Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
American
Take-out
Breakfast
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A breakfast diner that has vegan pancakes and a few other vegetarian choices. Specify. Open Mon 6:00am-1:00pm, Wed-Sun 6:00am-1:00pm.


49 Reviews

First Review by KateMc

Kate9791

Points +664

Vegan
01 Mar 2024

An entire vegan menu section!

So appreciate a vegan menu (and with gluten free options!) Very few places on island offer much for vegan. Nice outdoor seating option too. Super friendly staff. Food is good. Nothing special, more like diner style.

Advertisement

Faylafel

Points +531

Vegan
29 Oct 2023

The burrito is the best

Got the burrito and the pancakes, both good. Clearly marked vegan section of the menu. Note: This is a very popular place and we had to wait 40 mins for a table

Vestalellie

Points +24

Vegan
21 Oct 2023

Delicious vegan menu!

This place has plenty of vegan options that also taste great! For me it’s a score anytime the place goes the extra mile to have vegan pancakes. The tofu scramble and oatmeal walnut pancakes were fantastic. My husband also enjoyed his non vegan breakfast sandwhich!

AnnHarrisonWehr

Points +121

Vegan
23 Sep 2023

Good breakfast option

We had the apple spiced pancakes a day tofu scramble. Both were good. Servers are vegan aware.

TashO

Points +379

Vegan
19 Sep 2023

Decent vegan options

Bar Harbor has slim options for vegan food. However, this place has a section on the menu for vegan items, including a vegan scramble and vegan pancakes. The pancakes are decent and the scramble is okay. The service is not super great and we were rushed while we were there. It gets the job done, but we will be exploring other places.

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-19

Pros: Vegan/ gluten free pancakes, Select vegan options

Cons: Rude service

tolmeia07

Points +476

Vegan
18 Sep 2023

Great vegan burrito and pancakes!

Super tasty breakfast burrito and delicious blueberry pancakes! Loved it!

Updated from previous review on 2023-09-18

Pros: Delicious food, Good options , Big portions

Cons: Waiting time when busy

chels2ocean

Points +727

Vegan
09 Sep 2023

Filling breakfast

Has a separate vegan section of their menu. I got the oatmeal walnut pancakes which were very large and fluffy. Not too sweet, unless you drown them in maple syrup. They're served with log cabin syrup by default, have to upgrade to get real maple syrup (and it's an expensive upcharge).

LaurelS

Points +38

Vegan
19 Aug 2023

Great breakfast!

I loved that they had a whole vegan section of the menu! The vegan burrito and home fries was delish! I tried the vegan pancakes as well and they were also really good. This is a must try if you are a breakfast person!

Pros: Vegan menu section, Yummy food

Cons: Bit of a wait on a Saturday morning

LindsayMorris

Points +265

Vegan
13 Aug 2023

A hearty vegan breakfast

We enjoyed the apple spice pancakes. These are large and fluffy, topped with walnuts and house-made applesauce. There is an entire section of the menu dedicated to vegans which was greatly appreciated. Just be sure to reserve your spot on the waiting list online; the place is packed and otherwise typically requires about a half-hour wait.

farthereaches

Points +434

Vegan
21 Jul 2023

great vegan breakfast

this is kind of how I imagined a maine breakfast would be. I got the blueberry pancakes with blueberry sauce and it was among the best pancakes I’ve had in my life. They were super fluffy and not overly sweet. There are quite a few vegan breakfast options though to the point that it’s difficult to choose what to get. All of it looked really good.

thinkingaboutcows

Points +498

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

great for vegans

cute place right in downtown, really efficient service, has a separate vegan section of the menu with around four option. i got the tofu scramble and one blueberry pancake! they seem very accommodating for vegans. the food wasn’t out of this world incredible but it definitely was good and did the job. i’d give it an 8/10!

kmbrophy

Points +1010

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Something for everyone

We had a delicious breakfast here with the family. Everyone was able to get something they wanted. The pancakes are outstanding and filling!

VegBuchis

Points +180

Vegan
30 Jun 2023

Wonderful vibe

Would be 5 stars if that was possible! Many different pancake options and a vegan burrito. Very friendly staff.
Be aware of long wait. Still worth it but plan accordingly.
Also there is a no phone policy so don’t expect to review your plan for the day or go through pictures 😂. Reminded me of Luke’s Diner from Gilmore Girls.

bvankampen

Points +543

Vegan
11 Oct 2022

Nice vegan options

They have several vegan tofu scramble and pancake options

Willow16

Points +58

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Great place, worth any wait , super friendly staff and owners. 5 stars

Hearty, yummy vegan pancakes, good scramble and burrito option❤️

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-24

Pros: Delicious vegan options

veghead007

Points +236

Vegan
03 Sep 2022

Nice vegan breakfast

This was the only breakfast that had vegan pancakes! We had the apple pancakes and tofu scramble. Breakfast was delicious and make sure to ask for vegan butter for the toast! We came here a few times for the clearly marked vegan section!

MichelleP36

Points +1580

Vegan
28 Aug 2022

Delicious, Cute & Dog friendly

Loved the vegan pancakes & breakfast burrito. So nice to also have somewhere dog friendly -- they even gave us blankets on one of the colder mornings. Will return!

angieblah

Points +267

Vegan
29 Jul 2022

Great pancakes

Stopped here with family after watching the sunrise on Cadillac Mountain, service was good and quick and the apple oat pancakes were super yummy!

jennnnn

Points +355

Vegan
20 Jul 2022

Vegan & Gluten Free Pancakes!

I have not had pancakes in years! Today, I had strawberry GF and Vegan pancakes with real maple syrup at Jeannie’s! They have several vegan options, see menu attached. They even had oat milk for my coffee. I suggest using their book ahead seating to get on the waitlist.

Pros: Friendly staff, Great breakfast, Milk alternatives

Cons: Usually a long wait, A bit warm if you eat inside

BrittanyHill

Points +93

Vegan
15 Jul 2022

Great!!

They had several very good vegan options and the staff was very friendly. I had the tofu scramble and one apple cinnamon pancake. It was delicious!!

Tray-C

Points +495

Vegan
18 May 2022

5 Stars Really the best breakfast in Maine

Love, love, love Jeannie’s Great Maine Breakfast! We stop here every time we come to Bar Harbor and love it more every time. Worth the wait (if you can’t get seated right away definitely get on the waitlist and they text you when your table is ready). It’s always a busy place bustling with happy breakfasters. Jeannie and her team are amazing and so considerate of their guests. The food and service is exceptional. Our vegan favorites are the spicy tofu scramble with oatmeal bread, vegan burrito and the apple spice pancakes - all vegan and all insanely delicious. The staff is always sure to point out that the breads they use with the vegan options are vegan, they have Earth Balance for vegan butter replacement, that they have almond milk for the coffee and that the jam is NOT vegan. I can’t recommend this place highly enough to vegans, vegetarians and omnivores alike - they have something for everyone even gluten free and lactose intolerant ❤️

Pros: Everything

Cons: Nothing

Jessyr898

Points +57

Vegan
10 May 2022

Great spot for vegan breakfast!

Loved this great breakfast spot! Grab a spot on the waitlist. Yummy (a bit spicy) tofu scramble and a couple vegan pancake options! They also have nondairy creamer. Oh, the strawberry rhubarb jam was awesome!!

long_egg

Points +366

Vegan
09 Nov 2021

Very good

Was nice to see they had a large variety of options. Staff was accommodating and friendly, and they happily answered all of my questions. My food was tasty! I'll definitely be back when I'm in the area again!

Be warned, though. This place gets extremely busy, go early or make a reservation if you can.

Pros: Tasty food, Lots of options, Very accommodating

Cons: Busy

RSha

Points +88

Vegan
17 Oct 2021

Separate vegan menu!

Very delicious, must visit in this area. They open early but does get busy, so sign in and then go around the downtown shops.

Pros: Separate vegan menu, Yummy pancakes with fresh ingredients , Tofu scramble is good too

Cons: Gets busy with some wait time

danadoubleu

Points +91

Vegan
16 Aug 2021

Pancakes and several other options

Had the Apple pancakes which were delicious with their real maple syrup (had to ask for and uncharged). Also had the tofu scramble burrito with home fries that was tasty and filling. There’s about four other vegan options on the menu.

eravens1

Points +497

Vegan
18 Jul 2021

Get the real maple syrup!

I got some really delicious "Apple Spice" pancakes and I almost mistakenly got a vegan burrito. I say "almost mistakenly" because I was not hungry enough to eat both the pancakes and the burrito, but I saved the burrito for later, and wow it was still delicious even cold (good spices on their tofu).

Also heed the review title. Ordee the real maple syrup--so much better than ehat's on the table (but note you can easily share one "single serve" side of syrup between 2-3 people).

Pros: Very sizeable portions, Decent amount of vegan options, Friendly staff

Cons: Long wait

KathyT-WFPB

Points +804

Vegan
13 Jul 2021

We are going back for more

The food I had was delicious and they offer quite a few clearly marked vegan choices (see photo of menu). The pancakes were very good as was the flavor of the tofu in the scramble. It is a popular place, so expect a wait for a table. Service was fast. They have outdoor dog friendly seating. No reservations but you can go to their website to be added to their waiting list, then check in when you arrive. This may shorten your wait significantly. Closed on Tuesdays.

Updated from previous review on 2021-07-13

Pros: Clearly marked vegan menu section, Fast service, Good food

KathyT-WFPB

20 Jul 2021

Went back for more and really enjoyed their vegan apple spice pancakes. The pancakes were fluffy, tasty and had a delicious apple topping. No syrup needed, in my opinion.




This page has been viewed 8146 times.