• Iron Town Pasties

  • (19)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
American
Bakery
British
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant specializing in pasties offering two labeled vegan options. Recommended to call an hour ahead for vegan items. Open Mon-Fri 9:00am-9:00pm, Sat-Sun 10:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Iron Town Pasties
© OpenStreetMap contributors

19 Reviews

First Review by YooperVeg

rjmarciniak

Points +562

Vegan
01 Feb 2024

Vegan Pasties!

Note: did not go to this place ourself, but food was brought to us by someone from the area.

We had these pasties frozen and brought to us, which we reheated at home. They were delicious! The dough was flakey and soft, and the insides were well seasoned and filling. There are two types (spicy and regular) that we had.

If and when we visit the UP we definitely plan on stopping by!

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-01

Advertisement

DaytonPax

Points +165

Vegan
07 Sep 2023

Solid pasties!

Spicy pasties were great. The dough was very similar to traditional pasties as was the filling. Next time I'm around I'm getting even more frozen to take home!

Be warned: you need to either call ahead an hour or wait the hour after ordering for them to warm up.

Pros: Traditional pasty, Spicy and plain options

Cons: Call ahead to heat

Jnelley

Points +30

Vegan
14 Aug 2023

Yummy pasties

We got 4 of the spicy vegan pasties (they were out of regular) and heated them ourselves as well as two of the fruit turnovers (apple was better than blueberry imo). The tofu made it filling and wasn’t in huge chunks. Worth the drive out from Marquette and would get again.

bicycleben

Points +166

Vegan
18 Jun 2023

My favorite stop in the UP

Both vegan pasties are incredible. They also have vegan turnovers!

erinthomp

Points +882

Vegan
30 Oct 2022

So good!!!!

This was the highlight of our trip! The pasties were so so good. We even got extra frozen vegan pasties to take home.

Pros: Cute shop, Super delicious , Inexpensive

Cons: Must call ahead 1 hour for baked vegan pasties

KeriSchubkegel

Points +55

Vegan
10 Oct 2022

Spicy pasty

We got the spicy pasty and we're very impressed! I don't think I've ever had anything like it as a vegan. Call an hour ahead for them to heat it up (it's frozen). Highly recommend making the stop if you're passing through!

CMSDE

Points +126

Vegetarian
19 Sep 2022

Winner of the vegan pasty showdown

The day before I went here, I had tried the vegan pasty at a different place in a different town, and while that one was good, this one was even better! The crust was perfect, and the tofu was really good in the filling. We did call ahead, and they were ready for us when we arrived (on a weekday morning). We also got two of the fruit turnovers to go, and they were also delicious. (Was all of this too much dough for me to eat over the course of two days? Yes. I should have paced myself a little better, but it was hard to help when the food was so good.)

The shop is small but has both indoor and outdoor seating.

Pros: Very clear menu, Indoor and outdoor seating

LynnieLou

Points +152

Vegan
07 Sep 2022

My first pasty!

Oh my yum! I split a spicy vegan pasty and a regular vegan. Both delicious! The spicy had a perfect kick if you enjoy spicy food. Very filling!

DianaRambles

Points +418

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

Tofu Pasty

Before turning vegan, we had regular pasties in the UP. We were thrilled to see that Iron Town offered vegan pasties with tofu. We called ahead so they would be hot when we arrived. We had the regular (not spicy) and it was so good that we got 4 frozen to go. Highly recommend!

Pros: Friendly , Reasonable

Cons: Must call ahead for hot vegan pastry

Skyzieboo

Points +3142

Vegan
07 Oct 2021

Do not visit without requesting ahead

Three vegan options which is amazing: one tofu, one spicy tofu and one gluten free tofu. ALL are frozen and take one hour to be cooked therefore there is no point visiting if you have not called ahead - or go in and come back later to collect it.

MichelleSapsara

Points +46

Vegan
13 Jul 2021

Delicious treats!

We tried both the regular and spicy vegan pasties. Both delicious. The spicy one wasn’t that spicy and was a little greasier. We called in an hour ahead of time, but unfortunately still had to wait another 20 minutes when we got there. Note: they stay hot for a long time!

Kaputabo

Points +41

Vegan
22 Jun 2021

Delight on a long road trip

Big thanks to the other reviewers before me for mentioning that they need 1 hour advance notice to make the vegan pasties. We were passing through on a long road trip and there was no way for us to wait for 1 hour after order. They were out of spicy vegan pasties, but the other vegan pasty was delicious. First time having a pasty and we liked it very much. I was expecting it to be a snack but turned out to be big enough for our supper needs. It had the right combination of crust and fillings. So thankful for the owners for putting out a vegan option even though i can imagine how low the demand for one would be.

mitchell71

Points +96

Vegan
11 Oct 2020

Pasties

Coming to the UP just hasn’t been the same since I became a vegan and had to miss out on enjoying a few pasties. Not anymore! I was very happy to find this place on HappyCow. The spicy vegan pasties are every bit as delicious as the meat-filled versions I used to eat.

KatieC.

Points +205

Vegan
20 Jul 2020

Delicious and Filling

For anyone that doesn't know, a pasty has a flaky pie crust that is completely enclosed, and is usually filled with meat. If you want vegan pasties, you'll need to call about an hour ahead of time, so they can bake them for you, since they keep the vegan ones frozen in their freezer. These were the only vegan pasties I've ever heard of, and they are AH-MAZING! They were filled with tofu and veggies (broccoli, carrots, potatoes).
We tried both the spicy and regular, and both were delicious and worth every penny. My husband and I each ate one pasty, and it was a decent size meal. We were camping in the area, and the worker said they run out of the vegan ones sometimes. They allow you to pre-order, so I made sure we'd be able to get some pasties on our way out of town at the end of the week by ordering ahead of time. This is definitely worth a try; I highly recommend Iron Town Pasties!

Pros: Friendly, Great food in an area with very little options

Cons: building run-down, have to call ahead by 1 hour for vegan food

MarkM.

Points +40

Vegan
20 Jul 2020

Get some Pasties when you’re in town

We called ahead and drive up from Escanaba to pick up some pasties. We choose the spicy vegan and loved them! Nice to take part in a UP tradition while adhering to our vegan lifestyle.

Veggie46

Points +112

Vegan
27 Jun 2020

Pasties!!!!

The pasties are amazing!!! Got the spicy and regular. Both were delicious, but the spicy was pretty mild.

Pros: Vegan pasties

MelindaLaBeau

Points +63

Vegan
17 Jun 2020

Buy in Bulk!

Irontown Pastys has an amazing tofu, nooch & veggie pasty. Be sure to call ahead to ensure they have plenty on hand and even to get them warmed up and ready for you. I've tried to recreate it at home, but it just doesn't come out as good as up there. I wish I would have bought a dozen or two of them frozen to enjoy!

vegmtb

Points +18

Vegan
13 Jul 2019

comforting food.

Excellent pasty and made us so happy to find a vegan option . We had the regular with a tiny bit of the jalapeno ketchup..

YooperVeg

Points +74

Vegan
29 Apr 2019

Vegan pasties!

The vegan way to experience a classic Yooper dish. Iron Town’s pasties are great; filling is tasty and the crust is flaky and delicious. The vegan ones will be frozen if you just show up, but if you call ahead by an hour they’ll put them in the oven so you’ll have a hot pasty ready to go. The owner is super friendly and sweet! I’m local so I’ve always got a couple of these in my freezer.

Pros: Spicy and non-spicy vegan pasties, GF option

Cons: Have to call ahead if you want them hot




This page has been viewed 2096 times.