Great Bistro

  • Vegan Vegan
    ( 25 reviews )
Contact
n/a
Find

Bank utca 6, Budapest, Hungary

Little vegan bistro providing breakfast and changing lunch menu. Offers fruit juices, sugar-free lemonade, coffee with rice or soya milk, smoothies. See its facebook for menu. Est. 2016. Open Mon-Tue 8:00am-6:00pm, Wed-Fri 8:00am-10:00pm, Sat 12:00pm-10:00pm.

Category: Vegan, Organic, Western, Juice bar, Take-out, European

Reviews (25)

First Review by Ati

tasty sandwich, reasonable price - Edit

I really liked this place, I had the tofu sandwich, which was very taste. Should have got a second one. Prices for the sandwich and a cappuccino were good.
Also the location is good

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

breakfast - Edit

I was really happy to find a vegan place open for breakfast!
A bit disappointed cause they only had one sweet option and I only got 2 pancakes for the price, but it was good. Maybe it could be mentioned on the menu, as I was expecting a pile of them, like you usually see.
Nice atmosphere.

Pros: opens early

Cons: expensive

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Breakfast - Edit

Went here for breakfast and had the tofu bacon sandwich with a cappuccino, awesome meal with great staff

Pros: Lots of options, friendly staff

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious - Edit

We loved it here. Had a delicious, flavourful chickpea omelette and 3 cheese sandwich. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Cute interior too.

Read More

By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice place but not everything is bio! - Edit

The place is very nice BUT and its a big BUT....
They use only brown rice as bio but jasmin rice as normal which is mostly contaminated with poisoness gmo rice even if its premium.
sometimes with knowing and sometimes by mistake in the big gmo countries.
also the peanutbutter is not bio so its normal poisoness often gmo peanuts that they mix in ceappy chinese or argentinian,usa shit nuts.

If they would sincerely(not just saying outside but then use normal inside) start to think abt this then it would get 5 stars. right now it get 3,5 bec the staff is very nice and the place is nice.

update the bistro has been asnwering and its sad they cant use more bio stuff(as i thought first because there is bio sign on the entrance) but i still think they could use the rice as bio since its not big difference at all to buy their premium rice and real bio rice.for example bio jasmin rice here in shop (to consumer not the cheaper restaurant price) cost per 1kg in normal shop is around 2,70e for bio jasmin rice to consumer.around 1dl per person 0,27cent.
so restaurant wholesale price in big bags would be cheaper? but lets count on the shop price. it would be 0,27 per portion. difference from premium rice is not big at all per portion.maybe 0,10 per portion. so theres no need to double the price. its enough with huf 35raise and voila u have bio rice to be proud off to serve :)

also the peanut butter is packed in netherlands as u say but they use cheap crap poison and or gmo peanuts mixed from argentina or china,usa. so it would be nice if u can think to change the peanut butter and raise the price of the pancakes with a small raise its not much peanut butter per portion anyway so the raise will not be big in money talking per portion.
here i found bio peanut butter to be 30 to 50% more expensive so its not a superbig difference in money counted per portion when u have so many customers as tourists but i also found 1kg bio peanut butter that was around same price as conventional on net so maybe they have cheaper also there in big packages.

Please think on this its very important for stopping the gmo companies poisoning of the world and our bodies and our nature and the workers in poor countries and their families and ground water.

One of the workers or the owner? is supergreat so please think on this :)












Updated from previous review on 2017-04-27

Pros: nice plae, nice staff

Cons: gmo contaminated or and poison rice , poison peanut butter

2 Responses
Read More

GretaStohr 25 Apr 2017 - Hi! They have never used normal rice, just organic brown rice and AAA premium jasmine rice.
Peanut butter is also the best quality without palm oil.
They1re using tofu and tempeh which is guaranted organic and non GMO proof.
Before you right some untrue staff please be sure it is proven. Thanks!
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

GreatBistro 27 Apr 2017 - Dear BimbambomBommen!
Thank you very much for your feedback.

As we talked about it in the Bistro, we do use organic products but not everything is always organic. It is quite difficult in Hungary to source organic in all vegetables/fruits and packed goods, not to mention spices etc. Also we need to be sure our prices meet our customers' budgets, as even though quality, flavour and veganism is extremely important to us - at the end of the day it is a business and if we charged double as much for a daily menu we'd see our lines at lunch time getting shorter and shorter.

This is a compromise we have to make! Believe me I'd be the happiest if we could use solely organic goods and maybe one day it'll be possible to do so. But we regret to admit that at the moment it is not.

Regarding the peanut butter we use: it is from the Neatherlands :)

Also there might have been some sort of misunderstanding and I do apologize if it was on our side, but we don't actually state everything is organic in our Bistro.

Again, thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback and for the compliments on our venue and the staff.

Have a wonderful day!

Great Bistro
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

friendly service, good food! - Edit

We came here at 8am before our flight. Got the pancakes and vegan omlette for breakfast - was pretty good. We also asked for sandwiches for take away for our flight and because we were in a rush she made sure everything got prepared quickly. Great service and very friendly (and cheap ) would definitely come back again

Pros: sandwiches and breakfast are good

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 27 Apr 2017 - Dear gvarun!

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a feedback!
I hope you managed to catch your flight and had a save journey :)

Have a great day and be sure to visit us again next time you're in Budapest :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

awesome!! - Edit

I am so happy I found great bistro!! They offer great food and they are all vegan. We have been there for breakfast and tried the omelette and vegan pancakes. It was so good and the waitress was super friendly. They offer lunch and dinner too.

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 27 Apr 2017 - Dear MarleneRonjaPirker!
Thank you so much for your feedback!
Hope to see you again in the Bistro! :)

We'll definitely pass your msg on to the waitress as well! She'll be thrilled! :)

Have a great day!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Tasty food and friendly service - Edit

We visited here for breakfast one morning and had a delicious coffee with soy milk and the chickpea omelette with tofu bacon and salad. It was delicious and the service was super friendly. We could not have asked for more. We would have visited again but they do not open on weekends which is a shame. Definitely worth a visit.

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 27 Apr 2017 - Dear SeanSteel! Thank you so much for your feedback! We're happy to let you know that now we are open on Saturdays from noon to 22:00! Hope to see you again one day :) Have a great day!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

totally hit the spot! - Edit

Great Bistro

I went here for lunch and definitely want to come back! It's not entirely clear how pricing works at first, but they will explain it! Basically they have a few different things for he day and you can choose a soup, Main or Main and dessert for a good price. I got a kale coconut soup (was loaded with kale), then a half portion of rice and half portion of mashed sweet potato (since I couldn't decide between he two of them) with broccoli ball/patty things. Then I got this dessert - it was absolutely delicious - ALL the desserts looked amazing but I had to choose...and got this strawberry chocolate one- it was totally worth it. I was completely full! The staff was super friendly, helpful and spoke English well - and it's a nice atmosphere- great if you need to quickly get in and out but also ok if you want to hang out a bit. I wish they were open for dinner and would love to try hem for breakfast except it's included in my hotel...worth the visit :) oh, and totally affordable! Soup, Main and dessert for less than $15CAD - and I was totally stuffed. Could have eaten much less!

Pros: fresh, healthy food, friendly staff that speaks English

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you so much! We re open for dinner now, check out our updated opening hours :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Very nice place - Edit

This became our go-to breakfast place. The athmosphere is very cozy, and the food is good. One think that they can work on is how the food is represented, the creative part of it! Doesnt matter too much for me though ?

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you very much! You should check out our evening a'la carte menu, I'm sure you'll like the plating! Lunch time is busy and we don't want anybody to stay hungry so yes, it might not be the more sophisticatedly presented meal, but hope the taste makes up for it! Thank you for the feedback tho! Would love to see you again soon x  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

lovely little place - Edit

took a little while to find it, but was definitely worth the walking. There was a lunch menu, all great things. We had fritters, garlic mash and a white sauce - was fantastic. They have cake too!
Think we'll definity be visiting again whilst we are here

Pros: Yummy vegan food

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you very much Jess :)
 


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Amazing place - Edit

This place quickly became our new favorite vegan restaurant in Budapest. Nice environment, very friendly English speaking staff and tasty food. We're definitely coming back next time we're in Budapest.

Pros: tasty food, yummy desserts, cozy

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you so much green smoothie! What a great user name :P  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Must Go! - Edit

This vegan place is great. I've gone there for breakfast and gotten their pancakes with peanut butter and jam and delicious vegan omelette! They have outstanding raw desserts/cakes in the afternoon. The staff is super friendly and speaks English well. The restaurant is meticulously decorated, looks like it should be in a magazine!

Pros: fair prices, pleasant environment, great food

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you americanvegan! We're really glad you liked our food! Hope to see you again!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan in the Heart of Budapest - Edit

This is a little owner operated restaurant.
Greta and her husband are serving customers and you can feel she just loves serving you.
She has TV appearances already and really creative mixing different flavors.
It is easily reached by Metro Line 3, as a 2 minute walk from Arany János station. Also 5 minutes walk from the Basilica or the Parliament.
Daily menus are changed daily so do not get bored.
The place is like a boutique hotel with a Special taste of design.
You will enjoy the friendly atmosphere and the taste, while staying close to Budapest attractions.
The only Specificaly vegan breakfast place in Town.
Enjoy

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 03 Aug 2016 - Thank you so much Ati for the kind words :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Vegan bistro close to Basilica - Edit

Great Bistro is a vegan buffet style restaurant a few minute walk from Basilica. They have breakfast options and multiple lunch menus, including juices, smoothies, soups, main dishes and desserts. Their food is interesting and tastes great. The place is pretty expensive though compared to other nearby options. The space has a modern, cozy atmosphere with friendly staff. The place welcomes dogs too.

Pros: dog friendly, great food, friendly staff

Cons: expensive

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you nyuhuhuu for the feedback! Have a great day!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Good Food - Edit

I've been at this place a few times and the menu is always changing.
The staff is super friendly and the food is not so pricey.

One thing is that more often than not the food is gonna be pretty salty; but that's how hungarians cook.

Their caesar salad is really good!

Pros: they vegan cheese, ever changing menu, friendly staff

Cons: too salty sometimes

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 24 Mar 2017 - Thank you imendes! Thank you very much for your feedback! Have a great day! :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Delicious - Edit

I found the place no problem, and walked right in to the cutest little two-level cafe style eatery. They have daily specials and what I had was soooo good. I think they were linseed fritters with tartar sauce and vegetable rice, and I was in heaven. Nice people, cute atmosphere, definitely will be retuning before I leave Budapest.

Pros: English speaking staff

Cons: Main menu all in Hungarian

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 19 Oct 2016 - Dear Mirfin2016! Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

??? - Edit

The best vegan food eveeeeeer!!!!!

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 11 Oct 2016 - Haha Thank you mezeirozi  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Wonderful! - Edit

This really is a great bistro. I came here for breakfast and I loved everything - toasted grilled veggie sandwich and caramel pear raw cake. The coffee was great too!

Pros: Delicious , Friendly staff

Cons: Nothing!

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 29 Aug 2016 - Thank you so much Bunyip  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Charming bistro with delicous breakfast - Edit

I had breakfast two times at Great Bistro during my stay in Budapest and it was really delicous. It is really a cozy place with well chosen interior und very nice staff.

Pros: Delicous food, Cozy atmosphere, Friendly staff

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 16 Aug 2016 - Thank you so much  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Great Bistro. Great people. Great food - Edit

Perfection. Had breakfast every morning during our vacation in Budapest. Everything is very tasty and fresh. Staff is great. Great shakes, Great sandwiches, Great omelet. Great vegan bacon they make on their own. Excellent coffee.

Pros: Very very tasty, Great design and location, Friendly staff.

Cons: none

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 16 Aug 2016 - Thank you so much Alaufer :) Hopefully see you again one day :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

nice food, weird system - Edit

The food is good but the hungarian "self service" style is a little bit strange for brazilian people. Its confusing and you just cant take what you want and how much you want. Cultural differences aside, it was good.

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 16 Aug 2016 - Hi Julia! Sorry if you didn't like the system! We are a bistro where we try and combine good quality and great tasting food with moderate prices and a nice cozy atmosphere. We're very glad you liked the food so hopefully that's what you'll remember on the long run :) Have a beautiful day and thank you for taking the time to leave a comment!  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

really good food! - Edit

we had the homemade lemonade, which was really great, but the food was absolutely delicious! As a vegan you should got there when you're in budapest and support the restaurant. they didn't get a permission to have a dishwasher, so they have to use biodegradeble dishes - crazy rules...

Pros: extremely tasty food, nice staff

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 11 Aug 2016 - Thank you so much LizLizLiz! We're working on the 'plate-problem' :)  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

5 stars for everything - Edit

We popped in for late breakfast and had one of the best mornings ever. The menu was in English and the staff spoke English very well and explained everything, recommended foods etc. We ended up taking an omelette with bacon and bacon sandwich. Omg how tasty they were, stuffed with cheese and everything good! We also tasted one cake along with cappucinos and that was also amazing but a bit pricy maybe (it might've been glutein free). The biggest thanks goes for the waitress that made our day by being really friendly and carrying our baby around and offering her some fruit too (with our permission of course). We absolutely enjoyed everything! A must go in Budapest ;)

Pros: Lots of options, Great food, Amazing service

Cons: A bit pricy cakes

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 05 Aug 2016 - Hi AinoPerttunen :) It was a great pleasure to have you guys here! Your baby is a princess! Yes the cake was gluten and sugar free as well!
Hope to see you guys again, much love!
Boro - 'the waitress'  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

great taste, but dishes made of plastic - Edit

The Great Bistro is stuffed with lovely furniture, and the sandwich and the lemonades tasted really great. Just a little drop of bitterness: they seem to use dishes made of plastic, which aren't meant to be used twice.

1 Response
Read More

GreatBistro 03 Aug 2016 - Dear unrockstar! Many thanks for your kind words! In Great Bistro we use biodegradable plates, cups and take-away boxes. They are made of sugarcane/corn! Thats why they all go in the same bin :) We are working on a way to be able to use proper plates and glasses but in the meanwhile this is the most sustainable solution we've found :) Thank you for your review and hope we'll see you again! The Team of Great Bistro  


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms


By submitting this post you agree to HappyCow Terms

Link to this page from your site. .
Return to Budapest Vegetarian Restaurants & Health Food Store Listings
Business Owners, if you see an unfair review, read this.
Why was my review removed? - details / Review guidelines
Reviews are not endorsed by HappyCow - review terms
Has Great Bistro closed, shut down, moved, or changed? Please use the Update Form.
This page has been viewed 3026 times.

Keep HappyCow Growing Strong!

I would like to support