GreenFare Organic Cafe

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 29 reviews )
Contact
703-689-0506
Find

408 Elden St, Herndon, Virginia, USA, 20170

Opened Nov 2015. Vegan restaurant using local and seasonal ingredients to make gluten free, oil free, low sodium dishes. USDA Organic Certified. Open Mon-Sun 11:00am-9:00pm.

Category: Vegan, American, Organic, Catering

Reviews (29)

First Review by Shereewolfe

WoW - - Edit

I had business lunch at GreenFare which was absolutely awesome. Great service and food. My guest had not been to a plant-based restaurant before and loved it. I can not recommend GreenFare highly enough. One of the few restaurants with a purpose - to help people, feel, look and live better and understand how to do that. Thanks again for a successful lunch!!!

Pros: Superior Food, Helpful and Courteous Staff, An Owner Who Cares

Cons: Will Try and Think of One

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very disappointing - Edit

Three of us went here for dinner. At the time, there was a group which was being lectures on the benefits of eating vegan food. I found this very distracting.

The menu is very limited, but each of us ordered something different. Basically, the major flavor was pepper. SInce they use no salt or oil, I guess they feel that the pepper adds some flavor to the food. There was salt on the table, and I needed to put a fair amount into my broccoli-pasta-cashew cream dish for it to have anything but a peppery taste. One of ordered moussaka, which she said was very dry. Another ordered a veggie pot pie, which was also too peppery, as was the soup he had prior to that. I thought prices were ridiculously high. We will not go back.

Pros: reasonable service, large portions, can't think of any other

Cons: too much pepper, not much taste other than that, overpriced

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Thank you for trying GreenFare; we opened with the purpose of sharing education around healthy food choices. If you perused our large array of books on athletics, nutrition, and cook books, you would see a new world of food choices being made to focus on health. Taste buds reset after a week, which is why most of our Kickstarters continue on the program after they complete it: losing weight while feeling satiated is a huge benefit of whole plant food.

The food prices are actually low for a certified organic restaurant. McDonald's led Americans to cheap food and then expensive medication. We focus on Food As Medicine and Medicine As Food to help people regain their health through clean and real organic whole plant food.

It is fine to put salt on a dish, which is why we have salt on the table, but it is impossible to take out when the restaurant has put it in for you. almost 85% of sodium comes from restaurant and processed foods; high blood pressure is a leading cause of death in the U.S.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

very disappointing - Edit

We waited 45 minutes after placing our order, and when the food came it was barely edible. Not just unflavored but badly and weirdly flavored. And despite the lengthy wait, some of the dishes were poorly cooked. We knew it would be low sodium but that was not the issue. This was a total disappointment. On a lighter note, we are still jokingly using the phrase "how about some Moussaka?" (as in what we at ate GreenFare) to mean "it could be worse". You can do better at a veg-friendly restaurant. You can do better at home. I'm sure these are nice people and I wish them well but I would recommend finding somewhere else to eat.

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Hello Jeff,
Thank you for supporting GreenFare Organic Cafe and trying our fare. We opened with the purpose of providing food in the manner of Forks Over Knives: without animal products, and free of salt, oil, and sugar; the addictive ingredients that cause the epidemic heart disease, cancer, and type 2 diabetes. The 21 Day Kickstart that we offer monthly helps people to reset their taste buds to lose weight, get off medication, and reduce pain and inflammation. If you want to eat your way to good health, GreenFare is the best place in the area, just ask the hundreds of GreenFare Kickstarters (including a dozen medical professionals who now recommend the restaurant to their patients!).  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Bland - Edit

This food is ok. I love the compassionate restaurant but a little seasoning would help things! The owners ate very nice and the atmosphere is good. I really appreciate not having to worry about meat or dairy contamination but I wish the food was kicked up a bit.

Pros: Good vibe, Nice staff

Cons: Bland meh food

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 26 Mar 2017 - Hello Sarah,
Thank you for visiting GreenFare Organic Cafe! In addition to having an entire menu without animal products, we use only minimally processed whole plants and our meals are free of added salt, sugar, or oil for optimal health as well as education in the form of books and lectures by doctors on why this approach restores health. We hope that you will visit us again.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Healthy in Herndon - Edit

Great little Vegan eatery. Staff is outstanding. The red bean lava cake even wowed my carnivore family members. A must do if you are any where in the D.C. Area.

Pros: Plant based, Fresh, Plant based

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Thank you for visiting GreenFare! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us. We are dedicated to providing the healthiest food possible!
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

favorite restaurant in nova! - Edit

I love not having to think when I look at the menu here! Organic, no added oil or salt, all plant based and incredible!!!! I live in NC and come here every time I come home to visit family.

Pros: organic, oil and salt free, kombucha

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 02 Jun 2017 - Thank you for visiting GreenFare Organic Cafe! We offer organic whole plant food for optimal health and education on how to do this type of cooking at home. We're glad you appreciate our mission.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Creamy Broccoli Pesto Pasta - Edit

The broccoli pesto pasta was really great. Loved the creaminess of the sauce and the big chunks of broccoli. The tomatoes, basil and pine nuts were excellent compliments.

Pros: Extremely healthy, filling, Great mission, passion, Friendly staff

Cons: A little pricey for lunch, but reasonable

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fabulous whole food plant based meals - Edit

Had my first meal at GreenFare last night and it was amazing! Started with the sweet potato wedges with chipotle sauce and they were spicy and quite delicious. My entree was the broccoli pesto pasta and my daughter had the black bean stack with an accompanying salad. Both entrees were incredibly tasty, well-seasoned, filling, and delectable! The restaurant itself is lovely, with displays of Forks Over Knives and Engine 2 books and other resources available for purchase. Staff were extremely friendly and provided excellent service! I highly recommend this restaurant.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Hold The Sugar, Oil And Salt , Yet Amazing Flavor! - Edit

I love everything about this restaurant. The owner, the decor and the food.

I ordered the paella, with mushrooms and vegetables, and it was just delicious.

Most of us are addicted to salt, oil and sugar, but this restaurant has done the work for you by providing fresh, tasty, local, organic, salt/oil/sugar free food without compromising flavor.

I highly recommend this restaurant!

Pros: organic vegan food, Salt/oil/sugar free, Delightful owner

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Elegant - Edit

Small, elegant restaurant with amazing options. I decided to try a new-to-me spot while in the area for work and was pleasantly surprised. I had the lasagna, which is packed full of veggies. It was delicious! The only thing I would've changed would be the addition of salt (but that's only because I'm slightly addicted). Very nice atmosphere and friendly staff.

Pros: tasty food, no oil, no salt, friendly staff

Cons: moderately priced items

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delightful Plant based Restaurant - Edit

While visiting Northern Virginia, we found this lovely restaurant for several meals. It is sometimes very difficult finding no oil vegan healthy food in a restaurant. This place is a gem and provides numerous delicious choices and a pleasant clean modern environment to enjoy not only the food but also looking thru the plant based huge selection of informational books and cookbooks. Just when I figured this place as being a home run, then I find refrigerated to go meals! They hit the ball out of the park. If you want a very special treat, order the hot lava cake! WOW! Such a wonderful concept, they are delightful!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

So Much More Than a Restaurant! - Edit

My husband and I had been planning to visit Green Fare ever since it opened and were excited to finally make the trek to Herndon! We arrived around noon on a Thursday and while the handful of outdoor tables were already taken, we had no problem finding a table inside among a handful of other patrons of varying ages. Green Fare calls itself “an innovative café and learning center” which is totally spot-on! There were lots and lots of books to peruse – and purchase – about eating a plant-based diet. On top of that, there are numerous special events on the calendar featuring leaders in the world of plant-based eating and their 21-Day Kick Start program to immerse people in a plant-based lifestyle.

All the staff were pleasant and polite and the chef himself delivered our entrees. The food was delicious and I plan to come back again and again to try more items on their menu. I had the Spinach and Sweet Potato Lasagna which had a cheese-like filling that tasted like dairy cheese, so it was a true delight to eat! My husband ordered the Thai Kale & Quinoa Bowl and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was topped with sauerkraut, something he would not expect in a Thai dish, but it worked really well. I tried the Maca Chocolate Mousse for dessert. It was fine, but I wish it would have had more of a chocolate flavor. My husband ordered the Red Bean Lava Cake (which takes 20 minutes to prepare). I had a taste of that and enjoyed it more.

We made a video about our experience: https://youtu.be/h0Ml5i5NuDY

Pros: creative menu, pleasant staff

Cons: On the main drag, but a haul for me, Not much outdoor seating

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Excellent find, commendable premise - Edit

Gwen and team do an outstanding job of providing a warm, welcoming atmosphere along with a delicious menu. Enjoyed the vegan organic gluten-free spinach alfredo. Will be back with friends!

Pros:

Cons:

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious Dinner! - Edit

Had a long-anticipated visit to GreenFare for dinner and it was such a nice experience. The menu of substantial-sounding entrees made it very difficult to choose and I ended up with the sweet potato and spinach lasagna recommended by our server with a side salad. The meal was beautiful to look at, flavorful, and so filling. I felt good knowing that it was also healthful -- all plants and no added oil. Can't wait to go back and try everything else on the menu!

Pros: delicious, healthful food, plenty of parking, bright, welcoming dining room

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Bland food - Edit

We drove 45 minutes to eat there and what a disappointment.The waitress was eating in between talking care of people without washing her hands.The food was extremely bland with no spices.Not much to choose from the menu and it was to pricey for what you get.The salad came with no choice of dressing.It was terrible and by no means will we be returning.

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 23 Apr 2016 - We are trying to promote great health as well as vegan food, and while we prepare our organic, freshly chopped vegetables without added salt in the kitchen, we have salt shakers on the table for those who want to use it. Most restaurants don't offer this ability and hide salt, sugar, and oil in their food to mask poor quality produce. People thank us not only for being a vegan restaurant, but for offering healthy vegan food.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Sunday drive - Edit

Ordered a meal while Sunday brunch was wrapping up and took over and hour to be served. Only 2 other tables there and each waited just as long. Luckily I had great company that helped pass the time. Food was good when it finally arrived. Will try again.

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 23 Apr 2016 - I apologize that your meal took longer than usual. There are no other vegan restaurants nearby and our brunch was very busy. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your meal. We appreciate that you want to support our vegan restaurant and hope to see you again!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Veggie Fare in NoVa - Edit

Hard pressed to find decent vegetarian / vegan restaurants of quality. GreenFare is great. Have been numerous times; have tried (with family) all menu items.

They also have a kiosk for takeout in their restaurant and the Reston Metro.

Really good meal selections; desserts are nice.

Food is organic, fresh, very well presented.

They are working on adding additional beverage selections. Probably could do better business with biodynamic wines or something.

Great selection of books and classes for health.

Pros: Vegetarian, Great location, Healthy

Cons: Beverage selection could be improved, Ordering a bit odd; but works

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

New favorite place! - Edit

Unbelievable! Went here with my friend this afternoon & had the creamy chickpea & kale bowl. It was like having a home cooked meal! I think my favorite part was how you could really taste the vegetables! So fresh! Not covered in salt like most restaurants! Owners were so nice & very passionate about eating wholesome foods. Love!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great new restaurant :) - Edit

Let's start with a few facts...The food is just incredible -- 5 out of 5!! The staff is super friendly. The prices are in line with the concept of fresh, locally-sourced ingredients. I agree with other comments about it being a little confusing the first time you visit -- but once you know that you sit yourself and order at the counter, the experience is great. If you are used to eating salty foods, beware -- the food is purposely (and smartly) not salted, but the other flavors make up for the lack of salt. My wife still added some salt to hers. The owner (Gwyn) and the decor made us feel like we were visiting a nice and warm family farm restaurant. We live a little over an hour away, and have been there twice already! We have had the sweet potato and spinach lasagna (5/5), the chili bowl (4/5), the chick peas and kale (5/5), and the potato appetizer (5/5) and soup (5/5). In short, we will be back many times! :)

Pros: Delicious food, Friendly staff, Cozy environment

Cons: Order at counter

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Still uses knives despite being 100% plant based - Edit

Wonderful tasting food. Great community resource. Minor observations: 1. Give a choice about siracha. 2. Knives can still be used on plants

Pros: great tasting uber healthy food

Cons: siracha, no knives

1 Response
Read More

Gwyn 11 Nov 2015 - We hear you and will dial back the hot sauce! Thank you for visiting our café; we hope to see you again and really appreciate the feedback.  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Green Fare Salon Cafe Unique in VA and SUPERB!! - Edit

I have eaten at 2 pre-opening functions of this well-located, extraordinarily thought-out, more-than-great-100%-Certified-Organic (1st in VA, 2nd in Greater DC)100% Vegan local low sodium no oils food restaurant! Owner Gwyn Whittaker has a mission to educate, with author speakers and cooking tips frequently, a la a "Politics & Prose" DC bookstore model.
The range of dishes draws from many of the world's cuisines! Please treat yourself to a unique experience!
Its 1/3 mile west of the Fairfax County Pkwy in the K-Mart Shopping Center, 3 doors down from the Mom's Organic Market, and the decor is beautiful!

Pros: CERTIFIED ORGANIC, 1ST IN VIRGINIA, OWNER AND STAFF ARE WONDERFUL HUMANS!, RANGE OF DISHES

Cons: PRICES, NEW CHALLENGING CONCEPT , CHALLENGES OF GETTING LOCAL ORGANIC

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

The restaurant I didn't know I was waiting for - Edit

I've been vegan for two years, vegetarian for a little over three, and my fiancee has been vegan for 14 years. I cook all the time and we both frequent as many vegan restaurants as possible. After attending the soft opening of Greenfare, however, I'm still in disbelief that such a resource of information serving delicious food is nearby. I enjoyed two items -- a Chipotle Rice Bowl and Greenfare Salad. The Chipotle Rice Bowl was flavorful, light, delicious and satisfying. The flavors of the vegetables were allowed to really shine, and the creamy avocado on top was the ultimate accompaniment, delightfully merrying the vegetables, black beans and fluffy brown rice. The housemade vinagrette atop the crisp mixed greens salad was naturally sweet with a mustard-y finish. The food was delicious and Gwyn is very sweet (makes you feel like you're in her home) and knowledgable. I look forward the most to participating in the Kickstarts and learning as much as possible from the wonderful staff at Greenfare. Make sure you make them a frequent stop. Your tummy (and the rest of your body!) will thank you.

Pros: delicious food, knowledgeable staff, welcoming environment

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

A delightful dinner - Edit

This small restaurant is in the perfect location, near Mom's grocery in Herndon. The food is unique and refreshing for a vegan who cooks simple food at home. A special menu of six or seven well prepared and delicious entrees made it difficult to choose. I had the Sweet Potato Lasagna and found that the owner will freely share recipes, so I made a batch myself this week. The salad was also tasty with fresh greens and watermelon radish slices, and a light orange flavored dressing. I will certainly go back to try each of the entrees. There is also a nice selection of books and magazines on display for those who want to learn more about this style of cooking. Other offerings will be catering, carry-out, and cooking classes.

Pros: Casual and warm atmosphere, Unique menu, Friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delightful Dining - Edit

GreenFare is a refreshing, new option for people in our area. The food was delicious and a healthful choice. The presentation was very nice. The hostesses and wait staff were fantastic. It was also a very welcome change to enjoy conversation instead of yelling over someone else's music. I highly recommend GreenFare.

Pros: Healthy, delicious food, Elegant atmosphere, Conversion-friendly lack of music

Cons: Cloth napkins would be more elegant

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Fabulous! - Edit

We so enjoyed our visit to GreenFare on its opening day. Our dishes were spectacular. Perfect blend of fresh vegetables, spices and quinoa. Service and the ambiance were perfect! We will be back!

Pros: Tasty, Nutritious , Ambiance

Cons: NONE!!

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Food - New Concept - Edit

GreenFare is a health and sustainability values based cafe. The meals are all organic, whole plant food based, no salt added, and not cooked in oil. The food is well prepared and tastes great; we had the Lasagna, Veggie bowl, and salads at the soft opening. Good food for you and the planet!

Pros: Healthy, Sustainable, Well prepared

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Happy and Healthy Herndon - Edit

If you are in the mood for delicious, healthy but also fulfilling then turn to GreenFare Herndon's First Organic Restaurant. I would recommend trying the Organic Spinach and Sweet Potato Lasagna as the main course. You will enjoy the light marinara that pops with flavor in your mouth giving, a lasting taste that will make you want more and not make your stomach too full to eat eat more!

Pros: Organic Food, Oil Free, Health Benefits

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Herndon Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has GreenFare Organic Cafe closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 6314 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support