• House of India

  • (10)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Fast food
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Indian grocery store also selling vegetarian food with restaurant. Reported April 2017 to have added a small number of chicken dishes to the menu although still mostly vegetarian. Open Mon 3:00pm-8:00pm, Tue-Sat 11:00am-8:00pm, Sun 11:00am-5:00pm.


Venue map for House of India
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by kalibrena

Tigra220

Points +10447

Vegan
18 Feb 2022

Ok

I went in looking for the Masala Lays and discovered that they also have a restaurant inside. I scored my Masala Magic. These chips are magical, and like a unicorn, they’re hard to find stateside. Please send me more! I got the vegan Aloo Saag, basmati rice, and puri. Puri was good. The saag was just ok. It lacked soul and seasoning, which is sad because those are the two main ingredients ethnic dishes are made of and known for. I’d go back to try different items if I happened to be in the area again.

Advertisement

HannahNoel96

Points +16

Vegan
26 Feb 2020

Fantastic Experience!

I love the food and service at House of India! If I could give 5 stars I would! The staff is super super sweet and kind. They gave me a take out menu and marked the few things for me that are not vegan but they said that most things can still be made vegan by leaving out yogurt or ghee. I got the Thali and samosas. It's very filling and now I have leftovers. I also browsed the grocery store while waiting for my takeout and found canned jackfruit and lychees.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-26

Pros: Great food, Wonderful service, Interesting finds at the grocery store

BeeWhisperer

Points +67

Vegetarian
08 Feb 2020

Happy vegan deliciousness!

I'm about a year into my vegan journey. Occasionally, my take out options start feeling a bit limited. Discovering this amazing little store was just the breath of fresh air that I needed. Deliciously spicy, home-cooked Indian food prepared with kindness right in the back of the store. The owners are delightful people and they sell everything you need if you decide to prepare this cuisine yourself at home. The first time I had their Thali. I would describe it as a very well put together sampler with enough food for a few meals and so yummy. Tonight I had the Chole Samosa. Wow. The Samosas are fantastic! I also bought some vegan candy made of ground cashews. I absolutely love this little place!

kengmick

Points +23

Vegan
27 Jun 2018

True Homestyle Indian Vegetarian

Visited June 23, 2018 and restaurant menu was mostly vegetarian, and good for vegans. Yes, they have only two chicken dishes on the menu, but the Indian customers were all eating vegetarian.

This is a gem of a restaurant, inside of an Indian food store of same name. Shared the Special Thali that includes an appetizer and dessert, $8.99. Add a dosa or other treats if you're hungry. Typical of homestyle Indian, the food was on the spicy side, good for me, but a little too hot for my girlfriend. Great place and inexpensive, if you're in the area.

Pros: Tasty and inexpensive, Clean and food made with love, Easy parking, convenient location, and grocery

Cons: Small seating area, limited menu, but have important dishes, self bus table

sweetheart930

Points +54

Vegan
25 Apr 2017

Good food

Update: Unfortunately the past 2 times I've visited IN & gone to this restaurant I noticed they have added chicken biriyani & another chicken dish to the menu.

Original review:
I went to visit my family in NW IN in October 2012 & was so excited to find out there is finally a fully veg restaurant there! The restaurant is actually about 40 minutes from my family's house, but I still went there twice in the 8 days I was visiting. The "restaurant" is just a tiny area inside a tiny Indian grocery store. The menu was small, but the food was great. I am vegan & didn't have any trouble finding things on the menu to eat. In a more veg-friendly area I'd probably give this a 4 mainly because the eating space itself is tiny & visually unappealing, but considering the area it's definitely a 5.

Updated from previous review on 2013-01-26

Pros: Great food, Cheap

Cons: Tiny space inside grocery store, No longer fully veg :-(

RosieTheVegan

Points +720

Vegan
26 Feb 2017

Delicious vegan menu options!

Very friendly service!

Pros: Many vegan menu options.

Cons:

Miss_Elusive

Points +72

Vegan
03 Oct 2016

Vegan friendly

samosas are amazing!! the food is spicy and delicious, just make sure you ask for no dairy and no ghee and they will be happy to oblige. the grocery has vegan prepackaged foods and all kinds of interesting dry snacks the owner will give you samples to try.

Cons: food/snacks can be spicy/hot, but try it out!

Mandy Indiana

Points +52

Vegetarian
14 May 2016

Amazing!

Tucked in the corner of a grocery store is some delicious Indian food. Awesomely friendly and helpful staff. We sampled samosas, pakoda, and masala dosa, and could not decide which was the best. Looking forward to this gem becoming part of the family's permanent rotation.

Pros: Friendly, Numerous choices

Veggie46

Points +112

Vegan
20 Apr 2013

yummy vegan India food!

Super friendly staff and many delicious vegan options!

kalibrena

Points +33

Vegan
19 Feb 2009

Best Indian food in NWI

Besides being the only all veg Indian restaurant in NWI they are also the best. The owners are happy to let you know which items are vegan and everything is pretty inexpensive!




This page has been viewed 5537 times.