Vegan
American
Organic
Raw
Take-out

All-vegan & all-organic casual cafe serving soups, salads, sandwiches, wraps, quiche, raw food, baked & raw desserts, smoothies and date shakes. Majority of the menu is gluten free and soy free. Open daily for dine in, curbside, and pick-up. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Hip Vegan
© OpenStreetMap contributors

57 Reviews

First Review by Veganopoly

paul_g

Points +102

Vegan
20 Feb 2024

World’s tallest burger?

It’s a good spot. Secluded, off the main path in town. It’s expensive enough to not be a regular stop but it’s nice on occasion (and if you’re in Ojai, it’s probably an occasion, more or less, so this all tracks). Attentive staff, decent beer list, loaded veggie burgers.

Advertisement

happiercow76

Points +128

Vegan
19 Nov 2023

Great Vegan Food

We had the spring roll, burrito and a salad. Everything was delicious. The outdoor patio was large and dog friendly. We had cookies and coffee to finish. Highly recommend

blytheowens

Points +49

Vegan
15 Sep 2023

Love, love this place

Wagamama bowl was sooo yummy! And service was the best!

Pros: ALL vegan menu, Quality and taste, Location and decor

Amber-RainMontervino

Points +49

Vegan
23 Jul 2023

Incredible!

I loved this little hidden gem. Great food and atmosphere. The service was great. Customers left with a smile.

Neil_G

Points +201

Vegan
04 Jul 2023

Wide selection of tasty food

Choices from burgers to salads plus desserts. Consistently excellent.

Updated from previous review on 2023-07-04

EsraRice

Points +665

Vegan
24 Jun 2023

Deliciousness

Their bahn mi sandwich is ruin-all-bahn-mi-sandwiches-for-the-rest-of-your-life good. My mind was blown.

MagdalenaT

Points +83

Vegan
25 Apr 2023

Great vegan spot!

Cute spot.
Dog and kid friendly.
Amazing vegan food.
I will absolutely come back.

Pros: 100 % vegan, Kid friendly , Kombucha on tap

SprVgn

Points +16

Vegan
26 Mar 2023

Supreme deliciousness (I'm not even Vegan)

I love this place so much that I want to go back right now. By far the best place in Ventura County. Period. You know after, you're gonna feel good. It's like smoking crack, if crack was healthy, but just as addictive. I literally go through hip vegan withdrawals. I seriously wonder if they put crack in their food because it's so good. I give it 6 stars, five is not enough.

Pros: Totally Vegan, Really good Baked goods, Non vegan approved

Cons: I don't live at hip vegan, You get withdrawals when you don't eat there, Hip Vegan short for hippies (I don't like them)

Veganomad

Points +377

Vegan
24 Nov 2022

Umm...

I think maybe I should have ordered something else. The torta was super messy and overly salty. The place was cozy though, and I'm glad it's there. Someday I'd love to go back and try something different...

Cons: Expensive

schicklindsey

Points +247

Vegan
09 Oct 2022

Banh Mi bowl BAYBEEE

Delicious easy spot with something for everyone

Pros: Customizable (will make it not spicy), Easy environment , Shaded patio

FireMapGirl

Points +83

Vegan
31 Aug 2022

Food was terrific

We both had the old fashioned burger and fries. Really good ketchup (some curry spices added) and a unique mustard style dip.

Updated from previous review on 2022-08-31

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Expensive, Service was a little slow but could be staffing

dancingvegan

Points +764

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

Adding update about their new location on N. Montgomery

I went to their 'relatively new', large & spacious location on N. Montgomery yesterday (7/2/20). They are physically distancing, plus requiring masks for everyone that goes inside the building to either pick up their orders or place their order - that makes me feel even more welcome & relaxed!! Outside seating accommodates many, even with physical distancing, if it's not too busy, like yesterday.

The Warung burger was SO tasty, as were the original fries; however, just a couple things: the battered & fried tempeh patty was too small for the large burger bun and there was too much salt on the fries. I am not complaining, just noting for others.

It was such a pleasure to visit this location and try their food, as I loved their other location. Speaking of which, here is my previous review from Jan 2012:

"Opening the gate off the main street in Ojai onto HIP's property is like walking into the 1960s or 1970s; groovy, funky & HIP!!

On their outside dining area, they had an acoustic guitarist singing mellow songs on the Saturday we went.

Owner is very friendly and the food very good. I had the ultimate burger which was tempeh with a BOWL of delish split pea soup and my friend had the bbq burger with a large, absolutely beautiful salad. Seriously good food.

Word of warning: Try not to go during the height of the lunch hour like we did. We waited around 40 minutes for our food, so thankfully the food was superb!! Just a bit pricey for lunch: spent $29 for two people with no drinks.
Updated from previous review on Sunday January 08, 2012"

Updated from previous review on 2020-07-04

Pros: Excellent food, Groovy, Ojai

Passittowill

Points +3077

Vegan
08 Aug 2022

Hip To Be Vegan

Hidden in plain site, Hip Vegan is an awesome food experience. Please treat your tastebuds to this wonderful food. Burgers and shakes were incredible. Can’t wait to go back. Downsides are parking and seating arrangement inside is a bit uncomfortably close.

Pros: Vegan, Great food

Cons: Parking, Seating is too close

EdnaMoreno

Points +145

Vegan
21 May 2022

Excellent ambiance

Very good service, very good food, seats inside and outside, extremely clean restrooms, delicious cookies and the list goes on and on…

Pros: All vegan, Plenty of seating , Excellent service

drcleavengergmail.com

Points +71

Vegan
17 May 2022

Donner in Ojai

Dinner tonight at the Hip Vegan was exceptional. So clean and fresh. The Dal is very good as well as the Wagamama bowl. This is a must stop whenever you stop in Ojai.

Pros: Nice and well kept restaurant both inside and out.

Artjk

Points +16

Vegan
08 May 2022

Delicious and great service :)

The food was tasty and they have a beautiful cozy back patio. We recommend the Torta, yum 😋

Knoxland

Points +593

Vegan
07 May 2022

Berry Kool Spot

Standing room only when it's busy in Ojai. Popular joint for sure and the food is good. Great location, parking a bit challenging on the weekend depending on hours. Spot is central within main district. Customer friendly and the only go-to cafe in the area solely vegan. Wondering if this was the same joint relocated from a mom and pop some years ago. Still in top of their game nonetheless. Confirmed 👍 this joint the previous site, parking was in rear. Tight, yet so Kool for staff was and is.🚴‍♀️🥣💕

Updated from previous review on 2022-05-02

veganmonkey7

Points +30

Vegan
06 May 2022

Really yummy

We liked it so much we went back twice on our short trip to Ojai. Really nice flavors and very cute outdoor seating under the trees.

BeatnikB

Points +605

Vegan
10 Mar 2022

Great food all around!

I’ve tried several items from their menu. Although I enjoyed everything that I’ve tasted, I would highly recommend their baked goods and the gun powder fries.

Updated from previous review on 2022-01-29

Pros: Vegan options galore!, Delicious , Staff is very friendly :)

Cons: Quality, so on the pricier side.

JulienneSlice

Points +1587

Vegan
04 Mar 2022

Good vibes, wholesome eats

This is the go to spot when in Ojai for wholesome vegan eats. I really like that their emphasis is on whole foods and the menu is diverse.
I ordered the Indian falafel bowl and a friend ordered the black bean bowl. We both enjoyed our meals and I really liked the creative approach to the falafels. For a treat I got the mangoes n cream smoothie which was tasty.
It’s great to see that they have expanded since the early days and the upgrade is looking great! I recommend checking this spot out as there isn’t much vegan establishments in Ojai so this a great small business to drop by and support.

Updated from previous review on 2022-03-04

Pros: Vegan

stephpilavin

Points +174

Vegan
06 Feb 2022

Fun place; tasty options!

It was great to find an all vegan restaurant during our time in Ojai. The cafe was cute and the food was super tasty. We loved their homemade soda!

vickerbasket

Points +1039

Mostly Veg
22 Jan 2022

Over-sauced

We came here on a Saturday for lunch. Service was quite quick. Ample outdoor seating. You get a table number and pick a seat.

We ordered the tofu spring rolls to share. Probably would’ve worked better with the peanut sauce instead of the spicy sauce. They were quite large and full of veggies. I got The Baguette which is like a tofu banh mi, but there was so much sauce it was squishing out the side and it made it a bit salty. We also got the tiger bowl and the fried tempeh burger. The Tiger brown is good until the bottom when the sauce again drowns the rice. The burger is okay, nothing too unique.

Not sure we’d come back here.

Pros: All vegan, Outdoor seating

Cons: Over-sauced and salty

cwarrick1

Points +1489

Vegan
09 Jan 2022

Ordered toooooo much

Everything was awesome. We split the jackfruit torta and it was really good. We also ordered the tiger bowl & just packed it up to go home. The gunpowder fries were addictive and spicy. Love love love!! Would come here any day! #Veganuary

Pros: All vegan, Very busy!!, Good size portions

Akfish

Points +56

Vegan
03 Nov 2021

Love the food here

Everything I’ve ever ordered has been yummy

ChristopherCapretta

Points +32

Vegan
27 Oct 2021

Happy & Hip

Great, relaxed vibe at this place. Very friendly, helpful staff. I tried the Old Fashioned Burger that has a marinated tempeh patty, caramelized onions, thousand island dressing, melted cheese, lettuce and tomato. It was phenomenal! The green ginger smoothies and raspberry iced tea were good too! I’ll definitely be back!

Pros: All vegan menu

Endrea

Points +24

Vegan
21 Aug 2021

Great eats & atmosphere!

Been here several times and always a great experience! The old fashioned burger and Wagamama bowl are delicious! Also offers delicious pastries.

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-21

Pros: Great gluten free options , Beautiful atmosphere , Friendly service

WholeFoodLovers

Points +600

Vegetarian
22 Jun 2021

Amazing! Tasty Choices

We enjoyed daily meals here while visiting Ojai. New location is convenient with large well lite indoor and ample shaded outdoor dining. Appreciate their large hours of operation and the new expanded water station on tap. There are 3 extremely clean restrooms and additional hall sink for handwashing. Large menu to choose from, including GF options. Loved all the bowls were filling and tasty. Our favorite was the Canteen Bowl with filing dal patties and coconut chutney. Green Dragon drink was unique and refreshing. Date Cacoa smoothie was thick and indulgent. Our favorite burger was the Jackfruit Torta. Good flavor and combination of filing. Wish torta had GF option. A bit more jackfruit would have been nice. Checked out the fizzy drink for the first time. The Strawberry Basil one was unusual and quite tasty. Had the grapefruit one too which was nothing special. The gunpowder fries are amazing and unique flavor. Resisted ordering the fries each day. Staff was helpful and kind. Right volume of good music for a nice vibe but not too loud you couldn't talk. Ordering was a bit slow with a line often.

Pros: Amazing flavors, Large Menu, Unique food options

Cons: Slow ordering process




This page has been viewed 14541 times.