• Juan's Flying Burrito - Lower Garden District

  • (19)
    24
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Fast food
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Semi-fast burrito restaurant with a few outlets. Cooks beans without lard, rice without chicken stock. Kitchen cooks food to-order, so let your server know if you're veg/vegan. Veg items include the super green burrito (roasted veggies and chilies), veggie punk burrito (potato and chili based), sweet potato quesadilla, veggie enchilada, mardi gras Indians tacos. Funky atmosphere with a punk rock vibe. Has local beer. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm.


Venue map for Juan's Flying Burrito - Lower Garden District
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by bayzydk

jacquifrasca

Points +20

Vegan
31 Oct 2023

Well-priced and delicious

Let me just say, it’s been maybe a decade since $6 guac and chips got you a LOT of guac. The burritos were amazing and while we’re trying to not repeat restaurants while visiting, I promise it will be nearly impossible to not get back here at least once more before we leave. The homemade hot sauces are SO good. Incredible vegan options but no vegan cheese (you won’t miss it). Everything is made to order, so don’t be shy about dietary restrictions.

Advertisement

bknamaste

Points +811

Vegan
31 May 2023

Knowledgeable

The waitress was very friendly and knowledgeable about how to modify the fajitas to add tofu and remove dairy to make it a hearty vegan serving! The fajitas were good and quite filling.

Pendragon1976

Points +39

Vegan
02 Apr 2023

Really good food and kind staff

Easy to veganize your meal with the help of the staff.
recommended!

Pros: Kind and helpful staff, Easy to veganize your meal, Very good food

Cons: Spicy, Vegan option not clear on the menu

GlobalTravelingvegan

Points +142

Vegan
04 Jan 2023

Nothing vegan here

Yes they are willing to take off cheese and meat for you. But most restaurants are. They have tofu to add but no vegan cheese at all. #Veganuary

Pros: Nice atmosphere

Cons: No vegan cheese , No vegan dishes really , Weak drinks

deetsgooch

Points +89

Vegan
14 Mar 2022

Great value!

The best $10 burrito I’ve had! Great vegan menu, it was so hard to choose. I ended up with the Burro Verde (without cheese or sour cream). Such a unique combination of flavors with black beans, rice, mushrooms, artichoke hearts, and more! Very delicious and filling for the price. Hot sauce was “insanely hot” as described and a couple of drops were the perfect accompaniment with each bite. I ordered to go, but service was good and food was ready very quickly. Also ordered chips with guac & salsa, which were above average. I highly recommend seeking them out for vegan Mexican in NOLA.

Pros: Delicious!, Unique flavor combos!, Fast and hot!

alicelaura

Points +256

Vegan
21 Feb 2022

Amazing - must visit

Delicious food, great value. The staff are amazing at catering to veganism and gluten free! I had the Wicked Green burrito and asked for it to come with corn tortillas instead and it was amazing. They have a really nice seating area at the back

Pros: Amazing staff - good with veganism, Value, Atmosphere

alicelaura

21 Feb 2022

Should add that the staff were really good with gluten-free too! Felt very reassured that they would get my order right and they did. I really value that

LizMayo

Points +1258

Vegan
14 Mar 2020

Tons of Selections

Great prices and endless selections! I love eating here when I’m in NOLA.

branditlondon

Points +29

Vegetarian
09 Jul 2017

great food at a decent price

The vegetarian options were good but unfortunately the vegan options were limited. You could order a vegi option and have them take out the cheese and sour cream at the same price. We were told they are looking to get vegan cheese in very soon and it would be really easy to make vegan sour cream.
The Margaritas and beer were reasonably priced and very good. Overall everything was really good.

Pros: good price

Cons: not a great deal of vegan options

StanDyer

Points +28

Vegetarian
30 Mar 2017

Great, Inexpensive Choice for Dining Near the French Quarter

This is a great place for vegans and vegetarians to find tasty dining options close to the French Quarter. It's just a short walk up river, and well worth it. They have a variety of good choices, some great hot sauces, and really reasonable prices - $5.00 to $7.00 for really big burritos. You can also get them served in bowls without the tortilla.
If you are familiar with Chipotle or Qdoba, the food is very similar to those places except that it is a regular, sit-down restaurant.

Pros: Good Flavor, Low Prices, Variety of Options

Cons: A little bit of a walk from the French Quarter, The restaurant is rather small

Spartacusprada

Points +41

Vegetarian
18 Apr 2016

Great place

Excellent restaurant. Eclectic feel, delicious food. Non-vegetarian (literally no vegetables) companion able to enjoy food as well as my ability to get a great vegan burrito. Spicy. Very New Orleans vibe.

Pros: Atmosphere, Service

JeffGrippe

Points +88

Mostly Veg
28 Apr 2014

Supergreen Burrito is Superb

The mid city location is very close to where we are staying. We ordered the Supergreen Burrito and the Veg Fajitas. We also started with an appetizer of guacamole and chips.

The supergreen burrito was so big that even sharing it with someone, we were full after eating it. Still the food on the fajita place was varied and tasty

When we ordered all veg food we were offered a choice of dairy or none. Although we are not vegan, it was nice to be offered the choice of vegan preparation. It show that they care about the choice that we make and are willing to accomodate.

Both dishes that we ordered were delightful. I would skip the guacamole and chips. The guacamole is not made to order although it tasted fine.
Updated from previous review on Friday May 03, 2013

We went back in 2014. I should have read my own review first. We ordered exactly the same thing and we were offered vegan (no dairy) options. We ordered the Guacamole again and once again, I'd recommend passing. I ordered a frozen drink again, and again it was way too sugary.

Still, the main dish was great and they really try to help you when they know you are veg/vegan. We will be going back!

Pros: great veg entrees, accommodating to vegans

Cons: guacamole not made to order, frozen drinks too sugary

veggiegirl66

Points +101

Vegan
29 Jan 2014

We Love Juans

This place is right down the street from my house so we go a lot. It's a great place to get burritos and their margaritas are also fantastic! Very vegan friendly :)

Pros: Delicious, Cheap

Cons: Wish They Had More Vegan Options

jujutsuka

Points +528

Vegan
12 Jan 2011

good burritos

The main seating is booths, and there is also a bar and a few tables in the back. It's a small place, but the potato and bean burrito was delicious. I imagine that this place is key in wee hours after a night on the town (actually, i guess they're only open until 11 or 10... but still).

Pros: yum

Cons: small, busy

swaan

Points +42

Vegan
27 Nov 2010

Delicious!

My server understood what "vegan" meant and offered to have me order a bean burrito with three veggies, and guacamole, no dairy for (I think) the price of a regular vegetarian burrito. They have vegan (or vegan-able) options, but it was nice to special order. Also, they have whole wheat tortillas. Everything was delicious and fresh!

Pros: great food, inexpensive, helpful staff

Cons: not 100% veg

kayellebee

Points +52

Vegan
28 Oct 2010

A Must-eat

We visited both locations while in town and were satisfied each time. The first time (Mid City) I got the Supergreen burrito (dairy optional) which was orgasmic and my boyfriend got the vegetarian fajitas w/o cheese. An appetizer of chips & salsa (which was chunky and awesome) and beer may have put us over the top cuz we were so full we wanted to die. The second time we went to the Garden District location and my boyfriend got the Supergreen (cuz he saw how in love I was the first time) and I, not being too hungry, simply got the chips/salsa/guac appetizer (which did end up being quite the meal). You MUST go to this place. They have chill music playing and great prices.

Pros: Yummy, Big portions

nolaveggirl

Points +42

Vegan
21 Aug 2010

Big and Satisfying Burritos

Burritos are huge and relatively cheap. The Veggie Punk and Super Green Burritos are satisfying and can easily be made vegan without cheese. The place can be packed for lunch and dinner-especially on the weekends. I haven't always had the best service-those hipster tattooed folks can be just plain rude.

Pros: Yummy Mexican food, Not too expensive

Cons: Occasional rude service, Expect a wait during lunch or dinner

vegbaker

Points +572

Vegan
25 Jun 2010

Yum

Inexpensive with very large portions. Delicious too!

Pros: Inexpensive, Large Portions, Tasty

Cons: Parking can be a hassle

vegbaker

06 Jan 2015

They've updated their vegan options and tend to have more now! Call ahead to see for sure though, but I've gotten veggie meat and tofu options!

mylarobin

Points +37

Vegetarian
13 May 2010

Cheap veggie food

I enjoyed Juan's Flying Burrito. I got enchiladas (gluten-free and vegetarian), and sat outside to people watch on lovely Magazine Street. They are inexpensive and the food was decent. My Margarita was also decent and cheap.

Pros: Inexpensive, yummy, outdoor seating

bayzydk

Points +108

Vegan
15 Apr 2010

Tasty Bargain

I've only been to the Magazine location, but my experience was great. Hip but welcoming atmosphere, big menu, and big portions. Being from Seattle (where everything is expensive), I was shocked to see a huge, veggie filled burrito was only going to put me back 6 or 7 dollars. My server was totally committed to helping me find nondairy options, and seemed to know what a vegan was. I was there around Strawberry Festival, so the local brewery, Abita, had out their strawberry beer. AMAZING. I highly recommend eating at Juan's

Pros: cheap, cool vibe, friendly waitstaff




This page has been viewed 6570 times.