CLOSED: Henderson's Vegan

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 192 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

25c Thistle St, Edinburgh, Scotland

The Henderson's business includes vegetarian restaurants, a shop and deli, and art gallery. This bistro's menu is reported all vegan, Nov 2015. Reported closed, Jul 2020.

Categories: Vegan, Organic, Western, Beer/Wine, Delivery, Take-out, Catering, Scottish

192 Reviews

First Review by McVegan01

PaulRobertCalder

Points +83

Vegetarian
21 Jun 2020

HappyCow🌟🌟🌟🌟

Was super busy! And a little pricey! But I would recommend 🙂🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿

OlaPurgal

Points +154

Vegan
28 May 2020

Great haggis!

I was really glad to taste vegan haggis. It was delicious 😍

TejD

Points +210

Vegan
04 May 2020

Great options, service and meal!

Food is excellent. Generous portions and tasty flavours. Friendly service. Wonderful all round!

Advertisement

Aga2306

Points +37

Vegan
07 Mar 2020

Good vibes

Henderson’s Vegan is a kind of place where you can feel a good atmosphere from the moment when you open the door. Stylish, nicely decorated and very kind service.

The food was great as well. I had haggis. It’s impossible for me to compare it to traditional haggis as I have never eaten one but it was very good meal. My non vegan friend had sliders and liked it a lot. For dessert I had delicious chocolate cake and a very good rooibos tea.

I will definitely come back to Henderson’s if I visit Edinburgh again.

noochandpooch

Points +52

Vegan
06 Mar 2020

Good soup!

Came here with friends and we all got the soup special- buffalo cauliflower and was one of the tastiest dishes I’ve had. Staff also helpful as we had pram in with us and helped us get seated comfortably

Pros: Nice wee gem in the city, Good soup

And

Points +44

Vegan
03 Mar 2020

Good vegan restaurant

Good all vegan restaurant. Staff were okay, food was good.
Found the haggis a bit dry, have had nicer vegan haggis elsewhere in Edinburgh.
Quite small, so would recommend booking. About £20 for two courses.

Pros: All vegan, Not too expensive

Cons: Haggis a bit dry

Sallylovestony

Points +161

Vegan
01 Mar 2020

Special food beautifully presented

A real treat with lovely creative vegan dishes

Pros: Fantastic vegan dishes, Amazing desserts, Very friendly helpful staff

KirsteenS

Points +32

Vegan
23 Feb 2020

January 2020 visit

Great central location in Edinburgh 'New Town'. Really pleased to see my nations capital taking vegan food seriously. Had a great 3 course meal. Tried the Vegan Haggis, but it wasn't for me (good flavours just on the dry side).

Pros: Location and menu options.

Cons: Smallish property so book ahead.

YvonneB

Points +43

Vegan
21 Feb 2020

Fab wee place

My first time in Edinburgh and was thrilled to find this vegan restaurant just yards from where i was staying. A good menu, i had the vegan haggis which was lovely and my omni husband also enjoyed the food! Friendly, helpful staff. Will definitely visit again next time i’m in the city.

Pros: Everything vegan!

Elaine.vh

Points +78

Vegan
27 Jan 2020

Authentic high quality plantbased restaurant

Hendersons organized a vegan burns night with the tradional 3 course dinner, but all vegan. It was absolutely amazing, the food is full of flavour. Especially their haggis, we went back for it. The staff is really caring and friendly as well.

michaeldul

Points +49

Vegetarian
25 Jan 2020

Great place for a quick meal

With a selection of hot foods and salads, this place is always a solid choice for a hearty meal during your city exploration. Today’s visit did not disappoint as well. With plethora of choices, every person can chose what they fancy. A welcomed addition was a kids menu. My only complaint is that some hot food options are a bit too greasy. They would benefit from more veg at the expense of some vegan cheese (which is quite heavy).

Pros: Choices, choices, Great Salads, Atmosphere

Cons: Price is quite high, Some options could be less greasy

Tresgraces

Points +426

Vegan
15 Jan 2020

Try the Haggis

As a vegan the word haggis probably makes your stomach turn but the vegan haggis here is amazing. They have multiple locations in the city (some near each other) so it might be hard for visitors to find the right one. Worth the search though!!

Pros: Excellent food , Nice vibe

RheaPorter

Points +25

Vegetarian
02 Jan 2020

Excellent

We loved the food here - everything on the menu is vegan. My husband and I had a three course meal and each had a different dish, all was very tasty. I can personally recommend the pasta.

FDudge

Points +47

Vegan
01 Jan 2020

Great Restaurant

Enjoyed our meal here, I had the vegan haggis and it was amazing 😊

Pros: Full vegan menu , Great, quirky vibe , Lovely staff

veganmz

Points +134

Vegan
29 Dec 2019

Excellent dining experience

The restaraunt definitely has a more fancy feel than your regular vegan burger bar-the word sophisticated comes to mind when thinking of the delicious raspberry lemonade I had with my meal which tasted very fresh. I also had the pasta off the menu and they made me an improptu dessert-cake with ice cream on the side. Overall, my visit was amazing, the waitress was really nice and made me my custom dessert, the atmosphere was relaxing and laid back yet the restaraunt felt really nice. The food was tasty, the dessert was amazing and it really has a more luxurious feel, especially with the attention to detail which is reflected in the slightly higher price. The only thing that could be seen as a negative is its almost hidden location behind the henderson store.

CLRtraveller

Points +4719

Vegan
24 Dec 2019

Interesting menu

Opens at 12 noon, which is later than the two other Henderson's eateries around the corner). Interesting menu items. I’ll be back to try more, including dessert. First time, I had the tasty jackfruit stew with quinoa donuts and crispy kale. Second time, I had the cauliflower soup topped with roasted corn and salsa, which was nice. Local bottled beers. Wines. Not spectacular food but very good, imo. Service okay. WiFi available.

Pros: all vegan

larryshrimp

Points +126

Vegan
23 Dec 2019

Delicious food

I went to a Henderson’s Vegan for their Christmas special and it was gorgeous. Lovely staff, great food, nice atmosphere. Also in a fantastic location.

caw

Points +1553

Vegan
20 Dec 2019

Nice but a little underwhelming

Menu items all sound exciting but dishes are sometimes disappointing. Peach and sweet potato tagine was bland and naan claggy. Carrot bruschetta delicious though.
Staff are lovely though and it's a beautiful place to eat.

Pros: Variety on menu, staff, interior

Cons: Slow service, occasionally underwhelming food

Hoptza

Points +90

Vegan
19 Nov 2019

🌱

I didn’t like haggis, but the starters and tofu teriyaki was delicious 😋

Brightonvegancatlady

Points +28

Vegan
17 Nov 2019

Not open until 12 on Sundays. Info wrong. Patisserie Valerie nearest alternative

Be warned - the info here is very wrong! We ended up wandering about for ages. Most other nearby recommended places also not open. Stumbled across Patisserie Valerie that did a pretty good veggie breakfast and has soya and almond milk

Pros: Looked great. If only we could have eaten there!

AdrianaGoram

Points +905

Vegan
07 Nov 2019

Good

The pasta and mousse was delicious

Cons: They have a non vegan restaurant , Expensive

Teryunna

Points +104

Vegetarian
23 Oct 2019

Average taste of food

After reading amazing reviews about this place we decided to have lunch here. The restaurant is small, the interior is nice. All meals on the menu looked interesting but weren’t that tasty in reality. We had haggis and jackfruit in tomato-coconut stew. Haggis completely lacked flavor, only potato and caramelized onions that came with it somewhat saved the overall taste of the dish. Jackfruit stew was too sour, it was difficult to taste anything else in this dish because of the acidity. When it comes to price and quality, the food is overpriced in comparison to the quality you get. This kind of cooking one would expected in a canteen/ eatery rather than in a restaurant and hence the prices are too high for such kind of cooking.

Pros: Vegan

Cons: Too expensive for average taste

Realoff

Points +21

Vegetarian
23 Oct 2019

Tasteless and overpriced food

The place is overpriced. Haggis were tasteless and bland. And jackfruit was sour. The spices that were used and jackfruit do not match together. It is a pity if that is their idea of how vegan food should taste like.

Pros: Friendly staff

Cons: Tasteless and overpriced food

whumpty

Points +286

Vegan
26 Sep 2019

Food is good but slow service

Food was good, but not amazing. Really liked the onion rings and the crispy tofu though. The Buddha bowl is nice and the sliders are are ok. Wasn’t blown away for the cost especially with so many options around but it was good. The service was very slow even though there wasn’t many people on. The waiter made us feel like we were a nuisance to be there.

Pros: Food is nice enough , Some varied and different options , Nice small restaurant

Cons: Service slow, Waiter a bit unfriendly , Expensive

trollhamn

Points +190

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

Would visit again!

I thought this was one of the best restaurants I got to visit during my five day stay in edinburgh, I got a jackfruit coconut stew with some type of sweet potato bites. My sister got a tofu bowl of some kind. Then we also got dessert, white chocolate mousse and a chocolate cake (which was maybe a bit too dry) we ordered two lemonade and got tea aswell, it all landed on around 45£ (if I remember correctly)

Almost all seats were reserved when we got there on a Tuesday evening and several people had to turn at the door, so maybe reserve a table if you want to be sure.

Pros: Fully vegan and good quality, Good atmosphere and nice staff, Free wifi

Cons: Dry cake (probably a one time thing)

fipzos

Points +43

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

One of the best vegan restaurants

I can recommend the haggis and the desserts. Will definately try more of the menu

Pros: The cheesecake is to die for

thebishop

Points +48

Vegan
09 Sep 2019

Menu needs work

Met a friend here for dinner.

Yes, it's nice the menu is all vegan and you have a restaurant atmosphere but the menu needs improvement. When the food came out, the lack of care in presentation and average combination of flavours is obvious. Wines also average.

With a better menu, I would come back because I like the feeling and atmosphere of the place but the quality of the food wouldn't encourage my repeat business.

Overall, ok.

Pros: Location, All vegan, Nice place

Cons: Pricey, Average Food, Poor wine

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Edinburgh Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Henderson's Vegan closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 35405 times.