Japanese
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small, 10+ course kaiseki restaurant with 5 seats and does 2 seating per night (5:30 and 8:30). At least one-week advance reservation and payment is required thru its website. A vegan or vegetarian set menu can be requested when reserving. Owners speak English and explain the dishes' origins during all of the courses. Optional sake pairing. Open Tue-Sat 5:30pm-11:00pm.


Venue map for Ise Sueyoshi
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by jodlop

JC97

Points +29

Vegetarian
10 Feb 2024

Amazing food and a great experience

I was looking for a high rated restaurant in Tokyo with a vegetarian menu, that's where I found Ise Sueyoshi. Throughout the night I got to taste unique and well prepared meals, all while the chef explained the background of them. The food tasted amazing and you definitely see the effort they put in making a great vegetarian menu.

The restaurant has a total of 4 seats which makes for a unique experience. The chef was very friendly and knowledgeable. I would recommend this place to everyone visiting Tokyo!

Pros: Fresh and delicious food, Tailor made menu, Unique setting

Advertisement

Dejongem

Points +15

Vegetarian
10 Feb 2024

Incredible meal!

My wife and I had the most incredible meal here. We will come back every year. Every dish was delicious and incredibly fun. The chef was very engaging and transmitted tremendous pride in his preparation and ingredients 10 out of 10.

Pros: Food, Service, Decor

AJ93D

Points +29

Vegetarian
09 Feb 2024

A tasty Mie prefecture oasis for vegans et al.

It can be hard to find tasty meat-free options in Japan, but this place was my favorite meal here. The restaurant offers basically a pescatarian option (vegetarian menu) and a vegan one. I had the vegan menu as I’m not pescatarian with a Sake pairing. My wife is also allergic to shellfish and Chef Yuuki-San was great and accommodated both of our needs.

He takes you on a journey through the earthy and natural cuisine of his home prefecture, Mie, using native ingredients, a book explaining where key ingredients and people for that course come from and complimented with different Sake. Like any Kaiseki meal, the dishes are works of Japanese art. The menu changes for the season and some of the dishes were particularly mind-blowing: the teriyaki soy meat with the rice, the mushroom ‘steak’ and the tiny pockets of flavors in the starter were my highlights.

Overall, thank you, Yuuki-San and his assistants for sharing your hometown and prefecture with such skill and passion.

Pros: The flavours, The information and passion of Mie

Cons: Obviously expensive but worth it, Difficult to find (white cuboid sign by staircase)

JessZ178

Points +26

Vegan
13 Jan 2024

Very highly recommended!

I went to Ise Sueyoshi with two of my friends and we had the most delicious degustation! It was the best meal of our trip. Everyone had different dietary requirements (e.g. vegan, pescatarian) and Yuuki (the owner and head chef) was so accommodating, individualizing the meal for each person. The vegan menu was so so yummy! Very highly recommended!

Pros: Can go with non-vegan friends. , Private dining., Friendly and individualised service.

jamessoh

Points +13

Vegetarian
14 Sep 2023

Best Vegetarian Restaurant

Chef Tanaka-san elevates vegetarian cuisine to a new level. Through a thoughtfully curated and informative meal using procured ingredients from Mie prefecture, we appreciated a refined level of dining.

We will be back

didkech

Points +99

Vegetarian
24 May 2023

Un voyage culinaire

Dès l’arrivée dans ce petit écrin, on se sent privilégié puisque les 4 uniques couverts du restaurant donnent directement sur les cuisiniers en train de nous concocter un mémorable menu.
Le chef Yuuki Tanaka va alors nous faire voyager avec générosité dans son village de Mie à travers les différents mets qu’il prépare sous nos yeux. Un livre grand ouvert retrace les différentes étapes de sa création et leurs origines. Ébahis, nous découvrons la transformation des matières premières en un émerveillement visuel et gustatif.
De plus, je suis très reconnaissant au chef d’avoir prévu un menu végétarien, preuve supplémentaire de sa générosité.
De délicates attentions émaillent notre parcours. En plus du livre, la photo de notre passage, un menu avec des explications et un apprentissage de la cérémonie du thé.
Merci encore à toute l’équipe

Pros: Beaucoup d’options vegan

Cons: Rien

spaceguns

Points +51

Vegetarian
02 Feb 2020

An Experience

Ise Suyoshi is tucked away in a quiet building, and seats only a select few. Those guests are treated with the utmost care and hospitality. Each course is a small dish of exquisite morsels, prepared with painstaking care and described by the chef as it is served. With the sake pairing, each sake was also described for flavor characteristics, and served in a unique vessel. The amount of food and sake was perfect, enough to be satisfied but not stuffed and slightly floating on a sake cloud.

There is a vegan set menu, and each dish was an experience of flavor and texture. Not only that, but I went with someone who eats meat and was pleasantly surprised to note that every course was equivalent. Each was very different in terms of ingredients, but with similar flavor profiles and complemented by the same sake. Food was prepared with an emphasis on small businesses from the chef’s hometown, and a full-color book with photos in both Japanese and English was on display for customers to see photos of the people and ingredients involved in making the meal. It is the kind of place for special occasions and fancy attire, truly an experience in the finest of dining.

Mr.Spaceguns

Points +8

Non Veg
02 Feb 2020

Japanese high dining with vegan and English available

We opted for one regular and one vegan option at additional cost, and the sake pairing at the chef's counter. The service, presentation and explanation of each serving was phenomenal. I don't think I ever had to ask for anything, such as a water refill, my wants and needs were anticipated and swiftly served. Ingredients were explained in detail down to their sourcing.

If you can splurge on a place that combines fine dining with both meat and vegan options this is a great place to do it.

Note - would be a five star but Happy Cow prohibits non-fully veg places from receiving a 5 star review.

Pros: Accommodates both veg and non-veg diners, High/Fine Dining, English available

Hafi

Points +15

Vegetarian
14 Jul 2019

Stunning culinary sensations

I have been to a few Michelin stars restaurants looking for the perfect vegetarian menu, and I found it at Ise Sueyoshi. Usually after a few dishes, the flavours start clashing and I want the meal to stop. Not at all with Chef Tanaka. He prepared the perfectly balanced meal; I never felt overwhelmed, the flavours complemented each other, building up after each dish to a fabulous finale of sensations. I recommend the sake pairing to enhance the experience. Beyond the culinary experience, I strongly recommend the restaurant for the personal touches and attention lavished on each food lover. We all felt truly pampered with a raised self-awareness of what food should be about. I want to put five stars but cannot because the system does not allow me to. Too bad!

WoebegoneWanderer

Points +13

Vegetarian
29 May 2019

Marvellous meal

I decided to come here as a treat as part of my trip to Japan. It did not disappoint.

The menu was delightful; for someone not wholly enamoured with Japanese cuisine this was a delicious and memorable experience. The chef Yuuki was very welcoming and provides you with complementary information through the meal about the dishes and ingredients.

My one issue was the use of dashi fish stock in a soup, but this was a minor misstep. Thoroughly recommend.

Pros: Atmosphere, Flavour, Experience

Cons: Use of fish stock

tharindu

Points +11

Mostly Veg
04 Mar 2019

The highlight of our first trip to Japan

This traditional Japanese restaurant catered for the different dietary needs of me and my girlfriend perfectly. As a sometimes pescatarian/sometimes carnivore and a dairy free, sometimes vegan vegetarian we know how difficult it can be to cater for us.

Booking a reservation and detailing our requirements was very easy. All done online and a deposit taken at the time of booking.

The directions provided were perfect and easy to follow - literally step by step from the subway station.

Upon arrival we felt their warm hospitality instantly. We were given a welcome drink and given two personalised menus.

Throughout the dinner we were given a backstory behind every element - it was amazing to hear how passionate Chef Yuuki is about every ingredient most of which are sourced from his home town.

Also worth noting both Yuuki and his wife's English is amazing so there were no communication problems at all.

We are so glad we visited Ise Sueyoshi on our first trip to Japan and can't wait to come back again!

Pros: Amazing food, Welcoming staff, Very accommodating

Cons: None

bunnymama

Points +15

Vegetarian
31 Jul 2018

Traditional vegetarian Japanese cuisine made with heart

Being a long-time (30+ years) vegetarian/vegan who is married to an almost carnivore, it's been a real challenge to find a traditional Japanese restaurant in Japan that can accommodate our very different dietary needs. Sure, the restaurant doesn't locate on the ground floor and it only has 5 seats. Keep in mind this is probably what the majority of restaurants are like in Tokyo. If you want to experience the real Japan/Tokyo, then you've come to the right place.

One could really feel their hospitality even before entering the restaurant building. We were greeted at the main entrance by the hostess in her stunning kimono. The dinner was filled with many heart-warming surprises and authentic, delicious Japanese Kaiseki-ryōri. The chef paid full attention to his guests, especially those who had special dietary needs. In addition, the chef can speak English. We learned a lot about his philosophy on food and cooking. All in all, we had a wonderful time here. It was indeed a meal made with "heart.”

Updated from previous review on 2018-07-31

Pros: excellent food, friendly staff, willingness to go the extra mile to guests

Cons: can't come up with any

jodlop

Points +21

Vegetarian
07 Jun 2017

Great for special occasians

I looked high and low for a good vegan/vegetarian place for an anniversary dinner and this place was perfect. I can't picture anything similar in Tokyo for vegetarians or vegans.

As there are only 5 seats in the restaurant, you have the chef's attention and you spend the night learning about the dishes and their origins. The courses themselves are varied and thoughtful.

Pros: All dietary restrictions are arranged in advance, Amazing food, Well thought out course structure

Cons: Must reserve and pay in advance, Only 2 seatings per night




This page has been viewed 7354 times.