Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Take-out
European
Icelandic

Small vegetarian eatery with grocery area selling organic foodstuff. Serves tea, coffee, cake, a daily soup, and a dish of the day with option of large or small portion size. Est since 2000. Open Mon-Tue 11:00am-8:30pm, Wed 11:00am-5:00pm, Thu-Fri 11:00am-8:30pm, Sat 12:00pm-5:00pm.


Venue map for Kaffihusid Gardurinn - Ecstasy's Heart-Garden
© OpenStreetMap contributors

44 Reviews

First Review by Stevie

nictecita

Points +243

Vegan
12 Oct 2023

Small, cozy and homemade restaurant

The food is really tasty is great cause you can feel is homemade, the food and dessert was delicious, everything in Iceland is expensive but I feel that for a more complete menu and special daily was a good deal plus tap water is free.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-12

Pros: The food was delicious , Nice and cozy place , Good service, very gentle service

Advertisement

ohwowblair

Points +41

Vegan
22 Sep 2023

Lunch In Reykjavik

The vegan lentil soup and vegan lasagna were perfectly spiced and wonderfully flavorful. You couldn’t ask for better!! Dessert cheesecake and coffee were the perfect finish to the lunch.

Pros: Atmosphere , Daily vegetarian or vegan servings

MariaD

Points +2402

Vegan
29 Mar 2023

Comforting and warm vegan food

As others have mentioned, the food here feels like it's homemade. Their soup and main dishes change every day. We had a Mexican soup and a potato hotpot which were both really delicious.

MicciM

Points +1477

Vegan
20 Mar 2023

A nice surprise!

We stopped casually and enjoyed a very nice dinner eating the Madrasa soup. Basically everything is Vegan.

2GrayDogs

Points +165

Vegan
01 Jun 2022

Lovely, flavorful, and Comforting

Lovely cafe that has daily specials; usually a main dish and a soup (both usually vegan). They have a massive selection of sweets, about half are vegan with the other being vegetarian plus coffee and tea. Everything feels cozy and the food tastes like homemade at a friend's house. Can highly recommend!

silentravyn

Points +81

Vegan
08 Oct 2021

Small kitchen with wonderful food

The food here is delicious! Almost tastes like home made. The menu is vegetarian with the option to make almost anything vegan. They offer specials, and the meal comes in two sizes depending on how hungry you are. There isn't much seating room, but it's worth trying the food even if you need to take it to go!

Renefo

Points +58

Vegan
13 Dec 2019

I love it!

Food was delicious, nice atmosphere! Will come again

JackChitt

Points +42

Vegan
13 Dec 2019

Very lovely atmosphere and food

10/10 We really enjoyed the cafe and would recommend it when getting out of the cold.

Pros: All drinks can be made vegan , Vegan cake selection, New vegan food every day

JSO-ROC

Points +114

Vegan
05 Aug 2019

Great place to stop

Our first try to eat here was unsuccessful, as the restaurant had just closed. They were kind enough to direct us down the street to Glo. Winding back in the area several days later, we stopped in for a late lunch. The daily menu is not extensive, basically a soup and an entree, along with a case of desserts. We opted for the soup (an Italian vegetable soup on the day we visited), which was served with bread and, for us, a side of hummus (butter was an option). A quaint little place, I plan to return when I can make it back to Reykjavik.

Pros: good food, quiet stopping point in a major tourist area

hokusai77

Points +13612

Vegan
28 Jun 2019

Small cosy place

Small cosy place serving freshly cooked food. We tried a hearty Turkish bean soup with bread and hummus and a nicely spiced chili con tofu.
For dessert, I opted for the raw snickers cake, with peanuts and chocolate, which was pretty good.

Pros: good food

KinoTheVegan

Points +242

Vegan
20 Apr 2019

Delicious, humble, healthy food

I love this place. The first time I went there was in August 2011, I was delighted to discover it was still there 8 years later. It's peaceful, it's simple yet delicious, the people are very nice. I love going there, I feel grounded and at peace. Then I get decadent and ruin everything with a feast of choccie desserts :D
The menu only has 1 main and 1 soup, 2 sizes possible; usually fully vegan. It changes every day. 6-7 sorts of desserts, half of which are vegan.
I highly recommend this place, and will definitely go back a few times before I leave Reykjavik.
I gave only 4 stars as it's not fully vegan otherwise I would have given 5 stars.

Pros: Humble, delicious food, Not too expensive (for Reykjavik)

Cons: Not fully vegan

Ceri12345

Points +23

Mostly Veg
01 Mar 2019

Small friendly cafe near the cathedral

We passed this cafe on our way to the cathedral and were glad we found it. They serve a soup and main meal each day which changes daily. We both had a pumpkin soup, which came with three slices of bread and hummus or butter. Very tasty and pretty reasonably priced for Reykjavik.

Alaneatyourgreens

Points +83

Vegetarian
07 Dec 2017

More homely than the name suggests.

One soup, one main, two sizes. Oh, and delicious desserts ! This tiny cafe only seats about eight people but does a brisk carry out trade. The simple menu changes daily, but beware, they do run out of food. We turned up at 6pm one day and they had nothing left. When we went earlier, and got fed, the food was good, though not cheap, which somehow you expect after reading all the buddhist paraphernalia on the walls ! The two-person crew changes from day to day and so does the friendly rating. Worth a visit.

Pros: Tasty food

Cons: Can run out of food, Very small venue, Limited choice menu

ShannonLP

Points +33

Vegetarian
28 Sep 2017

Cozy and tasty

This cozy cafe is a perfect spot for lunch in Reykjavik. They offer a fixed menu with 2 choices that vary each day. You can choose between a small or large portion. The day we went they had a soup and a Mexican dish, which could be made vegan. The food was tasty and served quickly. The cappuccino was delicious!

Pros: Friendly service , Fast delivery of food

Lampky

Points +1601

Vegan
19 Sep 2017

excellent

Are here twice. The food was so good especially the raw cheesecake

Imixle

Points +137

Vegan
25 Aug 2017

Good food

Simple, warm and comforting food. The owners are very friendly and know what they are doing.

Pros: Vegan selection , Homely vibes , Good food

Cons: Only two main course choices a day

Roberta Stack

Points +49

Vegan
15 May 2017

very nice little place

They have a couple of choices based on the day of the week. So you'd have to like what they are making that day. We had a vegetable soup and a lentil burger, both of which were very good.

db2202000

Points +189

Vegetarian
09 Sep 2016

Good find

Relaxed atmosphere, excellent "cheese"cake. Would recommend if visiting.

Pros: Atmosphere, Service

fondducoeur

Points +1167

Vegan
24 Aug 2016

Simple Food, Good Lunch Spot

I really enjoyed my lunch at Kaffihusio Garourinn. There are a couple of items available daily, and the food is simple but tasty. I did a small portion of the entree and soup, which was a vegetable couscous entree with lentil soup. It was served with bread and hummus. The portions, even for the small portion, were good sized. They have some vegan desserts, and the peanut butter cups are great!

The location is quite small; the staff was very nice and helpful.

Pros: Great vegan options, Simple but tasty food, Very nice staff

Cons: Limited Menu

Rainbowegan

Points +53

Vegan
17 May 2016

Nice place for lunch

We visited the restaurant/coffee house on our trip to Iceland for lunch. We chose the bigger version of one of the lunch choices available (two per day, usually a warm meal or soup). It was fried eggplant plus some other veggies and rice with a small side salad. The food was ok, didn't have any chili even if the dish said it was a chili/spicy-sauce. After finishing the meal the plate was very oily, still you didn't really taste it in the food. I don't remember the price but I think it was around 1900 ISK (~14 euros) for the bigger lunch alternative.

Pros: Always vegan options, Moderate-priced lunch, Semi-healthy

Cons: Not very impressed by the food

vegantearoom

Points +309

Vegan
17 Feb 2016

Delicious Food, Small Menu

This was my favourite place to eat in Reykjavik. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was busy but not crowded (it's only a small room) and the food was outstanding.

The only negative is that there wasn't a lot of choice. There were only two items on the menu, a vegan and a vegetarian option that change daily. I can understand as it was only a small place but it's nice to have variety.

I had a lentil and bean soup, bread with hummus and an amazing snickers cake. So delicious!

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly staff, Relatively inexpensive

Cons: Not enough variety

els

Points +215

Vegan
12 Sep 2015

Carrots and cream

We went here the other day for lunch andhad vegan carrotburgers, the texture wasn't anything like a burger , nor ofcourse was the taste, and it was really delicious, very well seasoned. It came with quinoa and some salad. For dessert My vegetarian companion had a nonvegan chocolate pie with a pile of nonvegan cream wich she really liked, I had a little tart that was called a vegan snicker,didn't really taste like snicker allthough (as I can remember) but the combination of peanuts and chocolate is always good so I liked it very wel. It was quite crowded when we got in , with a lot of people waiting for the counter but most of them were there for takeaway, so luckely we managed to get a table, after lunchhours its less crowded.

Pros: Very nice staff, Cozy friendly atmosphere, Healthy but tasty food

shamington

Points +122

Vegan
20 Aug 2015

great vegan food available

Went there for lunch and the daily soup and meal were both vegan. Loved the carrot cocoanut soup and bread with hummus. Would go back again. There is no market in the front like description says on happy cow.

Pros: good food, great proportions

Cons: expensive- but it is Iceland!

Shiru

Points +2027

Vegan
11 Apr 2015

Great food

The food was excellent. Unfortunately the place closes super early so it took a few tries before I was able to get food here. The food its self is great, but the price for the portions were a bit on the pricey side.

Pros: excellent food, nice staff

Cons: closes early, pricey

Shel Graves

Points +262

Vegan
30 Mar 2015

A Sri Chinmoy restaurant in Iceland

This is a small cafe with a rotating menu with one soup and one entree offered daily - the menu for the week is posted in advance on the door. Some vegan options are available. There are a few vegan sweets and baked goods including a vegan brownie, coffee bite (like a small fudge piece), and snickers treat. It's a very pleasant and peaceful environment particularly if you are familiar with the Sri Chinmoy restaurants(i.e. Silence-Heart-Nest in Fremont Seattle, Annam Brahma in New York or Consciousness Blossoms, Florida).

Pros: Vegan baked goods, Vegan soups/entrees, Friendly staff

Cons: Rotating Menu, Small Selection

Ryecatcher

Points +2092

Vegetarian
19 Mar 2015

Good food!

Small, restful restaurant in Reykjavik city center. Daily changing menu and family atmosphere. Tasty healthy food for a reasonable price. As far as I have experienced the menu the food is pretty low in fat.
There is nothing very special about this place though.

Pros: healthy and tasty, daily changing menu, reasonable prices

Cons: nothing exceptional

egduf

Points +22

Vegetarian
14 Feb 2015

Wonderful start to trip

We arrived in the late afternoon in February and were pleased to be staying just down from here. We have a wonderful warming meal of tomato soup and veg goulash with salad. Reasonably priced by Icelandic standards, and very welcoming. Be aware of the opening hours, it's generally not open in the evening.

Pros: Welcoming staff, Reasonably priced, Cosy

Cons: Not open in evening




This page has been viewed 31910 times.