• Hleb i kifle

  • (7)
    6
    Loading...
  • Bakery Bakery
Bakery

Bakery from the chain Hleb i kifle (Хлеб и кифле). Offers a range of vegan options. Open Mon-Fri 6:00am-10:00pm, Sat-Sun 7:00am-9:00pm.


Venue map for Hleb i kifle
© OpenStreetMap contributors

7 Reviews

First Review by Kaloyan.Petrov

AungLin

Points +1981

Vegan
04 May 2023

Chain with 'posno' pastries

Perhaps marginally more expensive than your average bakery, but they do have their range of 'posno' (plant-based) options, at least in Lent. Service could be improved, though.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-04

Advertisement

loingva

Points +633

Vegan
02 Jun 2022

Krompir & Jabuka Pita

There are a number of these bakeries around town. I like best the one on Gospodar Jovanova 29 as it has a few tables outside and inside and they have soy milk. The main attraction of the Hleb i Life bakeries are their pitas, which are puff pastry pies. The krompir (potato) is vegan and very tasty and so are the champignons and the jabuka (apple) ones. Enjoy!

Update: no more plant based milks :-(

Updated from previous review on 2020-12-04

Huraiquire

Points +7871

Vegan
17 Jan 2022

Disappointing

I asked for vegan options and the baker said they only have one: a mushroom pastry. She didn’t mention the several breads in the back which may be vegan or their juices. I didn’t see these vegan stickers that other reviews mentioned or any sticker on the window as per the photo uploaded a few years ago. Pretty disappointed by options and staff. Seemed like a lack of effort as well to accommodate or consider what they could offer.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-17

urzoth

Points +370

Herbivore
08 Oct 2021

There are a lot better bakery options in bg

Overpriced and small. Their vegan options are below average.

Cons: Expensive for a bakery

NatashaBucinel

Points +347

Vegan
24 Aug 2021

No soy milk and very bad coffee

We came here at 7.30am and maybe it was too early for the staff because they were grumpy and the coffee was terrible. I chose this bakery because it says they have soy milk but when I got there, they didn't have any. So i got an americano and it was so super bad that couldn't drink it.
As for vegan food options; there was a wrap, a salad and the potato pie/pastry. The potato pastry was good and everything was pretty cheap but I just couldn't get over the bad coffee. Yea, good coffee really makes my day, so in this case... not a good start of the day.

jon active

Points +2511

Vegan
18 Feb 2020

They get 4 stars just for the mushroom Burek!

Seeing the large yellow and green vegan stickers on the windows of the otherwise dark looking bakery frontage was quite a surprise, a good one. They have a bunch of preface salads that are vegan and some of the breads are vegan. But their best things are the two pitas or Burek one potato and the other mushroom. Get them warm and fresh and they are delicious. And only cost about 70 pence each. They do sell out of stock during the day and some staff have no English, but all were friendly.

Pros: Mushroom Burek, Potato Burek, Lots of these dotted around Belgrade

Cons: Not much choice otherwise., Serves meat

Kaloyan.Petrov

Points +305

Vegan
30 Dec 2019

Bakery with the largest vegan logo I've seen

The vegan options are a few, but very tasty. There is a large VEGAN sign on the window, so you can't really miss it. Ask for posno.

Pros: location, clean, well priced




This page has been viewed 2138 times.