• Green Bowl

  • (14)
    3
    Loading...
  • White Veg-options
Delivery
Non-veg

Serves meat, vegan options available. Mongolian style flat top grill/stir fry bar with choices of vegetables including tofu and a variety of sauces. Leave out the meats and just take veggies. You can also ask for the vegan broth to make your mix into a soup if you want. Vegetarians ask the kitchen to cook veggies off the main grill, in a wok, to avoid contamination. Dinner and weekend prices higher. NOTE: Reported September 2022 to have limited vegan options – please send updates to HappyCow. Open Mon-Thu 11:00am-9:00pm, Fri-Sat 11:00am-9:30pm, Sun 11:00am-9:00pm. Open daily.


Venue map for Green Bowl
© OpenStreetMap contributors

14 Reviews

First Review by condekedar

ChristinaMarier

Points +26

Vegan
11 Nov 2023

Such a fall from grace

This place used to be amazing. You’d roll in, put all your veggies in a bowl, put whatever sauces you like on it, hand it to them, they would cook it and you could keep doing this over and over until your little vegan belly exploded. Sadly it’s become a giant hole in the wall with a small menu. I miss the real green bowl

Advertisement

SeitanKingofNewJersey

Points +17

Vegan
03 Sep 2022

No longer vegan friendly

We rolled into State College in need of a vegan meal and unfortunately learned that sometime during the pandemic this restaurant retooled the menu to only 8 items, all noodle bowls, all non-vegan. Even the noodles have egg. Submitted an update to Happy Cow. Sounds like it used to be a great option! We went to Snap Pizza around the corner instead, good options!

kczwski

Points +209

Vegan
07 Sep 2019

Great value

I love how you can scoop your own food, that way you know exactly what you're getting!
Noodles are also clearly marked so you don't get the egg kind.
Upon entrance the staff asked me if I had any allergies / diets, which I think is thoughtful.
Lots of vegan options, all kinds of vegetables, beans, tofu, sauces.

IanI

Points +148

Vegan
26 Jul 2019

Okay

Not very impressed. Food was okay.

Pros: Customizable vegan options , Several sauce options

Cons: Produce didn’t look very fresh , Not very clean

kristengrayhound

Points +76

Vegan
22 Oct 2018

Delicious

The noodles are incredible. The sauces divine and the staff incredibly helpful and kind.

ElizabethCatalano

Points +414

Vegan
21 Aug 2018

Extremely vegan friendly

I was very impressed by the many options that this place has, and I definitely want to go back and try more of them! The staff was very courteous about my being vegan, and made sure to cook my bowl in a separate wok, which was pretty neat. Has a pleasant atmosphere and you can feel good about the quality and locality of what you're eating.

Pros: Conscientious towards vegans, Excellent food

beckylong

Points +1589

Vegan
25 Jul 2018

Make Whatever You Like

I like the variety and freedom to choose whatever you like to eat! When we sat, they asked us if we were vegetarian/vegan and put a V on the stick that we got that told the cooks to make our dishes in separate pans that were not used for meat - I really appreciated that!!

PennsyltuckyVeggie

Points +442

Vegan
18 Sep 2017

Be Creative!

For being a restaurant that serves meat, this is about as vegetarian friendly as you can get. You pick exactly what goes into your bowl and can see it cooked away from meat products by a friendly and knowledgeable staff. Non-vegetarian items are marked and the staff is ready to make sure every dietary concern is met.

Some folk's reviews of Green Bowl have balked at the prices but it is worth every penny for fresh, unprocessed food.

No Wi-Fi and Majic radio station as the music of choice don't help the atmosphere but you almost don't notice because the food is so good.

Not to encourage wastefulness but if you don't like what you got, make another bowl with different ingredients.

Updated from previous review on 2011-08-08

Pros: make your own, separate cooking surface, veg options clearly marked

Cons: smells like a grill

KaseyDeMeoStaronka

Points +16

Vegan
11 Sep 2013

Nice

I really like this place - The options and selections are varied and great. It is rahter pricey... I go at lunch and it is about $10 - $12 with a drink.

Pros: Selection, Service, Choices

Cons: Price, Parking

elles_belles

Points +1301

Vegan
25 Dec 2011

Peanut sauce is a must

I prefer to go here during lunch since the price is much cheaper with no sacrifice to the selection. My typical bowl is loaded with veggies, tofu (I crumble the block with the tongs), and peanut sauce.
The cooking can be a little varied at times. Sometimes my veggies will be under cooked and sometimes they'll be perfect. I've sent my bowl back for more cooking before and they seemed happy to oblige.

John Kevin

Points +82

Vegan
27 Aug 2011

Reliable Veg-Friendly Place in Happy Valley

It's too bad a thriving college town doesn't have more veg-friendly places, so I usually end up here when visiting State College. That said, if you're vegan, be sure to check out MAD MEX attached to the Days Inn a block away! Green Bowl is pretty much your typical Korean or Mongolian-style BBQ place. Staff is reliably friendly and they take care to mark your creation as "veg" for grilling purposes. They do have a diverse selection of ingredients to choose from -- sometimes mandarin oranges, kale, etc.

Pros: Location (downtown), Good ingredient selection

k-veg

Points +36

Vegan
29 Apr 2011

Reliable Vegan Choices

This is a make your own stir fry place and lets you know what sauces are not vegan. They also offer brown rice. I find sometimes the service can be slow here - especially during peak hours. The vegetables either seem not cooked or overcooked, but I'm glad there is such a variety.

Pros: Good Variety, Offer brown rice, reasonable price

Cons: noisy, wait/service time can be slow

fondducoeur

Points +1167

Vegan
16 May 2009

Good from Time to Time

The Green Bowl is a make your own stir fry style place that has tons of options for ingredients and sauce. Make sure you tell your server you are vegan and they will give you a special stick with a 'v' that lets the cook know to cook yours in a wok and avoid contamination. I don't go to this place that often, simply because I can make a stir fry that is just as tasty and cheaper than eating at Green Bowl, but I do like it once in a while.

condekedar

Points +9310

Vegan
20 Mar 2007

Simple, effective

This is a simple and fairly cheap buffet-style place which cooks your food fresh for you. I like being able to select what veggies and sauces I want to have. The multiple options, however, make it difficult to get a good combo---often times you mix the wrong sauce with certain vegetables and the taste is bland at best. They should have more recommendations for what sauces to use with certain veggies.

Pros: Selection, Fresh food, Simple

Cons: Can be bland sometimes




This page has been viewed 4701 times.