• Indigma

  • (11)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Indian
Buffet
Beer/Wine
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. More upscale, modern Indian restaurant with interesting takes on traditional food. Lunch is buffet style, evening meal a la carte. Labels which items are vegan without ghee and gluten. Live sitar music on Fridays. Reservations suggested on weekend nights. Prices from moderate to slightly expensive. Reopened Dec 2018; previously at N Charles St. Open Tue-Sun 5:00pm-9:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Indigma
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by shanbogen

NilayS

Points +178

Vegan
20 May 2023

Good food, nice place

I'm not sure how many vegan options there were since I saw the "vegan vindaloo" and just ordered that due to time constraints, but there may not be that many options. However, the vindaloo was very good, a bit spicy, but tasty. I'd get it again. Nice ambience/decoration in the restaurant as well.

Pros: Tasty, Nice decor, Friendly staff

Cons: Not sure how many vegan options there are

Advertisement

itzLaurenR

Points +234

Vegan
03 Aug 2021

Small Plates + Small Selection

I love the current location and decor. I like that they do Indian with a twist, featuring creative small plates. However, with inconsistencies, when asking if abc is or can be made vegan, the answer is generally no. So there is vegan vindaloo (the only obviously labeled dish) and perhaps one of the small plates. Perhaps it will improve.

Pros: creative

Cons: sm. selection which can only be verbally conveyed

jmathias6

Points +771

Vegan
30 Aug 2019

The best Indian food

Wonderful food, top notch service. Have a few clearly labeled options, but the owner is always around and offering to make something special that’s vegan. They’re a one of a kind place where the owners will remember you if you go back twice, and super supportive of making you a delicious vegan meal.

Pros: Delicious food, Incredibly helpful staff/owners

Cons: Can be pricey, good for a date night

AprilPink

Points +32

Vegan
09 Aug 2019

Yummy and friendly

Warm and accommodating service in a beautiful atmosphere. Coconut korma was so tasty! Loved the mango ice cream too. Very nice and happy to discuss vegan options and substitutions on the menu

Pros: Nice atmosphere , Great service , Delicious food

Cons: Pricey, Wish were more vegan options

robertrhodes

Points +6

Non Veg
20 Apr 2019

MY HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE

Hello everyone, I am sharing my terrible experience at this restaurant (Indigma). Its Unfortunate I would end up eating there. My party was seated at a table. Within 5 minutes of being seated, I notice pieces of paint are chipping off the wall onto our table. Our table happened to be right next to the wall. I am a neat & clean person, and so was my party. Like any person dining outside to a restaurant. You expect the restaurant to be hygienically clean. I don't want pieces of paint landing inside my food. There is no excuse for that. The interior of the restaurant is a red and pink wall and ceiling makes no sense for a Indian restaurant. After the paint incident . I was hoping the food would blow me away. Not only were my drinks watered down, my food was not cooked properly, and my bread was cold. On top of that, the management and staff were extremely unprofessional when I had to inform them every time they served me something. Please avoid this restaurant at all costs. If you want great indian food, spend your money elsewhere like Royal Taj or the restaurant Ananda.

Pros: none, none, none

Cons: lousy atmosphere, horrible food, horrible management

fratboyvegan

Points +194

Vegan
09 Jan 2019

Awesome food!!!

Has not gone out of business! We went to the new location on Cathedral Street and tried several of the small plates. Each dish was unique, delicious and plated beautifully.

We will definitely return and try more items since their menu changes seasonally. Management and servers were very accommodating with allergies and veganism.

Pros: Food is good, Knowledgeable staff, Cozy decor

Cons: Main courses were a little pricey

BaltiVegn

Points +260

Vegan
28 Oct 2016

BEST INDIAN BUFFET EVER

I went to the weekday lunch buffet here. $11.95. Inside is very nice decor, could be fancy, but are many different demographics of diners there. Like some people on work lunch break, some ppl very casual. Staff are friendly. Large dining room. Buffet is HUGE!!! Largest I have seen. So many main dishes, included beverages, desserts, chutneys etc. Everything is very clearly labeled if vegan, vegetarian, or gluten-free. I am vegan and gluten free, and there were so many options available to me I could not even fit them all on one plate. Will definitely return and tell my friends. Thank you!

Pros: Huge variety, Very tasty, Good price

Cons: Waiter slow with water

serrarose

Points +532

Vegan
03 May 2016

Best Indian Vegan Buffet Around!

My friends and I visited four Indian buffets within a one block radius (all of which appeared less then average until we found Indigma). This restaurant smells amazing and is painted in bright colours.

Indigma does a daily lunch buffet and it was pretty incredible. Plenty of vegan and gluten free options. More then half the buffet is veg.

Everything we ate was delic. They even offered salad, chai and desserts(not vegan tho).

Taste wise this place gets 4 stars but they lose a star for the non veg items.

Pros: Buffet with lots of vegan/gf options

Cons: They seat you and the host is incredible slow., Not 100% veg

corvid

Points +86

Vegan
10 Jun 2015

Best Indian buffet for vegans in Baltimore

Okay, so I avoided this place for a long time even knowing that they advertised as vegan-friendly (unusual for an Indian restaurant). The name put me off, and I got the impression it was kind of upscale. But one day my girlfriend and I decided to try the weekend buffet, figuring it would be more laid-back. Well, we were instant converts. This is a large buffet and everything that is vegan or vegetarian is labeled as such. I have been to most of the Indian buffets in the area and you cannot get this variety of vegan food at any other buffet. At most you are limited to one or two entrees. Here you can often find at least 3 times that many. And it's never the same tired old choices, either. They really make an effort to keep the buffet diverse and interesting from week to week.

There is also a separate raw salad and steamed vegetable bar that is always very fresh with seasonal vegetables. I have never seen spring mix on any other Indian buffet. "Salad" usually translates to iceberg lettuce with some tomato chunks and carrot discs. Not so here.

My one quibble is that the desserts are never marked as vegan or not. However, you can find out if you track down the right staff person. If you like sweets, this is worth doing because sometimes they are vegan!

The buffet is on the high end price-wise for the Baltimore area but it is worth it to have so many vegan options and a generally higher quality of food than found on other area buffets. If you want to go for dinner, you will probably pay more ordering from the menu, although the servings are more than sufficient. I recommend going on Tuesday night which is their half-price Thaali special. You get a choice of 8 items, which includes unlimited bread and a dessert (vegan mango ice cream, anyone?). Be sure to explain to the server that you are vegan, though, as not all the choices are vegan (including the bread! Another reviewer mentioned asking for unbuttered naan, but I'd like to point out that in general you should always assume that naan is NOT vegan, unless labeled as such. It is traditionally made with milk and/or yogurt. The naan at Indigma is *not* vegan, but they can bring you roti instead).

Anyway, I'm really glad I gave this place a chance because even though I do think it's a fancier place than I usually frequent, the quality of the buffet definitely makes it worthwhile. And when I was there for dinner on my birthday the owner (or manager?) gave me a gift card toward a future meal! How nice.

Pros: amazing food, very vegan friendly

Cons: formal atmosphere if that bothers you, service on buffet days can be spotty

DanielAmaral

Points +707

Vegan
05 Jan 2015

I expected more.

Well, as a huge fan of indian food Ihad great expectations about this place, but the take out I ordered was kind of messy and with the spicies kind of messed up. Try to eatin the restaurant to have a better experience.

Pros: nice staff

Cons: messed up take-out, weird spices

shanbogen

Points +213

Vegan
12 Aug 2014

Creative and tasty Indian food

First of all, I'll point out that Indigma has a separate vegan/gluten-free (don't ask why they're lumped together in one category, but they are) part of the menu. There is also an 'Earth' section which is vegetarian (has cheese & butter in most dishes though). Many of the appetizers are also vegan and your server will be happy to help you with any questions. I have always gotten great service here, very friendly and welcoming.

I'd recommend the Gobi Manchurian (spicy cauliflower), Avocado Pakoras (deep fried battered avocado) for appetizers. Anything off of the vegan menu is good for an entree. I think they can also bring you non-buttered naan but I'm not positive.

All in all everything here is delicious. Once in a while the fried dishes I order aren't as crisp as I'd like, maybe because they are just heating up the fryer for the first time that day. Pretty good cocktails. Everything is well seasoned. Expect dishes from a range of regions in India, not just the typical stuff you see on Indian menus.

Pros: Separate veg menus, Great service, Unique and delicious food

Cons: Food quality occasionally falls, Could have a bigger vegan selection.




This page has been viewed 4462 times.