Lacto
International
Mediterranean
Take-out
European
Gluten-free
Honey
Breakfast

Vegetarian German cafe chain with a main focus on porridge with a variety of vegan toppings and add-ins. The menu also includes vegan ready-made Mediterranean-style bowls, energy balls, and cakes. Vegan choices are all clearly labeled. Plant-based milk alternatives available. Some locations may also offer vegan sandwiches, salads and wraps. Please note that most locations offer minimal or no seating. Open Mon-Sun 06:00-20:00.


Venue map for Haferkater - Hbf Frankfurt am Main
© OpenStreetMap contributors

26 Reviews

First Review by Jean-Luc

veganhappycat

Points +92

Vegan
20 Feb 2024

Oatmeal is good

I like their oatmeal, but it's quite expensive. Sandwiches come cold, and they aren't that good, so don't recommend

Updated from previous review on 2024-02-20

Pros: Oatmeal is tasty

Cons: Sandwiches are cold, Quite expensive , Location is convenient but not very nice

Advertisement

maggsd

Points +1964

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

Good to have it at a train station

It's good place for vegans to grab a bite before catching a train. They have many vegan & healthy options and prices are also fine.
My falafel bowl was okay.

NoroelleFleur

Points +170

Vegetarian
18 Jan 2024

Healthy and fast breakfast

Has a good selection of different vegan options and is perfect if you want to stick to your New Years resolutions and be healthier. Also tastes delicious fortunately 🤩 Service is fast so you can enjoy it on your train ride.

Alfie84

Points +3833

Vegan
25 Dec 2023

tasty travel snack

small portions but very tasty

_the_kangaroo_

Points +6260

Vegan
10 Oct 2023

wide vegan selection

there are many labelled vegan options. i think all the bowls are vegan and maybe ¾ of their porridges.

i chose the beerenkater which is vegetarian but asked if it could be veganized by removing honey. this was no problem.
the beerenkater was okay. i haven't tried porridge before so i don't really know whether it is normal but it tasted a bit bland and water-y. maybe this was also due to the fact that there was no honey to make it taste sweeter. still, it was hot and therefore nice for dinner at a cold day.

the staff was very friendly.

unfortunately, the only reusable cups they have are from vytal. you need an app to use them and it's more complicated than other reusable container systems, for instance recup. i think therefore less people will choose the reusable containers.

ps: you can also pay with these 0,5€-coupons you get when entering the restroom

Pros: friendly staff, big clearly labelled vegan selection, accept the coupons from the restrooms

Cons: only vytal for reusable containers

MarcelBr

Points +30

Vegan
27 Aug 2023

Vegane Falafel-Bowl

Die vegane Falafel-Bowl war sehr lecker und die Zutaten frisch. Es ging sehr schnell (optimal bei einem Zwischenstop am Frankfurter Hbf) und das Personal war freundlich. Gerne wieder.

Pros: Vegan, Frische Zutaten, Schnell zubereitet

livornatic

Points +163

Vegan
15 Jul 2023

Guter Kaffee mit Oatly, leckere Wraps

Cappuccino mit Hafermilch (oatly) war sehr lecker. Auch mit Kokosmilch möglich.
Wraps waren sehr lecker - 2 Sorten und eine belegte Stulle mit Grillgemüse sind vegan.
Porridge Angebot sah gut aus, haben wir nicht probiert.

Pros: Vegane Optionen klar erkennbar, Guter Kaffee mit Oatly

Rebacke

Points +1766

Vegan
05 Jun 2023

Always nice to have around

It’s always nice to have vegan options especially when being in a rush to catch the train at the Frankfurt train station. Haferkater does not disappoint. The staff were super friendly and in no time you grab your food and go. I had the Cesar wrap and oatmilk coffee. Both was great.

Updated from previous review on 2023-03-21

Pros: Great options, Quick stop when traveling 🧳 , Delicious

dominik.pietryga

Points +1316

Vegan
30 May 2023

Good fast vegan options

Great for breakfast or lunch when you are traveling and need something tasty and healthy. The bowls are also great for lunch or dinner. Porridge is great for breakfast. Vegan options clearly marked.

Lauchdrache

Points +926

Vegan
06 May 2023

Great coffee

I just got a small coffee here. It seems not to be a big deal that I want my order vegan. The staff was friendly and patience even if I came up with a special order ( I love hot chocolate with espresso). You can find the store at the beginning of the train station, at the lower platform numbers.

Pros: Vegan options , Flexible and friendly

Karim1997

Points +129

Vegetarian
14 Apr 2023

Vegane Optionen für fast alle Speisen

Bowls sind alle vegan. Viele Kuchen zur Auswahl. Sehr lecker und freundliche Bedienung.

kanelkärlek

Points +155

Vegan
10 Apr 2023

Leckere Wraps

Ich hatte den veganen Caesar-Wrap, sehr lecker und für Bahnhofspreise total okay im Preis. Zu empfehlen!😄

jo3rn

Points +1430

Vegan
12 Feb 2023

Good quick meal to go

Right in the station building around platform 5. There are several clearly labeled vegan snacks and meals (porridge, bowls, sandwiches, cakes).

Ordered the large "Waldbeerkater" porridge for 4.95€ and got 2 cups full. Looking at the coffee prices there, I think I was just lucky, otherwise it would be a bargain for the station area.

The porridge is nice and warm, works well as a lunch or snack. However, mine was also relatively sweet, I expected something healthier with more fresh ingredients.

There was a makeshift sign reading "cash only". Not sure if this is a permanent thing.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-07

Pros: labeled vegan options

Cons: Payment only with cash

marky_mark

Points +20304

Vegan
12 May 2022

Non-vegan as vegan

They tried to sell me a non-vegan as vegan 'Stulle' (sandwich) even though I asked friendly, calm and three times if it's vegan. Then I checked for myself. Store to go with one bench for around ten persons. Inside main central station hall. Coffee, porridge, bowls, lemonades.

hannah0610

Points +511

Vegan
21 Apr 2022

Tolle Auswahl

Ich habe bisher nur das Porridge gegessen, aber das war super lecker😍 (klein 3,90€ und groß 4,50€)
Es gibt eine vegane Bowls und Kuchen, die sehr gut aussehen

SonjaV

Points +165

Vegan
10 Mar 2022

Delicious Portidge

I loved getting Porridge on my way to Uni everyday, when that was still possible. The different vegan porridge options are delicious! I'd just wish there'd be less chocolate involved and I am not the biggest fan of the banana bread.

Pros: Delicious vegan options

AnettaRabaev

Points +72

Vegetarian
14 Sep 2021

Great place for a quick meal!

Delicious food on the go. The porride is very delicious and filling. There are some vegan cakes, wraps and bowls available as well. The prices are quite fair, not extremely cheap but justified. Thumbsbip from me!

Pros: Delicious food , Quick food, Fresh

Cons: Coffee is quite expensive, Plant milk is charged extra

VeralindeVrijhof

Points +28

Vegan
21 Aug 2020

Very nice

Nice vegan options, friendly staff, would recommend for getting a quick breakfast or lunch

DorraineJob

Points +3296

Vegan
02 Jul 2020

A lot of vegan options for a good price

I liked the wrap a lot. Porridge as well.

AleksandraGaj

Points +145

Vegan
31 May 2020

Good choice

The porridge is really good and they have different topics. I tried also the ceasers wrap with tofu which was also good.

kiwiJ

Points +76

Vegan
26 Nov 2019

Fantastic to-go food

A wonderful, mostly vegan variety of foods (delicious porridge, bowls and cakes) as well as spiced hot chocolate and coffee. I love the place and especially for Frankfurt Hauptbahnhof, it's perfect value for money. I'll definitely be back.

Pros: Variety (sweet and savoury) , Super tasty

Cons: No oat milk (at least when I was there)

Jhnknnd

Points +101

Vegan
13 Oct 2019

Leckerer wrap

Ich hatte den veganen Caesar Wrap, der sehr lecker war und auch preislich fair für einen Laden im Hauptbahnhof.

Pros: Viele vegane Optionen

BenjaminSBonn

Points +69

Vegan
10 Oct 2019

Gute Option am Hbf

Zu finden zwischen Gleis 5 und Gleis 6. Hauptsächlich Porridge in verschiedenen Varianten, einige vegan. Zudem auch veganes Bananenbrot.

Pros: Vegane Optionen, Lage am Hbf

SimoneJu

Points +34

Vegan
26 Sep 2019

Gesundes Fast Food mit veganer Auswahl

Leckeres Essen!

Sophia.Vagrant

Points +110

Vegan
25 Aug 2019

Very good food and service

Staff was friendly and helpful
Food super good
Fast service
I recommend

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Jean-Luc

Points +437

Vegan
22 Jul 2019

A whiff of sustainability in the middle of Frankfurts Main Station

Whoever has been to the Frankfurt Main Station knows there is a lot of snack bars. Most of them sell cheap, exchangeable food in plastic boxes. At Haferkater we could actually sit down and eat a fresh, vegan Quinoa bowl from proper ceramic dishes. Many of the main courses are vegan, they also have oat and soy milk for your coffee as well as organic and/or fair trade lemonade. Our waiting time for the train became a joyful experience here.

Pros: vegan options, proper dishes, seating




This page has been viewed 6381 times.