Jack and the Beanstalk

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 25 reviews )
Contact
0109539365
Find

Haneulchae Apartment complex, Namcheon 2-dong, Suyeong-gu, Busan, South Korea, 517-11

Small vegan restaurant in Busan serving western style as well Korean fusion cuisine. Makes salads, veggie burgers, steak, burritos, pizza, pasta, green smoothies, detox juices. Uses organic brown rice and more healthful oils like sunflower and coconut oil. Last order 8pm. At front is a small retail area selling packaged food products. Previously located at 72, Namcheonbada-ro. Open Tue-Fri 3:00pm-9:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Pizza, Italian, Organic, Western, Take-out, Fusion, Korean

25 Reviews

First Review by veggieisland

Love the ambiance, service and food! - Edit

Had a green smoothie when I first came in followed by a lovely picture of warm lemon water. The ladies had a soft opening today with 3 main dishes. I sampled the AMAZING ratatouille and loved my burrito that had the right amount of spicy. This restaurant is nestled into a cozy neighborhood yet so close to Line 2. The converted house is charming!

Pros: nice staff, simple and delicious , reasonable prices

Cons: limited seating

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/Alecia13">Alecia13</a> <br/>Burrito  <br/> October 22, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/317543'>Report</a>

Burrito

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/Alecia13">Alecia13</a> <br/>Entrance  <br/> October 22, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/317542'>Report</a>

Entrance

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/Alecia13">Alecia13</a> <br/>Sign outside new location. October 2017 <br/> October 22, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/317541'>Report</a>

Sign outside new location. October 2017

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Place in Busan - Edit

The owner is so sweet and this restaurant is adorable. Everything is made fresh and to order. It’s all organic too. You usually get a fresh salad or appetizer, main course and a drink/appetizer.

The restaurant is smalll so do be weary about bringing more than 3 people. Nonetheless the menu is always delicious - it will rotate a burger, a salad, pasta or falafel dish.

Highly recommended! It’s a little difficult to find but way worth it.

Pros: organic, reasonable price, friendly

Cons: limited seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely staff - Edit


Short notice from the the staff: There will be a summer vacation from August 21st to September 19th (2017). Therefore the restaurant will be closed in the meantime. It will open again normally after the vacation ends.


Jack and the Beanstalk is definately a small gem. The staff is super nice and welcoming, the atmosphere is quite cozy and the food comes with reasonable prices and tastes good too.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lovely staff with great extensive menu - Edit

The best burrito Ive ever tasted. Also the fake meat on the bipimap was the best I've had. Many food options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent Little Restaurant - Edit

I have already been there about 5 times in the past 2 weeks, I can't get enough of the falafel burgers. The price is great and it leaves you full for hours!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best vegan food in Korea! - Edit

I had the pizza, "chicken", and spicy burger!
It was so filling! Also, the smoothies are delicious.
The staff couldn't be nicer.
You must eat here, no matter how short your trip is in Busan.

Pros: best vegan food in Korea, tasty, delicious, filling, homey, personalized touch

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/JonVeganTraveler">JonVeganTraveler</a> <br/>Smoothies <br/> April 4, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/142790'>Report</a>

Smoothies

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/JonVeganTraveler">JonVeganTraveler</a> <br/>Chicken <br/> April 4, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/142788'>Report</a>

Chicken

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/JonVeganTraveler">JonVeganTraveler</a> <br/>Burger <br/> April 4, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/142787'>Report</a>

Burger

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Valentine's Day treat :) - Edit

My boyfriend surprised me by coming here. We had to try so many things I was so excited! Great cutlet, burrito & veggie burger! + green & blueberry smoothies :)

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/annamannamomanna">annamannamomanna</a> <br/>amazing burrito! <br/> February 15, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/136378'>Report</a>

amazing burrito!

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/annamannamomanna">annamannamomanna</a> <br/>bean cutlet <br/> February 15, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/136377'>Report</a>

bean cutlet

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Blueberry Smoothie - Edit

A short walk from the popular Gwangalli beach. Enjoyed the burgers. My favourite though was the blueberry smoothie. Yummm!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So Good - Edit

Took my meat eating boyfriend to this place tonight and he ordered the verge burger. He said it was the best burger he's ever had. I got the burrito and its one of the best i've had. We also had a kale smoothie and blueberry smoothie. So good to eat alive food again as it can be pretty difficult to eat organically in Korea! If I'm in the area again i will be back to try some of the other delicious-looking items i didn't get to. Price is reasonable for quality of food although not as cheap as Korean restaurants in general.

Pros: Amazing Food, Great Service, Free tea

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Restaurant in Korea! - Edit

This is my Korean heaven! I am so lucky to have found this restaurant after struggling through out my time living in South Korea to find fresh and organic vegetarian and vegan food. The owner is hard working, passionate about vegan food, and extremely kind. I am now volunteering here for 5 weeks through the WWOOF Korea program and LOVE everything about it!!! It is very close to Gwangali beach so I recommend ordering a vegan burger or burrito and smoothie to go and enjoying a beach side vegan meal : )

Also- Jack and the Beanstalk will be open over the chuseok holiday 9/26, 9/27 and 9/29! It will just be closed on Monday like usual.
Updated from previous review on Sunday September 13, 2015

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/taysesame">taysesame</a> <br/>New Menu <br/> August 30, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/172270'>Report</a>

New Menu

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/taysesame">taysesame</a> <br/>Grand Opening on September 7th, 2016 at their new location <br/> August 30, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/172268'>Report</a>

Grand Opening on September 7th, 2016 at their new ...

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/taysesame">taysesame</a> <br/>Organic and local food.  <br/> August 30, 2016  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/172269'>Report</a>

Organic and local food.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Jack and Beanstalk - Edit

I had the veggie burger which was really delicious, I highly recommend it. However, its very very tiny, but the price is also very low. I recommend getting it with another dish.

I also ordered the ratatouille. It was so delicious and flavorful and served with a side salad that was also good.

The staff here was very kind.

Pros: Price, Service, Atmosphere

Cons: Location, Serving Size

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/melephant">melephant</a> <br/>veggie burger and iced coffee <br/> August 12, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/113328'>Report</a>

veggie burger and iced coffee

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/melephant">melephant</a> <br/>ratatouille  <br/> August 12, 2015  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/113327'>Report</a>

ratatouille

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Reviewer Avatar
Vegan

  Contributions +33

great for Busan. - Edit

We went here twice during our stay in Busan. It was good for western style food- The steak in particular was AMAZING. The woman running it is very adorable, but since she;s a one woman shop, you get one dish at a time. This would be weird for a group, because one person could easily finish their dish before others even got theirs. Overall though, very good food and a cute place.

Pros: good food.

Cons: one dish at a time. really slow.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A big let down - Edit

I'm going to go against the trend here. I don't understand the rage about this place. Such a disappointment. We went to Jack and the Beanstalk with great excitement as it has consistently received good reviews.

The food was uncreative and sad. We ordered three items from their menu, an burger, a creamy pasta and air fried chips. First of all, the air fried chips were not air fried and was not even close to the photo they posted on FB (reference: http://on.fb.me/1JG3vTF). What we received was store bought frozen fries, the thick crinkled kind, that was not fried properly. Not even crispy on the outside. It was sad.

The Creamy Pasta is more like a creamy spaghetti soup. The pasta was literally soaking in a sea of sauce. The sauce itself was delicious, but there was just too much of it.

The Burger was dull and boring. It's hard to explain, but it lacked that burger 'X-Factor' Store bought patty, upon a store bought bun, with store bought mustard and some very sad looking iceberg lettuce.

The owner Sophia was REALLY friendly and nice. But thats about the only thing that was consistent from the reviews.

Understand that this is not a gourmet restaurant, but with its high reviews from the community, I would expect a lot more. This place needs improvement. Would not go out of the way to go there.

Let me know if you experience the same experience, or it was just a bad day for us! :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

delicious vegan food! - Edit

We were dilighted to find this place since it is not easy to find vegetarian food in south korea. The vegan air fried chicken and the vegan steak were delicious, there is nothing that could have been better. The coconut-lemonade is also very good. You can also buy some vegan snacks like chocolate and instantnoodles at this place and the staff speaks english. Don't miss it :)

Pros: staff speaks english, delicious, vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best vegan restaurant in the known universe? - Edit

Amazing fresh food all organic and bought from the farmers. Sophia is a vegan angel and will make you feel welcome and at home the moment you step inside. The food is fantastic and is served lovingly. One of the best vegan restaurants I've been to!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

simply delicious and healthy - Edit

tasty food, funny and friendly people!

the burger is so delicious and fresh, good for a snack anytime,
the steak is so juicy and moist, unlike the usual vegan processed food
they are all hand made in the restaurant, and so the quality is just in a different scale.
cream pasta... hmmm creamy.. yum! can't believe it's vegan, it's better than the usual one i get in normal restaurants.

tasty, organic, gmo free, what else do i want?

if everyone tried vegan food tastes this good, there will be less people eating meat :)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Friendly owner, great smoothies - Edit

We enjoyed everything we ate. It was our first time trying air-fried veggie chicken. We talked with the owner for a while and she was very sweet. The prices were a little higher than some other places, but she was very ingredient conscious and the food was freshly prepared.

Pros: Smoothies, Nice, bright space, Friendly owner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Personal touch - Edit

After four months in Busan I'm sad to leave Sofia and her colleagues. Jack and the Beanstalk is a very special place in Busan. A little gem that makes you feel home away from home.

The food is delicious and there are many options so you won't get bored. Also, you can buy a small selection of organic and vegan food to take home like nuts, cereal and chocolate.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Honest and Yummy dishes! - Edit

We can meet here not only friendly staff but also honest and yummy dishes. The chef, Sofia, who is very energetic, kind, and positive, has lots of experience and much infos about vegan recipes. Furthermore, she always takes so much care of ingredients and hygiene she use only organic ones and clean them with vinegar. Also she doesn't spare any ingredients. When I ate vegan Ramen here, I was surprised that it had lentils which is very expensive in Korea. In addition, she use organic and best ingredients. The price is reasonable, and the traffic is very easy to find~^^
It is my best restaurant I ever visited~

Pros: Full vegan foodies, Organic and clean ingredients, friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

the best of the best - Edit

The dishes here are amazing based on organic ingredients and taste.
It is not loving hut although it sells some loving hut products. Sophia who is the owner of this restaurant makes sauces for burger and other dishes by herself. I esp loved tufu lentil steak and burger. Smoothies are wonderful too. The staff here are so friendly and kind. Wonderful,amazing and delicious place.

Pros: excellent food, organic and eco friendly ingredients, friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The Best Food In Busan! - Edit

This place was incredible! They make the BEST burger I have had since going vegan ten years ago. It is easy to find, cozy, and the staff are wonderfully friendly! They really care about the quality of their food and its impact on the environment, and so if you want a healthy place to grab a bite where the food tastes AMAZING than this is your place.

The food isn't cheap, but nor is it expensive- they use GMO-free and organic ingredients and so you are paying for quality. Well worth it.

Pros: Great Staff, Delicious + Healthy Food, Cozy Atmosphere

Cons: Moderate Price (but worth it!!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A Necessary Stop - Edit

It's actually just a Loving Hut under a different name, but they have a few unique offerings. Most of the dishes are comprised of the standard Loving Hut products (vegefood) and even coke in Loving Hut brand wrapping paper, but I'd say they smoothies/lemonade (which is actually just a smoothie) are certainly worth checking out. Obviously, if you are a vegan or vegetarian in Busan, you must eat here. It's nothing spectacularly innovative, but you'll enjoy it and you can fill up ok guilt-free food in the comfort of lovely decor and sweet staff.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Brilliant! Great burger! - Edit

Not much to say other than friendly staff and good food in a laid-back atmosphere. I had the burger. Was a little dubious when it arrived due to it having apple in it but it was delicious. Next time I'll get two!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

bright, welcoming and tasty - Edit

The location is easy to find. At first sight it seems like a colorful vegan snackbar, but as having a look at the menu (copy in eng and huge banner in front of the door in kor and eng) it actually is a restaurant. The atmosphere is cozy and invites to hang around. The menu provides basic dishes, which are served nicely decorated. We had a burger, salad (6500 won) and brown rice with "meat" (8000 won). They were delicious. The staff was lovely. We recommend this place and will come back ourselves.

Pros: delicous, clean, friendly

Cons: no restroom, -

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

What a Gem! - Edit

We truly enjoyed eating here. The staff doesn't speak much English but they are absolute sweethearts!!!
Even if you don't speak Korean they will try to find a way to answer any questions you may have. They were so friendly and welcoming.

Everything in the store is in Korean but if you ask for an English menu, they will hand you a printed copy of what they offer so you can browse (no photos of the food though).

The front of the store is kind of a mini-mart. They offer a lot of imported & local vegan goodies for sale! After 6 months in Korea, you bet I stocked up on the chocolate bars! It's a little pricey but well worth it, if you've been junk food deprived and a little homesick.

Oh, I almost forgot...the location! On our trip we visited 3 vegan restaurants and this was the easiest one to locate.
You hop on thee green line; the stop is Geumnyeonsan station. Choose exit number 5 and walk straight--two blocks. On the second block, turn left... you will see a 7-11 on your right after walking a few meters...turn right into that alley and you will see a sign with the word "vegan" amidst a bunch of Hangul. You can't miss it!

NOW...on to the food:

We were pleasantly surprised that the food was so good. We ordered the pizza, the spicy "beef" and rice, and a burger.

The veggie burger was delicious!!! The flavors were so refreshing. The pizza was a hit with my Omni husband and the spicy "beef" was my personal favorite. It was basically a Bibimbap without the egg and real meat. Lots of flavors & very filling.

Pros: excellent food, 100% vegan

Cons: No restroom (but you can go next door)

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/veggieisland">veggieisland</a> <br/>A few chocolate bars that they carry! <br/> June 21, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/72440'>Report</a>

A few chocolate bars that they carry!

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/veggieisland">veggieisland</a> <br/>Delicious and not too spicy <br/> June 21, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/72439'>Report</a>

Delicious and not too spicy

Photo of Jack and the Beanstalk  by <a href="/members/profile/veggieisland">veggieisland</a> <br/>Yum <br/> June 21, 2014  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/47910/72437'>Report</a>

Yum

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Busan Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Jack and the Beanstalk closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 7316 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support