Vegan
Western
Take-out
European

An all-vegan lunchroom, est. Feb 2019. Reported closed December 2022.


Venue map for Het Slachthuis
© OpenStreetMap contributors

52 Reviews

First Review by MarlissaSchouten

Kim95

Points +392

Vegetarian
13 Nov 2022

Super lekker eten, gezellige plek

Vanmiddag heerlijk geluncht bij Het Slachthuis. We hoorden dat het binnenkort zou gaan sluiten, helaas. Nog even snel langs dus! Een reservering gemaakt. Super vriendelijke mensen!

We bestelden een muntthee, tomatensap en de Trio Masala ‘vooraf’. Dit was eigenlijk een snack en niet persé een voorgerecht, maar het leek ons zo lekker dat we het toch vooraf besloten te bestellen. Zeker geen slechte keuze! Hele lekkere hapjes. Vooral de bloemkool bites verbaasde ons echt heel erg (positief!).

Verder bestelden we voor de lunch de curry worst met zoete aardappelfrites en de Ik Vertrek burger (met daarbij ook zoete aardappel frites). Beide werden geserveerd met een salade. Het was allebei zo ontzettend lekker! We hebben de gerechten gedeeld, zo konden we allebei alles proeven, haha.

Het personeel was heel vriendelijk, het interieur simpel maar fijn, de locatie leuk. Op de kaart alles veganistisch. Echt een geweldige plek voor vegetariërs en veganisten, maar ook carnivoren die benieuwd zijn zullen zéker niet teleurgesteld worden. De prijs kwaliteit verhouding was top.

Echt een aanrader om nog even snel heen te gaan!

Pros: Alles vegan, Lekker & gevarieerde kaart, Gepassioneerd personeel

Cons: Beetje afgelegen (maar vinden wij een voordeel) , Relatief weinig plek, reserveren aangeraden

Advertisement

FamtenVeen

Points +30

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Heerlijk vegan geluncht

Heerlijk broodje tofu eisalade en broodje bikmek gehad samen met mijn man. Erg lekker en vriendelijk personeel! Wel een stukje lopen vanaf het centrum maar het is het zeker waard!

Pros: Erg lekker, Vriendelijk personeel

Cons: Wat ver uit het centrum en afgelegen

mariskajanson

Points +30

Vegan
24 Sep 2022

Favourite place

I love this place. Everything is vegan. It's a cozy place. It's my favourite place to have lunch.

Pros: All vegan, Nice menu, Nice people

V-gan

Points +669

Vegan
11 Sep 2022

Fresh and super tasty

What a treat to find this place. All the food was so fresh and tasty and the portion sizes were good too.
My favourite was the proper Dutch apple pie, which was lovely and moist and full of fresh apple and cinnamon flavours.

Pros: Fresh and tasty, Best apple pie I’ve had in years, Friendly staff

Wendy839

Points +208

Vegan
19 Aug 2022

Leuk en lekker

Leuk plekje en lekkere items op de kaart. De roze koek was echt de lekkerste die ik ooit gegeten heb.

reagal

Points +100

Vegan
07 Jul 2022

Great vegan lunch spot

Although it is a bit out of the way, Leiden is small so it only takes approx 10-15 mins from the centre to get here. Good lunch options, all vegan food. Would recommend.

Perylgarkia

Points +166

Vegan
16 May 2022

Fully vegan, far from centre

Tasty food, nice people

Pros: Tasty wraps, cakes, and coffee, Prices are ok, Next to artist workshops

Cons: Location, Could be hard to find, Opening hours, very short

WiderVistas

Points +1591

Vegan
14 May 2022

We went back the next day for another slice of apple cake

My husband and I enjoyed everything that we ate and drank - including the very unique and refreshing rose lemonade. Even the the side salad served with the chickpea masala wrap was terrific. The philly cheesesteak was so packed with yummy goodness that it was a little difficult to eat - but totally doable. Just cut it in half and used a fork to catch any bits that fall out! Would definitely order it again. The wrap was fresh, tasty and healthy. The best hands down was the apple cake - so packed with apples that it was practically a pie. Service was friendly. Food took a little longer to prepare than one might expect, but not too long - and it was worth the wait.

Pros: Lots of choices for food, drink & desserts

Cons: not open for dinner (at the moment), no outdoor dining

EvaMiedemaPouw

Points +280

Vegan
15 Apr 2022

Alles even lekker!

Wat is een 100% vegan tent toch altijd fijn. Dat je alles kan kiezen en dan ook nog zo veel keuze. Heerlijke broodjes gehad, vers gemaakt. En nog plek voor een heerlijk taart na. Die was zo lekker en snel weg, dat we er niet eens een foto van hebben gemaakt. Wat een feest. En trouwens, we zagen twee mensen high tea-en, dat komen we hier zeker nog een keer doen! Wauw!

Pros: All vegan, Veel en verschillende keus, Gezellige en originele plek

moongoesvegan

Points +45

Vegan
13 Mar 2022

Very Nice

The food is so nice! Near the city centre. Just a nice walk. The food is amazing!

Yōji

Points +251

Vegan
04 Feb 2022

Perfect

Exactly what we needed. Not exactly cheap but very nasty. Love it

Leonie_dK

Points +68

Vegan
30 Jan 2022

Food and venue are great!

The dishes are very tasty! Tastes are well balanced and also very suitable for people who like meat. The surroundings are also great. Now in the entrance building of an old factory. Nicely decorated and very trendy. In the future, they will move to another part of the factory and serve dinners tooI am already looking forward to that. Highly recommended!

Pros: Good food!, Nice venue, Very friendly people

Cons: None

MeikedeBoer

Points +36

Vegan
11 Dec 2021

Love this place!

This is my favorite spot in Leiden. The food is great and I always want to try everything. I love the lunch options, but am even more enthousiastic about the sweets. The "gevulde koeken" and "roze koeken" are awesome and something I really missed as a vegan. It is also a great place to hang out with friends or to get some work done, and you run into familiar faces from the vegan community quite often :)

Pros: Delicious cakes, Excellent food, Great atmosphere

Cons: Quite expensive, Limited opening hours, Not in the city centre

ValentineD

Points +3013

Vegan
07 Dec 2021

Would give one star if possible.

Rude service, we left before we could try anything on the menu. Far away from the city centre

JerryWeidema

Points +532

Vegan
22 Nov 2021

Take-away sandwich

We got a vegan chicken club sandwich for take away and it was amazingly good. Can't wait to try out some more and have lunch inside!

Updated from previous review on 2021-11-21

Pros: All vegan!, Friendly staff

Cons: Bit expensive

TrudiBruges

Points +18717

Vegan
20 Oct 2021

Nice food, but a bit noisy

We had a nice lunch with friends.

Had some appetizers (bitterballen etc). And then the Dutch weedburger (16), Caesar salad (13€) and Philly cheesesteak (10€).
Fries on the side are 2,75€.

Food was very good and service friendly and swift.
we bought some pastry to take with us.

The only downside is that it is rather noisy (bad accoustics) and not so comfortable seatings and as such not so relaxed.

Updated from previous review on 2021-10-20

soystefanie

Points +404

Vegan
13 Oct 2021

Eveything is vegan

Everything is vegan which is is nice to choice. Employees were super friendly and there is a great vibe. The location is not that central as I thought and you only can sit inside. We ordered the bik mek with some extra fries. It was okey but I think it’s way to expansive for a lunchroom. That’s why I rate it with three stars. We had to pay €16 per burger without the fries en €6,50 for a small milkshake. Also, the menu at their website is not up to date anymore. It was not that special so next time I probably will try another restaurant.

Pros: Nice employees, Everything is vegan

Cons: To expensive , Not that special for these prices

princesssje

Points +675

Vegan
30 Jul 2021

Lunch

Het Slachthuis is a very good vegan restaurant. We went here for lunch and choose the wraps. Delicious, very fresh ingredients. Spinach was crispy fresh (don’t even know if this is a word 😁). Friendly staff and a good price.

Updated from previous review on 2020-02-18

Pros: Friendly staff, Wide range of vegan options

mcld

Points +926

Vegetarian
24 Jul 2021

Delightful vegan lunch cafe

A great relaxed lunch cafe, all vegan, nice and funky. The curry croquettes are a good tip for borrel, and our main courses were lovely too!

Janicalexandra

Points +118

Vegan
22 Jul 2021

Really good food

I really enjoyed my lunch here. I had the vegan BLT Sandwhich and a milkshake, both were amazing! Gotta visit again to try their delicious looking desserts aswell

Pros: A lot of options, Tasty food, Good price

foxtrick

Points +286

Vegan
03 Oct 2020

Just amazing

We ate lunch here during our day out in Leiden. Everything we tasted was excellent and not even too expensive. Also a nice atmosphere and furniture etc. Definite recommendation.

groen

Points +452

Vegan
27 Sep 2020

Best lunch spot in Leiden

Many different options, all vegan, friendly staff. Dont forget to take a stroll in the stunning Meelfabriek area.

Pros: Many options , 100% vegan, Friendly staff

Cons: Expensive, Not open during the evening (except friday)

Sanne86

Points +210

Vegan
25 Sep 2020

100% vegan

100% vegan en veel keuze. Wel wat aan de ongezonde kant maar dat is ook wel eens lekker.

Mitch0902

Points +71

Vegan
20 Sep 2020

Beste vegan restaurant

Ja ook beter dan de vegan junkfood bar! Geweldig eten voor de lunch, goede prijs en leuke mensen

MaritTimmerman

Points +26

Vegan
18 Sep 2020

Heerlijk eten, fijne sfeer

Het Slachthuis is een fully vegan restaurant in het Poortgebouw van de Meelfabriek. Het ligt ong 10-15 minuutjes lopen van het centrum. Het eten is heerlijk en de high tea is een grote aanraders! Ik heb omni’s meegenomen (anderhalf jaar geleden, misschien wel langer) die nog steeds praten over hoe lekker het was.

Pros: Fully vegan, Super vriendelijk personeel, Heerlijk eten

Cons: Ligt ietsje verder van het centrum

iLotje87

Points +339

Vegan
30 Aug 2020

Lovely lunch.

Had a nice lunch here today with my friends. I had a Clubsandwich with “salmon” with a milkshake as dessert. The milkshake was made with fresh strawberries, very tasty 😋

Pros: Nice staff , Tasteful dishes

Cons: Small menu.

JoostWaterborg

Points +44

Vegan
26 Aug 2020

Lovely vegan lunch

This place has an excellent all-vegan lunch menu with a decent amount of choice. The flatbread club sandwich was scrumptious and the tikka masala croquettes alone would make the visit worthwhile. Staff is friendly, the ginger lemonade is lovely and the prices are okay, pretty much what you would expect.

Pros: All-vegan, Nice people

Cons: No parking




This page has been viewed 10041 times.