Lacto
Ovo
Western
Take-out
British
Catering
European
Gluten-free
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Cafe with labeled vegan options including an acai bowl, yogurt, and a Buddha bowl. Open Mon-Fri 08:00-18:00, Sat-Sun 09:00-17:00.


Venue map for Half Cup
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by EmmaHellström

SoniaMonique

Points +327

Vegan
18 Nov 2023

Lovely!

I was pleasantly surprised by the food and portions. It's a lovely spot especially for brunch.

Advertisement

richd123

Points +172

Vegan
11 Sep 2023

Tasty vegan brunch

We ordered the Half Cup which had a vegan version. Hash browns, avocado tomatoes, Portobello mushroom, baked beans and sourdough toast.
We asked if vegan version had anything in addition and advised we could order extra from a couple of elements so we had more sourdough & avocado. Probably the best vegan breakfast styled meal I’ve had - so often disappointed with establishments just taking away the non vegan elements and charging same price.
We had a very good server but probably best to confirm the vegan additions if you go here.
And great coffee also.

Enjali

Points +1561

Vegan
28 Jun 2023

Not amazing

If you're veggie, this is probably a great place for you but if you're vegan, better go elsewhere.
The place itself is really nice and staff are lovely, but the vegan options aren't great. There is a veggie breakfast that's available as a vegan option so I ordered that, assuming that the non vegan things (halloumi and fried egg) would be replaced by something or that I would get more of the other things on the plate. This wasn't the case unfortunately as I did not have anything that my vegetarian sister in law didn't have, my plate was just missing the cheese and egg. For the same price (£16), that seems a bit unreasonable... There was also no vegan butter for me to put on my sourdough so I mashed my half an avocado onto it, having to ask for lemon juice to make it more tasty. The mushrooms were the best part of it to be honest, they were nicely seasoned.
I enjoyed my iced mocha (they have dark chocolate powder to make it vegan) and my husband said his Bircher Müsli was alright.

Pros: Some vegan options , Lovely service

Cons: Not worth it for vegans

soydumplings

Points +1007

Vegan
21 Dec 2022

Just okay

A little disappointed with the options at half cup - not a lot of choice. Then when the food came it felt a bit uncooked and tasteless.

Updated from previous review on 2022-11-06

Pros: Nice herbal teas

Cons: Not a lot of options , Tasteless and uncooked, Busy

VeganWilll

Points +77

Vegan
28 Jul 2022

Vegan options but...

I was really looking forward to this. However, the vegan breakfast was a bit of toast (no vegan butter) two flat mushrooms, two spoonfuls of beans and two hash browns. The non veg option has the above with meat for the same price. Saldy not impressed.

Pros: Vegan drinks

Cons: Expensive , Small portion sizes , Very busy

LoesOfzo

Points +1751

Vegan
25 Jul 2022

Good coffee, not much vegan options

You have to wait in line to be seated. I don’t like oats and did not feel for a salad as breakfast.

GoodbyeRoutine

Points +81

Vegetarian
31 Jul 2021

Delicious food, some vegan options, nice atmosphere

Take your time or: better reserve a table, if possible. There are some vegan options and the food is very delicious. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are filled with a good atmosphere and nice paintings (the one in King's Cross).

Pros: some vegan options, delicious food, nice atmosphere

Cons: mostly it is better to reserve a table

Sannetje80

Points +17

Vegetarian
22 Feb 2020

Excellent food

Excellent food and a very friendly and cheerful staff. Great place for vegetarians but also enough vegan options.

jench

Points +170

Vegan
18 Dec 2019

Bustling atmosphere, great food, people watching

Very good quality food and drinks. Tasty. Not too expensive considering location. Efficient staff. Outdoor seating perfect for people watching. Popular and bustling spot on a typical London street. Lovely

Pros: Very good food , Great spot - quintessential nice London cafe , Attentive staff

Cons: Only two vegan options for breakfast , Being seated can be tricky at busy breakfast

mancvegan

Points +197

Vegan
17 Dec 2019

It’ll do

I stayed around the corner from here while in London for 3 days. There are only 3 vegan breakfast options on the menu, but they can veganise the Shakshuka. None of them are out of this world but they’re ok. It’s a cute place but it’s not a must try.

Pros: Good location

Cons: Not many options

kimbate

Points +75

Vegan
20 Sep 2019

OK for breakfast

I came here for breakfast but didn't really find any great alternatives only something which was vegetarian and they adapted it. It would be nice if they could offer a vegan breakfast

Pros: Vegan options at least, Nice atmosphere , Will adapt

Cons: Expensive for the portion size, More vegan options

Lenene

Points +872

Vegan
12 Aug 2019

Cute but pricey

Came a while ago with friends for breakfast and like the decor and service. This time I came around 2pm, quite hungry. Their vegan lunch options are more limited. I had the grilled aubergine dish which was a bit small and bland. I had to add quite a lot of salt and pepper to make the dish tastier, even though it looked great. It really should come with bread - they charged me £2 for 2 slices of sourdough bread! They had 2 options of vegan pastries so I went for the pistachio and rose one, which was very nice.
More of a coffee place with a couple of nice sweet treats than a proper lunch spot. Staff is friendly and efficient.

Pros: Lovely decor , Jugs of mint infused water, Good sweet things and coffee

Cons: Pricey (especially the bread!), Not much choice for vegans

KellyOldham

Points +89

Vegan
16 Nov 2018

Can only review the drinks

The cafe was really busy so opted for a hot drink to go. They had a delish dark hot choc (72%) with three choices of milk (oat, almond, coconut). They’d sold out of vegan pastries/cakes.

Pros: Some vegan options, Quirky space, Close to parks & squares to sit

Cons: Sold out of vegan pastries etc, Might struggle to get a seat inside

EmmaHellström

Points +24

Vegetarian
10 Nov 2018

Would go here again!

Ordered a Full Vegetarian English Breakfast that was so delicious! The waitress was really nice and offered me different milk options to my cappuccino. Yummie!

Pros: Many vegetarian and vegan options, So deliciously made and presented!, Nice staf




This page has been viewed 4818 times.