Vegan
American
Pizza
Italian
Delivery
Take-out
Catering
Gluten-free

A modern soulful all-vegan restaurant. Serves an all-plant-based menu, catering & meal planning. Black-owned, as well as family-owned. Relocated from 2817 E Washington Ave. Open Tue-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri 11:00am-10:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-10:00pm. Hours may vary; call ahead.


22 Reviews

First Review by esundquist

LunaMaya9

Points +18

Herbivore
20 Dec 2023

Yummy Fried Food

This meal was perfect for a tasty fried food excursion! The sandwich was really tasty and fried. I think it was made of vital wheat gluten, so very curious what their gf version is like. The mac was good, but excited to try the “cheese” curds next time. Delicious pretzel bun and they even have the good kind of salt at the tables (I like good salt, ha)

Pros: Friendly and fast, Tasty sandwich , All veggies!

Cons: No complaints!

Advertisement

SummerShymanski

Points +20

Vegan
27 Nov 2023

Not good

The only good thing was the cheese curds. The rest was practically inedible. They don't use as much as salt to season. Completely bland. Mac and cheese was literally pureed it was so overdone. The meat alternative was similar to that of a wet sponge unfortunately. I was really excited to try it, and really wanted to enjoy it, but it was worse than fast food. I'd rather eat the taco bell next door and that is sad to me..
Also zero service. Not as much as a smile from the employees. They seemed like they didn't want to be there.

Pros: Cheese curds

Cons: Food , Service , Atmosphere

whyage

Points +24

Vegan
15 Oct 2023

Great vegan comfort food

A local vegan restaurant serving American food and more.

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-15

Pros: Decent food, Good prices , Nice people

dnbressler12

Points +16

Vegan
24 Sep 2023

Just OK

My wife and I had the gyro, reuben, cheese curds, and fries. The gyro and reuben were both ok, not great. The gyro had some sort of sauce, but not tzatziki. The fries seemed like cheap frozen fries. The breading on the cheese curds was great, but the cheese was just ok. The atmosphere was super strange as well. I'm always glad that a totally vegan place exists, but I don't expect I'll be jumping at the next opportunity to return to this one.

StephenGolden

Points +148

Vegetarian
16 Sep 2023

Delicious BBQ, but dry chickn

I had the BBQ seitan sandwich which was delicious! My husband had the 2-piece fried chix entree which he found a bit stodgy.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-16

Madisonian

Points +817

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Awesome cheese curds

As a Dairy State native, I have to say the vegan cheese curds are an impressive culinary feat.

A bit of a challenge to order. The online ordering system returned error scripts. Phone number goes direct to voicemail. Not an easy location to park, as it's on a pedestrian mall.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-07

Pros: Cheese curds, Sauces, Sides

TjZ

Points +27

Mostly Veg
03 Sep 2023

Delicious! Actual choices!

I love that they also have protein that’s not soy. So many delicious choices! Everyone was happy. Very relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff. Nice restrooms.
Edit to add- upstairs, easy to miss the door. they have a sign but not as big as Taco Bell next door😎

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-03

erinthomp

Points +925

Vegan
03 Sep 2023

Great BBQ

Loved the BBQ sandwich with coleslaw! I also ordered cheese curds which were good. Some of the cheese was not melted all the way through, but still tasted good!

VeganFamily23

Points +260

Vegan
29 Jul 2023

Yum!

So nice to have a all vegan option here is Madison! So many options on the menu! Everyone was satisfied with their meal- lasagna rolls, chix pasta, Korean bbq sandwich and the power bowl with cilantro dressing. We will be back!

Pros: Lots of options, Friendly service, Large portion size

Cons: No outdoor seating

Grovean

Points +220

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

Wide variety of options

Extensive menu of vegan options available. We enjoyed the gyro and Reuben. Really liked the greens and quinoa salad as sides.

Pros: Wide variety of vegan options, Nice flavors, Love supporting a family owned business

VeganCheezhead

Points +126

Vegan
01 Jul 2023

Meeting Madison’s need for vegan restaurants

At long last, JustVeggiez has a new brick-and-mortar location! The menu is huge, the restaurant is clean and bright, and the food is awesome. Being family-owned and -run is the icing on the cake. I had the Italian beef with greens and my husband had the combo Italian with quinoa salad. Will definitely come here again and again.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-01

Pros: Food is delish, Prices are more than reasonable , Great location in walking distance to UW terrace

farmt

Points +20

Vegan
19 Nov 2022

Always stop

Great sandwiches and pizzas We are from St. Paul and always order ahead to pick up on way through. Have never been disappointed and wish they were 200 miles closer.

JessSho

Points +39

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

Delicious

Ordered online the chicken parm sandwich, the southwest burger and a bbq drummy. Love that they have a gluten free menu with many choices. All super good. Note there’s only one drummy per order, could have ordered more, as it was great. Definitely will stop again when in town.

Pros: Lots of vegan and gluten free options , Good food for the price

Cons: Had to call to get location, no sign at night

TwoRabbits

Points +305

Vegan
08 Oct 2022

Great place for pick up

Each time I’ve gone here recently, I’ve been disappointed. The food seems to have gone down hill.
Last time I ordered the chicken patty it was so tough that I couldn’t bite into it. I don’t think it was burnt/charred, but maybe freezer burnt?
The cheese curds were pretty sour, which is not how I remembered them.
The loaded gyro fries, we got had very little flavor - it felt like it didn’t use any salt. I’m all for low/no salt foods but I found this very surprising.

I’ll still go on occasion, maybe I’ve just had some bad luck there.

**Previous Review**
They have recently released a non-rotating menu - which can be found on their website. I love the Buffalo chicken but it is on the spicer side! Cheese curds were great as well.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-19

VagrantVegan

Points +1333

Vegan
11 Aug 2022

Everything was Delicious

This was a great meal. The shrimp po boy sandwich was amazing, with a great texture. All of the sides were good. It’s also great to see black owned businesses like this.

Pros: Black and family owned , Great textures

Cons: Not exactly healthy

MrClicks

Points +16

Vegan
02 Jul 2022

Delicious

First vegan reuben that tasted better than the non-vegan one

Pros: Huge vegan menu with loads of options., Food tastes great even to non plant-based folks, Tasted fresh even after a 20 minute drive hom

tessysdb

Points +258

Vegan
19 Jun 2022

Always yummy

We have ordered here a few times and have never been disappointed. They have tons of options. They are only doing to-go orders.

MelanieForrey

Points +681

Vegan
19 May 2022

Amazing!!!

We were traveling through, ordered online, and it was ready when we got there. Even after a 30 minute detour to find a pit stop, the food was still delicious! We tried all the sides and many burger/sandwich options between us and our four girls. So glad we stopped!!!

Pros: All vegan , Affordable , Delicious

KellyRivera

Points +39

Vegan
01 Apr 2022

Love this place!

Always great food!

Pros: Always excellent food!

MollyHarvey

Points +88

Vegan
17 Feb 2022

My favorites!

The nicest people, and some of the best vegan wings in town!

Pros: All Vegan, Good variety , Black Family Owned

Jewddha

Points +16

Vegan
26 Jul 2021

Wow

Fantastic vegan options, the vegan cheese curds were wonderfully good.

esundquist

Points +41

Vegan
21 Jun 2020

Super tasty comfort food

We picked up two seitan BBQ sandwiches with vegan chicken nuggets, potato salad, and pasta salad on the side. A hearty and delicious meal! Ordering was a little confusing as the Facebook page and e-commerce page had different info. We ended up ordering by sending an e-mail (see their FB page for the link) for a pop-up event.

Pros: Comfort food, Plant-based meats are likely to satisfy non-vegans, Local

Cons: Online presence is confusing. Recommend e-mailing.




This page has been viewed 4204 times.