Lacto
Ovo
Buffet
Salad bar
Juice bar
Beer/Wine
Asian
British
European
Fusion
Middle Eastern
Gluten-free
Honey

Vegan lunch cafe in book and concept store. Always has at least 2 original vegan lunch options. Sometimes opens Thursday evening with vegan dinner options, see Facebook for announcements. Always has soy and oat milk at no extra cost for lattes and cappuccinos. All cakes are vegan and include at least one rotating gluten free option. All food is vegan but cow's milk is offered for coffee. Open Wed-Sat 10:00-17:00, Sun 12:00-17:00.


Venue map for Het Colofon
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by EmmyVD

CharlotteO.

Points +28

Vegan
10 Feb 2024

Lovely cafe with amazing cakes

Nice bookshop with a nice cafe inside. The menu is small but very decent, the meals are just yummy. I especially recommend the Mon Chou cake, it's so so so good. I'm sad I didn't order a second one...😏😏

Pros: Nice cheez toasties, Good atmosphere with friendly staff, Mon Chou cake!!

Advertisement

DaphD

Points +4935

Vegan
02 Feb 2024

Cute cafe with awesome lemon pie

This is a decent-sized cafe inside a bookstore with a toilet near the bookstore cashdesk. The staff is friendly and servicable.

I like this place, because you can relax here and even read some books, newspapers or magazines. There’s at least 1 table near a powerplug, so working on a laptop is possible as well.

I tried the saucijzenbroodje, which was warm and tasty. The lemon pie was even better: moist, creamy, fresh and not too sweet. Even better than the great lemon pie I’m used to at Kluts in Utrecht!

AlexAvocado

Points +537

Vegan
02 Jan 2024

Vegan cakes

Het Colofon is a nice and cosy place in a bookshop. The staff is friendly. They have vegan cakes, cookies, croissants etc. Their food menu is 100% plant based. The cakes are really delicious and soft. Unfortunately you can order cows milk in your coffee.

Pros: Friendly staff, Delicious cakes , Nice atmosphere

Cons: Cow's milk is available

Vegansjeng

Points +406

Vegan
31 Dec 2023

Nice place for coffee and cake

It's a nice cafe inside an (old) bookshop with an almost entirely vegan menu. Sadly, they do still have a cows milk option but all the food on the menu is vegan.

I had the red velvet cake which was lovely and moist and had a delicious creamy layer inbetween. The oat milk flat white was good. Looks like they usually have up to 4 different vegan cakes and also some other sweets such as cookies and banana bread. They also serve lunch.

Would rate 5 stars if they would ditch the cows milk.

Updated from previous review on 2023-12-31

Pros: Vegan cakes are very tasty , Cute place inside bookshop , Friendly staff

Cons: Cows milk option

Nathananas

Points +35

Vegan
05 Dec 2022

Great place to slow down, work/study or connect

Dit is een fijn, betaalbaar café om wat te nuttigen. Het is een ruim opgezette plek waar je onder genot van een plantaardige cappuccino, warme chocolademelk of een andere gangbare drank, aangenaam de dialoog kunt voeren. Ik vind het bovendien fijn dat het ruim is opgesteld en je dus niet ongewenst het halve gesprek van de buren meekrijgt. Tevens een grote verscheidenheid aan leesvoer.

Ik heb hier van een erg lekkere lunch genoten: volkorenbrood met kerrie pulled-jackfruit en een veldsla salade. Tot slot zeer vriendelijke bediening die altijd vraagt of je koemelk (in plaats van 'gewone' melk) of plantaardige melk wenst. Aanrader!

TrudySuijkerbuijk

Points +18

Vegan
09 Oct 2022

Aanrader

Wij komen er heel graag, zit in de boekenwinkel waar mijn partner graag komt.

Pros: Veel vegan opties, Altijd plaats om te zitten, Hele lekkere taartjes

JanskeHogeweg

Points +73

Vegan
07 Oct 2022

Aanrader!

De taarten zijn allemaal vegan en allemaal even lekker! Er is zelfs vegan monchoutaart! Leuk plekje in de boekenwinkel en heerlijk rustig. De koffie is ook altijd lekker! Een dikke aanrader.

DebValk

Points +22

Vegan
03 Oct 2022

Zeer tevreden, heerlijke mooie taarten!!

We hebben 3 taarten opgehaald voor de eerste verjaardag van ons dochtertje. We zijn super goed geholpen en de taarten waren prachtig! Zelfs onze non vegan banketbakker buurman vondt ze heerlijk!

Pros: Super mooie taarten, Heel erg lekker, Erg fijne goede service!

Cons: Moeilijk kiezen met zulk veel lekkers!;)

LSM

Points +532

Vegan
29 Sep 2022

Cozy gem

This place is great if you're looking to write, read, study or just relax. You can really appreciate the quiet and calm atmosphere while drinking a nice cup of coffee while enjoying their (mostly) vegan options.

My only encouragement would be for them to be a bit more creative with the flavors and plating, particularly with the flavors for the vegan quiche and the plating for the soup.

Updated from previous review on 2022-09-27

Pros: Food is good & friendly staff, Cozy & clean, Nice variety of vegan options

Cons: There is some room for improving flavors & plating

RuudVanBragt

Points +83

Vegan
17 Jul 2022

Lovely location

Great place in a bookstore with vega and vegan options. We had a vega and vegan quiche.

SusanaDuarte

Points +10263

Vegan
05 Jun 2021

Some vegan options

The coffee is inside a book store, they don't have that many options. But it's a okay place.

Cons: Mostly Vegetarian not vegan

LouiseBakker94

Points +138

Vegan
21 Feb 2021

Not a fan of the dishes

We went for a shared lunch option. Nothing was really that great or tasty, except for the coffee. In our option everything tasted quite bland.

Pros: A lot of options , Great for a coffee, Nice and quiet, great for reading!

Cons: Bland, not very tasty., Takes long to prepare the food

Bartelehiem

Points +55

Vegetarian
10 Oct 2020

Gewoon goed

Even snel een bakkie doen en weer door? Hier kun je goed terecht. Prima afstand te houden ivm covid en een grote boekwinkel om nog even in te verdwalen. Gewoon goed dus.

Pros: Alles kan vegan, Lekker rustig, weinig kinderen.

JessicaSies

Points +48

Vegan
20 May 2019

Lekkere lunch, leuke locatie!

Heerlijk genoten van het lunchplateau (vegan) voor twee. Vriendelijk en behulpzaam personeel en leuke locatie in een boekenwinkel. Lekkere, duurzame koffie met sojamelk. Aanrader!

EmmyVD

Points +4288

Vegan
27 Mar 2019

Bookstore with original vegan dishes and cakes

Colofon is a place where I wish I would have more eyes to take in all the beautiful books and magazines.

Not only your book-loving eyes are in for a treat, as they also have a cafe that offers vegan lunch (till 5pm), cakes and lattes. I enjoyed a vegan chai latte, lunch salad with vegan homemade feta "cheese" and vegan poppy seed cake.
Last but not least, the service is very friendly.

On Thursdays they sometimes often also offer a vegan dinner menu, which sounded delicious, check out their facebook for more info.

Pros: accepts your own container for take away, cool concept, original dishes




This page has been viewed 4520 times.