• Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen

  • (8)
    10
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Delivery
Take-out
Nepalese, Tibetan
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Himalayan cuisine menu with several vegetarian suitable dishes, vegans can specify. Cozy space with free Wi-Fi. Open Mon 12:00pm-10:00pm, Wed-Thu 12:00pm-10:00pm, Fri-Sat 12:00pm-11:00pm, Sun 12:00pm-10:00pm. closed Monday


Venue map for Gurkha Himalayan Kitchen
© OpenStreetMap contributors

8 Reviews

First Review by junebug61869

Dominique.T

Points +65

Vegan
01 Nov 2023

Lots of choice for vegans and vegetarians

Had a great meal of dumplings, naan and yellow lentil curry with vegetable pulao. Cozy little place and good service.

The bathroom toilets need attention though (don’t flush). That was a big turnoff.

Pros: Food great, Atmosphere nice , Good service

Cons: Toilets! Ack!

Advertisement

LoriR

Points +1344

Vegan
26 May 2020

Lovely find

I was excited to find a Tibetan restaurant with a variety of vegan options. Friendly staff.

The chatpate salsa was particularly tasty and unique.

We enjoyed a varied sampling and look forward to trying what we missed next time.

The Tibetan bread is cooked on site and is vegan :)

Pros: Many vegan options, Friendly service, Tasty food

milly20001

Points +242

Vegan
02 Jan 2020

Lots of vegan options

Lots of vegan options that are listed separately on the menu under a vegetarian and vegan section. The vegan appetizers and sides are also marked with the letter v. There is a vegan dessert made from rice and coconut milk offered as well. It does not smell like body odor like the last person said, omg. They ask you how spicy you want your dish made and each main comes with rice and salad. The servers are very friendly.

Pros: Lots of vegan options including a dessert., Friendly service

Cons: A bit pricy

MirelaHilderman

Points +118

Vegan
07 Jan 2019

Can’t give it a zero so here’s one star

Overpriced food and the smell of body odour was so overwhelming we decided to not go back.

Cons: Dirty and BO smell

Ale_xandra

Points +210

Vegan
08 Jan 2018

Best vegan dumplings!!!

Wow their dumplings are so great! I double check with the staff that what I was ordering was in fact vegan because the former reviews were concerning and I’m always paranoid at non-veg places! They do in fact know what vegan means and we’re very kind! I had an okra curry and dumplings, highly recommend and it’s very reasonably priced.

Pros: dumplings

Cons: not veg

Xanato5

Points +76

Vegan
04 Jun 2014

Delicious and fresh

This place is very reliable for vegans. I go there all time. My favourite dishes are:

> Veg momos (the pan fried ones coated with sauce)
> The mustard green dish
> The okra dish (bindhi, I believe)
> The Pulau rice (pardon the spelling)

The flavour pallet is reminiscence of indian cooking, but the difference is that the veg is not cooked down into a stew but are lightly cooked and remain crunchy. You also don't have those thick greasy curry sauces - it's more like lightly stir fried veg with fresh spices, quite good! Everything usually tastes fresh.

Pros: Fresh, Many options, Not overly heavy/greasy

Cons: Portions could be a little larger, No vegan dessert option, No 1-person dish w/assortments (thalis)

philblais

Points +344

Vegan
01 Mar 2014

Quite a few vegan options there

Some of the best vegan dumplings I've ever had!

I've had quite a different experience at Gurkha than the previous reviewer.
I've eaten there maybe 4-5 times in the past year and the waitress there had absolutely no issue understanding what is vegan. She was aware enough to mention honey and even asked us if we ate soy, because she's had vegan customers in the past that didn't want to eat soy products either.

Their menu also identifies vegan options.

Pros: Dumplings! , Little patio in the back, Nice atmosphere

junebug61869

Points +16

Vegan
05 Aug 2013

Vegans Beware

I went here yesterday and learned that the word "vegan" on the menu means no wheat or canola oil. Almost all of the items on the menu that are listed as being "vegan" contain one or several animal products. The staff will happily adjust menu items when they can to be completely free of animal products, but as a general rule anything that you order that's listed as "vegan" will not be.




This page has been viewed 3682 times.