CLOSED: GYVAS baras

  • Vegan Vegan
  • ( 143 reviews )
Hours

Closed

Find

Traku 11 (at old town), Vilnius, Lithuania, 01132

Est. 2015, and few months after cooking vegetarian food, GYVAS baras became all vegan and is the first vegan restaurant in Lithuania. Offers a large variety, including changing flavors of burgers made with ingredients like tofu, sweet potato, or bean. Offers business lunch on weekdays. Selection of beer and cider include Lithuanian beer ALUS but not all alcohol is verified vegan. This location reported closed Oct. 2019 with plans to relocate soon. Closing times may vary.

Categories: Vegan, International, Western, Beer/Wine

143 Reviews

First Review by lauravi

yorkshirehiker

Points +17

Vegetarian
17 Sep 2019

Disappointing

Ate here on 17th Sept. Ordered seitan burger, veg nuggets and sweet potato fries. Burger was advertised as served with vegan cheese and vegan bacon. These were absent from the meal delivered. The vegetable nuggets were served burnt black and inedible. I complained. They were removed, not replaced but still shown on the bill. Sweet potato fries were fine. Refused to pay for the nuggets and these were removed from bill. Staff unfriendly, slow and did not care what they served.

Pros: Good choice of beer

Cons: Not a good advert for veganism

ManGaveNames

Points +162

Vegan
16 Sep 2019

Upsetting service, weird food.

Service matters! I learned service in Lithuania isn’t the best in general, but the bartender here seemed particularly apathetic and annoyed. It really affects the experience. The chicken nuggets were super strange too. I can’t say they were bad exactly, salty and kinda like chicken, but the texture was off. I was really looking forward to ordering more because their menu is intriguing, but the awkward, slow service and the weird tasting food made me not want to stay for long. (This was about a month ago)

Pros: Cool menu, Alcohol

Cons: Not friendly, Slow

JonJon

Points +18009

Vegan
11 Sep 2019

Average food but nice place to have a drink!

This vegan bar offers food as well. I wish I could have tried their burgers but they didn't have any available that evening. I took the cold beetroot soup that comes with fries. The soup was not bad but 'waterly' instead of creamy and the fries had no interest at all. I also took a steak that comes very dry with no sauce but fries/vegetables. I was quite disappointed by it but portions were generous. On the whole, the place is nice for drinks and a quick bite but it doesn't offer quality food. The staff was friendly.

Pros: 100% vegan, friendly staff, nice for drinks, generous portions

Cons: average food, the whole menu is not always available

Advertisement

Ariadnaav

Points +96

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Nice food

The food was nice but it was difficut to know which plates were gluten-free, they didn’t know the ingredients of the half of the menu. And it was a little difficult to speak english with them.

Pros: Very nice food

Cons: The information waiter give us

HannahLobb

Points +178

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Epic!

Gyvas Baras boasts the proud title of being the first vegan restaurant in Lithuania. I absolutely loved being able to try out the traditional Lithuanian cold beetroot soup, Šaltibarščiai. Traditionally it’s made with eggs and kefir so it was a treat to be able to try the vegan version. I also got the jackfruit burger with sweet potato fries and ‘honey’ mustard sauce, which was all delicious. The staff are very friendly and I appreciated the fun decor, like drawings on the outdoor tables and the indoor artwork.

If you're interested in reading my Vegan Thrift Shopper guide to Vilnius, you can check it out here: https://hannahimsa.com/vilnius-vegan-thrift-shopper/

Linda.Prado

Points +44

Vegan
01 Sep 2019

Great burger!

We enjoyed a warm and late summer evening in Vilnius and dined here outdoors. We both took seitan burger, it was so filling and delicious! Great place when you crave for vegan junk food😄They have good craft beer selection, I don't know if all are vegan though, better ask the staff.

Pros: Location, food, cocktails

Sarahtagg

Points +101

Vegan
27 Aug 2019

All vegan

Nice little place for a casual meal. Something about it reminds me of the old Food Swings in Brooklyn. Staff was probably the friendliest we’ve had.

Augustė

Points +93

Vegetarian
23 Aug 2019

Good vegan beetroot soup

I came to Gyvas Baras for some vegan lunch, it was a hot day and I was happy to eat fresh and delicious cold soup. Will come back to try other options.

Pros: Good food, Friendly staff, In the city center

Reviewer Avatar

Guest

20 Aug 2019

Must try burgers

One of my favorite vegan burgers place in Vilnius that has more than 1 vegan option. Be careful with the fries/chips because you might get a pile of salt instead

Pros: Lots of vegan options, Great burgers, Fair prices

Cons: Not the coziest place ever

MiłoszKraweć

Points +18

Vegan
16 Aug 2019

MK

Great food, great atmosphere and great waiters:-)

Pros: Good quality, Nice atmosphere , Nice communication in English

Cons: Don’t have

AurisWolf

Points +74

Vegan
16 Aug 2019

Nice place!!!

Tasty food and beer!!!
Definitely coming back with friends. Thx:)

NoraV

Points +13

Vegetarian
15 Aug 2019

Unbelievable service

Went to Gyvas Baras at 1pm, we were told we could sit outside and someone would come take our order. Twenty minutes later no one comes, so we ask inside - they say they’ll be right with us. Another couple sits down next to us, their drinks get delivered before anyone even comes to take our order — a full hour after we sat down. Honestly could not believe it, would not recommend visiting.

carolvegan

Points +1644

Vegan
10 Aug 2019

Vegan Pub!!!

I've never been in a vegan pub... Was really nice!!! First I must confess, I was too afraid to go there because I've read a few reviews saying that snacks were too oily, burgers too dry and the failure to fry frost fries. But we were lucky! We ordered the miso soup, the cold beetroot soup and the plate full of snacks (called "when you want everything" 😆😅😂). Was everything very tasty! And the snacks... AMAZING!!! The seitan and the chicken with cheese were simply perfect, like the garlic sauce. My soup was already with fries, so they changed the fries from the snack plate into a salad with fresh leaves, cherry tomato and paprica. The local beer pint was so good! The atmosphere was really cool. Would come back again!

Pros: Price, friendly, tasty food, good beer, stylish

NekaHeu

Points +202

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Nice and relaxed

It‘s so great to be able to order a huge platter of fried snacks along with your beer, we‘d go there every weekend if we lived closer... However, the burgers were mediocre, I missed ketchup and the seitan wasn‘t yummy at all, it showed a consistency of a raw meaty something... Staff was rather nice though😄

giel

Points +94

Vegetarian
25 Jul 2019

Good to have vegan places but

This place (that is more a bar then a restaurant) offers quite a big range of vegan pub food. And it’s great to have vegan places.the but is the quality. The cold soups are not served very cold en the hot food not so hot. The taste is ‘ok’, and if you don’t expect more than pub food, you get the pub food you’re expecting..
In summer with open windows, the vegan smokers outside contribute to the smoke blowing inside which I personally don’t like about any food place particularly when I’m eating. And we had the change the order, as the selected burger would take ‘at least’ 45 minutes to prepare...... so guys, keep it going and particularly, keep improving! 😉

Pros: Big range of choice, Fair prices, Nice local beers

Cons: Quality, Temperature of the food

SuppleVG

Points +315

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Great in 2017, poor in 2019

My 2017 review: I've been to this restaurant like 6 times in one week.
Plates are amazing, and quantity is very good.
The best vegan I've been in Vilnius by far !

2019: went there very happy tonight. I finished very disappointed. They changed the owner and the cook. Salad was way too simple, seitan steak average with frozen fries and extra sweet potatoes fries weren’t even fried properly, the were boiled with oil over the top. Hugely disappointed. I would give 2 stars 1/2 but I give 3 hoping they’ll improve

sirilindblad

Points +173

Vegan
03 Jul 2019

Wow

The seitan burger with vegan cheddar that I ate today was just wow. I was also impressed by the pretty big menu with a lot of traditionally non-vegan foods made vegan. I will definitely come back to try some more and by the burger to judge I probably won’t be disappointed.

Leninator

Points +116

Vegetarian
02 Jul 2019

Seitansteak mit roter Beete!

Seitansteak (mit rote Beete und gegrillt) und Curry waren gut gemacht. Auch der Service war sehr nett und hilfsbereit.

Pros: Rein vegan

dodre44

Points +60

Vegan
30 Jun 2019

Cool Pub-like place, nice Seitan steak

Purely vegan restaurant offering different kinds of snacks, varying main dishes & burgers. I had the seitan steak with a small salad, potatoes and hummus-dip. They offer a great variety of cocktails too. Staff is really friendly. Totally recommend!

Pros: All vegan

RanulphNewberry

Points +17

Vegetarian
30 Jun 2019

Vegan food

It was really good vegan food in a vegatatian city

Pros: Vegan, Friendly Staff, Reasonably Priced

Cons: Google maps doesn't quite lead you there properly

SandraKatić

Points +96

Vegan
29 Jun 2019

Magic place

We reached all hungry to Vilnus and I could not believe the vegan restaurant was just on the other side of the road where I was staying. We had portobelo mushroom burger, soya burger and one regular fries and one sweet potato fries. Everything was super delicious. As a vegan I could not try the traditional beetroot soup anywhere... but here they served vegan version of this lithuanian traditional dish. I had it and I was so happy :). The summer beer they offered to go along was also delicious. And the waiter was very friendly.

SobotkaFrank

Points +22

Vegan
23 Jun 2019

Not recommended

Food was awful and very pricey. I ordered seitan sausages which didn’t either look or taste like seitan sausages. My friend took teriyaki steak which was only one thin slice of tofu with load of bland salad. I don’t recommend this place at all if you are into quality food.

Pros: Nice staff

Cons: Expensive, Awful taste, Small portions

BrightNomad

Points +414

Vegan
17 Jun 2019

Nice seitan burger

Nice selection of vegan burgers.
I tried the seitan burger and onion rings, both were good.
Service is friendly and fast.

peanutplans

Points +1399

Vegan
06 Jun 2019

Worth it for the chicken nuggets alone

This place is great for those who want to enjoy a burger and beer in a fun "pub" environment. Loved the chicken nuggets, seitan burger, chicken Kiev, onion rings, sweet potato fries, homemade ice cream shake creation with a Kick, and beer. It won over my non-vegan friends as well. My ABSOLUTE FAVORITE PLACE in Vilnius.

Pros: Fully vegan, Chicken nuggets, Cool vibe

Cons: Dessert.. chocolate cake tasted like dry cardboard

KatarzynaDerwinska

Points +26

Vegan
04 Jun 2019

Great vegan

Great vegan burgers and local beer

AlyciaF

Points +111

Vegan
19 May 2019

Ok food, sneaky upsell

GYVAS has a fully vegan menu with many options at good prices. I ordered the gluten free burger while my boyfriend got the portobello burger with fries. The gluten free burger (I believe it was a soy fillet with a salad bun) was great, but both the fries and the portobello burger lacked flavor. When it came time for dessert, we were recommended a piece of pie “garnished” with ice cream- implying that it was included in the price rather than a separate item on the bill. To our surprise, the entire dessert came to a whooping 7.20 euro, which is quite expensive by Lithuanian standards. Nevertheless service was quick and the location is nice, but the overall experience did not live up to the hype.

Pros: Location, Outdoor seating , Diverse menu

Cons: Upselling practices, Flavor

MaxPetersson

Points +19

Vegetarian
15 May 2019

Great Selection of Vegan Patties

I was there with two friends and we tried the saitan, soy, and jackfruit burgers. They were all really tasty. The only downside was that we had to wait a bit and the sweet potato fries weren’t that crispy.

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Vilnius Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has GYVAS baras closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 18085 times.