• House of Hong

  • (13)
    2
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Chinese
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Ask for the vegetarian menu. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-11:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:30pm.


Venue map for House of Hong
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by MrsMaggie

victoria1024

Points +296

Vegan
28 Aug 2023

veg options

they have a specific vegetarian menu, but nothing is specified to be vegan. i ordered online and wrote “vegan” in the special instructions, but my avocado roll was put in the same sushi container and someone else’s (who ordered with me) fish sushi. i had to go back to get mine remade. they were good about remaking it though. i also got the beef and vegetables and the sauce and veggies were really good. the beef was good too, but i don’t know how to explain the consistency. soft but chewy?

Pros: fresh

Cons: put avo sushi in with fish sushi

Advertisement

TheloniousG

Points +324

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

Vegetables cooked to perfection

I had a stirfry with mock chicken and vegetables. I found the mock chicken to be unpleasantly tough, but the vegetables were delicious and cooked to perfection, the sauce was tasty and the rice was fresh and cooked perfectly.

laura8it

Points +516

Vegan
26 Aug 2022

Just okay

Make sure you ask for the vegetarian menu. I was in town and while highly recommended, Graft was too crowded for my Covid comfort. I went here instead and dine in was much more relaxed. The mock chicken was really good, but the sesame gravy and broccoli were pretty bland. The rice was also a little strange, it tasted more like jasmine rice so that threw me off a bit. But service was great and it hit the spot after an incredible hike at Watkins Glen, so overall a good option!

happycowgirl

Points +5631

Vegan
04 Jul 2022

Great Vegan Options

It's awesome they have a separate vegetarian menu and have so many mock meat options. They also have sushi!

The restaurant itself is nothing fancy. Wasn't impressed. Next time i'd order to go and eat by the lake.

Hharle

Points +24

Vegan
16 Jun 2022

Surprisingly good

Was pleasantly surprised by the mock meat options- made from Chinese mushrooms and seaweed- not the typical types. The beef had the same feel and the general tsos “chicken” was also a very crazy real feel.

StephanieKittell

Points +39

Vegan
04 Sep 2016

Simple, accommodating, tasty

Nothing fancy here. Good, simple, salty Chinese food. :) Staff knew what vegan means, and was accommodating & friendly. Had a separate vegetarian menu (just ask for it) and they were able to point out the many vegan options. Chilled Sake was tasty too! A nice place to stop in during our week-long stay at Farm Sanctuary (just 20 min drive away).

Pros: large portions, good price, separate vegetarian menu (many vegan options)

Cons: no vegan desserts, fortune cookies are not vegan

imaveganmama

Points +100

Vegan
20 Oct 2015

Good food, worth a stop

Was just there one evening last week after leaving Farm Sanctuary. Was a short drive into town (btw Watkins Glen is absolutely darling in the fall). They have a separate vegetarian menu. Upon entering, it's true, the waiter girl had trouble understanding our English, and certainly didn't understand 'vegan'. However, it seemed the owner lady was nearby and came right over to help us out. Make sure you speak to her (or one of the owners) as they DO speak English and understand what is vegan. I'm not sure if everything on the vegetarian menu is vegan by default, or only veg (bcuz of fish sauces), but we did specify this to her no problem.
To the person in the review below: pad thai of ANY sort is NEVER vegan. It is always made with fish sauce and the sauce is almost always pre-made. Do not believe anyone who says otherwise, unless you are at a vegan only restaurant, or if the staff is very knowledgeable about veganism and tells you that they make pad thai sauce TO ORDER and will omit the fish sauce. This is rare though.
The food was just fine.. could have used a little sirracha IMO :P but it was priced just fine and hit the spot :]
They have tofu, vegan chicken (made from mushrooms) and I think vegan beef as well. We also got the miso soup which was a huge cup for $2 and super yummy. Large portions also. The owner lady really did do her best it seemed. The restaurant (and ladies bathroom) looked clean.
It was around 4 o'clock on a Friday and was the only affordable restaurant with vegan options open for dinner in Watkins Glen. Needless to say, we were pretty thankful to have eaten there.

Pros: open late, veg menu, decent chinese food

jlo5616

Points +226

Vegan
04 Oct 2015

A word of caution...

PLEASE NOTE: the vegetable pad thai (on the "vegetarian" menu) is not vegan or vegetarian, it contains fish sauce. This restaurant isn't very knowledgeable about vegan diets and barely knowledgeable about vegetarian diets, so if you have any dairy, egg, or fish allergy it could be dangerous. We were visiting Farm Sanctuary and decided to stop for dinner. Ordering was a little difficult as the staff are non-native English speakers who seem unfamiliar with vegan. Also, they confused their dishes so we got the wrong food. We got the miso soup, tofu skin sushi, orange "beef" and broccoli, and chow mei fun. All were pretty average good, my favorite was the chow mei fun. I think there are better safer options in Watkins Glen, but this was pretty good.

Pros: Open late, Vegetarian menu*, Near Farm Sanctuary

Cons: Mislabeled vegetarian menu, Not vegan-knowledgeable, On-street parking

jcberger

Points +156

Vegan
25 May 2013

Excellent eggplant in garlic sauce!

My boyfriend and I went here for dinner while staying at Farm Sanctuary. I went in with low expectations but was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the eggplant in garlic sauce- it was delicious, and included many different types of well-cooked vegetables in addition to the eggplant. I appreciated that they had a vegetarian menu and the waitress even asked if we were vegan.

Pros: great eggplant in garlic sauce, accommodating staff, inexpensive

Cons: odd atmosphere, narrow selection

Meowmeow

Points +788

Vegan
09 Aug 2012

Nothing special

Staff were a bit rude, didn't enjoy answering our questions about veg options, oyster sauce, etc. The place was a bit run down and the food wasn't anything special. I would suggest trying other places in the Watkins Glen area before considering House of Hong.

Pros: Short drive from Farm Sanctuary, Veg options

Cons: Food isn't great, Service was not friendly

elles_belles

Points +1301

Vegan
26 Dec 2011

Hits the spot

Typical Chinese restaurant. I like the sweet and sour tofu. Their sushi is another common choice of mine.

bill

Points +104

Vegan
03 Aug 2010

Wish there were more vegan options

Thankfully, there is a vegetarian menu, but this is a primarily non-vegetarian restaurant. We loved the sweet and sour tofu and the garlic broccoli!

MrsMaggie

Points +102

Vegan
03 Jul 2008

not bad

Typical chinese restaurant with a veg*n menu to make picking it out easier.

Pros: easy food, not expensive

Cons: not much selection




This page has been viewed 4090 times.