Ice Shack

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 22 reviews )
Contact
n/a
Find

1c 160-164 Wellington Rd, Manchester, England

A quirky vegan dessert parlor serving ice cream, milkshakes, cakes, truffles, pastries and hot drinks. Fully vegan since Apr 2017. Open Tue-Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-6:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Take-out, Bakery

22 Reviews

First Review by RJS

Life Changing - Edit

The wind whipped at my face and the rain was soaking into my clothes and I sought solace in this Ice Shack. As soon as I opened the door my life changed, the smell that wrapped around me was like returning home for Christmas holidays to find that you were 8 again and Christmas was beautiful instead of a time to get plastered and avoid comments from your creepy uncle about your life choices. I started with a coffee and it warmed my soul, I felt it down in my toes like a good line of Peruvian Bam Bam, it instantly made everything better. The truffles were a delicate melt in your mouth smooth that made me want to drop to my knees and beg for more. Or just pay the incredibly reasonable price to just keep buying more of them. It was freezing out but I had to buy ice cream and as soon as the first spoonful of salted caramel hit my lips I knew I would denounce my family, my religion, anything, if asked to, if it would get me more of this ice cream.
Incredible food aside,
There was Mario Kart, and board games and gorgeous art work and the Galaxy on the ceiling and I wanted to spend rest of my days staring at that ceiling.
Absolutely stunning in everyway.
This place is the most amazing vegan shop I've ever been to.

Pros: Ridiculously incredibly selection, Everything is gorgeous, food, staff, decor, I would commit a genocide to have more of this cho

Cons: Not a single fuckin thing

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

favourite vegan hang out - Edit

Delicious ice cream and goodies. Fabulous friendly staff. Chilled out welcoming vibe. Perfect.

Pros: everything!

Cons: none that I’ve discovered.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

enjoyable experience - Edit

Lovely place and lovely staff

Pros: lots of vegan options

Cons: not open 24 hours lol

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

best ice cream in town - Edit

everything in this little place is amazing, i wish i could live there

Cons: too far from where i live :(

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Perfect place to satisfy your sweet cravings... - Edit

After reading the reviews, ordered a gluten free waffle with salted caramel ice cream and maple syrup topping £3.50. Took home a salted caramel raw chocolate bar and some truffles £4.20. There were lots of different ice cream flavours to choose from too and cakes and cookies also. Quirky place with games around if you want to play them! Also video games too plus cosy settees as well as tables and chairs. Friendly staff, happy to help. Would definitely recommend and go back!

Pros: Vegan ice cream , Vegan cake, Vegan chocolate

Cons: A bit out of the way, Parking limited, No savoury options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Who needs Ben and Jerry's? - Edit

..we just need one of these in every city. The salted caramel ice-cream is breathtaking! Buy some truffles while you are at it. The only problem with this place is it's in the student village area of Manchester which cuts out the (lazy) tourist pound (there is not that much of a reason to travel to this ares) and incidental (vegan) footfall. Please open one in the city centre so you can show everyone what delicious homemade vegan ice-cream tastes like.

Updated from previous review on 2017-10-11

Pros: Everything!

Cons: The location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great for a dessert and games - Edit

This cafe is great, although we tried to go here several times and it was closed - we now know the opening times :)

Has lots of tasty cakes and desserts and can make any combo of milkshake you like!

Also has a selection of board games to play which is cool, and some retro video games at the back.

It's also dog-friendly :)

Updated from previous review on 2017-09-12

Pros: Pet friendly, Lots of entertainment (board games), Lots of cakes

Cons: Closes a little early IMO, Would be good to go there after a meal

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 16 Sep 2017 - Thanks for the awesome review and also the feedback regarding the opening hours. Will definitely see if we can improve this one day and open a little later for those later night munches xo much love and thanks for supporting our little place xo  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fabulous and wide selection of desserts, hot and cold drinks - Edit

Fabulous and wide selection of delicious vegan ice cream, cakes (on continual rotation), hot and cold drinks (the hot chocolate is particularly lush) and truffles. Plus, lovely staff who provide a fast and cheery service with a smile. Social events including BYOB games nights and a running club on Sundays. Definitely on my list of top vegan eateries in Manchester.

Pros: Wide selection, Late opening hours, Social events

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 16 Sep 2017 - Aww thanks for the detailed review and having us in your list of go to eateries xo much love and thanks for taking the time to write the review xo  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Love it - Edit

Definitely one of my favourite vegan places on earth. The ice cream is the best I've ever tasted, vegan or otherwise and the whole team here is amazing

Pros: World's best ice cream

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 16 Sep 2017 - Too kind Bradley :) you defo do the best pizza in the world!!
Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to visit + support our little place. So glad you had a top visit xo much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wow! - Edit

Vegan heaven......cake, ice cream, chocolate, milkshakes, waffles.......in a great, relaxed environment.....comfy sofas, board games, lovely vibe. Great staff offering great service.

Pros: All vegan, Fantastic choice, Great vibe

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 16 Sep 2017 - So glad you enjoyed our chilled vibe xo
Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to visit + support our little place. So glad you had a top visit xo much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dream come true!! - Edit

Vegan ice cream parlour - what more needs to be said? Definitely try it out - they've got like twenty flavours. Also cakes (wish they'd do cheesecake again), and chocolates. All vegan. They've got vegan whipped cream and other toppings. YUM!

Pros: affordable

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 16 Sep 2017 - Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to visit + support our little place. So glad you had a top visit xo much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice food, good prices - Edit

Tried as much of their menu as we could since we came up specially from London. We both had milkshakes, which were really nice and it was a nice change to be able to choose which milk it's made of. I had a waffle (gf) with vanilla berry ice cream and caramel sauce which I'd definitely recommend - the sauce was a bit thin so was immediately soaked up, but the nice owner put more on for me. My husband had an ice cream - salted caramel and mint which he said was awesome. We were both slightly less sold on the non-ice creamy products, the cake and shortbread, but I would still probably choose them again! The store has a nice relaxed vibe and we played Mario Kart on the N64 emulator while we drank our milkshakes.

Pros: Nice vibe, Great ice cream, Very well priced

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 11 Jul 2017 - Thanks for a lovely review and taking the time to visit our little place. It's great to have feedback too. Glad you enjoyed your visit and hope you had a safe trip back to London xo much love and thanks for supporting our little place :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Super cute dessert parlour - Edit

This place is run by probably the nicest bloke on the planet - and I love it's wholesome hippy vibe! It's hands down the best vegan icecream I have ever had and incredibly good value. I like to come here after eating a meal at Lotus, a winning combination!

Pros: 100% vegan, So many ice cream flavours, Games!

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 04 Jul 2017 - Awww thanks for the lovely compliment - too kind. Meh I'm just a regular guy though but we do have a top top team here who look out for each other and everyone who visits :) thanks for supporting our little place and taking the time to leave a lovely review #handonheart xo much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Withington's best place for desserts - Edit

Two words: vegan ice cream.

Pros: Lovely atmosphere & friendly service

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 04 Jul 2017 - Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to visit our little place BB xo much love and hope to have a top summer :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So good! - Edit

Visited yesterday on a lovely hot sunny afternoon (perfect day for ice cream!) Everyone was so friendly, there's a really happy vibe soon as you step foot in the place. I was a bit overwhelmed by the choices available (not used to being able to eat everything on the menu!) so spent way too long staring at the boards and panic ordered a scoop of chocolate, mocha and salted caramel (served in a cute cup and saucer) with a shot of coffee syrup. All three flavours were beautiful. My husband had salted caramel, blueberry and mango and raspberry. Again, all were beautiful. We will definitely be back, i want to try more ice cream and some of your delicious looking cakes/truffles. Thanks! ??

Pros: 100% vegan, 100% delicious !

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 10 Apr 2017 - Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to write such amazing things about our little place. Abit overwhelmed myself by all the support #handonheart xo have a top Easter xo much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best place in Manchester - Edit

What can I say about Ice Shack? The ice creams are fantastic. There's a huge selection of other items including waffles, cookies, cakes, truffles and (my favourite) apple pie.

The owner is the nicest person in the world. He runs it by himself and is always sweet, attentive and puts on incredible themed evenings.

There are books and games to play (including an old games system with Mario Kart etc.)

He plans to make the shop entirely vegan in the next couple of months which is even better.



Updated from previous review on 2017-03-11

Pros: Owner is lovely, Food is great, Fantastic atmosphere

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 17 Mar 2017 - Awww sealion!!!! That's such a sweet review :) thanks for taking the time to visit and leave an amazingly detailed review of our humble little place. I wouldn't say I'm the nicest person in the world but that's a very lovely compliment - meh just a normal guy :)
So happy your loving what we are doing and striving to be - thanks for the support!
Mega Much love sealion whoever you are :) xoxo  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Vegan Ice Cream - Edit

The Vegan Ice Cream is the best I have tasted. Also I have not seen some of the flavours elsewhere, like Wild Berry or Mango&Raspberry.

Pros: Great value, Friendly staff, Nice atmosphere

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 04 Dec 2016 - Thanks for the lovely review and taking the time to visit :) glad you enjoy our range of vegan wares :)
Much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing - Edit

Fantastic vegan ice cream, pies, truffles. Very friendly staff. Great atmosphere.

Pros: lots of vegan options, vegan ice cream, great staff

Cons: None

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 19 Oct 2016 - Awww thanks for leaving a lovely review and taking the time to visit :) glad you enjoyed your sweetwares :) much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Big choice of vegan ice cream and cakes - Edit

I was so excited to hear this place had opened and it didn't disappoint - lots of vegan ice cream and cakes to choose from, including amazing cookies. I had coffee cake and salted caramel ice cream. Really nice venue as well, with friendly staff, comfy seats, wifi and games to play. It's also eco friendly and pet friendly. Will definitely be going back ASAP!

Pros: Tasty food, Lots of choice

Cons: Nothing!

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 21 Aug 2016 - Aww such a great review Christina :) thanks so much for taking the time to review and visit us :) much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fantastic Vegan Cakes and Ice Cream - Edit

We stopped here to eye up the desserts after a meal at Lotus, and everything looked so good that we had to try something even though we were full!

All of the baked goods are vegan, and look really tempting. We had a ginger cake that was well-baked and well-spiced: it was delicious! We also got a scoop of salted caramel ice cream, which is something I don't often see veganised. Of course, that was lovely too.

It's a really nice space to relax and hang around too, there are games to play and comfy seats. Service was really friendly too. I would recommend this to any visitors to Manchester, it's the kind of place that I hope really thrives.

Pros: Excellent choice of cakes and ice cream, Lovely relaxing space, Friendly service

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 21 Aug 2016 - Aww thanks so much for the great review Jenny and taking the time to visit :) much love
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent new veg*n venue - Edit

This just opened when I was back home for a few weeks, so I had to try it as I was on a bit of a tour of vegan and vegan friendly venues, to see what the choice was like in Manchester compared to where I live now (Berlin). A vegan friend had been there during the opening week, so I was happy when she texted to say she was heading over if I wanted to join her.
First of all, this has to be one of the friendliest places I've ever been to. The owner is asking for lots of feedback and listens to suggestions. We were lucky enough to go on the day the cheeseboard launched and got to sample it for free! I highly recommend it, especially at only £3. I also had the ginger cake (warmed) with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, which I loved.
There's lots of games in the cafe and the owner is happy for you to bring your own and play - which appeals to me as an avid boardgamer, and only adds to the cosiness of the cafe. I'm looking forward to visiting again when I'm back home in a few weeks :)

Pros: One of the friendliest places I've been to, vegan

Cons: Would like more cool drinks (but there is free tap

2 Responses
Read More

AzAhmed 20 Jun 2016 - Hi Melsina,
Thanks so much for the great feedback. Really happy you had a relaxed time and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. A few people have asked for more cold drink options and we hope to have a unique ice frappe on the menu soon. Just perfecting the ice cream and cake options and will get some more unique cold drink options in the next few weeks. Thanks again for the great feedback and coming to visit us :)
Much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

AzAhmed 20 Jun 2016 - Hi Melsina,
Thanks so much for the great feedback. Really happy you had a relaxed time and enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. A few people have asked for more cold drink options and we hope to have a unique ice frappe on the menu soon. Just perfecting the ice cream and cake options and will get some more unique cold drink options in the next few weeks. Thanks again for the great feedback and coming to visit us :)
Much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan ice cream, cakes... and cheeseboard! - Edit

Very excited to read a post about a new place selling vegan icecream opening up close to home and was very keen to go try it out.
The cakes and ice creams are delicious and the sort of thing I would treat myself to now and then. But the atmosphere and the people make it easy to kill time there and I've been back twice already.
Tried the vegan cheese cake,chocolate cake, apple pie with icecream. All good.
Good coffee and hot chocolate too.
Oh and a vegan cheese board!
A must visit place for Manchester veggies and vegans.

Pros: Great range of vegan deserts, Vegan cheese board, Friendly atmosphere

Cons: Doesn't serve hot food (accept cakes), Doesn't open till lunch time., Limited on street parking.

1 Response
Read More

AzAhmed 08 Nov 2016 - Aww Thanks for taking the time to write a great review. Sorry for the late reply. Thanks to your feedback we have updated our website about the parking and as we get more and more people hearing about us (and visiting) i hope we will review our opening times and create a larger more diverse menu :) much love  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Manchester Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Ice Shack closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 2626 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support