly - Edit

I went to Karamel before when it was under the old management and while it was a nice space, the kitchen was never consistently open and the food was always slightly underwhelming (though inexpensive).

My friend and I went for the lunch buffet and it was pretty good! Not a huge selection but a nice mix of salads, veggies, proteins, and bread/rice/pasta. My friend was gf and they made something especially for her. The guy at the bar who I think runs the kitchen and bar space was super friendly.

Especially as it is one of the few vegan places in the area, I would come back again

Pros: Price, Staff, Space

Cons: Selection, Coffee not great, but tea good

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice buffet, very accommodating - Edit

We went here for lunch on Friday for the buffet. The set-up isn't particularly atmospheric, but there were about 5 other tables full when we arrived whcih seems good for a lunch time. We went for the buffet but I'm also gf so the man at the bar went to check with the chef what was gf for me and the chef offered to make me a special stir fry as not many of the buffet foods were gf, which was really appreciated and unexpected. The staff were very nice and chatty about what they were now doing with the space since they had taken over recently. The only suggestion would be to do a drinks menu - there's a cocktail menu but no soft drink menu so you have to guess what they have - luckily they'd posted a picture of their hot chocolate with marshmallows earlier on Facebook so I went for that!

Pros: Very accommodating, Nice food, Nice staff

Cons: More gf offerings on menu would be appreciated

1 Response
Read More

Kathsveganrecipes 28 Jan 2018 - Thank you for your review & suggestions.
You’ll be pleased to know that I’m in the process of developing gluten free dishes that match our popular meals like sausages, meetballs & cakes.
Hope to see you again.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Damn good vegan ❤️ - Edit

Thank you so much for great experience, I ordered pizza and it was delicious . Need to try this 🤗 🦊

1 Response
Read More

Kathsveganrecipes 28 Jan 2018 - So glad you enjoyed your pizza.
Thank you for leaving a great review.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love it ! - Edit

Really good pizzas and nice atmosphere!

1 Response
Read More

Kathsveganrecipes 28 Jan 2018 - Thank you & so glad you enjoyed your pizza.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

SUPERB! - Edit

Expect a welcoming friendly atmosphere and INSANELY good food. New vegan management have taken Karamel over and the quality of food & service has shot through the roof. They’re still doing the roast on Sundays but are now open every day of the week for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Just paid £7 for a very large plate at the lunch buffet, absolutely stuffed. Regular plates are a fiver. Heard all about the new pizza menu that’s coming, can’t wait!

Pros: good value , great staff, 100% passionate veganism

1 Response
Read More

Kathsveganrecipes 29 Jan 2018 - Thank you for such a fabulous review!
Your next buffet meal will be on the house!!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Homecooked style food with a lovely atmosphere :) - Edit

Came here whilst stopping by Wood Green a few days ago, I don't usually come around here but thought I might as well considering I hadn't had a proper meal during the day. I opted for the lentil soup with ciabatta bread 🍞 and my friend got the dolmas with hummus and pitta 🥙 considering that these 2 dishes were starters they were not quite large but still very filling. But in my opinion, nothing too special? I could've made it exactly the same at home and probably cheaper? They gave my friend 4 dolmas and 4 slices of pitta? I understand it's a starter and all but you know??? I'm paying quite a price in my opinion 😂 Anywho!!! The atmosphere was very comforting and "homey" which me and my mate particularly liked about the place. Would definitely come again for a rainy day when I'm not too far but maybe on a Sunday to try out their known to be "spectacular Sunday roast!!" Thank you karabet!! 💛

Pros: lovely atmosphere , comfort food ???, quiet location

Cons: not many options on the menu , raw cheesecake was quite bland , portion was not enough considering the price? but

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Brilliant vegan food made by interesting people - Edit

We are blessed to have this in Wood Green - not many dedicated veggies places in North London and this is the real deal - arts centre style from back in the day and brilliant comfort eating for veggies. I have eaten their roast a number of times and recently tried the veggie feast pizza which was delicious. Great beer and wine too. Support this place - it has frequent events and art exhibitions. It is a little way off the beaten track next to an art studio complex known as the chocolate factory but is a few mins walk from Wood Green tube and near crouch end, muswell hill, Bounds Green, ally pally.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Sunday roasts - Edit

Yummy Sunday roast dinners, delicious White Russians and rich cakes. Also Karamel doubles up as a great creative space for art and music and a community asset. Only downside is that bar service is a bit slow and not always very attentive.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic Food, Hungover Staff - Edit

The person serving up was clearly not having the best day when we visited Kabaret at Karamel.

It's a lovely bar/food/exhibition/play kinda space. With some great art and board games.

Upon asking about food I got a mumbled reply about printing menus (someone else was already eating, not sure how they ordered!).

They didn't know much about the coffee on offer ("Whats a Mocha?"´) and needed to be shown which bottle was Southern Comfort before believing it was a thing.

Once we mastered the menus and basically served our own drinks the food came and it was astounding. Big, delicious, proper meals. The roast and bangers & mash are especially recommended.

I'm sure the service is usually better, and we just caught some poor bugger on a Sunday after a heavy night out.

Pros: Great Food, board games, atmosphere

Cons: lack of knowledge of offerings, quite pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fave vegan restaurant! - Edit

Karamel is my favourite vegan restaurant! The food is amazing, like home cooked comfort food, and generous portions too. The staff are all super friendly and feel like family now. They always have cool events on like music nights, games nights, etc. There's always an interesting art exhibit on display too. They're really welcoming, accommodating of needs, and are wheelchair accessible. Really great venue - I recommend going on an event night, or for the Sunday roast. Oh and try the chocolate cake and the crumble! Sausages and mash also a fave.

Pros: Amazing food, Lovely staff, Cool events

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Pretty good - Edit

I came here on a Saturday evening, there was a good vibe and a reasonable sized crowd - busy but I could still find a spot to sit.
I had the Mediterranean pizza - it was good but not amazing. My friend had the bangers and mash and that seemed like a better option. I had a cheesecake as well and it was delicious and so smooth and rich. Lovely.
All the staff were really friendly and they have a good selection of drinks. It is also a good spot for a bit of a dance later in the evening.

Pros: Relaxed vibe, Range of dishes, Friendly staff

Cons: A bit far away, Pizza was good, not amazing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar

26/11/16 - Edit

We ALWAYS come here before visiting the Ally Pally for gigs. It's always been quiet whenever we've visited but that's certainly not a reflection on the place. It has a really laid back atmosphere.

The last time we visited my girlfriend had the famous vegan roast, which I'm reliably informed was amazing. There's also a good selection of alcoholic drinks, including a really good craft beer from North London.

It doubles up as a bar/club at night time which we haven't been able to get to yet...but we will.

Updated from previous review on 2016-09-08

Pros: Very chilled out (in the day), Passionate staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Vibe - Edit

I may have got there on the right night but either way it was lovely. I entered into the establishment whilst there was an Indian Cultural Performance happening. The people were so calm and relaxed and it made for an enjoyable pizza and spring rolls combination. It seems like the kind of place you can chill out in anytime of the day

Pros: chilled , positive, ambiance

Cons: entrance hard to find

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

not great to be honest - Edit

Nice decor, owner and lampshades. we expected food to be sumptious after reading some revues. it wasnt great, it was more cafe style food, nothing excessively healthy there. okay

Updated from previous review on 2017-02-12

Pros: nice lampshades, lots of space, quiet

Cons: restricted menu, service a bit slow, not cheap

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dissapointed - Edit

The place is quite nice, the owner is a lovely person as well, but the food is bland. We tried a few meals and it was nothing special. Not very bad, but nothing what my grandmother could cook at home. After reading so many good reviews I expected something better.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Relax, enjoy, repeat. - Edit

Looking for a place to eat and relax for the evening, other reviews led us to Karamel and what a brilliant surprise. Really chilled, friendly and inviting, just like the staff. Owner Frank was great to talk to and a fantastic chef as our food was outstanding. Really tasty, large portions and great value. I only wish we had room for dessert but there's our excuse for returning! We'll definitely be back and hope to catch an act there too. Nice to see a group meeting of London Vegans happening too which looked really friendly and well attended. Highly recommended.

Pros: Varied menu, large portions and great pricing. Fri

Cons: Literally none that I can think of!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

loved it! and I'm not easily pleased - Edit

lovely place beautiful music and friendly staff! the owner came and introduced himself and his Co owner and even gave us some complimentary millet and seaweed balls! the lady at the till was so helpful with recommendations and even took my kids behind to explain what was what
.it was amazing. food was delicious and well priced, my kids and I WILL be visiting again!!!

Pros: all vegan, amazing staff, great food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very nice place - Edit

Pretty empty when we went and chatted to the owners who very lovely. The portions were very generous and yummy and the price was good, I had a Sunday roast and my friend had a curry. Overall highly recommend.

Pros: Menu changes constantly, yummy, pretty cheap

Cons: Not a huge variety on menu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great food and music too! - Edit

We've tried most of the established veggie restaurants in North London so went to Karamel as a birthday treat. We were 'warned' that it was a music night so we might want to sit in the 'long room' behind the main bar area. The crowd at the bar was clearly much more hip than us! The food was well worth it. A small vegan menu - everything we had was delicious, plentiful and not expensive. And the music was great too. We have recommended Karamel and will be back for more.

Pros: Great food, Great portions, Good prices

Cons: Music might be off-putting for some

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic - Edit

Staff is kind fun and helpful. Food is great and comes in big amounts.

Pros: fully vegan, cheap, quiet and cosy on a Sunday eve

Cons: no cons!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice place but bad food - Edit

Food was below average but a nice space with friendly staff.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Absolutely delicious food! And good price! - Edit

I was looking for a good vegan restaurant to try in London that I hadn't tried before. So glad that we found Kabaret. We walked in and spoke to the barman and the chef, both were extremely friendly and helpful! There was a great variety on the menu and I was happy to take my meat-eating boyfriend there. We were both so happy with our meals. Also, the price is extremely reasonable. I paid £5.60 and my boyfriend paid £6.50!

I got the spaghetti bolognese and it was genuinely one of the nicest meals I've had. Just delicious... the flavours were amazing. My boyfriend had the black bean stew and was really impressed with it. The portions were just perfect too. I then had to try the chocolate cake which another review said was the best they ever had and ...it was amazing. Definitely agree with that review! My boyfriend had their homemade flapjacks and said it was delicious.

Overall, a great experience! Definitely worth a visit to Kabaret!

Pros: Delicious food, Very good prices, Lovely staff and chef

Cons: Not a 'restaurant', more a cafe/bar

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan heaven - Edit

My husband and I searched the internet for a vegan place to eat after our visit to Ally Pally and were thrilled to find a new place open just a mile from the Palace. With fingers crossed that the food would be as good as the reviews we'd read, we were not disappointed. The lunch menu was written on the board with half a dozen options and all looked appealing. We had a hard time choosing, but I settled on the Indian Thali while my husband went for the Jamaican Patty. Both dishes were excellent. There were plenty of wines and beers and other cocktails on offer. And we bought some chocolate cake and mince pies to take away with us for later. Both were amazing. The cake was super moist and probably the best vegan chocolate cake I've ever had. The atmosphere at Karamel was very open and spacious and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. We can't wait to go back again.

Pros: Excellent food, Great service, Located near Ally Pally station

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious food, reasonably priced - Edit

This is a lovely, spacious, relaxed venue that is linked to an art gallery. There is a varied all vegan bar and great cakes and deserts. The main courses are always delicious and very reasonably priced (half the price of a mediocre central London meal). They have lots of great events (DJs, poetry, all sorts) and the owners are extremely friendly and welcoming.

Karamel does the best veggie breakfast we've had in London.

A great place to bring meat eaters, this place doesn't shout 'vegan' from its walls, it just serves up delicious vegan food.
Updated from previous review on Friday January 23, 2015

Pros: Great venue, delicious food, very well priced

Cons: none!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Do not miss this secret vegan oasis - Edit

A fantastic new completely vegan venue nestled within an old chocolate factory in Wood Green, N22. Delicious food priced very reasonably, lovely staff and an eclectic arrangement of different performing artists to enjoy with your meal. Be it jazz, rock, classical or folk, whatever your musical tastes, you'll find it here. Not only that, there's comedy, poetry and crafts to help get your creative juices flowing!

The high ceilings and clever lighting help create a magical atmosphere that will keep you returning again and again. Do not miss out on this secret vegan oasis!
Updated from previous review on Wednesday January 14, 2015

Updated from previous review on Wednesday January 14, 2015

Pros: Great value, delicious food, Eclectic range of artistic styles, Intimate nocturnal atmoshpere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to North London Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Karamel closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 20540 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support