32
Lacto
Ovo
Pizza
Italian
Mediterranean
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican
Catering
Spanish
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Serves a few marked vegan dishes on the menu such as a vegan poutine, a vegan pattie sandwich and a vegan chicken sizzler. Last orders for food is at 8.50pm, a wait should be expected during busy times as food is cooked to order. Open Mon-Thu 12:00-23:00, Fri-Sat 12:00-00:00, Sun 12:00-23:00.


Venue map for Ivy House
ยฉ OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by ClaireBeales

JasiTingTing

Points +562

Vegan
29 Sep 2023

Amazing selection of food and drinks

๐Ÿ“The Ivy House, Sunderland

Fab food followed by a gig to raise money for an animal charity Paws for Thought.

Garlic bread vegan cheese
Dirty dough balls
Lindsay vegan burger
Pizza
Poutine

Food was really nice ! Heard they also do Sunday lunch, will have to come back to try that ๐Ÿคญ

Pros: Fresh food , Lots of choices

Cons: Lack of parking outside - street parking

Advertisement

Sazmosa

Points +209

Vegan
28 Sep 2023

Great pizzas!

So many vegan options on the pizzas and more, looking forward to trying more options. Not tried sides or puddings yet as have always had pizza.

You can order the alcohol they have on tap in thirds, a nice way to have a try of the range they offer.

Having tried places that do mock meat on pizzas before and been disappointed, this is different, they clearly are keen to have interesting flavour combinations and have protein yay!

Pros: So many interesting combinations of pizza toppings, Thoughtful staff, Hot drinks available

Cons: Fake horns light feature is a bit off putting , More non alcoholic drink options would be good

deadpledge

Points +10668

Vegan
05 Mar 2023

Great vegan roast

This really is a fine place to go for a vegan Sunday roast. All the vegetables were cooked to perfection and seasoned so well, with a really tasty gravy. Compliments to the chef too for the mash that was excellent and so creamy.

The mock meat substitute also had a nice smokiness to it and you even get yorkshire puddings, which unlike in other establishments are not usually provided. The Yorkshire puddings were excellent by the way.

At ยฃ10.95 I must admit I was a little dubious, but this was justified by the extremely generous portion size. Some folk were even taking there leftovers home!

They also have clearly labelled vegan ales and personally I would recommend the green mountain IPA. Staff are very welcoming and there's always good music playing.

Pros: Great vegan roast , Portion sizes , Staff & vibe

Cons: Meat

MouthyMackem

Points +590

Vegan
05 May 2022

Sunday roast.

The Sunday dinners have improved from the first time I went over one ago. I found the gravy a bit bland, but they make one pot for all, so at least it was safe.

Updated from previous review on 2020-10-20

Pros: Vegan options , Vegan Yorkshire puds

Cons: Serves animal corpses , No vegan wine ๐Ÿ‘Ž

NaomiBrash

Points +747

Vegan
02 May 2022

Great vegan options

Went for lunch at the Ivy House after a long morning shopping and it did not disappoint! So many amazing vegan options on the menu, totally spoilt for choice! I went for the vegan kiev pizza which was incredible and my partner got the vegan meatball sub which he also thoroughly enjoyed! We also got some onion rings and doughballs on the side which were also very yummy! ๐Ÿ˜‹ Looking forward to visit this place on a Sunday in the future to try their Sunday dinner.... ๐Ÿ’– The staff were also very friendly and knowledgeable about veganism which is always a bonus! We didn't manage to finish all our munch but the staff were more than happy to box it up for us to take home which was very kind too ๐Ÿ˜

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-02

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Friendly staff, Cosy setting

Chrizzo

Points +26

Vegan
18 Nov 2021

Amazing Food

Food was fantastic with lots of vegan options and very friendly helpful staff

Giorgiamel

Points +726

Vegan
09 Jun 2021

Brilliant food

This place is fantastic! Extremely well priced and the food is fantastic! Itโ€™s just a small pub but the food could be put in a fancy restaurant. The quality was unbelievable and the staff were so friendly and helpful. I couldnโ€™t fault this place and it was so refreshing to go into a small pub and have a load of vegan options! I could eat here all the time it was that great!

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Fantastic customer service , Really well priced / affordable

Jaydigriz

Points +170

Vegan
15 Jul 2020

Very organised

First up response to Covid. Sign in at door given plastic card for ongoing visits. Staff in ppe. Table service and outdoor area. Spacious. Tables fully cleaned on someone leaving but also in preparation for seating. Wasnโ€™t peak time but felt good about dealing with this.

Good range of Pizzas that can be vegan friendly, sides including vegan mayo etc.

2 vegan burgers and their 3 times cooked wedges fantastic. Wife had vegetarian pizza so havenโ€™t tried the vegan cheese yet but will certainly be back to try.

Very attentive friendly staff and felt well looked after.

Cheers

BevTyler-Cooke

Points +83

Vegan
26 Jan 2020

Vegan Sunday lunch with gravy

I always choose The Ivy House pub for Sunday lunch.
The vegan patti is really tasty and the veg cooked just how I like it.
This is a medium size portion which is huge.
Small and large portions are also available.
Staff always vefy friendly and polite.

Pros: Lovely tasty food., Different size portions available. , Vegan soft and alcoholic drinks also available.

ClaireBeales

Points +26

Vegan
18 Dec 2019

Exceptional vegan pizzas. Landlady is a vegan herself. Lovely pub [censored]

This is one of Sunderlandโ€™s finest pubs and they welcome vegans with open arms. Beautiful pizzas and burgers, plus other stuff. Worth a trip.

Pros: Gorgeous pub, Lots of vegan food choices, Vegan landlady

Cons: No vegan wine




This page has been viewed 2102 times.