• Harmony Cafe

  • (10)
    19
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Vegan-friendly
Chinese
Take-out
Pan-Asian
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Chinese and Asian food using many meat substitutes. Most dishes can be made vegan upon request. Try the vegetarian fish. 10 minute walk from Foggy Bottom/GWU and Rosslyn Metro stations. Open Mon-Sun 11:30am-10:00pm.


Venue map for Harmony Cafe
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by DC Vegan

ElissaBVegan

Points +2325

Vegan
04 Apr 2022

Nice atmosphere, ok food

It’s a cute place but the food is pretty standard. Lots of vegan options which is a big plus.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Attractive atmosphere

Cons: So, so food

Advertisement

Mimjy

Points +205

Vegan
17 May 2021

Great value and lots of vegan options

Harmony Cafe deserves more attention. They have a large menu with tons of vegan options at a great price! We like the string beans, Singapore vermicelli noodles, garlic eggplant, and kung pao tofu. Prices are great and portions are large. Tough to find a better value.

Pros: Lots of vegan options, large portions, good price.

Cons: The garlic sauce, while delicious, is a bit sweet.

Vegan Vagabond

Points +2580

Vegan
15 Jun 2019

Lots and lots of vegan options

This place looks very small from the outside. It’s not a big place, but the storefront makes it appear to be tiny. The restaurant itself is downstairs. The menu is huge. I attached pictures of the menu. For each section, they indicate a veg alternative, such as “Beef/Soy Beef.” Nearly everything can be made vegan. The food is good and the prices are reasonable. Worth a look.

AimeeS

Points +317

Vegan
25 Mar 2018

Not too shabby!

I was on the fence about trying this place out because of previous reviews but we really enjoyed our dinner here. They can make almost anything on the menu vegan with different faux meats or just do the typical tofu and vegetable fare, which was kind of fun. It tasted like typical Chinese American restaurant food, which I don’t mind one bit when I’m in the mood. Would definitely go again.

Pros: Many options, cute atmosphere

Cons: inexpensive, long wait for food

the.picky.eater

Points +111

Vegetarian
17 Nov 2017

veggie friendly Chinese

Very friendly staff at this hole in the wall, relaxing atmosphere. Food wasn't a winner for me :(
Had the tofu satay, satay sauce was gross
Had Kung pow tofu, not hot, at all despite asking for extra spicy and again sauce was gross.
Maybe I picked the wrong things but I won't be back to find out :/

hjdevivo

Points +67

Vegan
16 Jun 2017

Good food, great deal

This hole-in-the wall has an extensive vegan menu with veggie meats made from soy. The server was very friendly and knowledgeable about what was vegan. The price can't be beat in the area. Food was tasty and the portions were a good size. If we go back to D.C. we'll definitely hit it up again!

Pros: Lots of vegan options

ke1iana

Points +35

Vegan
04 May 2014

Lots of options, disappointed in execution

I saw a lot of good ratings for this place on various websites and so thought we should give it a try. From the curb, you would never stop and feel enticed to go to the basement level restaurant because there is no curb appeal whatsoever. It even looks questionable. But we decided to give it a go since we had good reviews and there were lots of vegan options.

The food is reasonably pried but the quality was a bit disappointing. They didn't have any brown rice, only white rice. When I asked what was in their "brown house sauce" they couldn't answer me. The food we did receive was very oily. As much as I wanted to love it, I wouldn't go back.

The service was good and the waitress was very friendly.

Pros: Good location, Not expensive

Cons: Oily and processed, Mystery sauce questionable, No brown rice

michelec

Points +49

Vegan
20 Oct 2012

Not stellar, but a good bargain and great location

This food was mediocre and nothing out of the ordinary, but it is a nice find right in the middle of all the action on M Street. We were there during the record-breaking heat and humidity in the Summer of 2012, and arrived for lunch very hungry and very thirsty. The air conditioning was on high, and our empathetic waitress kept our glasses full of ice water. The dining room is below ground level, which means no windows but it also means very quiet and tranquil. It was a nice respite from the activity on M Street. The price was great, something like $6-$7 for a full lunch special of entree, salad, egg roll and rice. Unfortunately, they only had white rice. We had plenty of food and the service was good. If you're looking for something reasonably priced while enjoying M Street this is your spot but don't expect food artistry.

Pros: price, location, environment

Cons: white rice only, mediocre food

khb

Points +141

Vegan
04 May 2008

A satisfied customer

The carpet is worn and faded, and the menus are fraying, but that's all part of its charm. You can get a vegetarian version of just about any Chinese dish, for far less than other places in the area. The mock meats are not so real that you'd mistake them for the real thing - their "chicken" more closely resembles sausage, but it was still tasty. Portions are generous - every time I've gone, I've had leftovers. Be aware, though, that if you're paying just for yourself, you may be asked to pay in cash.

Pros: cheap, friendly, tasty

Cons: I can't rate it 5 cows, because it's not 100% veg?, What the heck?

DC Vegan

Points +337

Vegan
23 Oct 2007

A veg-friendly oasis in Georgetown

Although they have good days and not-so-good days, Harmony Cafe is mostly good. Almost anything on their extensive menu can be veganized with excellent mock meats, although they do have a vegetable section. A must-have there is the Vegetarian Skewer appetizers, three kabobs of vegetables and soy puffs in a delicious peanut-sesame sauce.

I recently went with a friend who'd never been there, and while a sign said they'd open at 5:00, it was well after that when they opened. The hours can be spotty sometime, as there is only one server and (I have heard) one person doing the cooking. My friend loved the food we got and also enjoyed the atmosphere.

I wouldn't go to Georgetown just to eat there, but if you're nearby, it's a great place to grab a bite.

Pros: Good prices, Good food, Nice atmosphere

Cons: Odd hours sometimes




This page has been viewed 6212 times.