• Gringo's Cantina

  • (9)
    5
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Lacto
Ovo
International
Western
Beer/Wine
Take-out
Mexican
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mexican restaurant with plenty of vegetarian items on menu which they are happy to serve vegan without dairy. The frijoles, salsa, corn chips and wraps are vegan. English spoken. NOTE: Mar 2018 reported limited vegan options - please send updates. Open Mon-Sun 1:00pm-11:30pm.


Venue map for Gringo's Cantina
© OpenStreetMap contributors

9 Reviews

First Review by Fifithemushroom

JessMikeWinnemuller

Points +364

Vegan
07 Feb 2023

Yum

Full page of vegetarian options and they can make it vegan and know what vegan is. Homemade chips with salsa, bean dip and guacamole is a must. Staff is friendly and provide service great.

Updated from previous review on 2023-02-07

Pros: Tasty, fresh, homemade, Lots of vegetarian and vegan options, Centrally located

Cons: Pricey for the area, but worth it!

Advertisement

WildWolf

Points +223

Vegan
20 May 2020

Good Mexican

The food is pretty good and when asked they try their best to make some vegan dishes for you. There can be some confusion as to what is vegan and what isn't, in my case I was served a burrito with lots of sour cream, so just tell them what you can't have or do not want on your food and they will try to accommodate you.
Only minus is the price. Very expensive for the area and for what you get.

HLM

Points +147

Vegan
11 Nov 2019

Good food

Food is good and they’re happy to make things vegan. Friendly staff and good place. But hella expensive, definitely not for a traveller budget. 560 baht for enchiladas!

Pros: Good vegan options

Cons: Soooo expensive

artgra

Points +112

Vegan
09 Jul 2019

Soooo gooood!!!!

Our favourite place on the island. So good that we went there four nights in a row. We tried different options, however fajitas was the best one. They switch sour cream for guacamole without extra charge.
PS: their home made jalapeño sauce is so tasty (not too spicy)!

Overall, highly suggested place to go!

Pros: Great variety of vegetarian/vegan options , Really great service, Understand what vegan means

Cons: No vegan cheese, 3% charge for playing with the card

hanleys

Points +214

Vegan
16 Jun 2019

Yum Tex Mex

Large vegetarian menu which includes tacos, burritos, chimichangas etc. Can be made vegan when asked to be served without sour cream, cheese and slaw. I had the chimichangas and really enjoyed! I would definitely return 😀

Pros: Large vegetarian menu - which can be made vegan., Great Mexican food!

Cons: Slightly expensive for area.

vegan3m

Points +1596

Vegan
16 Apr 2019

Good tex mex food

They have a page full of vegetarian options, most of which can be made vegan.
I had the vegetarian enchiladas (no cheese or sour cream) and would happily get these again.

A nice place to visit if you’re bored of Thai food !

Pros: Vegetarian options that can be made vegan, Quick service , Friendly staff

TabithaA

Points +4437

Vegan
22 Dec 2018

Oh my wow the green sauce!

They make their own sauce and it’s amazing. Vegan no problem, plenty of vegetarian items can be veganised. Down a lane, great outdoor setting, went twice!

Pros: Amazing food, Good price, Fast service

Cons: No vegan cheese

keneisha

Points +15

Mostly Veg
08 May 2018

Good vegetarian options

Good options to choose from. Tried the nachos and enchiladas and burrito combo.. so could taste more! Both were delicious. Must try

Fifithemushroom

Points +61

Vegan
16 Mar 2018

No vegan options

We searched this place out s it was listed on here as having vegan options, it is in pricey Chaweng area and there are no vegan options on the menu. We both went for vegetarian chilli as it didn't list cheese in the ingredients on the menu, I asked the waitress if it was 'jai' / 'vegan' she said yes and it came out with a load of cheese on top. The food was okay, but hard to scrape all the cheese off. It's misleading to have it on Happy cow though good looking vegetarian options.

Pros: nice atmosphere

Cons: no vegan options, expensive (normal Chaweng prices




This page has been viewed 2286 times.