Huong Thien Buffet Chay

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
  • ( 7 reviews )

Find

261 Xa Dan, Nam Dong, Dong Da, Hanoi, Vietnam

All-you-can-eat style buffet restaurant. Traditional Vietnamese food. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-2:00pm, 6:00pm-9:00pm.

Categories: Lacto, Buffet, Vietnamese

7 Reviews

First Review by Trambau

Cannibaline

Points +109

Vegan
21 Jul 2020

Bad experience

There was a rat under the buffet and the staff was unbothered by this fact. I showed them a video but they just said that as a vegan place, they don't kill animals (I never asked them to kill the rat fyi)

Pros: Food was tasty

Cons: Cleanliness to review

LynnM

Points +302

Vegetarian
10 Jan 2020

A lot of choice

We went there after 8:30PM so we got a discount at 60.000 instead of 109.000. Most of the food was not hot (maybe because of the time) but everything was quite tasty.

Pelouse

Points +358

Vegan
15 Nov 2019

Great variety and decor

We paid 109,000 dong each on 14th Nov 2019, for dinner. The decoration is superb and very relaxing, but somehow the place felt a bit noisy. The variety of dishes was astonishing, however, as other reviews pointed out, it is hard to know what has dairy and what doesnt. 3 dishes clearly had egg (visible) but I would recommend vegans to stay away from the soups as they tasted quite buttery, the curry tasted as if it had melted cheese in it. If you are able to communicate regarding the desserts with white milk maybe you can find out which ones have coconut milk, I couldnt, but had passionfruit jelly instead, delish.

Dishes were all quite tasty and my fiance loved the vegan pho, although at An Lac it also tastes really good. It is a good choice if you are in the area, but if you come all the way here for a lot of vegan food and dont want any headaches with dairy, try An Lac (which is 20,000 cheaper).

Pros: variety, decor, tasty

Cons: a lot of dairy, noisy

Advertisement

mevetsan

Points +54

Vegetarian
31 May 2019

Love this buffet restaurant

Lots of food options. Food quality is very good compared to other veg buffet (and even à la carte!!!) restaurants in Hanoi

Acceptable price (around USD5/person)

Cons: Quite crowded

Dirk

Points +76

Vegetarian
13 Feb 2019

Heel veel keus, authentiek Vietnamees

Gezellig restaurant. Leuke binnenhuisarchitectuur met bamboe. Heel veel authentieke Vietnamese veganistische gerechten. Veel originele 'vleesvervangers' met een heel goede smaak.

Pros: Heel veel keuze, lekker en origineel

Cons: Kan druk zijn bij buffet

Trambau

Points +1227

Vegetarian
22 Dec 2018

Good

Comeback 1 week ago, they had almost all food kept warm, better experience!
===
Various vegan dishes but wished they kept all food warm. 30.000vnd more expensive than other veg buffet places in Hanoi so you may want to book in advance via voucher-dealing websites or booking apps to get discounts.

artemis1998fowl

Points +317

Vegan
30 Oct 2018

HUGE buffet with dozens of vegan dishes for a good price

The buffet was gigantic, with at least 50 dishes + fresh pho + desserts. It has everything from soups, tofu, fake meats, veggies, salads, fruits, curries, noodles, spring rolls... and more or less everything is vegan. I say more or less because some of the desserts apparently have cream/butter/condensed milk in it, I can't be sure because nobody spoke english and even with a translation it was quite hard to know from what they told me. Definitely ask when there, if you're not sure stay away from the little cakes and everything that has mayo in it (most Vietnamese don't know it's not vegan I'm afraid).
Most dishes taste really good, for 109k it is super cheap for what you get.
Unfortunately it is extremely crowded and noisy.
Also, there is a LOT of waste, which always makes me sad.
I would give 5 stars without hesitation if it weren't for the feeling that not everything is vegan. We saw somebody walking around with a pack of condensed milk, which isn't a good sign (except if they only use it in drinks).
So 4 stars it is for us, but if you go there prepared it can easily be a 5.

Pros: gigantic buffet with many, many delicious meals, not too oily or salty for a change (!), very good food

Cons: extremely crowded, noisy, not all vegan (!), staff didn't speak english

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Hanoi Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Huong Thien Buffet Chay closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 1996 times.