Lacto
Ovo
Beer/Wine
Mexican
Honey
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant and margarita bar located on the River Walk. Has herb grilled vegetable fajitas which can be made vegan by asking to omit dairy. Also the veggie enchiladas MAY be vegetarian and could possibly be made vegan by omitting dairy, but please inquire. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri 11:00am-11:00pm. Closed Sat, Sun.


Venue map for Iron Cactus
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by thom8418

NadineM

Points +191

Vegan
25 Sep 2023

I left very happy!!

Our waiter Alex was superb. We had Salas and chips, fresh Guacamole (made in front of us), Prickly pear margarita (delicious), vegan tacos (portobello mushrooms) with black beans and cilantro lime rice. I left very happy

Pros: They will substitute , Guacamole you can customize (no onions), Super friendly staff

Advertisement

CynthiaFox

Points +34

Vegan
26 Aug 2023

Worst vegan tacos ever!

The tacos were not good. They were sweet tasting snd horrible. Service was the worst as well. They forgot one of our drinks and we had to wait about 30 minutes to get both. We waited 10-15 minutes just for water. Guacamole was good and made at our table. Between the bad tacos, very slow service and forgotten drink we were very unhappy with what could have been a nice meal on the river walk.

Pros: Good guacamole

Cons: Slow service, unfriendly , Bad service and excuses, Bad food

smithkevinc

Points +171

Vegan
02 Aug 2023

Vegan Tacos

Great location on the riverwalk. It was near our hotel, so we stopped by for dinner. The vegan tacos are pretty tasty. Not a lot of other vegan options. If you're on the riverwalk I'd recommend it.

jacqadel

Points +333

Vegan
22 Apr 2023

Holy Guacamole!

Table-side made guacamole was unbelievably good. Perfectly flavored! I also had a virgin margarita that was outstanding. Vegan tacos were very tasty.

Pros: Mock-tails , Very friendly service , Guacamole was amazing!!

Furociousvegan94

Points +246

Vegan
28 Mar 2023

Must Visit!

Great location right on the Riverwalk. Indoor and outdoor seating. Wonderful service. Highly recommend the Table side Guac! They even add orange to it. DELICIOUS. I also ordered the Vegan Tacos. Excellent, fresh, and guaranteed vegan. Loved the sun dried tomato topping was perfect. Defiantly recommend this place!

Pros: Great service , Vegan options , Best table side guac

Cons: Could have couple more vegan option

MelissaLarson

Points +1230

Vegan
27 Feb 2023

Fabulous veggie fajitas!

Update: We came back and tried the Vegetable Fajitas for 2 and they are amazing! Very generous serving size. 3 of us had more than enough. I asked them to prepare the veggies without oil and they were perfect. Best vegan food on the Riverwalk by far!
The veggie enchiladas have butter in the sauce. We were told it could be made vegan. After ordering the waiter came back and said that there was cheese in the filling and could not be made vegan. We got the vegan tacos. They were delicious and the rice and black beans make it a filling meal. The rice would have been better warm. The black beans were perfect. If I go back I will try the fajitas. Chips and salsa were ok. One warm and one cold salsa. The guacamole would also be an option for an appetizer. One of the few places you can get a vegan meal on the river walk.

Updated from previous review on 2022-02-02

Pros: The best vegan fajitas , Best vegan meal on the river walk, Nice atmosphere and good service

Cons: Not many options but what they have is great

suomi777

Points +194

Vegan
25 Feb 2023

Delicious vegan food on the Riverwalk

I ordered the vegan tacos. There were few vegan options on the menu, but honestly I didn't mind as long as there was something to eat. It wasn't just a standard option that left off the meat and dairy. The vegan tacos were flavorful and clearly planned. I had never had sundried tomatoes in Mexican food before, but I absolutely loved this dish. I highly recommend!

Pros: Good vegan options , Friendly staff, Great location

Sunnysock

Points +54

Vegan
20 Feb 2023

Fun river walk spot

The location is great! The table side guacamole was soooo good!!! We had veggie fajita and a nice salad.

VictoriaMcSwain

Points +571

Vegan
17 Jun 2022

Good tacos

150 different tequilas. On the river. Good black bean tacos.

Jason.Fontana

Points +1587

Vegan
31 May 2022

Vegan Tacos

The Vegan Tacos were really good. The were served with rice & black beans, plus chips and salsa. It was pretty good sized meal for the price.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-07

cindijewels

Points +21

Vegan
14 Mar 2022

Modified a dish to be vegan but it came out with cheese and sour cream

Could be better if the items were actually clearly marked vegan

Pros: A couple of Vegan options

Cons: Long wait, Small portions

KathleenFromnicMorgan

Points +42

Vegan
16 Aug 2021

Good but slow service

We had 20 minute wait to sit and another 20 minutes after we ordered. Grilled veggie fajitas and vegan tacos were very good!

Pros: Good vegan options

Cons: Slow service

VeganBrook

Points +16

Vegan
24 May 2021

Vegan sides

Wait was very long but they offer vegan tacos with black beans, mushrooms, avocados, etc. Their lime rice and black beans are vegan!

MichellePetroze

Points +148

Vegan
04 May 2021

Good food; nice atmosphere

We had a little mishap with them seating our party. They seated us and sat for 30 min and no one came to our table at all. Then we were asked if we could move tables so we picked up all of our drinks (we got from the bar while waiting to be seated) and menus - they didn't offer to carry for us. But I asked to see the manager and she took care of our whole bill. The food was good. So for these 2 positives I gave this place a 4. I know things happen and it was storming and busy so they were trying to scramble and find seating for people sitting outside.

Pros: Some vegan options , A few vegetarian menu items

Cons: Table side guac was just ok for a $13 app

thom8418

Points +1815

Vegan
29 Mar 2021

Vegan on the Riverwalk

I was smelling all the Mexican food on the Riverwalk and I kept looking at menus until I found something that could be made vegan. The salsa was warm and the chips were cold. I don't think I ever had warm salsa before. I prefer cold salsa and warm chips. There is an option for guacamole to be made at the table. I ordered the herb grilled veggie fajitas. I asked for no cheese, sourcream or butter. The plate came out with a little cheese on the refried beans. I don't eat those any way because I didn't ask the lard question. I didn't eat the rice because I didn't ask the chicken stock question. The veggies were not cooked in oil. If they were it wasn't much. They tasted clean and grilled. They were crisp and flavorful. There were portabella mushrooms, squash, zucchini, onions and red peppers. The corn tortillas were grilled as well. It was delicious.




This page has been viewed 4016 times.