Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Western
Juice bar
Take-out
Bakery
Catering
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. A modern restaurant serving a large proportion of vegetarian food. Has vegan options such as tacos and sandwiches. Open Mon-Fri 8:00am-5:00pm, Sat 11:00am-5:00pm. Closed Sun. Kitchen reported to close at 3 pm.


Venue map for hjá höllu
© OpenStreetMap contributors

11 Reviews

First Review by slu1982

pawelz

Points +173

Vegan
14 Jul 2023

Good for breakfast

Not many vegan options, but the avocado sandwich is very good. Nice overall vibe.

Pros: Free tap water!, Nice breakfast.

Cons: Few vegan options.

Advertisement

hell0angela

Points +377

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

Vegan brunch

I had a vegan pesto sandwich that was pretty good (a little oily) and coffee with oat milk and a carrot juice. It was a cute spot and I was happy to see vegan options in the small town

ap&mo

Points +53

Mostly Veg
20 Jun 2022

Kitchen closes at 3pm

I was hoping to order off their normal menu but they said the kitchen was already closed. I was able to get a vegan sandwich that was good, nothing special. I wish I could have had the full options or the kitchen hours were public

happycowgirl

01 Sep 2023

Tamy

Points +3148

Vegan
21 Jun 2021

Superb!

I would give this place five stars if I could. They served me some of the most delicious and flavorful food I’ve had in Iceland. They have a daily changing menu that always includes one vegan meal and a vegetarian one (that can often be made vegan). They also have cakes and snacks like chia pudding and smoothie bowls.

We had the vegan meal which consisted of cauliflower in a delicious garlic snd herb sauce, a cauliflower and potato purée, and seasoned chickpeas in some sort if creamy tahini sauce. Everything was bursting with flavor and absolutely delicious!

I also tried the chia pudding and avocado smoothie bowl. They were good, but nothing special. Unfortunately they didn’t have vegan desserts on the day we were there. Staff is not terribly friendly, but the food is so good we didn’t particularly care.

Pros: Great vegan food, Flavorful , Healthy

Cons: Unfriendly staff

pikesperk

Points +869

Vegan
23 Aug 2019

Great find!

A small town and a great find! If you are in this area stop in there were good looking menu items, sandwiches, etc, vegan options all clearly labeled, I didn’t have time to try. Lots of pre prepared grab and go bowls and juices for a quick lunch on the run. Busy and popular.

Pros: Vegan friendly, Good vegan options , Nice helpful staff

Gallicgirl

Points +98

Vegan
29 May 2019

Lovely food, good ambience

Very friendly. Short menu with two items marked as vegan. We had both and they were very tasty. Staff knowledgable and explained what they could also convert to vegetarian for us.The addition of soy milk would make it perfect!

Pros: Good vegan options, not expensive for Iceland

Cons: Almond milk coffee wasn't great

kelsimarie91

Points +46

Vegan
13 Apr 2019

Delicious vegan sandwich

Had the vegan sandwich, an almond milk cappuccino and a vegan chocolate and raspberry croissant. So tasty! The sandwich was particularly good and, after being told numerous times how limited Iceland would be for vegan options, this blew me away. So much flavour... The staff were incredibly helpful and pleasant. Really glad we came here before our stint at the Blue Lagoon!

Pros: Tasty vegan options, Helpful staff

Cons: Not the easiest to spot!

ZoeG

Points +32

Herbivore
24 Jan 2019

Soooo creamy and delicious

I had the sweet potato with a curry made of quinoa, sweet corn and kidney beans with a side of avocado salad. And my friend had grilled avocado and falafel sandwich, both of which were really creamy light and tasty.
Food was amazing but not tons of choice. I would recommend as a light lunch after visiting the blue lagoon.

Pros: Really delicious food

Cons: Only two vegan options

VickiWanSlattery

Points +1396

Vegan
23 Jan 2019

Tasty food, quick service, homemade almond milk, limited choice

Stopped here on the way to the Blue Lagoon.

There was a choice of a Mexican plate or a sandwich.

I opted for the sandwich which consisted of basil oil, lettuce, fresh basil, tomatoes, avocado and vegan patties. It was pretty delicious, just needed a little salt and pepper seasoning.

I also got a coffee with their homemade almond milk, so impressed that an omnivore eatery make their own almond milk! Delicious.

Dessert wise they had one choice of a chocolate coated croissant with some jam inside, again, delicious.

For 2 drinks, 2 mains and 2 desserts it came to £36.98. Great service, lovely staff.

JacquelineTangerine

Points +113

Vegan
02 Dec 2018

Great place to eat

I had a delicious vegan sandwich. It was the only vegan entree option at the time that we went in which was 8 am local time. They were so friendly and patient with our questions. They also had lava salt crisp bread (crackers) which was a great packaged snack. The juice was good, fresh. We got a loaf of fruit and nut bread that we took back to our hotel as a morning snack. I only took the one star off because there was only one entree option, but everything we had was wonderful. Get the GingerLove hot drink.

Pros: Vegan friendly , Delicious breads, Wonderful, friendly staff

Cons: Not too many vegan options

slu1982

Points +32

Vegan
20 Jun 2018

Great place - highly recommended

We had a vegan Bibimbap bowl from the daily menu which was absolutely perfect. Place is pretty modern and stylish. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Would definitely give 5 stars if possible.

Pros: Multiple vegan options, Healthy food options, Delicious

Cons: Pricey as all restaurants in Iceland




This page has been viewed 2817 times.