• Hareg Variety

  • (10)
    13
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
Buffet
Take-out
African
Ethiopian, Eritrean
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. During the week, it offers an all-you-can-eat vegan lunch buffet with 10+ hot and cold items. On the weekend it offers some meat dishes to the buffet. Traditional coffee ceremony on weekends or by request. Open Tue-Fri 11:00am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-9:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-9:00pm, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm. Closed Mon.


Venue map for Hareg Variety
© OpenStreetMap contributors

10 Reviews

First Review by gregster

PurpleCurrant

Points +3538

Vegan
26 Jun 2023

Amazing Ethiopian food

Best Ethiopian food in Ottawa. The sauces are out of this world, especially the yellow lentil one. I love the buffet style so that you can make your own portions. Great for take out too! The restaurant is nice and cozy and the owner is friendly.

Update: the buffet is not there anymore, but you can just order the vegan platter!

Updated from previous review on 2023-06-26

Advertisement

XenaWarriorPrincess

Points +1906

Vegan
10 Mar 2023

Tasty traditional Ethiopian food

Cute family-owned restaurant on Bank Street serving Ethiopian cuisine in traditional surrounds. The vegetarian platter is suitable for vegans. It comes with a variety of vegetable- and legume-based stews that you eat with injera (teff flour flatbread). I loved the hands-on experience of eating without utensils! The stews were flavorful and the portion was very filling. The injera was served cold though (I'm not sure whether it's supposed to be like that or not). The price is very reasonable (15.25$) although increased from pre-pandemic price (13$).

Pros: Traditional cuisine, Family owned

Stephanie_Sparrow

Points +346

Vegan
28 Jan 2023

Tasty Vegan Option

Hareg Cafe offers a vegan plate filled with a variety of delicious options. Family owned restaurant where the children work alongside their parents (assuming) which gives it a more “home cooked meal” feeling.

Definitely worth trying!

Pros: Tasty, Family owned/ local, Fairly priced

JustineNolan

Points +499

Vegan
24 Oct 2022

Delicious vegan Ethiopian food

I’ve been craving some Ethiopian and took all my non vegan friends here to try it. We had the veggie platter which was vegan by default (I made sure to confirm this with staff several times, but they also have a post on their website that says ‘Vegan platter’), so don’t worry, I’ve done the ground work. The spread was AMAZING! Only thing I wish they could have done was put the bread underneath the food like they usually do, and kind of make it your plate. Will 100% go back and take my parents here. Service was a little slow but they were busy and only had one person taking orders. They did get us out in time for our event, so was fine in the end.

Pros: Delicious vegan option , Knowledgeable staff

ShaynaDehaan

Points +34

Vegan
06 Jul 2020

Delicious Vegetarian Combo Platter

Called a vegetarian platter but it is completely vegan and gluten free. There was a variety of different sides. Each side had a delicious unique flavour, different textures, some spicy and some mild. Absolutely delicious and there was more then enough food for two! Extremely tasty and satisfying.

Pros: Lots of different sides to try, Mix of vegetables and legumes, Delicious injura

VegOttawa

Points +54

Vegan
28 Feb 2020

Incredible Vegan Buffet

Some of the tastiest food you will find in Ottawa. The buffet is on everyday and very reasonably priced. Good luck finding a better deal in the city. Too many excellent dishes to list. You need to try them all. Grab some fresh injera bread and dig in. You won’t regret it.

Rbka

Points +57

Vegan
23 May 2019

Amazing food & value

The buffet here is absolutely delicious and only ~$13 for AYCE. So much variety in dishes, extremely delicious and generally fresh. We are regulars here, I would go every week if I lived closer!

Pros: Delicious, Many options, Great value

Dancingbarefoot

Points +577

Vegan
08 Apr 2017

delivered

We ordered delivery from Hareg as they have many vegan options.

We hadn't had Ethiopian food so weren't sure what to expect. My husband really liked it. I found it a bit spicy for my taste but I'm sure many people would enjoy it. There was some seepage in the bags but not a big deal. I would prefer paper bags rather than plastic.

Food was a little pricy for the amount we got.

kmennie

Points +21

Vegetarian
01 May 2016

Delicious!

Hareg very carefully distinguishes between vegetarian, vegan, and omnivore. The food is _delicious_ -- fresh and beautifully seasoned. Prices are excellent. Casual "hole in the wall"-style restaurant -- careful you don't go right by it and miss it. A personal favourite.

Pros: understand veg*ns!

Cons: n/a

gregster

Points +55

Vegan
20 Sep 2015

Friendly staff, tasty food, good price.

Stumbled across this place and was pleasantly surprised. The buffet was $9 for all you can eat, and my child ate for FREE! The staff were lovely, the food was very tasty (lots of choices on-hand). My only critique was that the food was not labelled, but not a deal breaker.

Verdict: Good casual Ethiopian dining.

Pros: Options, Service, Flavour

Cons: Buffet items not labelled




This page has been viewed 3310 times.