Lacto
Ovo
International
Macrobiotic
Organic
Beer/Wine
Gluten-free
Australian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Restaurant featuring twelve vegan items on the menu. Open Wed-Sat 5:00pm-10:00pm. Closed Sun-Tue.


Venue map for Harpoon Social Club
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by Paramed007

Naust

Points +336

Vegan
04 Sep 2022

Good service

Harpoon Social Club has plenty of vegan options.
I really enjoyed the Okonomiyaki Fries.
The service is always really friendly and helpful.
If you like Japanese it’s definitely worth visiting

Pros: Plenty of vegan options , Friendly staff

Cons: Small space with limited seating

Advertisement

staywildveganchild

Points +808

Vegan
30 Jun 2021

Tonnes of vegan options!

Loved Harpoon Social Club! And as per usual ordered way too much because I couldn’t decide what to get. Ordered the karaange cauliflower, agedashi tofu, veg gyoza and veg ramen. The only thing I probably wouldn’t order again was the agedashi tofu, the rest was delish!!

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Yum!, Japanese cocktails

Ruwi

Points +745

Vegan
16 May 2021

Delicious!

Thoroughly enjoyed our meals at the Harpoon social club. Lots of vegan options and the staff are knowledgable and lovely. We tried the okinmiyaki fries, sweet potato and the cauliflower dish; it was all delicious and filling.

Pros: Lots of interesting vegan options

Cons: No vegan dessert options

NDVegan

Points +6140

Vegan
02 Feb 2021

Busy busy week run business

Update: Rice cakes are no longer available. So sad. There aren't any mains I like. They need a good vegan main.
Edamame is good. Pumpkin croquettes are good. Potato salad is tiny but tasty. Cauliflower is good but kale is super oily. New mapo tofu, rice cake dish is gross. Could not eat.

This is a nice place to go out in Bendigo. The rice cakes are so trippy but they grow on you & now I am a total fan! They are rice ‘cakes’, (tubes/chips) with lemon, sesame & mayo. Nothing like anything I have ever tasted before, ever! So unusual & so cool!

Pros: Fresh food

Cons: Need hot drinks & vegan dessert, Need a good vegan main. I don't like any

Mycall

Points +142

Vegan
30 Dec 2020

Revisit 30/12/20 still OMG Yummmmmm

We have been looking forward to returning to Harpoon since our first visit 18 months ago. Finally being able to travel we booked in and had laneway seating which was charming. Potato salad was delicious. Cauliflower and kale dish so good and tasty. I don't think it was as oily as some have mentioned, I think it was the delicious sticky sauce that made it so moist and moreish. The loaded fries recipe has changed and we loved them just as much. I'm not a fan of shitake mushroom but here they made them taste great. We did swap the vegan truffle mayo for regular vegan mayo as I don't like truffle, and that was no problem. The ramen we ate was excellent. So spicy. So tasty. We are a lot of food...but we'd waited so long to return. We were not disappointed. Great that you can now book but that may just be a symptom of Covid...but a good side affect I hope remains for our next return visit. The staff, once again, were lovely.

My husband and I (both vegan) tried the loaded fries and the spicy ramen. Wow. How can fries seriously be this good? They were one of the dirrrrrrtiest and by that I mean disgustingly brilliant and tasty things I’ve eaten in a long time. Flavour was bang on. And the ramen was better than any I’ve eaten from around the world. Tiny place. Huge flavours. Great staff. Open more in other cities please. So so good. Every bite of food had loads of flavour. Although I live a way away, I already know I’ll be back. Just not sure when. Yum.

Pros: Vegan Dishes and options are so delicious. , Lovely lovely staff. , Good size portions.

Cons: Tiny place (but also part of its charm). , Not near my home.

Carlyc

Points +327

Vegan
21 Feb 2020

Cute dinner spot

Great range of vegan options for an Omni restaurant - so much to choose from.

Pros: Unique , Great options , Cute interior

MarianBlake

Points +138

Vegan
01 Jul 2019

One of my favourite in Bendigo

Tasty food, good vibes

Pros: Tasty food, Good vibes, Good alcohol selection

Cons: A bit pricy, Can get busy and you can’t book

Necia11

Points +268

Vegan
29 Jun 2019

So many delish options!

Wow we were overwhelmed by both the drinks and dinner menu. We over ordered as we were so excited by the choose. My favs were the agadashi satay tofu & burnt cabbage! The ramen was delish too. Highly recommend

Pros: Lots of vegan dishes, Efficiency and friendliness of staff

raschelle

Points +173

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Great vegan options and service

Great little Japanese restaurant with atleast 11 vegan options. Very friendly staff.

Pros: Lots of vegan options , Delicious , Friendly staff

ZerinKnight

Points +49

Vegan
30 May 2019

Disappointed

I had heard so many people raving about Harpoon that I had to try it. Sadly, I was so disappointed. My main had crispy rice and fried kale, which were so oily they totally ruined the dish. The Creme Brûlée was quite pleasant, despite not being much like a creme brûlée. I did like it though, especially the crunchy topping. Perhaps I just ordered the wrong food that day so I’m going to try it again.

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-30

Pros: Lovely, friendly service

Cons: My dish was far too oily

TabithaA

Points +4437

Vegan
08 Mar 2019

Wow

Super impressed, from the moment I walked in I was greeted with excellent service. The menu has heaps of vegan options, and the meal size varies from small to huge. Great selection overall. Make sure you have the pumpkin croquette, it’s hella good! I had spicy ramen and it was huge and incredibly tasty. They don’t take bookings, so it’s a first in kinda system, not very wheelchair or walker friendly, so be mindful of that. Very impressed.

Pros: Excellent service, Excellent vegan choices, Excellent taste

Cons: Small not many tables, Don’t take reservations

kateamelia

Points +196

Vegan
01 Mar 2019

So many veg options

Great spot for vegans and vegetarians! Food was great, the loaded fries and ramen were a highlight! Service was quick and staff were super friendly 😊

Paramed007

Points +66

Vegan
09 Nov 2018

Awesome place to eat in Bendigo

This is a unique place to eat, socialise or just have a drink. It is super Vegan or Vegitarian friendly for Bendigo with a large selection of food. The owners are a couple that chef and serve and are super friendly and want you to have a good time without any prejudices. Great place to try awesome food in Bendigo!

Pros: Lots of Vegan options , Super friendly staff who love Vegan & Vegetarians, No bookings, can book for 6 or more people




This page has been viewed 6556 times.