42 Reviews

First Review by Shereewolfe

Awesome restaurant for vegans!!! - Edit

This was our first visit and we will return soon! Our waiter,
Chris, was wonderful and very patience with all our questions about the menu. As vegans, we are always looking for new restaurant options and this place is a true gem! We were so excited to find a place that is vegan and whole planted based. The serving portions were ample. I walked out feeling pleasantly full and with no guilt!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Everything is yummy! - Edit

I love going here. Everyone is so nice and their menu changes with the season. I've never had anything bad, and the chocolate lava cake is amazing.

Pros: No added salt or oil when cooking.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Worth the Trip Out - Edit

GreenFare is definitely worth a car ride to Herndon, as their food is fresh and well-made. I've been here several times, always trying something new, and I'm never disappointed. There are also a lot of vegan Meetups here, so it's a nice and casual way to get to know other vegans in the area and add to my knowledge of veganism/plant-based lifestyle.

Updated from previous review on 2017-11-11

Pros: Easy to get to, Great food!, NoVa Vegan Meetup locale

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

healthy and yummy! - Edit

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a delicious and healthy lunch here. Love the bucha on tap!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Just Okay - Edit

Everything on their menu was marked vegan, which was exciting. However, our server did not seem to like my friend and I. For whatever reason, he was very curt, which was a little disappointing. The food was just okay - the Mac N Cheese wasn't great, as the taste of the cashew milk was a little too strong, and they put some sort of hot sauce on top, which was unpleasant. My friend got the spinach alfredo pasta, which was okay, but a little bland. The desserts we got, carrot cake and the apple crumble, were just okay as well. For the price, it definitely was not worth it. Overall, it was a mediocre experience, and I wouldn't personally return.

Pros: Lots of vegan options

Cons: Expensive, food was just okay, server was a little

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Real whole delicious food. - Edit

I stopped in while visiting some non-vegan friends and we all really enjoyed it. I ordered the Tamale Pie which was absolutely delicious, as was the apple crisp. It is so rare to find a place that is not only completely plant-based but also organic. I would go all the time if I lived nearby.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best Ever Whole Plant Food Restaurant Meal - Edit

We were visiting from out of town & were thrilled to find a restaurant with the healthy type of food we try to eat with regularity. I notice that the reviews tend to display extreme views. That attribute reflects this restaurant's commitment to a healthy, whole food, plant meal. Everything we had was well prepared & delicious if your tastebuds are attuned to real food rather than being dulled by a diet of excessive salt & fat.

My husband & I shared the veggie chili, a warm spinach salad w/ roasted potatoes & a mustard dressing, and the veggie pie. All were excellent.

We also had two desserts: a carrot cake & a chocolate mousse. Both were good. I would have loved to have had the red bean lava cake, but it takes about 30 minutes so needs to be ordered at the start of the meal.

These folks are highly educated about healthy eating, & there are a wealth of books about healthy eating as well as a few DVDs available. If you're interested in converting to a whole plant lifestyle, they offer occasional sessions of the 21-day Kickstart program. What a wonderful resource!

If we lived Local, we would be regulars-for sure!

Pros: Healthy excellent meals!, Fruendly, highly-knowledgeable owner

Cons: Over air-conditioned

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing Vegan Organic Non-GMO Restaurant - Edit

I visited a few weeks ago while rushing for time on the way to the airport. I've never been to such a clean and loving environment. I felt educated and cared for there. Organic Non-GMO food is a rare find and these people go above and beyond for their customers. I discovered that celebrities have even eaten here! So grateful for this find! Thank you!

Pros: Clean Ingredients, Genuine Loving Staff, Book Store Family Oriented Restaurant

Cons: None, None, None

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So Bland! - Edit

My sister and I went there, and the food was so bland, all could have been adjusted if they used salt(they don't use salt) and or added more flavor. If you're in the area you're better off eating at a different restaurant!

Pros: healthy

Cons: food is nasty

1 Response
Read More

EarthyMurphy 27 Jul 2017 - Hello there =) I just wanted to chime in and say that salt is not much of a healthy ingredient. Any health based restaurant would use very little of this ingredient, if any at all.

Salt makes your body hold on to water. If you eat too much salt, the extra water stored in your body raises your blood pressure. ... The higher your blood pressure, the greater the strain on your heart, arteries, kidneys and brain. This can lead to heart attacks, strokes, dementia and kidney disease.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Best place ever! Amazing food & staff. - Edit

By far the best vegan restaurant I have ever eaten at. I literally have lunch and dinner from Greenfare 7 days a week as part of their meal plan, where I walk in and out in under 2 minutes with a bag with my name on it. Whether you are in a rush to pickup some prepared meals from their fridge or looking for a comfortable relaxing evening in an environment of nutrional peace, Greenfare is it. They offer weekly nutritional classes, a monthly dinner and a movie night (ex. Eating You Alive before it was released) and a 21 Day kickstarter program which I did with meals and lectures for those looking to get started with becoming a vegan. In addition, they offer prepared meals to be picked up from their fridge, meal plans that you schedule online to be picked up (delivery is an option), largest collection of nutritional books and videos in a restaurant that I have ever seen and a extremely knowledgeable staff who walk the walk and talk the talk. Oh, did I mention they just received their organic certification which is a difficult, lengthy and costly process and only the 4th restaurant in the U.S. to receive it.

The craziest thing is, in their 21 Day kickstarter program they show you how to make several of the meals at home. What restaurant does that, Greenfare, that is who.

Pros: Seasonal based menu, Large variety, When you are here, you are like family

Cons: Only 1 location

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A tasty vision in service of greater health - Edit

Greenfare is a terrific restaurant; It is my favorite place to eat. Their vision is taking the restrictive nature of a Vegan diet and making its profound benefits accessible to a broad audience. Gwyn, Pericles, and the team do this by creating meals that maximize the innate flavor of healthy ingredients without adding salt, oil, and sugar. It is truly impressive what they have been able to accomplish – make truly healthy food taste good!

Moreover, the team puts their action where their aspirations are; they run a continuous kickstart program that provides the basic education and tools (in addition to 21 days of meals) to help someone understand and sustain the transition to a whole-food, plant-based, diet. I took the kickstart program over 15 months ago and remain on their meal plan today; during that time, I have experienced weight loss, bloodwork improvement, and a surge in energy. Prior to the program, I was on the verge of needing cholesterol medication and bumping up against pre-diabetic blood sugar levels. Today, all of that is totally reversed and I am the healthiest that I can remember since my late-20’s and I am in my late 50’s (my internist reminds me that basic health is 80% what you eat and 20% what you do – he referred me to the program and he was right!).

I travel on business and find it a struggle to eat well; the food-industrial complex is optimized for profit, not health. Thankfully, I can rely on Happy Cow, Yelp, and other sources to identify options that work with my schedule and location.
The reason I mention this is to address some of the Greenfare reviews that mention bland taste. I have experienced a wide spectrum of vegan restaurants across the country; some try to simulate non-vegan food (think “chickun”), others are adaptations of ethnic food, still others use whole-plant ingredients but don’t shy away from salt, oil, and other unhealthy additives (sugar is vegan!). Greenfare is different in this regard. Its focus is on whole-plant, unprocessed ingredients without unhealthy additives.

This is what makes their accomplishment even more impressive. The food tastes very good; however, if you are used to salt, sugar, or oil in your cooking, it may seem bland to you. Give it some time and your taste buds will recover – then you will find yourself tasting the actual ingredients themselves.

Highly Recommended!

Pros: Very fulfilling, healthy food that you can trust, Authentic, whole-plant, menu variety, Very fair prices

Cons: Service speed can suffer when it is crowded

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Favorite Restaurant - Edit

My vegan daughter introduced me to GreenFare and I was shocked and amazed how incredibly delicious their vegan recipes are. I wasn't even a vegan when I first went but after trying most of their selections I was hooked and became vegan. All of their food is organic and the ingredient combinations that make up a meal are combined perfectly to make not only a very nutritious meal but one that tastes incredible. It's actually my favorite restaurant of all and each time I go there's a new and wonderful addition to the menu. Their enchilada (I think that's what it is) is better than any one I've ever eaten in a non-vegan restaurant. When I leave there I'm very full and satisfied but never get heartburn like when having foods laden in fat, dairy and meats. Now, let me tell you about their dessert menu. There's a chocolate lava cake that will blow your mind. I don't understand how it can be made of only healthy organic ingredients because it tastes so decadent. I even did their 21-day weight loss Kickstart program where they supply your food for 21 days--lunch and dinner. It's a great way to become a vegan and the added benefits of weight loss and cholesterol lowering is an added benefit. Then there's Gwyn, the owner and Pericles who is a magician with food and ingredient combinations along with the wait staff that will treat you like family. Give GreenFare a try. I'm convinced that you'll become a regular.

Pros: Organic Tasteful Vegan Options, Fabulous Menu, Friendly Staff

Cons: No cons--I love everything about GreenFare

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Just Okay - Edit

I was pleasantly surprised when an event I attended which I didn't know was providing lunch had an entirely vegan meal. The food was good (we had a lasagna, salad, and carrot cake-like muffins), but my only concern is that, for the 99% of attendees who weren't vegan, it might have only affirmed their suspicions that vegan food is bland (since the meal was salt/oil/sugar free). Surprisingly, though, nearly every plate was cleaned! The ingredients are good, but the flavor is limited.

Pros: Salt/Oil/Sugar Free, Caters

Cons: Limited flavors

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

WoW - - Edit

I had business lunch at GreenFare which was absolutely awesome. Great service and food. My guest had not been to a plant-based restaurant before and loved it. I can not recommend GreenFare highly enough. One of the few restaurants with a purpose - to help people, feel, look and live better and understand how to do that. Thanks again for a successful lunch!!!

Pros: Superior Food, Helpful and Courteous Staff, An Owner Who Cares

Cons: Will Try and Think of One

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very disappointing - Edit

Three of us went here for dinner. At the time, there was a group which was being lectures on the benefits of eating vegan food. I found this very distracting.

The menu is very limited, but each of us ordered something different. Basically, the major flavor was pepper. SInce they use no salt or oil, I guess they feel that the pepper adds some flavor to the food. There was salt on the table, and I needed to put a fair amount into my broccoli-pasta-cashew cream dish for it to have anything but a peppery taste. One of ordered moussaka, which she said was very dry. Another ordered a veggie pot pie, which was also too peppery, as was the soup he had prior to that. I thought prices were ridiculously high. We will not go back.

Pros: reasonable service, large portions, can't think of any other

Cons: too much pepper, not much taste other than that, overpriced

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Thank you for trying GreenFare; we opened with the purpose of sharing education around healthy food choices. If you perused our large array of books on athletics, nutrition, and cook books, you would see a new world of food choices being made to focus on health. Taste buds reset after a week, which is why most of our Kickstarters continue on the program after they complete it: losing weight while feeling satiated is a huge benefit of whole plant food.

The food prices are actually low for a certified organic restaurant. McDonald's led Americans to cheap food and then expensive medication. We focus on Food As Medicine and Medicine As Food to help people regain their health through clean and real organic whole plant food.

It is fine to put salt on a dish, which is why we have salt on the table, but it is impossible to take out when the restaurant has put it in for you. almost 85% of sodium comes from restaurant and processed foods; high blood pressure is a leading cause of death in the U.S.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

very disappointing - Edit

We waited 45 minutes after placing our order, and when the food came it was barely edible. Not just unflavored but badly and weirdly flavored. And despite the lengthy wait, some of the dishes were poorly cooked. We knew it would be low sodium but that was not the issue. This was a total disappointment. On a lighter note, we are still jokingly using the phrase "how about some Moussaka?" (as in what we at ate GreenFare) to mean "it could be worse". You can do better at a veg-friendly restaurant. You can do better at home. I'm sure these are nice people and I wish them well but I would recommend finding somewhere else to eat.

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Hello Jeff,
Thank you for supporting GreenFare Organic Cafe and trying our fare. We opened with the purpose of providing food in the manner of Forks Over Knives: without animal products, and free of salt, oil, and sugar; the addictive ingredients that cause the epidemic heart disease, cancer, and type 2 diabetes. The 21 Day Kickstart that we offer monthly helps people to reset their taste buds to lose weight, get off medication, and reduce pain and inflammation. If you want to eat your way to good health, GreenFare is the best place in the area, just ask the hundreds of GreenFare Kickstarters (including a dozen medical professionals who now recommend the restaurant to their patients!).  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Bland - Edit

This food is ok. I love the compassionate restaurant but a little seasoning would help things! The owners ate very nice and the atmosphere is good. I really appreciate not having to worry about meat or dairy contamination but I wish the food was kicked up a bit.

Pros: Good vibe, Nice staff

Cons: Bland meh food

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 26 Mar 2017 - Hello Sarah,
Thank you for visiting GreenFare Organic Cafe! In addition to having an entire menu without animal products, we use only minimally processed whole plants and our meals are free of added salt, sugar, or oil for optimal health as well as education in the form of books and lectures by doctors on why this approach restores health. We hope that you will visit us again.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy in Herndon - Edit

Great little Vegan eatery. Staff is outstanding. The red bean lava cake even wowed my carnivore family members. A must do if you are any where in the D.C. Area.

Pros: Plant based, Fresh, Plant based

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Thank you for visiting GreenFare! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are dedicated to providing the healthiest food possible!
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

favorite restaurant in nova! - Edit

I love not having to think when I look at the menu here! Organic, no added oil or salt, all plant based and incredible!!!! I live in NC and come here every time I come home to visit family.

Pros: organic, oil and salt free, kombucha

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Thank you for visiting GreenFare Organic Cafe! We offer organic whole plant food for optimal health and education on how to do this type of cooking at home. We're glad you appreciate our mission.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Creamy Broccoli Pesto Pasta - Edit

The broccoli pesto pasta was really great. Loved the creaminess of the sauce and the big chunks of broccoli. The tomatoes, basil and pine nuts were excellent compliments.

Pros: Extremely healthy, filling, Great mission, passion, Friendly staff

Cons: A little pricey for lunch, but reasonable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fabulous whole food plant based meals - Edit

Had my first meal at GreenFare last night and it was amazing! Started with the sweet potato wedges with chipotle sauce and they were spicy and quite delicious. My entree was the broccoli pesto pasta and my daughter had the black bean stack with an accompanying salad. Both entrees were incredibly tasty, well-seasoned, filling, and delectable! The restaurant itself is lovely, with displays of Forks Over Knives and Engine 2 books and other resources available for purchase. Staff were extremely friendly and provided excellent service! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hold The Sugar, Oil And Salt , Yet Amazing Flavor! - Edit

I love everything about this restaurant. The owner, the decor and the food.

I ordered the paella, with mushrooms and vegetables, and it was just delicious.

Most of us are addicted to salt, oil and sugar, but this restaurant has done the work for you by providing fresh, tasty, local, organic, salt/oil/sugar free food without compromising flavor.

I highly recommend this restaurant!

Pros: organic vegan food, Salt/oil/sugar free, Delightful owner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Elegant - Edit

Small, elegant restaurant with amazing options. I decided to try a new-to-me spot while in the area for work and was pleasantly surprised. I had the lasagna, which is packed full of veggies. It was delicious! The only thing I would've changed would be the addition of salt (but that's only because I'm slightly addicted). Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Pros: tasty food, no oil, no salt, friendly staff

Cons: moderately priced items

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delightful Plant based Restaurant - Edit

While visiting Northern Virginia, we found this lovely restaurant for several meals. It is sometimes very difficult finding no oil vegan healthy food in a restaurant. This place is a gem and provides numerous delicious choices and a pleasant clean modern environment to enjoy not only the food but also looking thru the plant based huge selection of informational books and cookbooks. Just when I figured this place as being a home run, then I find refrigerated to go meals! They hit the ball out of the park. If you want a very special treat, order the hot lava cake! WOW! Such a wonderful concept, they are delightful!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So Much More Than a Restaurant! - Edit

My husband and I had been planning to visit Green Fare ever since it opened and were excited to finally make the trek to Herndon! We arrived around noon on a Thursday and while the handful of outdoor tables were already taken, we had no problem finding a table inside among a handful of other patrons of varying ages. Green Fare calls itself “an innovative café and learning center” which is totally spot-on! There were lots and lots of books to peruse – and purchase – about eating a plant-based diet. On top of that, there are numerous special events on the calendar featuring leaders in the world of plant-based eating and their 21-Day Kick Start program to immerse people in a plant-based lifestyle.

All the staff were pleasant and polite and the chef himself delivered our entrees. The food was delicious and I plan to come back again and again to try more items on their menu. I had the Spinach and Sweet Potato Lasagna which had a cheese-like filling that tasted like dairy cheese, so it was a true delight to eat! My husband ordered the Thai Kale & Quinoa Bowl and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was topped with sauerkraut, something he would not expect in a Thai dish, but it worked really well. I tried the Maca Chocolate Mousse for dessert. It was fine, but I wish it would have had more of a chocolate flavor. My husband ordered the Red Bean Lava Cake (which takes 20 minutes to prepare). I had a taste of that and enjoyed it more.

We made a video about our experience: https://youtu.be/h0Ml5i5NuDY

Pros: creative menu, pleasant staff

Cons: On the main drag, but a haul for me, Not much outdoor seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent find, commendable premise - Edit

Gwen and team do an outstanding job of providing a warm, welcoming atmosphere along with a delicious menu. Enjoyed the vegan organic gluten-free spinach alfredo. Will be back with friends!

Pros:

Cons:

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Dinner! - Edit

Had a long-anticipated visit to GreenFare for dinner and it was such a nice experience. The menu of substantial-sounding entrees made it very difficult to choose and I ended up with the sweet potato and spinach lasagna recommended by our server with a side salad. The meal was beautiful to look at, flavorful, and so filling. I felt good knowing that it was also healthful -- all plants and no added oil. Can't wait to go back and try everything else on the menu!

Pros: delicious, healthful food, plenty of parking, bright, welcoming dining room

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Herndon Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has GreenFare Organic Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 8330 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support