• Gujarati Rasoi - Borough Market Food Stall

  • (22)
    46
    Loading...
  • White Vegetarian
Vegan-friendly
Lacto
Indian
Fast food

Mostly vegan market stall in Borough Market, offering thali with rice and three curries (cauliflower, potato, lentil) as well as bhuja and samosa. Offers yogurt or date sauce. Open Mon-Fri 09:00-17:00.


22 Reviews

First Review by falafffel

Kaya&Brad

Points +1484

Vegan
05 Sep 2023

Only had a samosa

It was a great samosa, tasty, crunchy, crispy

Advertisement

AlexAvocado

Points +531

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

Delicious flavors!

We came to Borough Market on a Tuesday, but it was so busy.. We doubted whether to look for this food stall or not, but I am so happy we did. Despite the crowds at Borough Market it was quiet at Gujarati Rasoi. We ordered both the triple thali, rice with three different curries (one with cabbage and peas, one with potato and a mung bean Dahl). All three of them were delicious and full of flavor! We also tried the vegan paratha, it was tasty too. They also had samosas and bhajis, unfortunately we didn't try, but both looked really tasty.

The thali is normally served with raita and a tamarin sauce. This time they did not have the vegan version of the raita, but we had to ask by our self, so be aware of this and ask if the raita is vegan or not when you visit the food stall.

The food is amazing, so I would definitely recommend this food stall!

Pros: Delicious food, Full of flavor , Good portion size

Cons: No vegan raita

Vegansjeng

Points +406

Vegan
27 Jun 2023

A party for your tastebuds

Wow, just wow. Hands down one of the best meals I have ever had. I ordered a Thali triple which is basically rice with 3 different dishes in one box. The 3 dishes were spiced potatoes, cabbage and potatoes, and mung beans. Everything was packed full of flavor and I loved how complex the flavors were. I had a paratha on the side to mop up some of the sauces and it was a paratha of dreams.

The only thing you have to be aware of is that the sign says the Thali triple and double both come with cucumber raita and that the dishes are vegan. However, upon asking they said that the raita wasn't vegan. I guess they sometimes have a vegan raita and sometimes they don't. So be sure to double check. I already loved the dish so much, i can't even begin to imagine how good it would have been if I would've had it with some refreshing cucumber raita. Also they had some fried vegan snacks for sale and they looked amazing. Kicking myself that I didn't try any of them.

Pros: Absolutely delicious food, Reasonable prices , Good portion sizes

Cons: Vegan labeling can be confusing here, Shame that it is takeaway only

matt.chatterley

Points +217

Vegan
28 Apr 2023

Top quality Indian food

Choice of 3 curries with option to mix 2 or 3 plus bread, onion bhaji and the best samosa ever.

Maakun

Points +1046

Vegan
04 Mar 2023

Great and affordable

They have snacks or thali with a coice of two or three dishes + rice. All food is vegan except yoghurt sauce and lassi. Had the thali and loved it. Very tasty and a large portion. They people in the stall were very friendly. Would go all the time if I worked nearby :-)

KajaGie

Points +63

Vegan
29 Jan 2023

Always delicious!

The curry choices are always really good. So are the sides!

Pros: Flavourful

Mirage

Points +3075

Vegan
31 Dec 2022

Great quality/price

One of the stalls in the London bazaar where you can buy a curry mix. Cheap by British standards and very good food, which can be eaten, for example, on the crowded "stairs".

ChloeChristine

Points +1417

Vegan
16 Sep 2022

Delicious curry

Stopped here for a lunch with my partner. We got a mixed box (3 curries and rice) to share. The food was excellent and not too spicy for me. I really enjoyed the cauliflower curry and the spiced potatoes.

Kittybiscuit

Points +7468

Vegan
25 Aug 2022

Nice enough

I ordered the double thali which was two vegetable choices and rice. I chose a potato dish and a cauliflower dish. I thought they were both ok, just not amazing

KarianneElisabeth

Points +192

Vegan
21 Jun 2022

Vegan food at Borough Market

I love food markets because my omnivore family members and I can all have exactly what we want! After reading about this place here on Happy Cow, I sought them out and said to the vendor that I would have a takeaway box of whatever the vegan dishes were for the day. And he asked if I wanted sauce and I said, yes, whichever is vegan, please. So, unfortunately I cannot say exactly what the meal was, but I can say that it was filling, tasty, just right in the spice level, and affordable! It also seemed much healthier than a lot of the vegan (junk) food on offer at markets.

MoniquePrinz

Points +18

Herbivore
23 May 2022

Great Authentic Indian Food

Great portion sice, great spice level. All in all highly recommend!

Tuomito

Points +1253

Vegan
22 Jun 2021

Superb vegan Indian food

This is a really good and authentic street food option in Borough Market. Everything is vegan (apart from the optional yogurt) and gluten free. Levels of spice are just right. You can choose from three different options and can add a bhujia as a side. Doubles are £7.50, all three curries for £8.50. If you’re vegan, make sure they leave the yoghurt off at the end.

Updated from previous review on 2021-06-22

Pros: With the exception of yoghurt, entirely vegan, Good value

RenéeRos

Points +392

Vegan
16 Jan 2020

Great Indian food

Had thali for lunch from this place. Most food they offer is vegan and everything is well marked. Food was really good; wel spiced. Friendly and fast service as well. Recommended!

Pros: Great taste, Friendly and fast service, Not greasy

Cutecumber

Points +50

Vegan
17 Nov 2019

Excellent Indian food

Quite a long queue, but it’s definitely worth waiting for this delicious Indian food. I had Thali twice and it comes with loads of rice, cauliflower, beans and potatoes. Delicious!

ashieb

Points +128

Vegan
28 Dec 2018

Worth the wait

Quite a big line but definitely worth it. Some of the best Indian I've ever had.

Joleak

Points +18

Vegan
08 Aug 2018

amazing food

A very busy stall in borough market. All food cooked in front of you. Smells amazing, tastes fantastic. Well worth a visit.

N1g3

Points +152

Vegan
27 Jun 2018

Really great place. Excellent food, will definitely be back next time I’m close.

Had the Thali, £6.50 and very filling and tasty.

AmyP

Points +19

Vegetarian
20 Jun 2018

Restaurant Quality Market Food

I got the traditional dish, which is basically a bit of everything. The flavours were fresh and distinct and so delicious. The serving was generous and seemed quite healthy too. I had it for lunch as my only meal today as it's kept me so satisfied all day. The people who run the stall were super lovely too. Highly recommend.

Pros: Excellent Food, Friendly Staff, Variety of flavours

eireaine@gmail.com

Points +20

Vegan
08 Jun 2018

Divine!

Food is divine! Love it

ChrisTalliss

Points +23

Vegan
19 May 2018

Great Food!

Really tasty cauliflower curry. Date and tamarind sauce was a revelation! Great service so quick ! If I am in the area again will head here for sure.

Pros: Great Indian food, Good service , Nice staff

Cons: Long cue

Flogs

Points +725

Vegan
23 Apr 2018

Amazing bhajis

We just popped here for a snackett and the bhajis were amazing!!!

falafffel

Points +3108

Vegan
07 Jan 2018

My favourite in Borough Market

At Borough Market you have a huge choice of different kinds of vegan foods, but this stall here was my favourite: The Thali is a really good deal; it is a filling portion of three dishes plus rice for 6.50 EUR. And the deep-fried samosa and Bhuja are absolutely great as well! I recommend to get the date and tamaring chutney they offer, but you can also choose the youghurt sauce, which is vegan as well.

Pros: Great food, Very good value

jamicar

27 Jun 2019

I don't think the yogurt is vegan? That's what makes this stall vegetarian rather than purely vegan, I believe.




This page has been viewed 7789 times.