• HS-1 Cafe Bar

  • (8)
    6
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
American
Beer/Wine
British
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Vegan items are marked on menu. Includes the Beyond burger, chickpea curry and a wrap as main courses. Check if the chips are fried separately or not. No reservations. Open Mon-Sat 12:00-21:00, Sun 12:00-14:00, 18:00-21:00.


Venue map for HS-1 Cafe Bar
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by VeganJo

em_rits

Points +84

Vegan
15 Oct 2022

Delicious buddha bowl 🌿

Clearly marked vegan options and lovely warm atmosphere. The buddha bowl was so tasty and substantial. Didn't have it, but saw that there was a vegan chocolate tart as a dessert option too!

Pros: Great Buddha bowl option, Central location and great opening times , Cosy atmosphere

Cons: Just soup starter option , On the expensive side

Advertisement

vanessavohl

Points +66

Vegan
20 Sep 2022

Delicious Burger

Burger, which clearly has been homemade and freshly cooked. Tasted very nice and the fries wäre very fresh as well and stayed warm until the last bite!

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-20

1exied

Points +75

Vegan
30 Jul 2022

great food :)

my brother and i had the blossom burger and buddha bowl; both were delicious and i would recommend. however, the chips and onion rings are both fried with fish so be careful with that.

Pros: generous portions , kind and friendly staff, well presented food

Cons: expensive (but most of stornoway is), long wait times, not many vegan options

some_tea

Points +95

Vegan
13 Jul 2022

Cool to have vegan options in a relatively small town

We tried the Blossom Burger and the Buddha Bowl, both were very tasty. Staff was very friendly and helpful in pointing out the vegan items on the menu.

Pros: tasty food, vegan options, friendly staff

Cons: most items are not vegan

lambertinigirl

Points +34

Vegan
11 Aug 2021

Nice food

We visited HG-1 bar twice during our stay in Lewis, so I got to try the Blossom burger and the Buddha bowl, both were nice and very generous portions! Only vegan dessert option available was vanilla ice-cream. Nice bar and atmosphere.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-11

Sarahmce

Points +57

Vegan
15 Oct 2020

Great vegan curry

Delicious vegan curry, great atmosphere. Also had a vegan burger but I did not try this.

Pros: Delicious curry

Cons: Expensive

Dede

Points +458

Vegan
15 Aug 2020

Evening meal (HS1 Royal Hotel)

Late evening meal from a couple of vegan choices on menu. The beyond burger was very good and served with huge salad.

Pros: Good quality burger and filling on roll, Huge salad

Cons: Reasonable cost, No vegan dessert options, Restrictions due to COVID

VeganJo

Points +156

Vegan
25 Aug 2019

Vegan labelling and open on Sunday

Not my first choice for eating out in Stornoway (that would be the Crown) but it is OK. The Beyond burger is great though on a return visit they brought it with a huge salad instead of the expected chips it says on the menu (and that I'd had before). Turns out the chips are fried with other things and presumably as the vegan menu was new on my first visit they hadn't realised it could be an issue for some vegans. It isn't for my partner so they brought him the chips but they really should ask before replacing chips with salad (he really isn't a salad sort of guy) and make this clear on the menu.
The chickpea curry is also good as is the veg Thai curry which usually can be veganised (may depend on the chef that day I was told) if you make it absolutely clear what you want but they said no shrimp paste or fish sauce at the point I visited anyway. And it was excellent.
Staff not helpful about vegan alcohol (they are in the Crown) plus patchy wifi made it difficult for me to check but they do have Thistly cross cider in bottles which is nice and is vegan.

Pros: One of the few places in Stornoway open Sundays, (GET THERE EARLY), Vegan labelling

Cons: No prebooking of tables, Chips fried in with animal products, Not cheap but nowhere is in Stornoway




This page has been viewed 1083 times.