Vegan
British

Vegan cafe and educational space est. 2018. Aims to source locally and ethically. Relocated from 112 Cemetery Rd. Open Wed-Fri 10:00-15:00, Sat 10:00-16:00, Sun 10:00-15:00. Closed Mon-Tue.


Venue map for Hullabaloo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

33 Reviews

First Review by EvaAndrews

BeckyMarley

Points +46

Vegan
16 Dec 2023

Food made with care

Fantastic food, made fresh with local ingredients. The meals are always interesting and tasty, and fantastic sourdough bread to take home.

Advertisement

conahrivers

Points +31

Vegetarian
26 Nov 2023

Beautiful Space

Been here a few times over the past year and it's a brilliant vegan space. Very cosy and gorgeously decorated inside.

There's always a nice variety of drinks both hot and cold and bites to eat too. I've even bought soap from there a few times.

I'm yet to stop and sit inside for my meal/drink as I'm usually on-the-go but every time I've been in there's plenty of other customers which is nice to see. Really lovely people running the cafe too. Couldn't recommend enough:)

Updated from previous review on 2023-11-25

Pros: Lovely selection of food and drink , Cosy space , Fantastic hospitality

Isabelle03

Points +52

Vegan
29 Oct 2023

Tasty food, child friendly atmosphere

I love this place! The moment you step in you’re met with a colourful and cosy café. As I got there rather late for lunch (around 13:45), they had run out of several meal options. A bit sad, but the corn fritters with scrambled tofu and Smokey beans was really good. I also had a lemon bun, delicious! There’s a separate room where people with small children can eat and let the kids play with the toys there. A great feature!

Pros: Nice and affordable options, Friendly staff, Child friendly

Cons: Can run out of some food

rcstrother

Points +114

Vegan
09 Sep 2023

Cute cafe

Lovely, colourful cafe with wide range of delicious vegan offerings. Very friendly service.

Katepellj

Points +66

Vegan
03 Aug 2023

Loved it

Really delicious and lovely atmosphere. I had what was basically a fancy beans on toast, sooo full of flavour and their homemade sourdough was divine. There was a homemade vegan feta cheese on top which was a bit different and really tasty (wish I had the recipe!). Both of my non-vegan friends really enjoyed their dishes too. I had a millionaires shortbread for dessert which was delicious and somehow also seemed healthy! Not sure how they managed that! The cafe is definitely kid-friendly and even has a gate across a separate room so children can roam about which I thought was a really nice touch. Love the general ethos of the place and it feels very comfortable.

Pros: Great options for both sweet and savoury , Child-friendly , Friendly atmosphere

Hlmj1989

Points +123

Vegan
24 Jul 2023

Amazing place

Wonderful lunch location and extremely welcoming. I had the beetroot falafel. For those who only ever have soy milk in their tea, try the oat and pea blend they have! It’s really good!

Pros: Food , People, Decor

DavidRogersYogi

Points +20

Vegan
17 Jun 2023

No hullabaloo but sheer perfection

Amazing, delicious and totally tasty food here - I’m a seasoned vegan and have eaten out all over England at various places but the food here was absolutely delicious - full of flavour and tasty - I love it and it is a very chilled place - so when next in the area I will be back here - top notch and totally recommended

Pros: The tasty food, The healthy food , The wonderful food

Cons: None

MaldonRob

Points +258

Vegan
26 Apr 2023

Cute, chic and welcoming.

A delightful cafe with a nice range of lunch dishes and very tasty cakes. Had the Hula Beans on Sourdough and was delighted. Service was very pleasant and welcoming. Recommended.

Pros: Interesting menu, Great food, Nice service.

Benjammas

Points +435

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Hellofabaloo

The food was excellent, friendly atmosphere, cakes exceptional.

Pros: Friendly atmosphere , Excellent food, Delicious cakes

los_tofu_hermanos

Points +97

Vegan
08 Mar 2023

Delicious

A selection of brunch and lunch items available, the scrambled tofu and corn fritters was very tasty. The desserts are a must try!

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-08

Pros: Fantastic macarons!!, Very tasty brunch menu

Cons: Slightly small and busy

CollyW

Points +16

Vegan
10 Sep 2022

Lovely cosy place, friendly staff and the food is fantastic and reasonably priced

Jen the chef does magic with her locally sourced fresh ingredients and makes some fantastic dishes with her creative combinations. My fav is the mushrooms on homemade sourdough toast and the coffee and pistachio cake. The place is cosy and funky and the staff are friendly and helpful.

Pros: Excellent food, Good friendly vibes, Good coffee

OliverAmorowson

Points +20

Vegan
09 Sep 2022

THE best vegan food I've had! Healthy, ethical, delicious

This place is amazing. Great vibrant atmosphere and environment. Jen the chef is a unique genius crafting deliciously rustic food in-house.

There's nowhere quite like it!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-09

Pros: Healthy, delicious, ethical, reasonable prices, Locally sourced, Delicious and unique dishes

Cons: Need more Cafes in other towns!, Not enough people know about it

RobyneB

Points +75

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Regular visitor

I LOVE Hullabaloo!! Their lunch options are great; made with locally sourced seasonal ingredients. I make special trips into town to buy their homemade breads and pastries. They have a good cake selection and their staff are all super friendly.

Pros: Locally sourced fresh produce , Fantastic micro bakery, Takeaway available on some items

Cons: Their shop is a little small

martinaciabatti

Points +58

Vegan
14 May 2022

Great vegan place

Lovely place with tasty food, lots of options and very friendly staff. Lovely brunch as well!!

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-14

Pros: Everything is vegan

EddyMaya

Points +581

Vegan
23 Dec 2021

Old school vegan café

My lovely wife and I visited Hullabaloo for a pre-match lunch before heading off to the football at nearby Portman Road. It's a bit of an old school vegan place with a slightly rundown feel and distinctly hippy vipe.

The menu is fairly limited but offers a few tempting options. I had a falafel salad while my wife had a Christmassy toastie filled with their homemade nutroast. Both were pretty good but nothing special. A pretty average experience.

Pros: 100% vegan

Cons: Fairly limited menu, Decor needs revamping

keziarosec

Points +58

Vegan
20 May 2021

Lovely atmosphere and staff!

We went in for takeaway drinks and had all our questions answered! Definitely somewhere to return now that we can sit inside.

Pros: Lovely drinks and treats , Locally and ethically sourced products, Focus on sustainability

TheOriginalAlan

Points +20

Vegan
18 Dec 2020

Tasty healthy local food

Staff were pleasant and helpful, menu has a good range of interesting options with mostly locally produced ingredients. The food is delicious, and their chai was the best I've had in a long time.

Pros: Entirely vegan menu

samhunt

Points +30

Vegan
02 Mar 2020

Lovely cafe

Lovely little cafe with nice decor and colours. Great selection of food all cruelty free!!

Tinkerbellsalo

Points +50

Vegan
17 Jan 2020

Cute cafe

Had a lovely breakfast, the sourdough toastie was a winner! Staff was absolutely lovely. Will visit again!

Pros: Tasty food , Lovely staff, Dog friendly

GemmaDempsey-Gray

Points +102

Vegan
31 Dec 2019

Lovely Burger!

We went in for some lunch with our children. There was not a great deal on the menu to chose from, I had the cauliflower burger, my husband had the mushroom on toast, my son the tomato soup and daughter the waffle.

I loved the burger with chickpeas and scrambled tofu. My hubby was less impressed with his mushrooms on toast. My son loved his soup and ate it all up and my daughter ate up the waffle but said she was not completely sold on it.

Coffee came out in cute mugs etc. Would definitely go again.

PerryM

Points +17

Vegetarian
13 Nov 2019

Delicious food, friendly atmosphere

Lunch here was excellent. Good menu choice, lovely potato and leek soup on a cold day, delicious sourdough bread. We shall be back.

Pros: Excellent food, Good menu choice, Friendly staff

Cons: None

Elliek

Points +164

Vegan
10 Nov 2019

Nice little place, great ambience

The choices for lunch were limited though there were several desserts, but there were two brunch options. One of the brunches (with tofu scramble) was rather bland, unfortunately. The other, with oyster mushrooms and spinach and tarragon cream was apparently very nice.
The chocolate cherry dessert was good as was the raspberry Bakewell tart. The coffee pistachio cake was a little lacking in flavour.
We would go back again.

Pros: Cozy, relaxed atmosphere, Friendly staff, Lots of dessert choices

Cons: Not much choice for lunch

Aredhel

Points +156

Vegan
20 Oct 2019

Lovely vegan cafe

Really nice cafe with a cosy atmosphere and tasty food. Cinnamon buns are particularly good.

Pros: Cosy atmosphere, Selection of cakes

emilyy_wells

Points +208

Vegan
15 Oct 2019

cutesy vegan cafe!

adorable vegan cafe with wonderful baked good items! i had a vegan waffle, which was somewhat disappointing, but the coconut cream it was served with was delish!! i would definitely recommend the more savoury items and baked goods, as we enjoyed those the most. additionally, the environment and staff were both absolutely lovely!!

GenevieveS

Points +38

Vegan
07 Oct 2019

Nice place

I visited with a friend. We both had waffles and homemade lemonade. We visited late in the day so there was a reduced menu available but what we had was very nice and the service was friendly. I will definitely visit again for brunch/lunch when there’s a bit more choice.

StevePinder-Banthorp

Points +96

Vegan
12 Sep 2019

Excellent food well worth the wait - Service Haphazard

We had the mushroom potato cakes with scrambled tofu and avocado and a refreshing glass of homemade lemonade. Everything was delicious and good value, and the staff were friendly and welcoming. The only downside was the extremely long wait to get served once the orders had been placed. Some in our group had to ask again for forgotten drinks. It was reasonably busy so that might have caused the slow service. I would definitely go again but perhaps at a quieter time. Edit: Best you pay by cash as their card payment system doesn't issue printed receipts (OK save the trees etc) except the day after we discover they have charged us an extra £5 for no reason!!! We didn't authorise it. Update: I did receive an apology and the £5 back but would use cash only in future.



Updated from previous review on 2019-08-26

Pros: Tasty food, Good Value, Friendly Service

Cons: Slow service, Dodgy Card Payment System - Handwritten receipts

MillieBarker

Points +405

Vegan
27 Jul 2019

Amazing little cafe

I absolutely loved my visit here! The staff are all so friendly and the menu is great and really easy to understand. I will come back again as soon as possible to try some dishes! The food and drinks are really reasonably priced too.




This page has been viewed 6292 times.