Ovo
Japanese
Organic
Delivery
Take-out
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Small, non-descript location at the far end of eclectic Lexington Ave in funky Asheville. The menu is varied and includes many vegan specific food choices, from sushi to large tofu plates and hot pots. Open Tue-Sat 4:30pm-9:00pm, Wed-Sat 12:00pm-2:00pm.


Venue map for Heiwa Shokudo
© OpenStreetMap contributors

15 Reviews

First Review by iangrout1

Passout

Points +704

Vegan
13 Jul 2023

Good sushi and other options

Clearly marked menu for non-sushi items. Sushi is pretty straightforward to choose even though the menu isn't marked as it clearly lists the ingredients.

Advertisement

kenny.cakes

Points +1395

Vegan
08 Jan 2023

An Easy 5 Stars

I love the small environment but can be a lengthy wait on a busy day. So much actually good vegan sushi to choose from. I get the tofu appetizer, asparagus tempura roll, sweet potato tempura roll add almond butter, and the tempeh roll. They also have complimentary tea available.

WNCVegan

Points +110

Vegan
21 Jul 2022

Excellent food, friendly staff

The food is always five -star quality without exception. Staff are always friendly and personable while staying thoroughly professional.

Only reason for 4 stars is they can be slow when they're not slammed. In fairness, they're usually slammed and for good reason, and i think 4.5 stars would bea more accurate score.

Pros: Vegan options galore, Food is always exceptional, Friendly and professional staff

Cons: Service can be slow at times

veganpatch

Points +5252

Vegan
24 Feb 2021

Delicious and affordable

Cute small restaurant. From other reviews they have a nice patio. The decor was very cozy, we'd like to dine in after covid.

The owner was friendly, offered vegan options upon request and happily provided curbside pickup. There is a sign for a 10min curbside pickup right in front of the door.

This is our favorite Japanese restaurant in Asheville. We've been to Japan and found the food here to be authentic. We look forward to trying more items on the menu. Their online menu doesn't seem to have a full menu but there are some labeled items.

Miso soup: Wow, so good. We crave good miso soup since our trip to Japan and it is surprising hard to find.

Vegetable Korokke (breaded and fried mashed potatoes): Delicious! My favorite item here.

Alligator Sushi: So so, it's mainly avocado and asparagus. We didn't like the texture (too soft from all of the avocado), decent flavor but we would get something else next time.

Sweetie Pie Sushi: Really delicious, the flavors balance nicely.

Garlic tempeh: good flavor but the tempeh was a bit tough. It would have been greatly improved by boiling the tempeh for 10min to soften it prior to adding sauce. We'd order again.

Tofu Hot Pot: Rich flavor, but not to my liking. Tasted a lot like sweet and sour soup

Vegetable Ramen with soba noodles: the broth seemed to be a mushroom base. The broth was good but overall the dish lacked flavor. I wouldn't get again.

Pros: Miso soup is great , Favorite dish: Vegetable Korokke, Good Sushi

hlc22

Points +46

Vegan
23 Jan 2021

So good!!

I got the sweet potato/avocado/almond butter roll and the spicy tempeh roll. Both were delicious!!

SabCelli7

Points +403

Vegan
20 Feb 2020

Amazing!

There were so many vegan options and so many different types of vegan sushi I never thought to even try. You can add basically anything to your roll, including almond butter which I thought was super unique. The sweet pie roll was my favorite out of the two we tried. I also ordered the tofu hot pot and it was delicious. It had a little spice and so much flavor. 10/10 recommend this place if you’re visiting Asheville and in the mood for some sushi/good noodle soup!

Pros: Lots of options , Decent prices , Cute atmosphere

ArwenCarlin

Points +96

Vegan
23 Jan 2020

Amazing food!

I love this place! Their assorted pickle appetizer is my favorite along with the ambassador soup and the Godzilla roll with almond butter 🌱🤤

Pros: Delicious vegan options

Cons: Serves flesh foods

McMallory

Points +1636

Vegan
03 Nov 2019

Great sushi, sake, apps, and noodles

Great place! We shared an appetizer and a vegan sushi roll (spicy tempeh - it was legit). I had the vegan “ramen,” except their ramen noodles weren’t vegan so I had to swap in soba. It was still really excellent, especially on a chilly night.

Great (and inexpensive) sake options, too.

Would definitely go again next time I’m in Asheville.

ketzler

Points +202

Vegan
12 Oct 2019

Best Vegan Sushi in Asheville

I LONG for vegan sushi that is creative and fun like Omni sushi, but just replaces the fish with tofu or tempeh. Rolls with mango, lemon, cashew based cream cheese, vegan mayo.... all the fun stuff. There are so many possibilities! While Heiwa does have inari and tempeh, the vegan rolls available were still a bit boring, most very vegetable-y. I give four stars because they do have the most available options for Asheville, I just feel like there is room to have a truly spectacular vegan sushi menu. And I feel like there is a gaping hole in the market in Asheville that someone could/should easily fill!! We had sushi only, so I can’t speak to their other vegan dishes, noddles, etc. they do offer a lot of options which is greatly appreciated.

Pros: Plentiful vegan options,, usually easy parking (for downtown,, phenomenal waitstaff.

Cons: No Kanpyo (pickled squash).

SamAnthony

Points +1691

Vegan
24 Apr 2019

5 stars for vegan Japanese food!

Wish I could give five stars to this place! Better than some of the vegetarian and vegan restaurants around.

Serious thought out vegan options throughout the whole menu. Stuff like tempeh avocado rolls, tofu katsu (cooked to perfection!!), Vegan ramen, etc.

Prices are amazing. Go for lunch especially to get killer deals. Lunch boxes range from 8-13 depending on what you get, but even the cheaper ones are super filling and delicious.

Cute outdoor patio and friendly staff. Free parking lot (not that big but it's still a nice thing to have)

Pros: Tons of intentional vegan options, Patio, Great prices

typeoneinthesun

Points +110

Vegan
23 Mar 2019

My favorite spot in Asheville!

This place is the best! So many vegan options, and free green tea with every meal! The tempeh sushi roll and sweetie pie rolls are my favorites. Lots of sake options too! It’s very reasonably priced, and although it’s a very small space, the environment is very nice and welcoming.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Free tea, Great servers

Cons: Small space, Wait times, no reservations

HopefulForChange

Points +112

Vegan
04 Mar 2019

My Favorite

As an Asheville resident vegan, I confess that this is my favorite restaurant in town! I moved to Asheville in 2008. Honestly, Asheville is the best place for vegans that I have experienced in my many travels. But Heiwa Shokudo takes the prize for me! Their spicy garlic tempeh is divine! The Sweetie Pie Roll and the Altenderfer Roll make me very happy!

Pros: Best original vegan sushi rolls!, Lots of vegan options , Tempeh dishes that are divine

Cons: Parking is a challenge, they DO have a tiny lot

RovingVegans

Points +553

Vegan
12 Feb 2019

Great eats!

I’m so glad I found this place. It’s completely comfort food for me. Everything was so incredibly flavorful. I got the spicy garlic veggie hot pot with a side of soba noodles. It was heavenly. The bowl was filled with so many veggies that it’s like a Tate explosion in every bite. My husband got the spicy eggplant and veggie rolls. They were really good also. However, the eggplant was too oily. We would have enjoyed it so much more if it wasn’t so greasy.

Edit: we came back a second time and was fond the noodle broth was not vegan. I would ask to clarify.

jodielou

Points +83

Vegan
08 Oct 2018

Best Japanese restaurant in Asheville!

Lots of vegan options including the udon noodle bowls (get it with the seaweed broth) and rolls. Cozy and intimate in the cooler weather inside and enjoy the patio seating when it's nice out.

iangrout1

Points +54

Vegan
10 Jul 2018

Best Sushi in AVL

Not sure why this place doesn’t have more reviews on here. The food is great, especially the udon soup (with seaweed broth) and vegan sushi. The Altenderfer roll is bonkers (tempeh, avocado, almond butter, maple syrup. Whaaaaat?) The space is a little cramped and dark, but in an atmospheric and cozy way. It’s definitely worth a visit.




This page has been viewed 5865 times.