• Hibiscus Cafe

  • (12)
    8
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Lacto
Ovo
American
Breakfast

A breakfast cafe that's part of a guesthouse. Offers vegan biscuits & gravy, waffles, oatmeal, fruit, smoothies, non-dairy milks, juice and coffee most of which is prepackaged. Open Mon-Sun 7:30am-11:30am.


Venue map for Hibiscus Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

12 Reviews

First Review by epiFURIOUS

SandyBrocious

Points +129

Vegan
29 Oct 2023

Delicious and sereane

Everything. So many options and staff was super nice

Updated from previous review on 2023-10-29

Pros: Atmosphere, inside and outdoor seating, Selections of plant based food, Tastes amazing

Cons: Absolutely nothing bad, If i had to say only open 7:30 amto 11:30 am.

Advertisement

madelinegb

Points +403

Vegan
18 Jul 2023

Amazing Vegan Waffle

Lovely old school fully vegetarian and mostly vegan breakfast cafe. Their vegan waffles are very yummy and there are many other vegan options clearly labeled. Kind people and great atmosphere. Highly recommend!

goodgothgirl

Points +33

Vegetarian
10 May 2023

A Happy Place

Finding Hibiscus Cafe was one of the highlights of my trip to the Florida Gulf Coast. It has an old Florida charm that is being quickly wiped out by coastal development. The food is absolutely delicious, mostly vegetarian, with vegan options on just about every menu item. We went more than once, and I tried the Justin smoothie with almond milk, the vegan biscuit with vegan sausage gravy, and the vegan version of the wonderful waffle. They were all super satisfying. We had to drive 30 minutes one way to reach this restaurant, and it was well worth it. The prices are a little high, but I felt it there was enough value to be supporting a local business that made a real effort to maintain local character and accommodate a plant-based diet. If it were in town where I live, I'd go frequently.

Updated from previous review on 2023-05-10

Pros: Mostly vegetarian with vegan options on most items, Delicious food, Local, old Florida charm

Cons: Slightly pricey but worth it

jaimejames

Points +19

Vegetarian
07 May 2023

Friendly atmosphere and great food.

I had the vegetarian biscuits and vegan gravy with fruit on the side. Tasted great and was very filling and satisfying.
My husband had the Nutella and pecan waffle and enjoyed it. I tasted it and it was good but I’m not as big a fan of sweet as he is.

The people were very nice and helpful.

Overall, I will be returning when we visit the area. Highly recommend.

Pros: Fresh and flavorful fruit, Lots of options, Helpful

LisaMjudd

Points +77

Vegan
01 Sep 2022

Awesome Breakfast Options on 30A!!!

Hibiscus Cafe is a kitschy little cafe located in the heart of Grayton Beach. Self described as a "Mostly Vegetarian Breakfasrt Cafe", the vegan breakfast options here aim to please! The decor is vintage, old Florida and will take you back to the days of Moms adorning aprons while cooking in the kitchen! The Hibiscus is a a bed & breakfast, as well as a cafe, with a small concert venue in the back. A very quaint, ultra casual, and very retro, locally-owned and operated diner, that is definitely worth the trip.

Choose from several vegan options...
🌱Waffle Wonderful - Homemade multigrain waffle topped with a light spread of crunchy peanut butter, fresh fruit, pecans & shredded coconut, drizzled with honey.
🌱Vegan Biscuits and Gravy – Homemade vegan biscuit smothered in vegan "sausage" gravy.
🌱Biscuit - Homemade vegan biscuit
🌱Vegan Breakfast Sliders (2) - Homemade vegan biscuits with vegan breakfast patties.
🌱Old Fashion Oatmeal - Topped with fresh fruit, pecans, brown sugar and your choice of milk.
🌱Fresh Fruit - Fresh cut, seasonal fruit topped with pecan
🌱Smoothies - Choose from Strawberry, Mango, Pineapple, Peanut Butter/Chocolate, made with choice of Almond, Oat, or Coconut milk.

The trick is to be SURE to tell them that you want the VEGAN options; they are sensitive to our eating habits, but they need to know about them, as they also have vegetarian options. My favorite is the Waffle Wonderful with a side of vegan sausage; SOOOO good! If you are a dedicated vegan, make sure to tell them to omit the honey.

Bonus points: They also serve Mimosas and have both indoor and outdoor seating. They serve locally-roasted coffee, and offer frequent flyer punch cards and a 10% discount to locals. Give them a try; you won't be disappointed! The hours for breakfast are limited and seasonal, so check it out before you go; the hours posted here are the old seasonal hours; as of today's date (Sept 2022), they stay open until 2:00pm! 🌱

Pros: Vegan Options, Fun, retro environment and decor, Indoor and outdoor seating

IwaWella

Points +1249

Mostly Veg
25 May 2022

The only place worth eating in 30A

Adorable bnb that’s also a breakfast and lunch spot, the only actually veg restaurant anywhere near here as well. We ate in ‘21

MagnoliaPeach

Points +24

Vegan
17 Sep 2021

That Gravy tho!

The vegan gravy is the bomb!! They were so awesome to us! They were closed to the public but served us anyway - so kid of them and the food was fantastic!

Pros: Vegan options , Friendly staff, Accommodating

Scout_Steiner

Points +16

Vegan
05 Sep 2021

Closed due to covid

Call first, they're closed for business due to covid

mfnn

Points +56

Vegan
19 Aug 2021

Cute place, good options

Most options can be made vegan, just ask them. The food was good! Their biscuits and gravy is incredible! The sign outside says vegetarian, but they do serve meat now!

Updated from previous review on 2021-08-19

Pros: Lots of vegetarian options, Can be made vegan, Cute environment

Cons: Serves meat although sign outside says vegetarian

ErinStrainPonds

Points +38

Vegan
01 Aug 2019

Yummy Breakfast

We didn’t stay at the bed and breakfast but did visit the charming cafe. Very vegan friendly. They do serve some meat and dairy. There are also GF options. My husband (non-vegan) and myself got the vegan biscuits and gravy and it was perfection! Being vegan sometimes I do miss those good ole comfort food classics and this hits the spot. The hubby loved it at well!

moonican

Points +93

Vegan
03 Oct 2016

Good food, limited selection

Went here with my non-veg dad and we both enjoyed it. He got the loaded waffle that came with peanut butter, a heap of chopped fruits, nuts, and shredded coconut on top. I got a piping hot bowl of brown sugar oatmeal. Food was good, but they were out of whatever they needed to make both their waffles and the biscuits vegan, so my options were limited on the already limited menu. Might want to call to see what's in stock.

Pros: healthy, reasonably priced food

Cons: Short on staff and vegan options

epiFURIOUS

Points +40

Vegan
17 Apr 2010

Easter delite

I went to Hibiscus Cafe for the first time this past easter sunday and it was such a great experience. There was live music and many locals. Seems like this is a great spot to enjoy the "real" florida. The only thing that I was able to eat was some oatmeal and fruit (I'm vegan) but there were many vegetarian options. The chai was good- they have soymilk. I'll certainly go back.

Pros: nice atmosphere, nice staff, beautiful area

Cons: not enough vegan options




This page has been viewed 4958 times.