Hermans Vegetarian Restaurant and Garden Café

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 148 reviews )
Contact
08-6439480
Find

Fjallgatan 23 B (at Tube: Slussen), Stockholm, Sweden, 11628

Stockholm vegetarian restaurant with harbor view. Features a sixteen-course buffet with changing themes for each weekend. Fresh juices include carrot, beet, apple, spirulina and ginger. May 2016 reported now fully vegan. Swedish name: Hermans Vegetariska Tradgardcafe. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.

Categories: Vegan, International, Western, Buffet, Juice bar

148 Reviews

First Review by Poundie

no bio food - Edit

Disappointed that they do not use bio food.
so we must eat the Chemicals.
and they use normal cheap gmo rice also and add sugar to food.

This need to be changed totally Before i would consider to go there again.
expensive in weekends and evenings after 3 smht considering its not bio.
was looking again and still they want to be cheap and use the gmo rice which is hazardous.
Before they wrote bio food outside which was a con after saying they were taking the sign away.(because they were maybe using some very few bio stuff)



Updated from previous review on 2017-03-16

Pros: view

Cons: no bio food, gmo rice., added sugar in food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing food with amazing view! - Edit

The best vegan buffet ever :)
The staff is very kind, the view is wonderful and the food is really tasty. Loved it!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

PURE HAPPINESS - Edit

Hermans is definitely my favorite place to eat in Stockholm. The food is cooked with love and everything they serve is amazing. It's a great value if you come hungry!

Pros: Gorgeous view, Outdoor seating , All you can eat

Cons: None!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

To die for! - Edit

Huge selection on the buffet- the lasagne is to die for. Great beer and outdoor seating area with a view. If you have enough room they also have a good selection of cakes and pastries.

Pros: Everything!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan joint in Stockholm - Edit

I've been vegan 17 years and been on three continents, 15 countries, and in the 5 days in Stockholm this place was the best. Buffet style's can be hit or miss, Hermans was not a miss. Also the view from the terrace outside is amazing if you are there in the mild weather. I didnt try desserts because I was so full from great buffet, but was told all desserts are vegan. Price was normal for Stockholm. We had to wait in line but luckily not too long. The staff all spoke perfect English as well. I would 100% go back. Plus added bonus smokers couldn't smoke outside on the terrace and ruin non-smokers fresh air.




Updated from previous review on 2017-09-21

Pros: All you can eat buffet., Close to Photography Museum/ great view., Pleasant staff/ non smoking on terrace YAY

Cons: Entrance is a bit off putting.

Photo of Hermans Vegetarian Restaurant and Garden Café  by <a href="/members/profile/veganliferiley">veganliferiley</a> <br/>Lasagne was amazing and super fresh salads <br/> September 21, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/1180/306859'>Report</a>

Lasagne was amazing and super fresh salads

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Lovely place - Edit

Lovely place, nice views,all you can eat. Everything vegan. Absolutely recommended

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

superb food and good atmosphere - Edit

Great food and a good atmosphere, just bear in mind that patience is a must as it was quite busy

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good food - great view! - Edit

The food was above average, but not much more. We sat outside in the sun with a great view over the city. Look out for the seagulls or they will eat your food!

Huge line to get in.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great view - Edit

A buffet-style cafe with a stunning city view terrace. I didn't enjoy so much my meal as I did the view ;) nevertheless it is another more or less cheap option to eat decent veg food in such an expensive city as Stockholm.

Updated from previous review on 2017-09-02

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A buffet with a view - Edit

We visited here on the last night of our holiday. As most reviewers have already mentioned, the panoramic views are stunning and we were lucky enough to get a prime spot outside. Normally I'm not a big fan of buffets but the food was very tasty especially the lasagne and curry and there were plenty of other options available to cater for everyone. You can also get some grilled veggies from the BBQ downstairs. As with most buffets you can expect buffet traffic whilst you wait for your food but the wait is worthwhile in the end. Student discount is also available, which was most welcome when we paid for your food.

Pros: Tasty vegan food, Panoramic views, Student discount

Cons: Buffet traffic

Photo of Hermans Vegetarian Restaurant and Garden Café  by <a href="/members/profile/deadpledge">deadpledge</a> <br/>Lasagne and BBQ grilled vegetables <br/> September 2, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/1180/299980'>Report</a>

Lasagne and BBQ grilled vegetables

Photo of Hermans Vegetarian Restaurant and Garden Café  by <a href="/members/profile/deadpledge">deadpledge</a> <br/>Buffet plate <br/> September 2, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/1180/299979'>Report</a>

Buffet plate

Photo of Hermans Vegetarian Restaurant and Garden Café  by <a href="/members/profile/deadpledge">deadpledge</a> <br/>Lasagne, curry, pasta and salad <br/> September 2, 2017  - <a href='/contact/abuse/image/1180/299978'>Report</a>

Lasagne, curry, pasta and salad

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

No organic food - Edit

They should use organic food and good quality ingredients if they want to charge so much. The food was nothing special.
I´m complaining because the sign outside the restaurant used to say that they cook with organic ingredients and it turned out to be false advertising just like in many other places.

Pros: good view

Cons: no organic food, nothing special

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Come here for both food and view - Edit

This Smörgåsbord of vegan food is great! Plenty of salads, spreads and raw cakes. There are many options for the gluten free and raw foodie, on top of that - the view here is impeccable.

Pros: Student discounts, Beautiful view

Cons: Pricey for non-students

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Nice vegan buffet - Edit

Lots of glutenfree choices. The buffet was quite small but sufficient I guess. Bit pricy though. Long waiting lines. We called to make a reservation but we were told they don't do reservations. When we arrived lots of tables were reserved. Places indoor are narrow and crowded. All in all we had a good meal. Tea, coffee and water for free (that's a good thing, otherwise the waiting line would be really long and it makes up for the price of the buffet). Most food tasted good.

Pros: lots of glutenfree options

Cons: Bit expensive, not much options, crowded

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

View and cakes - Edit

Fair traditional vegetarian buffet with many vegan alternatives. Tasty cakes and the best view you can get in Stockholm. Very pricey and often crowded on weekends.

Pros: View, Cakes, Location

Cons: Pricey, Crowded in weekends

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

there's a grill downstairs - Edit

All you can eat, coffee included but dessert is separate.

If you go, make sure to go outside with your plate and downstairs to get some grilled veggies. We completely missed out on this as there's no signage (at least none in English that I could see) and the cashier didn't mention it at all. We only spotted it on the way out because we saw the smoke.

Pros: all you can eat , variety

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful vegan buffet - Edit

So many choices!! Lasagna, curry, all kinds of salads, fresh bread, wonderful desserts! This place was magical!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great buffet and wonderful atmosphere - Edit

Great buffet, you can barely try everything before you are full ;). Included in the price for the buffet are hot and cold dishes, water, tea and coffee. For other drinks and desserts you pay extra. Price for the buffet: 195 SEK, with a valid student ID you pay half price for the buffet if you buy an extra drink! The staff is friendly and the atmosphere is very good.

Pros: 100 % vegan, good value if you are a student.

Cons: Maybe a bit on the pricy side if you are not a stu

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Classic spot in Stockholm - Edit

Hermans has been around since the '90s and is still an institution for vegans and vegetarians all over town – a classic spot still going strong. To be clear, nowadays the entire buffet is 100% vegan. This hasn't always been the case so I totally get some of the other comments about this. Feel free to ask the staff if you need assurance, the place could probably make this clearer though e.g. on their website.

About the food itself. It's a great buffet with plenty of choices in line with different types of cuisine, but what really stands out is the lasagna that you just can't get enough of. They did try to replace it with something vaguely resembling vegan shepherd's pie some time ago, that didn't work out, was a bad decision, and one that has now been corrected.

At around 25 USD the price is a bit too high in my opinion, but I'd say it's still worth it. In summertime you won't find a better view of Stockholm, especially if you pick seats outdoors closest to the overlook. Do note that students get a 50% discount on weekdays after 3 PM and all day on weekends. If you're eligible for this (with some type of ID to prove it) this is suddenly the best value for money you'll find in vegan Stockholm.

As a vegan visiting or travelling through Stockholm, don't miss Hermans, you will enjoy it, as many here have for many years.

Updated from previous review on 2017-08-13

Pros: The view, The lasagna

Cons: A bit pricey

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best cakes, vegan lasagna and view in Stockholm - Edit

This is a classic for several solid reasons. Everything served here is vegan and (almost) everything tastes great. If you are a student the buffet is about 10€ cheaper. The view is wonderful, with a panorama of Stockholm's prettiest parts. In the summer time a big garden seats well over a hundred and offers hammocks for relaxation once you are stuffed from the buffet. The coconut cake is the best one they offer. They carry raw desserts as well. In the Christmas time they make the buffet Christmas inspired. That's a downgrade as they remove their best course: the awesome vegan lasagna.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Dream buffet - Edit

Amazing buffet! Good selection of cold and hot items. Everything I could have wanted!

Pros: Amazing food, Eat as much as you wish, Nice setting

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

buffet! - Edit

Unclear if everything is vegan, other than that it's really good with marvelous views

Pros: Lots of vegan options, amazing view

Cons: unclear if everything is vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Go here for the view not the food - Edit

This is located at a tourist location and is in it's roots a tourist trap. The view however is amazing.

The buffet food is real bad, they now say they are fully vegan. Based on history I don't really trust them fully though.

The food is basically what you would think of when you heard vegetarian restaurant in the 90s. It's boring and most things are just average. If the prices where okey this would be okey but the prices hear matches fancy restaurants.

Also the deserts are said to be good, although I have not tried one

Pros: The View, Location, Perhaps the desert

Cons: Prices, Taste

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good - Edit

Very nice buffet and an amazing view with a relaxed atmosphere but expensive.

Pros: Amazing view, Great food

Cons: Expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing!! - Edit

I visited Stockholm recently, and this was my first meal in Sweden! There were so many options! Even my carnivore parents liked Hermans. I had lasagna, a salad, potatoes, bread with veggie butter, rice, and hummus! Oh, and a "few" desserts! I wanted to try a little bit of everything, you know! I totally recommend the apple pie! Oh! And the view is amazing, too!

Pros: Food, Service, View

Cons: Little Instruction on What to Do (multiple buffets

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Unique Vegan BBQ and Buffet - Edit

My family and I ate at this vegan restaurant in July 2017. It was recommended to us by the staff member Oskar of an archipelago tour we went on. We ate there our 1st night in Stockholm and the location was great - very close to our hotel. Hermans has beautiful patio and outdoor seating and great ambience, with pictures of famous vegetarians on the walls. It is Buffet style and you pay for your plate. Inside is a huge salad bar and outside there is a vegan grill - soy sausages and grilled potatoes and vegetables - not to be missed. The veggie lasagna was excellent. Restaurant is family friendly though a bit expensive. Definitely recommend.

Pros: Family-friendly, Outdoor Seating, Vegan BBQ

Cons: Expensive, More salads than cooked food options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing view - Edit

Just opposite the Photography Museum (by the way, go there, it's really worth it if you like photography :-) and overlooking the Stockholm skyline, this restaurant is a must-go if you are visiting this beautiful city. With plenty of seats (both inside and outside) and an amazing view, you can have a great experience while thoroughly enjoying your food. It's a buffet kind of place, the price is around 20 euros and you can get as much as you like and come back for more if you are still hungry, coffee and tea are included in the price. There is plenty of choice for both raw and cooked dishes. The price of drinks is a bit disproportionate to the rest but I guess this is a general trend in whole Sweden, not only here. Nice music in the background.

Pros: Beautiful view, Plenty of choice, Coffee and tea included in the price

Cons: Drinks too expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

amazing - Edit

Wirklich tolle und leckere auswahl, sehr gemütlich und eine tolle auswahl

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Stockholm Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Hermans Vegetarian Restaurant and Garden Café closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 19504 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support