Lacto
International
Delivery
Take-out
British
Catering
Fusion
Breakfast

Cafe serving coffee, breakfast and brunch foods, sweets like cakes and energy balls, plus smoothies and juices. Example of dishes include toast with vegan spread, avocado on toast, porridge, seitan sandwich and vegan burger. Est. 2018. Vegan except for dairy milk for coffee. NOTE: Please verify if cow's milk is still offered. Open Mon-Sun 09:00-15:00.


Venue map for Hunter Gatherer
Β© OpenStreetMap contributors

38 Reviews

First Review by Cookieme

KellyRollings

Points +604

Vegan
28 Nov 2023

Yum! And peanut butter available with sauces

Love this breakfast spot and staff are super friendly.
Sour dough is a must

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-21

Advertisement

amyWB1993

Points +28

Vegan
15 Nov 2023

My favourite vegan food in Portsmouth

Great brunch and lunch options! They have a takeaway window as well to grab a coffee or cinnamon bun (highly recommend!)

IzzySmith

Points +291

Vegan
24 Oct 2023

Amazing

I've been here twice now and both times been amazed. The place is a great vibe and the food is incredible. There's a good range of options and you can guarantee each one will taste amazing!

Rowlie

Points +68

Vegan
25 Aug 2023

Well that was amazing

Great coffee alongside 'the Big One' for breakfast

Pros: Friendly, 100% Plant Based, Great food

Vegan_Tina

Points +418

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

I want to live here!

What a great little find in the heart of Southsea. Fully vegan menu. The staff are so friendly and accommodating, everything has an eco friendly feel. Extensive menu with everything vegan, the mermaid matcha latte is to die for! I opted for some toast with avocado and scrambled tofu and I can't fault it. I wanna come back and try everything on the menu. Also dog friendly and all allergens noted on menu

Pros: Fully vegan, The coffees are incredible! , Well priced

Cons: It's only open until 3pm

Ethical_eater

Points +226

Vegan
08 Jul 2023

Great vegan friendly cafe

Lovely breakfast and lunch cafe, I love the pancakes!
They're dog friendly and the food menu is all vegan (they serve dairy for drinks)

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-07

Pros: Plant based food menu, Dog friendly , Good value

Bearmina

Points +252

Vegan
10 Jun 2023

Filling, tasty brunch options

We enjoyed a tasty breakfast bowl and the big one, along with delicious fresh juices.
Had a Dappa for dessert - yum.
Friendly staff.
β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”β€”
Tried the chickn ciabatta and breakfast burrito. Both tasty - the ciabatta would benefit from a little more seasoning: perhaps some pesto or thyme.

Great to find healthy vegan options.

In a hurry so didn’t see if they still sell Dappa ice cream - it wasn’t on their menu.

Will visit again to try some other dishes.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-19

Pros: Loads of hearty vegan options, Friendly staff, Dappa ice cream

Feedmemomma

Points +107

Vegan
26 May 2023

Delicious

Great value and large portions of yummy food made with love. The flavours are unreal and the breakfast bowl is just so frikkin good. Been back for it at least 10 times
Coffee is incredible and the cakes are banging
Warm and friendly owner. It’s a must visit

Pros: Hearty food, Great value for money, Innovative food

BinksBunny

Points +183

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

really nice

lovely food, friendly staff and nice atmosphere. a go-to vegan food place in portsmouth

jontaylor9

Points +72

Vegan
18 Mar 2023

Breakfast bagel

Came here for a vegan runners meetup, very good breakfast bagel, staff work at 100mph fair play πŸ‘

LJConrad

Points +117

Vegan
07 Feb 2023

Nice mostly vegan lunch spot.

This is a coffee house/restaurant hybrid. At the front you have the coffee and cake counter and four small tables and then at the back is the kitchen where they make hot meals (breakfasts and lunches) and more seating. All the food is vegan, with just dairy as an option for the drinks. There is table service and you have to wait to be seated. Unfortunately there is nowhere to really stand here without blocking the door. Also most of the tables are 2 seaters so if you come in a larger group you may have to wait a while because they will have to push tables together to seat you.

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: Bit cramped

Suzib

Points +132

Vegan
19 Jan 2023

The best breakfast!

The staff are lovely, the food and coffee are amazing!
Loads of choice and really generous portions- my favourite is the breakfast bowl- so tasty!
Definitely one to visit if you find yourself in Albert Road, Southsea πŸ˜‹

Pros: Vegan only cafe, Amazing food and coffee, Super friendly staff

Cons: Nothing!

WonkyBozzer

Points +152

Vegan
22 Nov 2022

Delicious

Fabulous Vegan Breakfast(s) Brunches Cakes and Drinks the best Cafe in the World

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-15

Pros: Just delicious, Back again and again

TheGingerDays

Points +247

Vegan
22 Jul 2022

Delicious

We popped in here for breakfast/brunch and I struggled to decide what to have as there were so many great sounding options.

I opted for the "pulled pork" ciabatta and breakfast potatoes. Wow! The flavours were amazing, great sized portions and well priced.

Can highly recommend.

Pros: So many options, Great taste, Good prices

BeckyDavid

Points +29

Vegetarian
01 May 2022

Best Vegan spot in Portsmouth

Great spot for breakfast, brunch, lunch or an afternoon coffee & cake! They regularly change the menu and have different daily specials which are always yummy. Also engaged with the locals and have a community notice board - worth a look!

Pros: Independent , Excellent coffee

K8Jones

Points +16

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

100% delicious vegan

Excellent menu and atmosphere. A gem ❀️

toony

Points +32

Vegan
15 Sep 2021

Lovely Food

I had a black bean wrap here. The portion was massive (although I managed to eat it all) and delicious. Staff were friendly. Definitely worth a visit. They had lots of cakes and desserts but I was too full to try one.

SaraSeylani

Points +289

Vegan
20 Aug 2021

Tasty

Really good but portion sizes could be a little bigger

SibylleCerise

Points +81

Vegan
09 Jun 2021

Now fully vegan

Lovely independent cafe that is now fully vegan - lots of yummy options, great juices and friendly staff

Rachael1979

Points +15

Vegetarian
27 Feb 2021

You HAVE to try this place!

Amazing food, extensive menu and always a warm welcome. The burgers are out of this world! Love the 'sausage' rolls - you have to try the beetroot jam that comes with it.

Pros: Lots of vegetarian and vegan options.

ciarasumner

Points +18

Vegan
22 Dec 2020

Great food and so much choice!

This is one of my favourite vegan restaurants in Portsmouth, never disappoints!

Koe

Points +60

Vegan
30 Oct 2020

Great food

Spoilt for choice with an extensive vegan menu. Food served in good time and was delicious. Really enjoyed my smoothie. Definitely go back.

AllisonHill

Points +138

Vegan
21 Oct 2020

Excellent lunch

We have had lunch here a few times. The choice is very good, plenty of vegan options from breakfasts through burgers and sandwiches to Dahl. The Big One is an excellent full breakfast, one of the best vegan breakfasts around. They are also very good with their COVID rules which makes you feel safe.

GarrrliCat

Points +1650

Vegan
14 Oct 2020

Rocky road rules.

Came to have a brunch before catching ferry.
On first sight I was sure I’m getting pastrami sandwich and my companion BLT. Both were nice, served with side salad. I’d say they were bit too dry, could do with more sauce or the pastrami perhaps with sauerkraut or so.
Great coffe, good tea.
We took cakes to have later with us. Pumpkin loaf was good, baked one by one so it’s miniature loaf instead of slice I found it super cute:) and the Ricky road! Delicious. One of the best I’ve ever had, nice full chocolate flavour cut through by the sour-ish dried raspberries, not over sweeted.

For all we payed Β£25 which is not bad. I’d be back if I’m in Portsmouth.

Hope to see them next time going fully vegan.

Updated from previous review on 2020-10-14

Pros: Rocky road, Location

DomSchmi

Points +95

Vegan
07 Sep 2020

Great find

We went here for breakfast and it was delicious. Highly recommend!

RachaelMcCabe

Points +36

Vegetarian
31 Aug 2020

Fantastic food!

Visited for the first time today. Great food and good service. We had the New Yorker and a chilli burger.

VeganFeet

Points +61

Vegan
23 Aug 2020

Great junk food

Perfect coffee and great junk food, using Moving Mountains for the burgers.

Pros: Best coffee. , Dirty.




This page has been viewed 5981 times.