Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Ovo
Organic
Kosher, Israeli

An oasis in the middle of the bustling Mahane Yehuda market. Food is made fresh to order. In-house hummus specialty. Open Mon-Thu 8:00am-8:00pm, Fri 8:00am-2:30pm, Sun 8:00am-8:00pm.


Venue map for Ha'Agas 1
© OpenStreetMap contributors

13 Reviews

First Review by MakeUrInsidesSing

RafaBarkay

Points +18

Vegan
11 Feb 2024

delicious vegan shakshuka

Shakshuka made of tofu - perfect and savory.

Pros: good food, stripped space, good cost-benefit

Advertisement

Leah_Rzn

Points +6528

Vegan
04 Feb 2023

MUST VISIT

The best hummus in Jerusalem 👌🏽
Always fast and friendly service, delicioussss hummus and lots of other vegan dishes in the menu (salads, main courses, desserts).
The place is tiny so sometimes it’s a problem to get a seat. And seats outside are placed next door to the fish store so the smell might be eww. Shuk atmosphere, you know :)
Anyway highly recommend to visit and get a plate of amazing fresh hummus (take one with soy “meat”!!), hot pitas, pickles and spicy sauce.

Updated from previous review on 2019-05-29

Pros: Extremely delicious fresh hummus, Cheap, Friendly and fast service, clean restaurant

Cons: Not 100% vegan , Smells fish if you take a seat outdoors

AviBZ

Points +103

Vegetarian
10 Jan 2023

Friendly service, home style food

Enjoyed hearty lentil soup and great chumus with fava beans. The owner cracked a joke with us when he brought the food. In the heart of the shuk. Nice place to take a rest and enjoy some good food.

NickSchaferMedia

Points +239

Vegan
29 Dec 2022

Great little hummus spot

I did love the food here and the hummus was probably some of the best I have had, also the Shakshouka was delicious, the only reason I dock a star is because the guy working that day was kind of a dick lol but the food was superb. The other thing I loved about this spot was that when you walked inside and went upstairs, you were completely taken out of the loud hustle bustle of the market, a very nice break from the rush.

Pros: AMAZING hummus, Surprisingly quiet spot , Gluten free options

Cons: A little expensive , Pretty small if it was busy that day

Mika1975

Points +231

Vegan
15 Aug 2022

Great hummus. Sit down spot in the market

Great vegan menu, delicious hummus. Sit down very casual restaurant

Pros: Great fluffy warm hummus , Tables and chairs , Friendly service

Cons: They still serve eggs

TimorousBeasty

Points +208

Vegan
13 Mar 2020

Loved this place in the heart of the market

In the centre of a bustling market this wee cafe offers vegan options. I had the hummus with vegan mince and it was delicious. Staff very friendly and knowledgeable of vegan requirements. Not expensive and a great place to chill in amongst the bedlam of the market.

Pros: Delicious hummus with soya mince, Reasonably priced, Very friendly staff

NettisKatz

Points +92

Vegan
26 Dec 2018

cozy little restaurant with vegan options in the center of Mahne Yehuda market

I had a very tasty Hummus with Mushrooms. I will absolutely be beach next time I’m in the market.

Pros: Excellent Hummus , Good service

AdamYeshe

Points +473

Vegetarian
01 Nov 2018

Good food

I was really happy to find this little restaurant while wondering the Yehuda market. I got the vegan shakshuka and must recomend it to all of you! The food was super fresh and bursting with flavour, my meat eating friend was exposed to vegan food for first time in her life and she completely changed her opinion on vegans because of this experience. Kudos!

Pros: Great fresh food

Cons: Might be a bit hard to find it

MarkSoh

Points +365

Vegetarian
14 May 2018

hummus with a twist

Dishes are price on the higher end. Hummus added with soy, and pita bread made from whole meal flour is interesting and good for a change.

Thomas69843

Points +46

Vegan
06 Jan 2017

Nice Little Vegan place.

A little oasis in the busy Jerusalem's market. We went with a friend and tried the hummus. He is an Israeli so his standards are even higher than mine. We both like it and found it original with that green tahini. Menu had also vegan Kuba ans Shakshuka.

Pros: It's quite small so you may wait for a table

Cons: Nice Food, Cool Service

ilanrubin

Points +30

Vegetarian
29 Jun 2012

The Best Humus in Jerusalem!!

Strictly and proudly Vegetarian Ha'Agas has not only the best Humus in town, also their vegetarian soups, burgers, and pashtidot (kind of casseroles) are scrumptious. Try the Hibiscus juice -it's very special. The prices are very reasonable, and the service is efficient and friendly

Pros: very tasty, excellent quality, quick and friendly

A.Z.P.

Points +623

Vegan
16 Oct 2011

Market-ly Unfresh

The beauty of the "Shuk" (market in Hebrew) is that it sells so many varieties of vegetables and produce that are farm fresh at the cheapest price possible, so I was very excited to read about a new vege restaurant addition to the Machane Yehudah market... unfortunately, the food and prices here were somewhat less exciting to my palate and wallet.

I started with the Beet soup which contained some boiled potatoes in a tasteless watery beet broth. This excuse for a soup cost 28 shekels (an outrageous 8 dollars!! For a regular 1 person bowl of soup which probably cost them 3 shekels to make), it had minimal (and rotting) produce as its content, and I'm not honestly sure that inmates of the Russian gulog would have eaten it.

We then had a 40 shekel (11.50 cent) Mushroom-Onion Quiche, which wasn't bad but wasn't bursting with flavor as a fresh summer vegetable pie should be. We followed it with a homemade chummus (which the waitress seemed to take great pride in) and a Shakshuka (local egg and tomato dish). The Chummus was gritty but not particularly tasty. The Shakshuka had no imagination, was extremely plain-Jane, and even though my friend had specifically asked them to make it hot, it was about as spicy as a stick of butter.

As for the waitstaff, while they were pleasant, it took quite an inordinate amount of time to get food in a place which only had 3 tables in use. Meanwhile the ambience was pleasant and the upstairs gave a small and simple but nice and quiet respite from the loud bustle of the Market.

Overall, my experience at Ha'agas was not a positive one. The food was expensive, and was not particularly unique, authentic, or good. On the bright side, the menu did have a few unique vege delicacies such as Vegetarian Kubeh and everything also tasted like it was made there. On the downside the food seemed to have been made there, at the only place where I've yet to find unfresh produce in the Market.

Pros: Nice Quiet Place, Pleasant Staff, Kosher

Cons: Poor Produce, Expensive Prices, Bland, Boring food

MakeUrInsidesSing

Points +20

Vegan
05 Jul 2010

A big sigh of relief!

A teeny place - just a few tables - on side street with no car traffic in between vendors and shoppers. Very cozy, kind service. The food was fresh and wholesome. The waitress knew what items had dairy or eggs. Vegetarians and vegans can feel confident about the integrity of the ingredients. Street parking is an issue, though across the street there is a public lot. A great place to fuel up and rest after shopping in the Mahane Yehudah open market!

Pros: vegan & vegetarian only!, friendly and knowledgeable service, cozy and clean

Cons: street parking




This page has been viewed 7767 times.