Youta Jay Vegetarian Food

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 34 reviews )

Find

49/1 Khlong Makharm Riang Rd (at Naresuan Rd), Ayutthaya, Thailand, 13000

Small restaurant with a selection of buffet items and a la carte menu. Some pre-packaged food available. Directions: from the train station, catch the ferry and head west onto Th Naraesuan, after a few minutes walk, you'll come across a small bridge, the restaurant is on your left, just off Th Naraesuan. Roughly between the Main Bus Terminal and The Minivans To Bangkok. Also known as Youta Vegetarian Food Restaurant.
Note November 2021: Restaurants in Thailand may open for indoor dining, but some provinces are requiring restaurants to close for dine-in by 9:00pm. Call to check hours before going. Alcohol is not permitted in restaurants in any province. Open Mon-Sun 6:00am-3:00pm.

Categories: Vegan-friendly, Thai, Take-out

34 Reviews

First Review by JesseD

LaeticiaBetrancourt

Points +302

Vegan
18 Jan 2021

Great soup

The soup was really good

BrianStone

Points +69

Vegetarian
08 Mar 2020

Good food at an excellent price

I agree with others that this like so many other 'jai' vegetarian style restaurants to be found across the country. Small,. Friendly. Buffet style. Mixed styles of cooked vegetables and a range of seitan meat substitutes. The food tasted good enough but at B60 for a meal for two, I was very pleased.

Pros: Good vegetarian / vegan food, Amazingly cheap price

Cons: Buffet food, so it has been out for some time

BronteM

Points +140

Vegan
19 Feb 2020

Tasty and Great Value For Money

A great selection of food to choose from. The meal was inexpensive, filling, and tasted great.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, inexpensive , wide variety of dishes.

Advertisement

melkingin

Points +268

Vegan
01 Feb 2020

Super leckeres Essen zum kleinen Preis 🌱

Es gibt eine riesen große Auswahl.
Alles war super lecker.
Man kann sogar ein paar Dinge für zuhause kaufen.

Cons: Leider schließen sie Mittags um 15 Uhr

Falcojan

Points +58

Vegetarian
23 Jan 2020

Authentische Küche

Das Restaurant bietet viele bzw. nur veganes essen. Es ist authentisch Thailändisch und rustikal gehalten. Die Besitzer sind sehr freundlich und das Essen ist super günstig.

thechatonstravellers

Points +1260

Vegan
08 Jan 2020

Buffet with many choices

There are many choices that you can add with your rice. We paid 35B for a plate with 2 ingredients. The soy meat is really good!! But it's more expensive than other cheap local restaurants à la carte. 2nd time we paid 100B for 2 plates with 4 ingredients.

Pros: Tasty dish, Delicious mock meat, Friendly staff

Cons: More expensive than other cheap local restaurants

Christophlambo

Points +23

Mostly Veg
01 Jan 2020

Great

Simple tasty food, very good value (30-40 baht for lunch); friendly owner

blafasel

Points +155

Vegan
02 Nov 2019

Huge choice

Really tasty food! You get rice with the food you choose.

Pros: Lots of food, cheap

MaxSearch4Food

Points +49

Vegetarian
21 Apr 2019

Good variety of dishes

I ate there several days in a row and they had a new dish every time.

MalekVegan

Points +256

Vegan
18 Feb 2019

Very delicious. lots of foods

Mostly mock meats which tasted great

Pros: Lots of foods ... 100 % veg, Green drinks, Fan attached to wall

Cons: Next to street, No aircon

oachkatzl80

Points +289

Vegan
03 Feb 2019

Woooooow einfach nur wooow

Kleines thai restaruant, sehr viel Auswahl und super günstig...
Hab mich sorort in das Essen verliebt

Pros: Affordable , Delicious , Tonns of choices

Cons: Non, really non

natsirt

Points +16

Vegan
17 Nov 2018

Vegan

Hi! A lot of flat choice, very nice! Reasonable price. I will definitely come back! Good luck for the restaurant

JonJon

Points +18009

Vegan
10 Aug 2018

A good and cheap Jai canteen

This Jai canteen offers many faux-meat dishes with rice or noodles, for 40 bahts. Everything is very good, fresh and tasty. Their faux-meat is varied and satisfying. Portions are not huge but very fair for the price. The staff speaks a little English and is very friendly. A nice place to eat!

Pros: good food, inexpensive, friendly staff, English spoken

emzie1983

Points +678

Vegan
29 Apr 2018

Quick and easy

Standard jay restaurant - rice with a big selection of dishes cooked and laid out to choose from. Two items plus rice = 35 baht
I have to admit that we had two dishes each!! There was a good green curry, tofu and pineapple, a couple of different veg stir fries and curries
There are also a few shop items for sale - mock meat, noodles, crackers etc
Directions in the restaurant description are pretty good - restaurant is on the left just after you cross over the bridge

Pros: Wide selection, Very cheap

JavierHG

Points +59

Vegan
21 Sep 2017

Very cheap and nice food

Nos costó un poco encontrarlo pero al final lo logramos. Ya había acabado la hora de servicio pero nos atendió. Comimos dos platos cada uno y agua y pagamos apenas 1€ por persona. Muy barato y variedad de platos. Lo único es que están al aire libre sin tapar la comida, estaba un poco frío todo y no hay baño. Pero por el precio y la variedad no nos andamos con finuras. Gracias

Pros: Cheap, Variety, Attention

Cons: Conservación de los alimentos , Comida fría , Sin baños

thailandtraveler

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 Aug 2017

incredible

This place was phenomenal. Absolutely phenomenal. Some of the best food we had on our vacation. If you are going to be in the area, this place is a must.

After convincing our cab driver to take us here, rather than another place he preferred (and likely had an arrangement with), we were skeptical when we saw that it was almost completely empty. Frankly, I thought it was closed at first blush. My girlfriend rolled her eyes and walked inside and asked whether they were open, and the woman at the counter nodded.

There is no menu here, and the owner did not speak any English. But all of the food is laid out and we found it easy to point to what we wanted. You can walk behind the counter and see the variety of dishes--from spiced vegetables to tofu, seitan and other meat substitutes, as well as noodle-based soups. We each picked up a place of white rice, selected three side dishes, and ended up paying 45 baht per plate. The price seemed to vary based on the number of dishes you got along with your rice, but we couldn't communicate well enough to confirm that.

The water bottles were 10 baht each, but were very warm. If you are willing to drink tap water (we were not), that is free. Places around the temples will usually sell bottles of cold water, so you may want to bring one of those to the restaurant with you.

Tip: The fried basil leaves were amazing, and if you want to take a bag of anything back, the owner has tiny bags of the side dishes you can purchase for 10 baht each! We regretted that our day would be too hectic to allow for us to take anything with us, because my girlfriend is usually very picky but couldn't have been happier about the meal.

Bieni

Points +25

Vegetarian
19 Apr 2017

Delicious

We have been there today for lunch. It is really good and cheap! We paid 35 baht each :)

economydreams

Points +681

Vegan
16 Apr 2017

Great food!

We were on our way to another place when we stumbled upon this restaurant. I was concerned about whether it was purely vegan due to the previous review but decided to give it a chance. After a quick google translate conversation we ascertained it is indeed 100% vegan.
We had rice and 3 sides, each plate was 40 Baht which was great value. Everything tasted great and I was amazed at the sheer choice of food! Probably one of the best Jay places we've been to during our time in Thailand!

Pros: Fully vegan, Great value - cheap

goamiez

Points +132

Vegan
14 Mar 2017

Tasty food

They offer some buffet and no menue. Food was tasty but there was no communication - so it was not clear if it is vegan or vegetarian. But friendly stuff. Small portions but it was very unexpensive.

Ruderies16

Points +349

Vegan
02 Dec 2016

Tasty and central

Really nice, local place. As other reviewer says, location is where 2nd listing says (just off Naresuan Road). Selection of veg, tofu, and mock meat dishes as well as snacks etc. for takeaway. Reasonable prices and free drinking water.

Chessmaster2000

Points +106

Vegan
21 Nov 2016

Classic Thai vegan restaurant

These kinds of restaurants can be found in pretty much any major Thai city-- many pre-cooked vegan Thai entrees, lots of delicious faux meat, and super cheap prices. I tried four dishes with rice for 50 baht, which was infinitely more satisfying than getting one of the veggie options at one of the regular restaurants around Ayuthaya, as well as a few vegan sausage balls for 10 baht. All the food was incredibly rich and delicious and I left full and happy

One note- I tried going there three times (it's a three minute walk from my hostel), and they were only open one of those times-- so have a backup plan if it happens to be closed.

Pros: delicious, cheap, many options

Cons: not always open during normal hours

aFormerClarity

Points +124

Vegan
01 May 2016

Lunch & noodle soup

Typical Thai vegan (je) place with lots of choices of food on rice & noodle soups. Had a very good " yen ta fo" noodle soup but there's the choice of regular noodle soup as well as "guay jap". Good for stocking up on instant noodles, curry paste and condiments. Take away food in bags for 30 THB.

themeganmck

Points +110

Vegan
07 Mar 2016

Not convinced it was vegan

I forgot my vegan passport that day and the owner spoke very little English, I ordered from the tiny selection and couldn't eat much of it because it really resembled egg (although I think she might have said it wasn't, I really wasn't 100% sure)

Astrocake

Points +127

Vegetarian
15 Feb 2016

Delicious, easy, cheap!

We're not especially strict veggies but it was a welcome change to be able to eat everything. We tried 7 dishes between us - all excellent. We identified red curry and phad Thai, all the others were new. The highlight was some sweet crunchy stuff in a savoury sauce, looked a bit like very small popcorn. We also too two of the takeaway bags, and drank a bottle of water, all for 140 baht. Many thanks for posting a photo of the sign as it made it easy to find!!

Pros: vegan, tasty, cheap

Cons: closes early

samden

Points +734

Vegetarian
09 Jan 2016

Delicious food

We had a very nice meal here and right away got a second plate :-) They also sell some stuff to cook at home.

Pros: teasty, inexpensive

Cons: on a bussy road, not open for dinner

vivekverma

Points +86

Vegetarian
16 Nov 2015

Excellent inexpensive food

The owner doesn't speak much English, but you can point out to stuff that you need. The food is tasty, and really inexpensive (cost me 40Baht for rice and 2-3 add ons).

sukilovesicecream

Points +121

Vegetarian
02 Nov 2015

good fresh tasty food - perfect for picnics/travel

Great find in Ayutthaya! Take a picnic while cycling around Ayutthaya, or food for the train to Bangkok/ Sukhothai!

The map for this listing is accurate - thank you to whoever added that!

The lady is friendly and speaks limited English, but is helpful in pointing out ingredients, flavours and spice level.

There is a large sign now mentioning it closes at 15:00, I went back at 14:00 and she had already left. (the next day she explained she had to leave early). My advice: plan ahead :)

Food looked appealing, in a clean environment and very tasty. What a relief to have good hot tasty food with no meat around.

I also took with me FOUR little containers containing vegetables, rice, a bag of curry, and a bag of mini spring rolls - which came to 110 baht. the food lasted for the journey to Sukhothai and even for the next lunchtime (Sukhothai has no vegetarian or vegan eateries, it seems).

It is centrally located, near the little bridge and is easily recognisable by the yellow flag and a sign saying 'vegetarian'. Well recommended.

Pros: fresh, tasty, many options, inexpensive, take away options for travel

Cons: closes between 14:00 - 15:00

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Ayutthaya Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Youta Jay Vegetarian Food closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 5735 times.