• REMOVED: Hula Grill

  • (7)
    11

    Closed

  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
Honey
Hawaiian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Hawaiian restaurant and bar in a beachfront location in Whaler's Village. Menu has several choices for vegans such as: taro patty burger with smashed avocado, miso tofu with quinoa & soy ginger vinaigrette, salad, and flatbread pizza without the cheese. Note the fries are cooked in shared fryer, and desserts may contain honey. Removed April 2023: Limited vegan options. Due to the fire in Aug 2023 many Lahaina businesses are closed or have moved. Please help HappyCow by sending in an update as needed.


Venue map for Hula Grill
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by ·X·

Ms.Jenna

Points +525

Vegan
22 Apr 2021

Vegan options very limited

Had the waffles with maple syrup and the waffles were over cooked and hard. Maple syrup was actually regular syrup which was horrible. Had the avocado toast without the egg and bacon. It didn’t taste good. Poor quality and I have eaten better. This isn’t a vegan spot so I understand the food would not cater too me but how can you mess up a waffle. The best thing was the pineapple juice

Updated from previous review on 2021-04-22

Advertisement

BrightonMD

Points +1227

Vegan
28 Mar 2021

Great Location, Few Vegan Options

Hula Grill, located on the Kaanapali beach has a nice atmosphere with live music. Beware that reservations are not required, but I strongly recommend that you reserve 1 - 2 days in advance. Otherwise, you may be waiting for 1 - 2 hours IF they are accepting walk-ins. The service is very good, wait staff very friendly. The vegan options are few. I had a vegan vegetarian/taro burger and substituted a small salad for fries (why does that cost $3 extra?). The burger was tasty but also a bit mushy. The Kaboocha hummus was good/average, served with colorful carrots and pita bread. This is not a value play - the food is expensive.

Pros: Great location, Great service, Live music

Cons: Expensive - not a good value, Need more vegan options

Katrina8751

Points +20

Vegan
18 Feb 2021

Really gross

Seriously, keep walking. I had the taro burger and said I was vegan and asked for it to be cooked on a separate pan. Maybe it was, but it had an off flavor. And the bun tasted awfully buttery. I asked for a side salad and it came with cheese all over it. I got the order to go (covid and all) so was super disappointed when I got back to my hotel.

Pros: None

Cons: Don’t know vegan

MonacoMel

Points +195

Vegan
06 Feb 2020

Beachfront in Maui

The Hula Grill is the quintessential Hawaiian beachfront restaurant with tiki torches, tables in the sand, live Hawaiian music and views of neighboring Lanai island. They have a vegan Miso Tofu with veggies and quinoa on the menu which was excellent and very filling. They have a vegan burger but unfortunately the fries are cooked in a shared fryer. The “vegan” dessert is not vegan because it contains honey. Overall a nice choice while vacationing in Maui.

Pros: Beachfront location , Two good vegan options on the menu

Cons: Expensive

Gretchencooper

Points +49

Vegan
11 Dec 2015

accommodating staff

The staff is so kind and accommodating if your vegan. Just tell them. They have an awesome vegan burger, but skip the aioli sauce (not vegan)

Pros: great burger and salad dressings for vegans

Cons: need more veg options

Meggie and Ben

Points +1786

Vegan
31 Aug 2014

Nice place!

Very nice place. The staff was extremely helpful and knowledgeable about what was and wasn't vegan, even though it wasn't marked. Lots of vegetable options including a skewer and salads, they also have a tofu dish.

They have an allergen menu if you ask.

Pros: Good food, Helpful staff

Cons: Options not marked

·X·

Points +17183

Vegan
07 Nov 2012

Hula Grill

Get the Localicious Salad, it's quite good. The tofu tower also looked good too. I also liked the ambiance and how close this restaurant is located to the nearby resorts.




This page has been viewed 3397 times.