Hari's Vegetarian

  • Vegetarian Vegetarian
    ( 40 reviews )

Provides a vegan bain marie and a range of Hari's menu available for order. Feb 2018 reported not fully vegan. Previously at 157 Broadway. Open Mon-Sat 11:00am-9:00pm.

Categories: Indian, International, Western, Buffet, Fast food, Take-out

40 Reviews

First Review by sbszine

Hari's - Edit

They're okay, one of the few vegan restaurant that's close to my uni (+convenient). Food I must say, is average-- think cafeteria food. When I tried the curry w/ rice (small t/a box $7), I found it to be quite bland, almost like curry flavoured water.... The lasagna($9) is OKAY, though seems a little overcooked and hard.
Staff are nice, Food was average, Prices are average.
Overall average.
They did have deserts in the front display I have yet to try

Updated from previous review on 2018-05-07

Pros: Quick meal when on the go, Friendly staff

Cons: Food doesn't seem very fresh

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Poor Selection. - Edit

This restuarant used be be good and fresh and now every thing sell/serve is either prepared elsewhere and brought over or straight out of packets or tins eg Nachos the the beans seemed to me that they had just popped over the supermarket and ready made ,just poured over corns chips and served.For what they charge it is over priced and not even cooked by them.!!
The mamangement seems to concentrate on students .

Updated from previous review on 2017-06-09

Cons: Not cooked on the spot , cramped space over the previous location, hard to get to .

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hari's Vegetarian - Edit

Came upon Hari's formerly Vrands. Had a salad and two veg curry dishes. Was spicy and tasty. Touch overcooked for me. Serves burritos, nachos, pizza, burgers prices $14:00. Has rice or salad with one, two or three different curries $7-$12. Also takeaways.
Oh dear what a change. Came here today 2nd April 2018. I noticed serving area had moved. We had veg lasagne and spinach with pumpkin and side of rice. My lasagne was very salty and too much over cooked. My friend said rice were like bullets and the spinach, pumpkin was so bland and overcooked.
We both disappointed. After i had choc cheese cake and was frozen unable to eat, so took it away. I'm afraid new owners and dishes has gone down. Like to see comments from others after this posting.

Updated from previous review on 2017-04-01

Pros: Vegan, gluten free and/or vegetarian, Clean and friendly staff, reasonable priced

Cons: Noticed fetta on salad, Salty and bland

1 Response
Read More

veganvirtues 02 Apr 2018 - I have found out new owners and no longer vegan. No signage where the prepared foods for sale saying name of dish or whether it is vegan or vegetarian.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Vegan Food around Central - Edit

If you’re Vegan and work near central this place is for you. For the price these guys are one of the best options around Sydney.

The menu changes daily, but usually they have curries (not spicy), cooked veges, Dahl and Laksa, all served with rice. My fav is the veg Koftas.

They also have some wraps, salads and other smaller takeaway items.

Note: I wouldn’t take anyone on a date here, and it’s a little cramped, but it’s great for lunch or a casual meal with a friend or two. Everything they make can be takeaway too!

Big praise from me. Good value.

Pros: lots of vegan options, generous servings

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

no sauce, smelly restaurant - Edit

While the food on all the photos look great, i was very disappointed. I had a wrap that was just dry salad inside, no sauce whatsoever.

The restaurant looked grimy and it was very smelly. The waiter was slow and confused, didn’t know what was vegan and what vegetarian.

1 Response
Read More

veganvirtues 02 Apr 2018 - The photos were taken under previous owners and then was vegan now vegetarian.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good portion size - Edit

Great food, not all vegan, but have a lot of options. Got the tofu pumpkin salad and a wrap, both great!! The portions compared to price is great, got a lot of food for $14aud. Definitely going back!!

Pros: portion size

Cons: not all vegan

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

so so - Edit

Nothing special, food is ok, samosa we bought were tasteless. Currie’s and rice was so so
Definitely have had better food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good restaurant - Edit

Good restaurant near Central Station. It's possible all you can eat.
I recommend your black forest cake.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best curry! - Edit

I'm not much fond of curries of all kind but yellow curry here was good and they have the best hamburger with the best fries! Quantity was a bit much for Asians, but we ate it all anyway LOL

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

tasty, will be back to try more - Edit

Great lil spot for a nice meal. Had the lasagnia and then the raw caramel slice for desert which were both reallyyy good! Menu also included curry, vegan burger, nachos and burrito which we'll be back to try!

Pros: lots of vegan options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Convenient location and wholesome food - Edit

Good food, good price.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

reliable and delicious - Edit

great spot for quick yummy meal

Pros: I come here it least once a week and it's a reliab

Cons: sometimes the food isn't warm enough but still del

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

One of my favs! - Edit

We come here often for a cheap easy meal. Generous portion sizes! Lasagna is always a winner!

Pros: Yum vegan food, Generous portions , Affordable

Cons: Not open Sunday

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Just okay - Edit

Friday night , we were looking for a bite before a show at the capital theatre, googled and found Harry. We came here with no expectation whatsoever however the food was very bland and somewhat soggy , I had a few mouthful of the lagsana and a few chips . Then price is okay but the food selection would have been better . It was a Friday night and the place is really quiet , not in a rush to come back !

Pros: Good location , Friendly staffs , Quick and go

Cons: Food is not great , Poorly decor

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great serving sizes! - Edit

Very generous with serving portions. Staff are friendly and there was a good variety of options. Lasagna was super yum and filling!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Disappointed - Edit

I'd been meaning to try Hari's and finally found myself staying nearby. What a disappointment it was then to actually eat there. I went about 6pm and the food in the bain marie looked like it had been there for a long time - the lasagna was all gone. I then made the mistake of ordering a ready made pizza and chips. The pizza was merely OK - not something I'd rush back for in the future. The chips took a while and when they arrived it was a huge bowl...of very ordinary and not very tasty chips. It's cheap-ish but you can get a better deal in Chinatown which is almost next door.
The other thing I noticed was that although it was a peak time for restaurants I was the only customer in the half hour I spent there. Obviously not a popular spot.

Cons: Very ordinary food

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good food , good people and chilled environment - Edit

Simple and great tasting food. Needs more options then set dishes a day. The people are so nice !

Pros: food , people

Cons: options

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Food is fine and reasonably priced but not amazing - Edit

I was here at lunchtime on Saturday afternoon and it was not too busy. The buffet and counter cabinet looked impressive/appetising with options and the menu looked reasonably priced. My companion and I shared lasagna with bean salad and a burger with chips. The lasagna was fine, but had the slightly pasty texture that a lot of cafe vegan lasagnas seem to have. It was tasty, mainly because of the tomato sauce but was a bit sweet for me. The bean salad was OK, slightly sweet. The burger was very tasty, but, (again) like many cafe vegan burgers the flavour came largely from the condiments, and I could barely notice the burger underneath. And it was too sweet for me. But at least it was moist enough.

Pros: Reasonably priced

Cons: Burger overpowered by flavour of condiments

2 Responses
Read More

veganvirtues 11 Jul 2017 - Just tried a lasagne maybe you needed to drink a glass of water! Seems the two items you had tasted sweet? Lasagne and salad were both tasty. Not sweetness.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tiggy 11 Jul 2017 - I think it is not uncommon for modern vegan cafes to have their sauces on the sweet side. Some people like this but it is not my taste.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Decent enough - Edit

At its new location and with a now entirely vegan menu, Hari's is a modest eatery with a simple selection highlighted by a number of curries, a small array of salads and a few western dishes such as nachos and lasagna. This reviewer tried the lasagna and the bean salad.

The meal can best be described as adequate. Kept in a bain marie, the lasagna was warm but not hot, the flavor slight but inoffensive. The salad was served with a simple oil dressing and was flat and flavorless.

As an entirely vegan option in a busy part of Haymarket it is conveniently located for many, and reasonably priced. However, based upon this meal, I would never see it as something to be excited for.

UPDATE: Went back to just buy a dessert; they were completely out of all options. Lost a star. They are now firmly in the 'needs improvement' camp and are not recommended.

UPDATE TO THE UPDATE: Why can I not quit this place? Went back and tried some of the curries and was pleasantly surprised: Curries were flavorsome if overly mild. Tried the peanut butter brownie and was very impressed. Back up to three stars in my estimation.

Updated from previous review on 2017-06-21

Pros: Quick and convenient, Reasonably priced, Peanut butter brownie is a must have

Cons: Unexciting flavors, Street location adds noise, Unreliable stocking

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Bland, salty, and oily - Edit

Ordered a number of dishes via Uber Eats. Arrived fast, but out of the 6 dishes ordered, only enjoyed the lasagna. I think there's much better options in the area at a better price.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great and cheap spot! - Edit

My partner and I went to Hari's 3 times in the 2 days we've spent in Sydney.
Every time the food was very good and very cheap considering the quality.
We had the 3 curries with rice (the yellow one) [note: I'm not sure buy it seems that they prepare different curries every day. We actually tried 5 different types in 2 days], the calzone, samosa, soy roll (it's in the display) and for dessert the chocolate and peanut butter brownie and 2 different bliss ball (dates and cononut&pistach). Everything amazing!!
And on top of it the staff is very nice and friendly. Absolutely recommended.

Pros: Taste and Quality of food, Cheap, Relaxed atmosphere

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

love this place! - Edit

hari's is one of my favourite vegetarian places in sydney. a low-key and chilled atmosphere, there are so many different options (from burritos and nachos to burgers, fried rice, curries, so many cuisines!)
there's a buffet counter where you can choose from a few options paired with rice and a menu to order from.
i highly recommend the machow soup topped with crispy fried noodles and packed with veges and herbs. this is my go too for healthy comfort food.
the spring rolls are insanely good! big rolls, lightly crisped up in oil with fresh veges bursting from the folds of pastry - can't get enough of them.
the honey potato chips are also a fun take on a classic side dish.
hari's chai is also one of the best i've ever had. it's served in a small clay pot and is packed with spices.

Pros: good value, lots of options from many cuisines , friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

good stuff - Edit

Tasty food ready to go from the bain-marie or you can order off the menu. Indian food and western food and most of its vegan. Good range of deserts and treats but be sure to ask that it is vegan as some may contain dairy. Worth dropping by if you're in the area.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty and cheap - Edit

Centrally located. The buffet has Indian food (though, as with many buffets, the food seems to sit a while under heat lamps). Not expensive by any standards, and almost shockingly cheap by Sydney norms — and even more so when you consider the quantity they pile onto your plate (I had to ask them to cut down the quantity on everything he served, and was still very full). It won't win awards for decor or ambiance, but it gets the job done, well.

Pros: decent food quality, very affordable, especially given quantity, good variety of offerings

Cons: not great ambiance (but look what you're paying!)

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Mediocre nachos - Edit

I had two lunches here over the past week. The first day I has a sausage roll and a salad, which I enjoyed. The second time I had nachos, and was disappointed. It appeared to be made primarily with corn chips topped with tinned baked beans, and while there was vegan cheese added, there was no avocado, and for $14 I would have expected a higher quality meal. I guess I should have played it safe with a curry.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Cheap veggie eats with meal deals - Edit

- Casual café setting with plenty of vegan options.
- Meal deals from the buffet makes for a quick and easy cheap lunch.
- Staff are friendly and knowledgeable.
- Delivery available via Suppertime.
- Gluten free options.

Must try:
- A mix of the buffet curries with brown rice and pappadums.
- Vegan burger with hot chips.

Pros: Affordable (student discount also available), Friendly staff, Variety of vegan and gluten-free options

Cons: Limited vegan desserts during my visit

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent vego restaurant - Edit

Quality food, great options and service

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Haymarket Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Hari's Vegetarian closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8025 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support